Dad shames daughter on camera, forces her to wear sign saying she's a thief & liar | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 July 2015

Dad shames daughter on camera, forces her to wear sign saying she's a thief & liar

I think this man went too far. You don't do this to your own child. An Indiana dad named Gary Mills shared a video of his teenage daughter on Facebook that show her wearing a cardboard sign that read,
"My name is Abby Mills & I am a liar & a theif! I’ve stolen from my parents, brothers & sister. Aunts & uncles. I even stole my 9-yr-old cousin’s Christmas presents.”
In the video that has since gone viral, the dad, who is filming, can be heard asking people to share the video 'so everybody in the world will know my daughter's a thief and I'm sick and tired of it.". Many have condemned the video but some are hailing the dad. What do you guys think? Did he go too far?

166 comments:

in otherwords, he can do it to someone else's child?

This is stupid....I wish I can just catch that man..

Lol... he went too far.. there are better ways to correct her than this public disgrace,

He kinda went 2 far tho

blaq said...

Absolute nonsense it doesn't change anything...the child will resent her father fir ever.

Lol! He jst taught her a lesson. Although I think he went too far

Dat's not gud,instead he shld find a way to help d grl out...anyway he is helping her to becm a celeb lolz I jst pray she won't commit suicide

That's extreme.

This is bad.Her father went too far.

That's totally uncalled for.

no run comot for house? Shuu? Anyways my dad is too polished, educated n enlightened to even think of such. Sorry nne! Ur papa needs to be caged wit a crocodile. Mtchew!

I'm in full support. The dad needed to take drastic action regarding his wayward daughter, and so he did. Sure her feelings will be hurt but its tough love, she'll learn her lesson now.

he's done well.. i'm more than positive the dad has tried his best to change her but she's deliberately refused, i hope she changes after this humiliation on both herself and family..

We the family is asking for nothing but justice for our late father. He was 72 and peaceful, we did nothing to warrant taking his life with 6 bullets. We call on the federal government to please come to our aid, we haven't been able to even see our mourning mothers because our lives are also threaten and we are on the run. For our dear lives.

No this is bad, he should have look for others ways to punish his child not this way nah.

It's not fair....so sad!

We the family is asking for nothing but justice for our late father. He was 72 and peaceful, we did nothing to warrant taking his life with 6 bullets. We call on the federal government to please come to our aid, we haven't been able to even see our mourning mothers because our lives are also threaten and we are on the run. For our dear lives.

Ijanyimitch said...

I ain't saying this is good but Mehn some children can be something else, imagine stealing from a nine year old kid

seyi crown said...

Am sure he as been warning the girl...but this too much

He's a mad man if he can't find another "beautiful" way to stop her fro stealing. No sane parent does that.

if dat will make her stop its ok

In as much as its obvious the man has had enough, dis is not the way to go about it as it would only make the girl lose her self confidence. Linda take note!Awwwww, may his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

Madness...attention seekers

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Nawaa ooooo

He is a very big fool! Is dis d only measure 2 punish a kid! He has lost it & he has failed as a father in his duties!
U just kill a Child's self esteem.....

He did well, if such steps weren't taken. She might get worse!!! Best dad ever!!! Nice one.

So wrong...why humiliate her like this?

Abeg he did very very well

Wicked dady he really went too far

No he didn't.He must have kept it under wraps for long enough.A child that will not allow her parents sleep,she took will not blink!

I think he went too far in tryin to punish her, there are other ways.

The man must be crazy for such public disgrace.

He went too far. He's also shamin himself, cos he's d fada of a thief

Real 1 said...

So gross! What kind of father does this???

The father is clearly not thinking of the future of the child and the implications of his action. While the biblical reference that you should not spare the rod is there, it doesn't however means that you should disgrace and "dishuman" your child that way..... Its wrong no matter what!!!

Best dad! She would stop stealing after this shame

Ngozin said...

This totally wrong it's actually an abuse regardless of what the kid did.

Abdulmalik Yusuf said...

How on earth will someone even think of commending dis man? U shld never air ur dirty laundry.... ur family is ur family, ask him, did his parent tell d whole world when he was still bed-wetting?

