Comedian DL Hughley defends Serena Williams' physique | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 15 July 2015

Comedian DL Hughley defends Serena Williams' physique

The actor, comedian, and radio host made the comment on twitter two days ago and I agree with him.

Following Serena's victory on Saturday, her physique has been a topic of conversation especially among white tennis fans. A New York Times article even had this to say:

"Williams has large biceps and a mold-breaking muscular frame, which packs the power and athleticism that have dominated women’s tennis for years. Her rivals could try to emulate her physique, but most of them choose not to"
Hughley isn't the only one that has come to Serena's defence. British author J.K. Rowling took down a twitter troll who said the tennis star is 'She is built like a man.' See that here

80 comments:

1. Don't mind the bloody racist them. Somuch love Serena.

1. Wow! Said it all, and spoke well. Thumbs up for dis.

2. My darling Serena, I really admire you no matter what anybody thinks. Linda take note!

3. At least, she's not a transgender

4. Most of this trolls that hide behing fake names and annoymity will pee in their pants if they r priviledged to stand before Serena. Will choose serena over caityln any day of eveyday. Inshort, its not even worth comparing.

5. I don't care what anybody says but she's got a beautiful body!

2. Rubbish talk compare Serena with dat old man!only fools will compare dem nah.

1. This one lacks understanding.

2. I agree wit u Tamia, Olaniyan lacks understandi g

3. Hahahahahahahahahaaa! All these commenters una no go kill me....but seriously the girl doesn't know how to read and grab......hahahahahahaa!!!

4. Hahahahahahahahahaaa! All these commenters una no go kill me....but seriously the girl doesn't know how to read and grab......hahahahahahaa!!!

3. Biceps on women aren't sexy tho, maybe calves on legs, but biceps is a huge no.. But if she's comfortable and Happy that way, then no be my consine

1. Here u r talking, i dont expect u too, u think u r sexy for a guy?

2. *Biceps is huge no for women*
      But people like you praise caitlyn jenner for being beautiful.
      Shame!

3. Onyx you're a very big fool for that your statement, serena has broken a world record with her biceps, what have u done with your toothpick skinny arms and waist?

4. PARENTAL ADVISORY

Oynx u a windows 10 idiot, well upgraded one....how do u explain d bicap on Caitlyn and say she's beautiful... I sorry for ur parents

5. You ugly monkey that look like kpanla dried fish...you think you're sexy? May thunder fire your gay yansh for insulting Serena!!!

6. This onyxyechi has mental problem, the boy is defiantly from an irresponsible father and mother.

7. Omg!!! All this for Onyx!!! I just can't
      U guys have no chill.

8. comparing plastic to natural mtchew. smh

9. I was scanning the comments for onyx and I said if his comments does not support serena then it'll confirm my suspicion that he is gay and behold....he didn't dissapoint! Ladies and gentlemen I present to you ONYX the gay boy!

4. But her shape s not bad at all

1. She's simply better than them, white people with insecurity.

5. As in...whites and their drama

6. Unu afugo nu ya...ndi ara! But Serena dikwa ka nwoke...

1. But oka gi nma...........Nwa nne muru kuja

7. dey shud free serena biko......

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    All i knw and still saying is that serena looks like a man with boobs.....

1. And you sound like a man without a brain!

2. If she looks like a man, than you're not one.

9. Bloody racist
    Every woman is beautiful
    Mr caitlyn just looks pitiful

1. Be honest with ur self.......every woman is not beautiful........most women are ugly as shrek,

2. That is why u will forever remain miserable u ugly foolish child with no brain. Are ur mates not suppose to be in school listening to their teacher, am sure is ur mother and sisters dat look more like shrek. Fool

10. Those comments are just closest racist remarks!!! If Serena was white, her physique wouldn't be an issue, they would find a way to turn it into a thing to emulate

11. I support that...

12. They re just hating. Love her physique.

13. Spot on. Serena is just gorg

14. Thank you.society would rather do this:
    Society: She looks like a man.Ugly.com too
    Person: *commits suicide*
    Society: But why? She was so beautiful

15. WE LUV U SERE DNT MYN ANYBDY...TOMJERRYSWIT

16. such is the world we find ourselves in. SMH

17. Don't mind this Yeye american media.
    Bunch of racists.

18. Serena has the body of an athlete bcos she's an athlete...white people just hating bcos she's black, a good player and successful in their ''white" sport...keep hating white people and Serena will keep winning!!!!!!!!

1. Omoh some athletes are sexy......this one shld just go and transform to a man.....we won't judge her

2. @ Eze...idiot👎

3. u r so foolish and damn ugly.

