Pics: Arsonists set Baptist Church ablaze, Pastor's daughter killed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 7 April 2015

Pics: Arsonists set Baptist Church ablaze, Pastor's daughter killed

Barely one week after an attack on a branch of Living Faith Church popularly called Winners Chapel in Giwa, Headquarters of Giwa Local Government Area of Kaduna State by two unidentified arsonists, the Baptist Church at Gidan Maso village in Rogo Local Government Area of Kano State has been set ablaze and the residence of the Pastor, Rev Habila Garba, burnt by irate youths.

During the incident which happened on April 1 at about 7:30 pm, one of the Pastor's daughters died of suffocation and most parts of the house destroyed as a result of the fire.

The President of "Tarayyar Masihiyawan Nijeria" (Hausa, Fulani and Kanuri Christians), General Ishaku Ahmed Dikko (retd), told journalists on Tuesday in Abuja that the intention was to kill one youth, Yahaya Joshua, who converted to Islam but later on reverted back to Christianity.

Full statement of General Dikko entitled: "Another church torched Again"...

The Baptist Church at GIDAN MASO village of Rogo LGA in Kano State was set on fire by youths of the Village on 01 April, 2015 at about 7:30 pm. The Church and all the properties were burnt down in the presence of the Christian Community despite all pleadings for them to stop the destruction. The arsonists gathered cornstalks and put inside the Church in order to cause greater damage. This made the action to seem deliberate and for ulterior motives.

The Christians present exhibited great Christian qualities by not taking the law into their hands by trying to stop them by force. Rather than the arsonist to see reason, they were infuriated which led to setting the house of the Pastor, Rev Habila Garba, ablaze as well. As a result of the fire, one of the Pastor’s daughters died of suffocation and most of the house destroyed.

They also attacked and wounded Bawa Adamu and Aminu Dauda, who received machete cuts leading to broken arms. Others received similar wounds but of lesser degrees.

The cause of the barbaric act was to kill one youth, Yahaya Joshua, who converted to Islam but later on reverted back to Christianity. The youth had escaped on learning of the plan to kill him. They therefore set the Church and Pastor’s house on fire and went about maiming and wounding any Christian they saw. The incidence was immediately reported to the Police and the District Head at Rogo. At the time of filing this report on 3rd April, 2015, no information was received about the action taken or if any arrests were made. However, all the wounded know and can identify their attackers by name since they all belong to the same village.

​The Tarayyar Masihiyawan Nigeriya is calling on the authorities to take the necessary steps to stem or stop all these harassments and molestations of innocent Christians for whatever reasons. We have the right to belong to any religion of our choice and live anywhere in this country. We call on the authorities at all levels to rise up to their responsibilities to protect lives and properties of every citizen in this country.

63 comments:

1. Muslims and apc have alot in common.

2. @Anonymous 5:19pm, cn u pLs b explicit?...cos I dnt get d comparison btw Muslims nd APC....#thobbyOmoAlhaja

3. @anon 5:19 - your brain and stupidity has lots in common

4. Yes tell them foolish Nigerians una never see anything make una sp.called buhari enter power am una jubilation go turn to cry stupid lawless Nigerians

5. Buhari and all of them are one.

They want to annihilate Christians, we are busy shouting change with them.

Now that Buhari, their brother, is in power, you'd see the arrogance of the Northerners. Even a truck pusher will slap you at the littlest provocation. They are so backward and draft!

6. What sort of animals r these? So d Joshua guy isn't free to choose where he wants to worship? Tribalism and religion wars have really eaten deep into ds country. Tufiakwa

7. U see how stupid these pple are! He was a Christian then changes to Muslim but Christians didn't burn any house or nothing. Now he came back to his faith and then this?

2. Dis is really tragic, and sad. May God bring to judgement all those involve in dis ungodly act.

3. Please I want my #Biafra

4. TH is wrong wit dis animals......na una de choose religion for someone? Na by force? Hian! RIP to d dead

5. Na wa o! It is well with the pastor. May the soul of his deceased daughter RIP. Linda take note!

1. NNE, stop this multi post na! You have been noticed. You are so incorrigible, I begin to feel you are actually..., let me not use the invective.