He went too far abeg

Too bad. Her dad has a wicked heart o

Temi said...

D father s a coward, u r a disgrace 2 fatherhood. He jst disgraced himself tinkin he disgraced his daughter.

joy Egbunu said...

He went too far abegy! If she commits suicide tmrw now, we knw who triggered it!

SWILL MARTIN said...

Jeeeez if na me eh I 4 literally die from shaaaame

Temi said...

If d girl shld commit suicide bcos of dis God will neva 4give him

Lol rubbish oyibo ppl they can't even spell thief well smh sometimes I wonder if they are really better than us (Africans) in their English language

He went too far.haba!!!its so unfair even fr future purpose dats aw som young champ end up commitn suicide and if ds one does dat its her fada dat killed her..... foolish man

Dis is so unfair.

Toooo bad

Too far

SMURF said...

It's good oh, cos if it was in Nigeria she would have gotten a good spanking bbut it u beat her there she can report you and you can be arrested!!

No he didn't. He will set her straight for life even if she hates him.
Go dad. God bless you

So Linda seriously, are you implying that he cannot do this to his own child but he can do to other people's. Well this isn't a good way to correct a child there are better ways to correct. But Linda you go sabi do this kind thing to other people kids from the way you sounded o...Lol

Oh no!! Dis is certainly not how 2 discipline a child....mbanu!

Yes! Pls way too far!

Anikieshaya said...

The dad went to far

He didn't go too far

That's not fair na

Yes....he went too far.Not the best way.
They need to help her and let her know is not a good habit

He went too far, that girl could commit suicide out of shame.

Wrong in every way

Da Fuck?

Ese kenora said...

If we hear say this girl commit suicide tomorrow, may anyone nor blame devil...I think the parents went too far.

My dear Linda, it's not easy to raise a teenager. You think the dad hasn't tried everything in the world? Until you hear the full gist, that's the only option left for the dad.

Spare the rod & the child would rot. I like his move. I'm sure he's so so damn tired of it.

Went too far. This is not the right way to correct a child. Within the family mit be fine but to the world is totally wrong. It wud certainly affect her life

I think he was right, no one ever said there is a rule book on parenting and clearly he must have tried the conventional way of punishing her. We've all been teenagers before and know for a fact that shame goes a long way. Remember those kids in school that their parents come and flog infront of the rest of us and they get good due to shame why is this any different Linda? Her skin colour?

If nigerian parents can flog their child infront of their peers in school and it's okay, if her going to jail and going through a trial is okay to 'reform' her, why is this wrong? I think it's good, that will teach her never to steal again. Little klepto!

By all standards, this man went went too far. Granted that d poor girl commited all the alleged crimes, d father has no grounds, moral or otherwise, to virtually attempt to destroy the future(life) of his own daughter. More than anything, she needs more prayers and counselling. Definitely, not internet-wide humiliation. Or she might degenerate and resort to worse crimes. May eventually kill her father!

He's a stupid father who doesn't know how to correct his child in love.

We don't choose our relatives,otherwise dis poor little girl wud never have gone anywhere near the barbarian she calls her father. God will punish him 4 dis scale of humiliation he's put upon this young lady, it takes a thief to give birth to one. Anuofia idiot moronic monster of a mad man!

No he didn't. It was habitual and you do what you can to try to save your child.

Well to some extent if it's gon change her den yes! Wen I was in high sch ma biology Teacher does Dis to students,dey'll ave to walk around sch wif d cardboard...somtimes its dier parents dat reports dem!

Buh all dese oyinbo children dat will b committing suicide now!

Well to some extent if it's gon change her den yes! Wen I was in high sch ma biology Teacher does Dis to students,dey'll ave to walk around sch wif d cardboard...somtimes its dier parents dat reports dem!

Buh all dese oyinbo children dat will b committing suicide now!

Yes cos it will not only affect d girl but d family and d generation

He did the right thing, if he had done nothing at this early stage, the child might grow up to become worse...Linda when you give birth to ur own child,whenever she doesn't does bad thing keep covering it up until she disgrace u publicly..

Celine Oma said...