19. @Wilheminna you no go kill person o, My role model don't mind them joor

20. The media can be morally insane sometimes

21. Serena Williams any day any time she got curves

22. her curves are so on point. #team serena#

23. As for me oo, there is nothing wrong with shape,infact na her shape make me dey watch women tennis

Fibonnachi Omoh

24. Serina for life ooo, Linda

Fibonnachi Omoh

25. Physique or not, she is winning and winning massively. Defeating their sorry asses out of the pitch.

26. Lol @ Bonita, funny u. Dey shud pls leave Serena alone jawe. Beefers

27. Bruce is still a man to me...

28. Order for original Raulph Lauren Polo. Male: #2,300. Female: #2,000. Delivery at your doorstep Nation wide.

2754B912, 08130373753

Other items available:
    Round/ V neck shirts- #1,500
    Shirts- for as low as #2,500,
    Suit- #13,000,
    Tie- Complete set Curtis-Hawes and T.M Lewin #1,100
    Italian Shoes Giovanni Conti #15,000 etc.

29. Oooooooooooh my...!
    Media and drama

30. Serena is a legend and shouldn't be ridiculed like this....they all are mad!

31. Mr henry eze i think you need a brain check-up,every woman is beautiful in there own way,maybe ur sisters look like sharks sha oo you never can tell.but for i advice you shut up and appreciate every woman cos one day you will hv urs and you don't know what dey will look like

32. Its expected of her to have a muscular stature. Most successful sportswomen look the same way due to muscle building

33. Hmmmm, d way d ppl of our generation think. Ve u neva sn women wu build dia body, dia is beauty in every trait

34. All these is a covert attempt to puncture her self - confidence and self esteem hoping that it will affect her performance. I love you Serena..

35. Go Girl and keep winning! Let them stay there and keep talking shit! Rubbish.... Proud of you girl with bicep or no bicep, you look great.

36. Bad belly people, person no fit progress again?
    ...NA ZO

37. So that science project is beautiful compared to our sexy chocolate diamond#Oluwaserena. U white folks think she has a complex like Tiger Woods. Breaking news white boys,we gonna hold the four grand slams hostage this year. Deal with it

38. Exactly, at least shows there are still some people with common sense in western media. Serena Williams is really pretty! Gbam!!!

39. I tire for the world o..*deep sigh*

40. Serena rocks
    Racists deal with her winning
    or go hang yourselves

41. the world definition of things nowadays are mostly bias. So unfair!

42. SERENA ROCKS. CHAMPION. KEEP WINNING GIRL!! THEY WILL KEEP TALKING WHILE YOU GO ON TO WIN THE 20TH WIMBLEDON. BLACK GIRL!! BEAUTIFUL! BLACK POWER. I LOVE YOUR CONFIDENCE JOR. KEEP SLAYING. PACK ALL THE AWARDS, CUPS, TRAYS AND MEDALS. PACK ALL. DONT STOP. WHERE WERE THEY WHEN YOU WORKED AND WORK SO SO HARD, BUILDING THE ABS AND GETTING READY DAY AFTER DAY. WHERE WERE THEY. YOU ARE THE HERO PLS. WELL DESERVED. AN INSPIRATION TO THE YOUNG. SUCCESS IS POSSIBLE FOR THEM WHO TOIL.

ALL CAITLYN DID WAS LIE DOWN FOR A SURGERY. MTSCHEW. AND THEY CALL HIM A HERO. NONSENSE MEDIA. SERENA OVER CAITLYN ANYDAY. DONT EVEN COMPARE.

43. NONSENSE. THATS HOW THEY ALSO SAID LUPITA HAS A MALE PHYSIQUE. MALE PHYSIQUE OR NAH, GAL HAS WON AN ACADEMY, BOO. MALE OR NAH, THEM CHICKS GOT TALENT BIG TIME. TALENTED BLACK PEOPLE WINNING...LUPITA, SERENA. slaying. TAKE THAT TO THE BANK, ,AMERICA MEDIA. NOT THE KATRASHIANS GETTING NUDE FOR FAME. THIS IS RAW TALENT. I LOVE HOW SERENA THEM IGNORE THEM. THAT GALS CONFIDENCE CAN RULE THE WORLD.

PLS SERENA AND LUPIUTA BE MY HEROES ANYDAY. WHO IS CAITLYN. PLS JUS STOP.

44. ALL DIS WHITE PPL ARE JXT JEALOUS

45. God bless you Mr comedian, you just read my mind. Wrote this comment before on a previous article about her physique. Serena Williams, you are beautiful beyond imagination and you shall remain same. You rock!