We need help with rehabilitation of areas ravaged by Boko Haram not foreign troops - GEJ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 April 2015

We need help with rehabilitation of areas ravaged by Boko Haram not foreign troops - GEJ

State House Press statement below..

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Thursday in Abuja urged the United Nations to focus more on helping Nigeria with the rehabilitation and reconstruction of persons and communities affected by terrorism in Northern Nigeria rather than deploying an international force to the country.

Speaking at an audience with the Special Representatives of the UN Secretary-General for West Africa and Central Africa, Mohammed Ibn Chambas and Abdoulaye Bathily, President Jonathan expressed the view that UN intervention in Nigeria should not be based on Chapter 7 of the UN Charter, which relates to military enforcement  of peace, but on Chapter 8.   

The President said that the provisions of Chapter 8 of the UN Charter, which recognises the role of regional bodies such as the African Union in working with the United Nations for the promotion of peace and security, were robust enough to tackle insurgency in Nigeria and other African countries.

President Jonathan also told the UN envoys that with the cooperation of neighbouring countries, the Nigerian military had already regained most of the territories seized by Boko Haram in  Yobe, Adamawa and Borno states, and had now commenced a final push to take the last stronghold of the insurgents in  Sambisa Forest.
In his remarks, Mr Chambas commended President Jonathan for his statesmanship following the outcome of the March 28 Presidential and Parliamentary elections in Nigeria.
He conveyed UN Secretary-General’s personal admiration for President Jonathan’s “exemplary leadership’’ with regard to the conduct of the general elections in Nigeria.
“We are hoping that other African countries who are holding elections this year will learn from the good example of Nigeria,’’ the envoy said.
Mr Chambas told the President that the UN team was visiting countries affected by the Boko Haram insurgency including Chad, Cameroon and Niger.
He reaffirmed the UN’s readiness to support the on-going effort  by Nigeria and other countries in West and Central Africa to end terrorist attacks against their citizens.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
April 16, 2015

63 comments:

1. Can you not spell? Educated illiterate

2. GEJ n misplaced priorities.... sha do n go

3. Correct this I guess it should be we need help not "nead"

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I see sense in this no doubt....

5. Wassup with our people in S.A? or is it until they die before u will take action?

6. GEJ pls don't help anyone again. The money you've misappropriated is enough. GMT will help them when he comes.
    If you say help, we know you're helping yourself to our funds.

OK, bye, baba Otueke.

*** mynameisSkelewu ***

7. This man sef. that's why you're unable to tackle Boko Haram. The situation is simply they want war, give them war

1. And have you thought about the innocent casualties which may occur? Or you want him to jst behave like a wild animal like that ape Obasanjo?

8. Linda oooo......its need not 'nead'

9. Is it not too late? Lindaobserve

10. Na now them wan send troops??? After calling a terrorist influential

11. I think we need military enforcement more because if boko haram is eradicated finally, those internally displaced people can go back to their homes, thats when rehabilitation comes in.
    Because even if you build houses and others for them and bH is still at large, they can equally destroy the structures.

1. Pls you I jonathan Buhari and even my dead forefathers know boko haram is about to come to an end because the person who used them as a weapon has gotten what he wants. So why should jonathan encourage them to send forces? Isn't that a waste? When they can be doing something productive.
      Abi you want another Chibok embarrassment where the international community gets involved and there is no boko haram to fight?

12. Very impressive from President Jonathan.

13. Good one Presido,u tried your best just that your enemies are too much

14. Linda ds a popular blog mistake should not b am issue always edit Biko need" not nead

15. foreign troops know you are behind boko haram, and you were the one that told them to wear face mask when they wanted to douse sambisa forest with sleep inducing gas. They don't even want to come back. You now want rehabilitation of the areas you destroyed with silent genocide because you will no longer be in office to coordinate more attacks. The blood of those soldiers you wasted to please your blood sucking juju will come for you. Better believe it.

1. Lmfaooooooooooooooo! Did you read what you wrote? What an idiot! So Jonathan DELIBRATELY sabotaged his own admin/govt?
      Pls is this what you are categorically trying to state

16. One thing that I learned after the presidential election is, "Goodluck Jonathan is a wise man" and since then, I've been more of a Jonathanian than a Nigerian. Just Saying!

-PHILEO

17. They can assist us but that's not
    their responsibility.

1. Did he say it was? Did you read what he said AT ALL? As in even the slightest bit? Running to comment before u read. Olodo

18. Ohhhhh GOD! This failed man should just keep is opinion. Just start preparing ur ass to get out from dat aso rock.linda abeg shame no dey catch dis ur hero?