Way too far. There other measures to make her learn not this way.

What is my business with them. Asking me my opinion, are u kidding?

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 09050085168 PLEASE BE MATURED>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

BoeDazzle said...

In a country where you cant beat, you have to use all other available options. He is maybe tired and has no other options.

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Na lesson .. I hope he doesn't get into trouble

Fuck dat Stupid Father very much.

straight talk said...

She needs to learn yo spell "thief" too

Some dads tho

That wasn't called for in public

Totally unnecessary biko!

AMIJEZ said...

Stupid dad. Maybe she took after you.

No he did not. Public Shaming is a last resort when the behavior becomes pervasive. Why would she steal a 9 year old's presents?

Hi sweeties,
Please follow this page and like my pic to win a photo contest.
https://m.facebook.com/fotoniztas/photos/a.470563256446383.1073741828.140771962758849/473783329457709/?type=1&refid=17&ref=bookmarks&_ft_=top_level_post_id.10205664983801775
KINDLY SHARE THIS POST.
My winning depends on your likes. thank you.
Let's do this
this

He really went too far, but it seems the girl has refused to show repentance, na all these coconut head type of children, so the dad had no better option than this. So as the kill her bad habits

Extremely too far. Its d definition of love anger.

Linda this is well deserved. The people going about killing, stealing, bombing...are they not people's children? This world is now something else. The earlier you start to set your kids straight the better. If they have the mind to steal at this age, then they should have the mind to suffer the consequences. Yaba the man done tire, is it until he is killed?

She is cute to be a thief

pwetie j said...

Dats too bad! He. Went so far.

Oyinbo pikin ,she would soon commit Sucide because her school mates humiliated her .

Endydecency said...

The man can kill. What has he done to help. Her out of that impulsive condition.

He has gone too far...although he was trying to teach her a lesson...he could have just asked her to work around the neighborhood with the board.well mayb the man has tried a lot of stuffs before he considered doing this to her

Missblaze said...

He has gone to far,to to bad

Missblaze said...

To to bad

Pro said...

Nawao he would have used other means na, that's why Nigerian parents are good, he would have used prayers or other means to make her pay this is not good atall. Dis might affect the girl socially and otherwise even getting a husband might become a problem, who wants to marry a thief. I don't support.

That vuvuzela P guy

Much as I condemn it. He who wears the shoes 👞 know where it pinches.

too bad..................

He went too far

This is not necessary because many youths in America do the same and why call her out like that? These same idiots will laugh at her. This could ruin her future.

its not funny at all

Curvegate said...

God is a Good God, train up a child in the way she should go and when she is old she wont depart from it, now i know how you have been train her up, correction should be in defaming ones personality two wrongs wont make a right.

Ade said...

Now tomorrow, we will hear he was stabbed by his teenage daughter...don't they think? this is cruelty and it won't change her for good

very bad

stupidity

Chioma Ijomah said...

That girl can become suicidal in the near future.. Hope he'll remember causing it..

Dats foolishness,stupid,uncalled for

It's on fear to her.

Walahi is too bad..what type of disgrace is that

I support her father she won't do such nest time

This is the type of thing that leads white people to commit suicide. He should have considered having the girl commuted and treated for kleptomancy or something

This is absurd! R u sure d man is the real father? Even if, he went too far filming such a video n postin on d internet and even encouragin pple To share it.

His stupid and he went too far

Dobzi fingers said...

Judging from the outside, I'd say he went too far but you can't tell for sure what prompted the father to take such actions and what the girl has done

http://www.dobzifingers.com/?m=1

Chiwhyte said...

That's just too much abeg. I pray she doesn't contemplate suicide.

He went too far, its going to tamper with the girls emotions,. Lets pray she doesnt turn into a real thief after this

TONIA GREEN said...

Very wrong. Yes, he went too far!

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤

At all, going to far is stealing every1's tins including ur 9 yr old cousins present. If this helps her stop then it well worth. No one will hold it against her for the rest of her life, trust me lol. I think u shud b happy it's just dis and not a mugshot

Awww. He should have taken her to rehab. This will definitely follow her forever

Common on! Dis is so wrong and bad for d dad is doing worse than d daughter. Dis wil kill her self esteem and wil definitely hav a negative long term effects on her.

