Is this really how to identify rotten eggs? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 April 2015

Is this really how to identify rotten eggs?

Is this method true or false?

188 comments:

1. No Idea..
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

2. If u ask me..na who I go ask? Linda Ikeji, i dnt kno.

3. This is true. If an egg floats it is bad rotten, if it tilts it is ok to eat just older some air has already gotten in and fresh eggs sink.

4. Lemme ask my grand ma, ina zuwa, chai I asked her o linda,her reply was who rotten egg don help???

5. Lemme ask my grand ma, ina zuwa, chai I asked her o linda,her reply was who rotten egg don help???

6. All I can remember is my grandfather's method. Just throw the egg on d floor, if it breaks, then it's rotten.

1. Hahahahahahahaha
      I would not try you grandpa's method.

7. So besides gossip and being judgmental,what exactly do you know my love?

1. Lol. Tribalism drama too

2. Ummm let's see...how to be a truly successful lady in every sense of d word. how about u hun?

8. IN DS CASE LINDA, OYO IS.UR CASE..TRY N TEL US..TOMJERRYSWIT

9. Would confirm myself....make I go buy egg...I dey cum

10. Its true, that technique has been used for a long time to identify old eggs from fresh ones.....

11. Linda, this is very true! Didn't you study home economics in secondary school?!

12. Return of the Mark10 April 2015 at 13:39

madam linda, it is very true. so u don't know? thot u knew everything; u are selling life jacket and cannot identify fresh eggs. if u like go buy d lifejacket wey ur ppl make, na bottom of the lagoon u go see ursef.

13. D problem is once u put it in water then if u don't use it almost immediately it gets rotten

14. its actually true

15. yeah Linda, it's very true.... i practice this alot before i break eggs.

16. not sure about the days but yes it is. always work for me.

17. Linda Na U sabi🙈🙈🙈

18. Yes o! Very true

19. Yes o! Very true

20. It's true Linda. I'm sure about that. It's an old method of identifying How old an egg is.

21. Very true, I have tried it several times. Linda take note!

22. Very true, I have tried it several times. Linda take note!

23. Very true, I have tried it several times. Linda take note!

24. Very true, I have tried it several times. Linda take note!

25. IF THE PICTURE IS FROM POULTRY ASSOCIATION OF NIGERIAN.... Then It's True!

26. I saw something like this on social media, but have no idea if its true.
    Lemme wait and read comments.

27. Yup...this is one very good way of identifying them.

28. A lot of people will try this.

29. dnt know......but will try it wen i get home

30. It's true Linda, d one floating u can't even eat again cos it's not only old but very bad

31. It's true Linda, d one floating u can't even eat again cos it's not only old but very bad

32. Linda we no no oo abeg ask patience Jonathan she suppose no.

33. Who the eggs help? Hhehe lol

34. I know rotten eggs will float.

... THE ARCHITECT....

35. Yes. Bad egg floats.

36. i really don`t know
    but l will start doing this...

37. Will experiment to find out

38. Very true Lin. I've used the method for a long time. Works every time.

39. True....i do dat almost everytime before I fry my egg.

40. Yes. its true tried it out last week and it worked.

41. It works for me

42. Yes o! It works perfectly!!!

43. Linda nwa....yes. Learnt it in foods and nut in secondary skool

44. yep. absolutely true lindyway. We learn every day don't we. *wink*

45. wanna run a test will send u an observation report

***Dahenriez***

46. No idea. Lyk whch 1 precisely?

47. Yeah it's true, it works...

48. We were told something like this when we were kids(30yrs ago) and i tried it, it worked.

49. Absolutely right.

50. Heard so too one tym. Dunno.

51. Linda u didn't do home economics in school? That method is true and is taught in school!

52. Quite true besides the spoilt ones will float too.
    To buy your fresh eggs in large quantities at affordable prices,pls call 08068877538

53. Yes it's so true!

54. If u ask me , ma who I go ask"???

55. If u ask me na who i go ask eh Linda? Check out naijacarlovers.blogspot.com.

56. I don't understand mbok.

57. Works in salt solution.

58. We should be asking you na

59. So true
    I just tried it and holy hell it panned out as it was illustrated
    Crazy world I tell u

....SƖεεkz

60. TRUE.....learnt in standard medical textbook (community medicine)

61. its very true apparently.....but i eat it all....lol

62. Very very true. I do it till date nd it works.

63. Yes it is very much true

64. Linda u hav water, and d necessary tin's there wit u to test dis, and u ask us. All d same, I hav not done dis b4 so I wil leave it for my other LIB readers to answer d question.