19. #true coz I mean cme on the victims r suffering badly.

20. GEJ is too smart, I wish Buhari knows that Americans are so selfish and other foreign countries just waiting to fake out oil and indirectly rule this country, only if they know

21. MTN WORK ON UR STUPID NETWORK HERE IN WUSE2 ABUJA I CAN'T USE THE INTERNET IT'S FREAKING SLOW FOOOOOLS! !!!!!!!!!!!

22. Linda, where you going to say we need help?

23. Wats dis man hiding I think he has a hand in boko haram and d truth will surely come out

1. Please can you people actually stop being so fucking stupid for once? Like please? I am actually begging. Just stop. I'm beginning to think this stupidity is deliberate and even beyond deliberate

24. As much as Jonathan was never really a smart leader, this particular thought of his is probably the best opinion he has ever put out publicly. The truth is that we must never allow foreign troops touch down on Nigerian soil cos that would spell doom for our nation. Nigeria has got all it takes to destroy the bastard boko haram insurgency...the only thing that had/has been lacking is proper government will and leadership to crush those idiots.

God Bless the federal republic of Nigeria. Amen.

25. Well said, Oga Jona, you have tried. Linda take note!

26. Well said, Oga Jona, you have tried. Linda take note!

27. Linda realy whatsl is wrong with u and all ur typos? Pls get an assistant and if it's ur assistant writing crap.. kindly fire him/her. God bless

28. With all due respect sir...shut up....wetin you no get courage do na now you wan do am? Lol olodo man

1. You sound like the olodo because he made sound sense. Sorry if you can't comprehenc

29. Nd I wonder y u didnt apply ur advice truout ur tenure...oga, u av expired!! Simply accept dat nd stop lukin for relevance

1. Is today not April 16th? Abi NA you use winch bring may? His time hasnt expired. Jonathan is STILL the president as of now. Just relax all you thirsty APC folk.

30. Do mind them vampires..always intervening when they are not needed,it's now u people know that we need foreign troops...Vultures

1. Of course, when they have seen Buhari they think they can easily manipulate. They didn't even bother trying it with Jonathan.

31. Linda please tell GEJ to honor some of his facebook followers before he hand over. Even me. That will be a Every good legacy.

32. Dear President and your cronies with all due respect, YOU need help more than the boko haram ravaged areas, more of the psychiatric variety. Please tell us is it now you know boko haram exists?

You neglected this problem for over 6 years and it is now you're behaving like you have a conscience. Because you didn't intervene in a timely and robust fashion large areas of north eastern nigeria were ravaged and countless of lives lost not to mention the damage to property, livestock and the meagre barely existent livelihoods of large numbers of people. Now you tell us help is needed? No shit!

You are the most widely disrespected and insulted President this nation has ever seen and rightly so, if you want to mainatian any modicum of respect as you leave, please keep a low profile till May 29, the nation is beginning to hate you in addition to feeling sorry for you

1. Lol! You sound so stupid, i couldn't help but laugh at your stupidity

33. NEAD? REALLY?

34. Hay Linda , there's notin like nead its need .aiit??? Lolzz 😘😘😘

35. So na nw wen we don solve our prblm finish they knw say they one send plp. Foolish plp

36. It is now dat Oga Jona is beginning to act Presidential.
    Interesting.

37. I disagree to some extent, we still need help with military intelligence and its obvious combating and completely eradicating BH from our country is a little too much for our military even though they have done a fantastic job so far, I still believe we can do with some help in that area. On rehabilitation and development, come on FG!! you mean to tell me we cannot afford to re-build a couple of villages and rehabilitate people that do not live in affluence? haba !!!!! we are looking for loan again, we are begging for hand-outs again, reduce the size of government and spend money meant for Nigeria on Nigerians!!!!!

38. When you rehabilitate and reconstruct the affected areas and its bombed within a twinkle of an eye, what happens next?
    Training, weapons and with the help of other west African countries, BH will be eradicated.

39. Well said my President but at this stage, you should rest your nerve and allow the President Elect to take care of these things when he comes into office

40. Olodo,won't you deal with the problem causing the ravaging first,you want to rebuild so they can destroy again.think of building better refugee and human displacements camps before saying nonesense

41. Your ordinary acts of love and hope point to the extraordinary promise that every human life is of inestimable value.