Photos: Policemen allegedly assault young man returning from work | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 March 2015

Photos: Policemen allegedly assault young man returning from work

According to the twitter user who shared these pictures this evening, this young man was allegedly assaulted on his way back from work by policemen attached to Oworoshoki division. Read full story after the cut..

As written by a witness...

4 policemen attached to the Oworonshoki division assaulted this young man few hours ago on his way back from work. This took place around New garage/Oworo area of Lagos State. According to him he was walking home and walked past the front of a police vehicle to get to the other side of the road (This wasn't a restricted area). Just as he was crossing over, the policemen sorrounded him and gave him a proper beatdown, they even hit him several times with their guns while passersby looked on.

After the beating they threw him inside their vehicle and asked for money. They searched his wallet for money, but they saw his ID card and realised that he works with @coolfmlagos 's #CafeRoyal. At this point, for the gazillion time he asked them why he was dealt with that way and all the policemen could say was "we think say you be agbero, u know say election na Saturday, u no for cross our motor like that"... Long story cut short, this youngman informed them that the owners of Cafe royal own cool fm and her sister stations, he went on to tell them that he'd report the case to the management so that the presenters could talk about it and maybe get him some justice. This resulted in begging on the side of the policemen and with that they let him go.

I felt really bad for this young man because he looked worse than the picture says. He narrated his experienced with a broken body and spirit.

From illegal killings to assault on innocent citizens of Nigeria, some members of the police force have proved that they don't understand their job description or simply choose to neglect it. Some of them get away with these things... This shouldn't continue. Pls kindly repost this and tag relevant people so that this case will be investigated and the young man could get some justice to soothe his aching body and spirit.

64 comments:

1. Kpele.. thank God for your life

Rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

2. Na their way, God help n save us from them

3. When has police suddenly turn to animals?

4. Biko what exactly is happening??
    The carpet grass is clean but that's exactly where the snake is hiding in.
    God help us all

5. Injustice... We Africans though

6. I hate the police. Engr Emy

7. If it was me I would keep calm then make my way later to have a chat with the DPO and his boys.

I will take a bottles of Texacos finest and a few bags of Sambisa groundnut and enjoy my conversation while talking with my Boko haram walking stick.

They won't be repeating such an incident in a hurry, if they live to tell the tale that is

Nigerian Police, you are warned!

8. That's bad. I don't know what our police have become.

9. That's how nigeria police are.

10. What did he do?
    Did they just approached him
    And started beating him{allegedly}
    The twitter user should hv completed the
    Story or what resulted to the beating.
    Sorry man that's what dis election is causing.

11. Police is not your friend ooo

12. hmmmmmmmmmmmm. they are to serve and protect not lives become lawless and full of themselves.

13. Ifu Ennada @IfuEnnada - IG , Twitter27 March 2015 at 00:30

Yes ooo Linda! I am that twitter user and the young man stays in the same house with my cousin. Here's a more comprehensive story that I also shared on Instagram.

Policemen assault innocent young man for walking past the front of their vehicle

4 policemen attached to the Oworonshoki division assaulted this young man few hours ago on his way back from work. This took place around New garage/Oworo area of Lagos State. According to him he was walking home and walked past the front of a police vehicle to get to the other side of the road (This wasn't a restricted area). Just as he was crossing over, the policemen sorrounded him and gave him a proper beatdown, they even hit him several times with their guns while passersby looked on.

After the beating they threw him inside their vehicle and asked for money. They searched his wallet for money, but they saw his ID card and realised that he works with @coolfmlagos 's #CafeRoyal. At this point, for the gazillion time he asked them why he was dealt with that way and all the policemen could say was "we think say you be agbero, u know say election na Saturday, u no for cross our motor like that"...

Long story cut short, this youngman informed them that the owners of Cafe royal own cool fm and her sister stations, he went on to tell them that he'd report the case to the management so that the presenters could talk about it and maybe get him some justice. This resulted in begging on the side of the policemen and with that they let him go.

I felt really bad for this young man because he looked worse than the picture says. He narrated his experienced with a broken body and spirit.

From illegal killings to assault on innocent citizens of Nigeria, some members of the police force have proved that they don't understand their job description or simply choose to neglect it. Some of them get away with these things...

This shouldn't continue. Pls kindly repost this and tag relevant people so that this case will be investigated and the young man could get some justice to soothe his aching body and spirit.

@IfuEnnada

14. Yes ooo Linda! I am that twitter user and the young man stays in the same house with my cousin. Here's a more comprehensive story that I also shared on Instagram.

Policemen assault innocent young man for walking past the front of their vehicle

After the beating they threw him inside their vehicle and asked for money. They searched his wallet for money, but they saw his ID card and realised that he works with @coolfmlagos 's #CafeRoyal. At this point, for the gazillion time he asked them why he was dealt with that way and all the policemen could say was "we think say you be agbero, u know say election na Saturday, u no for cross our motor like that"...

Long story cut short, this youngman informed them that the owners of Cafe royal own cool fm and her sister stations, he went on to tell them that he'd report the case to the management so that the presenters could talk about it and maybe get him some justice. This resulted in begging on the side of the policemen and with that they let him go.