65. Yes oooo. I thought you should know better....abi u dey cook ni ?

66. Honestly I have been thinking about this, cos it happened this morning. I was washing the eggs b4 breaking, then I realised one of the eggs floated. I had d feeling it ws bad, I broke it and the yolk wa intact, even the egg white ws thick. And I read that, once egg white is watery, it means the egg is bad. Bt this wasn't d case, so I can't say. Over to you LIBers

67. i will love to try this

68. I have to try it to know if is true

69. I heard dat too

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

70. True but not guaranteed. Clearly, our Naija system hardly recognize expired eggs lol.

71. Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

72. Very true..
    Kyriankelvin@gmail.com

73. Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

74. @Linda it does. A fresh egg as good haugh unit (scale for egg) meaning the Albumen is still full and firmly attached to the Yolk. just like when you fill a plastic bottle with water it sinks. as days go buy the yolk flattens and detach from the albumen. just like when the water in the bottle is reduced the bottle will begin to float.

75. Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

76. Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

77. Yes linda.. if u watch a lot of cooking shows.. you'd see some chefs use this method.. even bakers.

78. Maybe i should give it a try
    then i'll respond to it

79. Yes it is. It was in my comprehensive English textbook.

80. Linda why not try it...then you tell us...asking jamb question..

81. Don't know if it's true or not but I use it

http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

82. Just hearing of it for d first time oo..

83. So tru...I usually do dis

84. Ummmh! Would surely try it out.

85. very very true linda, i watched it on some food network channel

86. Yes Linda it's true, the fluid inside starts getting thinner as it gets older, that's why it begins to float. You know when you crack a spoiled egg the fluid doesn't draw.

Ladies!! Looking for classy, versatile outfits to suits your various needs and budgets? Check out the official fashion blog of AURA and take your pick!
    aurabytiti.blogspot.com

87. Is very true 100%

88. It may be true.. my F and N teacher said d same back then in school

89. It's very true, i'v done it several times.

90. All i know is that very old eggs float on water.

91. Its true o....I do this to know if the egg has spoilt. If it floats then its bad .

92. Yes its very true, i've been doing 4 a long tym

93. Yes its very true, i've been doing 4 a long tym

94. Yes very true, i've been doing it 4 long time

95. I think I've heard abt it before

96. Very true linda

97. Very true linda

98. I guess I will hv 2 try it....#general OLAMIDE!!!

99. It's very true... I make snacks and I work with eggs all the time. When it floats, it's so bad.

100. I only know of the very old one(which dey say is spoilt) and the fresh one...so its kinda true..

101. I only know of the very old one(which dey say is spoilt) and the fresh one...so its kinda true..

102. Tested &proven method:
    Egg floats - bad
    Egg sinks - good

103. Maybe not entirely reliable, Linda

104. Maybe not entirely reliable, Linda

105. Very true Linda...

106. I think so too...heard it some time ago

107. very trie... learnt it back in pry school..

108. True. I use it anytime I buy eggs from suspicious outlets

109. Anonymous Solomon10 April 2015 at 16:40

Very true

110. Very true, u should try it

111. Very true, u should try it

112. i cant say oooo but will really like to know.

113. Yes very certain

114. Experiment am na. U need to ask

115. Are the eggs kept in cold or hot water???

116. Of course! I knew this since jss1. Even tried it to clarify my doubt

117. It's true.
    I have experimented it as a kid, and I found it valid.

118. It's true.
    I have experimented it as a kid, and I found it valid.

119. This method very true. Egg shells have tiny pores through which air gets into the egg. The longer the eggs are, the more the air in the airsac within the egg making the egg lightweight. This is why stale eggs float.

120. Yea. I knew this long long time ago. Just put it inside cold water

121. Yes it is true madam linda. U too 2 shd try it now

122. My grandma told me this as a child.

123. VERY VERY TRUE, I DO THIS ALOT. I RECOMMEND TO PEOPLE

124. True. We were taught this in school.

125. So true!
    Omazo

126. I've never had time for the water test, all I do is get two bowls, one small one big, when I break the egg, if good it goes into the big bowl but if bad, I rinse out. Simple!

127. You have to add salt to the water.

128. Wow will really luv 2 try it

129. Tue, from food and nutrition sec school days . i do this method always

130. It depends shaaaa oooooo buh it's 90 prcent true.