That is the way the society was, when I was young and it was a descent one.

he went too far shaming her like this cannot stop her from stealing and lying it can only make her worse off there are better way of correcting a child a teenager for that matter

i don't think he went too far! but come on, this girl is too beautiful to steal.

She will never steal again...Case closed

She will never steal again..Lesson learned, case closed

He didn't go far. Since you can't flog kids in America, they have to device means of dealing with them

Naomi said...

This is appalling and out rightly wrong. Sounds like a joke taken too far. I hope she doesn't become rebellious and vindictive in future. He should have sought for help and taken her for counseling...

I can only see a pretty gal...
Well he kinda went 2far shaa..but not very far.

Naomi said...

This is wrong and appalling. It's like a joke taken too far. He should have sought help and taken her for counseling. Just hope she doesn't become withdrawn, rebellious or vindictive in the future...

By the time she takes a knife and kills the whole family he will know how far he has gone....theyre all deranged white people both father and daughter

Only people in her vicinity will know/remember her. I'm sure if i bump into her i won't remember her face. It's just one of the many viral videos on the internet, people will move on in a couple of days

Lolss.....this girl must hav embarrassed in public many.....who knows how long hav been trying 2 change her ANINI life style....guess he is just pissed and disappointed .....

CC said...

Yes he definitely went too far - for one, he doesnt know how to spell!

andre kelvin said...

White kids no dey hear word! He did well

stupid dad

At least they should spell "thief" well. Iranu

fashionista gai'a said...

Only in indian will u hear of such act..

What is your business or mine?

www.iblogwithgrace.blogspot.com

If he does not shame her now that she is young, and can change, she will bring the shame ultimately to the entire family, and perhaps her city. In those days she would have been exiled. In Saudi Arabia she would have lost her limb. It is up to her to feel remorse and repent. The parents love her and will take her back. If the entire family got despondent why should we blame the father?

Nawa oo. It's too much naa. On Facebook?

If i am d daughter i will refuse to wear it over my neck. If he beats me, i will call the corps. Abeg he went too far. What if the girls changes and becomes born again in future, there will be nobody to marry her because the stigma will still be there. Such a girl needs church and counselling because she is not an adult. Maybe she is even a niphomaniac which is a medical and phychological condition. At least she only steals from her family members. Stmchew

See this fool

Let your father do that to you when u thief next time...Olodo

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Seriously I'm against this extreme form of punishment - this will do a lot of damage to her

fashionista gai'a said...

Pls,d word is Has not as..

Thief is misspelled

Officialmrssam said...

Haba! Too far.

*Miss Official

This is the most stupid father I have ever seen. He should wear his own post with inscription '' I failed to raise my kid right'' Probably the girl took after her dad, this is a shameful disgrace to him and his family

He went too far....

some of the comments are ill judged. I think he did what he had to do and what he felt was appropriate. for him to come to this level of shame he has clearly had enough. How do we know if this girl has not brought so much shame to her family from her theiving ways? and the comment about no one will marry her because of the video, really?!!! there are worse people out there that are married, so your argument is utterly illogical.

I don't agree with his action but I also have not walked in his shoes as the father of a theif. If she commits armed robbery tomorrow, you all be be the first to shout oyibo people don't discipline their children, now he has and we are still complaining.

Nigerians...I just can't.

@ Debby, I c ua Jesus! Lyk u dnt commit crimes or u don't sin?? If God/ ur peeps treat u in same manner, how wld u feel? ? Even Jesus Himself 4gave sinners!

Always fast 2 judge odas! Urs might nt b stealing but u sure ve flaws/ sins. Wld it b just 4 u to receive same treatment wen u sin??

Give ur life 2 Christ!!!

Killing,stealing & bombing u said yh? Ow abt fornication, adultery, malice, envy, lying, abortion, bribery, gossipn etc? Wot makes u feel u re better? Coz u ve nt bn disgraced by God/ ur peeps? Even Jesus 4gave sinners so who re we 2 judge? ?

He went too far