From illegal killings to assault on innocent citizens of Nigeria, some members of the police force have proved that they don't understand their job description or simply choose to neglect it. Some of them get away with these things...

This shouldn't continue. Pls kindly repost this and tag relevant people so that this case will be investigated and the young man could get some justice to soothe his aching body and spirit.

@IfuEnnada

15. Yes ooo Linda! I am that twitter user and the young man stays in the same house with my cousin. Here's a more comprehensive story that I also shared on Instagram.

@IfuEnnada

16. Ifu Ennada @IfuEnnada - IG , Twitter27 March 2015 at 00:31

Yes ooo Linda! I am that twitter user and the young man stays in the same house with my cousin. Here's a more comprehensive story that I also shared on Instagram.

@IfuEnnada

17. Nigeria policeeeeee! Citizen take note.

18. He probably fcuked up...........

19. He probably fcuked up...........

20. Dirty Cops at it again
    But ish can be that Dude was prolly rude 2 them when they confronted him before the melee attack. Its still wrong though what they did 2 him.

21. Thanks Linda for posting this. His name is Emeka and he's available for any investigation that'd lead to the arrest of these policemen.

22. Uhmm! Police brutality...Smhow they will deny it.

23. We all need to be very careful ds time around, d same way a lady was slaughtered 2daiz ago at Halleluyah estate Osogbo Osun State. Just because she saw a friend out nd she no return again.

24. Sorry Man....All dis annoying police officers be taking advantage of innocent people.

25. He crossed d front of their vehicle sounds pretty sketchy. D story is stil getting me in btw. All d same, speedy recovery. Next time pls avoid police path for police r not ur friends@all.

26. Hmmm! Those are not police. They are thugs infact they are criminals. Do u no what they called police in US? or in UK? or in Austria? Or in France? Police mean to protect every life and property of their citizen of their country. I said it hear before that the Nigeria police need to be reformed seriously speaking! The Nigeria police are not there to protect Nigerians life and property. They are there to robb u, meanwhile they said the Nigeria police force are there to protect life and property.

27. And tomorrow they will say Police is your friend

28. And tomorrow they will say Police is your friend

29. LMAO@ the reason for the assault.

30. The same lawlessness we are talking about,what a pity.
    Shygal.

31. Is this the crime they are being asked to fight?

32. He should have begged o. They almost bullied me too o. I was driving and from behind me comes their vehicle, sirens blaring. I just they drive my own jejeh o. Then one of them in the rear winds down his finger and points his finger at me. NOTE : I Did nothing to warrant this warning. Obviously a result of baby oku 200 naira and monkey tail. Sad. I just waved a sorry gesture to them o and quietly drop'd my speed. So, they just bullied me with their uniform. Lol. Na wah. The police needs to change. Nigeria needs to change

33. Nooo. Not again.

New post on the blog
    www.udokajane.blogspot.com

34. We ve bin warned dat pepu shuld b extraordinary careful @ dis period.

35. What is actually wrong with the NPF? Why do they keep attacking innocent citizens instead of protecting them... This is why I feel no iota of pity for them whenever they're being killed#Wicked hearts

36. The police is your friend Bros *hits joint

37. Madmen in uniform, their unlawfulness this period na only God know, people should just be careful, that's all. Linda take note!

38. Madmen in uniform, their unlawfulness this period na only God know, people should just be careful, that's all. Linda take note!

39. Madmen in uniform, their unlawfulness this period na only God know, people should just be careful, that's all. Linda take note!

40. That is the trade mark of Nigerian police. Brutalising those they are supposed to protect.If the person dies, they would place a gun by his side and label him an armed robber and was trying to escape. Nigeria needs a change to correct all these.Tim28

41. Nigeria police disgrace to our society, I just wish the government can flush out this present system of policemen

42. Nigeria police disgrace to our society, I just wish the government can flush out this present system of policemen

43. Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com27 March 2015 at 08:59

Nigerian Police. Nawa for them.

44. Naija police can Neva change..dey shld send dem to sambisa forest to deal wif bh boiz..d way dey harass pple in dis country is alarming..

45. This is unacceptable, wheneva I see a police van here in warri instinctively I wono put my hands up well above my head. I mean these guyz can be so jumpy and unpredictable

46. Linda thanks for sharing my comment as the witness report. I hope the case is investigated properly...

47. Ifu Ennada @IfuEnnada - IG , Twitter27 March 2015 at 10:33

Linda thanks for sharing my comment as the witness report. I hope the case is investigated properly... He wants to sue them because he can identify the four of them...

48. that's it? that's the beginning and end of the story?

49. Imagine d assault, y can't dey ask 4 his I'D b4 beating him? Dey r clueless n senseless, 1s dey r in der uniform, manners n sense as gone. I pity der children n grand children cos d curse dey v gathered 4 dem, only God can remove it o

50. Nigerian police seems to show off dia power nowadays.... Please pack dem all to go bring back our girls....

51. Nigeria police men are animals, some of this police men need to be roasted like goat so that others can learn from it. Nigeria police men don't know their job.

52. Nigeria police men are animals, some of this police men need to be roasted like goat so that others can learn from it. Nigeria police men don't know their job.