But stop this multi posts already. Linda is a girl like you, how much of her give away will make you rich?

6. Na wa o! It is well with the pastor. May the soul of his deceased daughter RIP. Linda take note!

7. Na wa o! It is well with the pastor. May the soul of his deceased daughter RIP. Linda take note!

8. Na wa o! It is well with the pastor. May the soul of his deceased daughter RIP. Linda take note!

9. The wicked shall not go unpunished

10. Awwwwwwww, how bad!!!! May her soul rest in peace..... And for the wounded,God grant them speedy recovery......

11. Is dis d changing they are seeking for? Is dis d change are they going give us hmmm may God help us o!

12. This is sad. Rip to her. Lindaobserve

13. Replies
    1. Ah ah..dis is wickedness nowww...

Double your income with oriflame..52DA6FA6 for more info.

14. Imagine, I swear, dis pple r notin bt animals

15. Imagine, I swear, dis pple r notin bt animals

16. Its a pity that these things are still hapenning when everybody have the right to choose whom to worship. May God help us

17. Oya Buhari over to you. Tell your people to put down their arms and stop attacking christians. Islam is an evil religion. You guys have to do something about the quaran

18. Stupid animals.
    RIP to the dead.

19. They should arrest all and they must pay for all the damagings, nonsense people

20. Why are they angry because the guy revert back to christianity, the guy went back because he found out islam is a blood sucking religion with a lot of aggressive and wicked people, christians will never behave like this, its not by force, you can only pray for him that God should touch his heart but not to kill him haba!!!

21. Yet they claim islam is religion of peace! INDEED!!!

22. A christian converted to Islam nothing happened but when he reverted to christian they becam violent. Islam is a religion of the sword. Muslim are violent take it or leave it. U can insult me for all I care. Wicked people!

23. Islam=religion of violence. I strongly doubt it's not the same God we worship. Is it by force to dey knock head for head. Blind fools!

24. Barbarians! They are so beclouded by their religion. This makes no sense at all

25. U can't force anyone to practice your religion, even the holy book is against that..

26. Buhari is a totem for violence and religious intolerance and his party APC is a generator of violence consequently all violence lovers are being motivated to act in kind. That is the CHANGE promised Nigerians.

27. islam is nothing but violence.

28. Islam Religion of peace.we all b decievin ourselves in this country,I think d amalgamation of southern nd northern protectorates to form 1 country was a big mistake. (WESTINO says so)

29. It was in Kano that a present seating Emir ( then a young man) was alleged to have led a band of murderers who went into a prison where Gideon Akaluka was remanded and beheaded him and made a public spectacle of his head. And the government of the day then, never took actions against the penetrators of the dastardly act. How possible now do one expect the state government to protect the lives of christians and their places of worship from marauding blood thirty children of the bond woman

30. Islam Religion of peace.we all b decievin ourselves in this country,I think d amalgamation of southern nd northern protectorates to form 1 country was a big mistake. (WESTINO says so)

31. Islam Religion of peace.we all b decievin ourselves in this country,I think d amalgamation of southern nd northern protectorates to form 1 country was a big mistake. (WESTINO says so)

32. It's a pity. Short of words.

33. Not all muslims act like these animals that we keep hearing of everyday,i wish we all can really live together in one accord and respect whatever religion we each and everyone so desire to belong to.Its a shame that we all say our religions preach peace yet we end up causing hell for each other..some miscreanrs cant stand the sight of people living together in peace,they start making trouble and cause mayhem for innocent people..may d soul of the dead rip.

34. Bunch of children of ishmael, i don't blame the idiots it's Sarah that told Abraham to sleep with haggai i blame.

35. Oya , shout CHANGE.CHAAAAAAAAAANNNNGGGGEEEEEEE.