"I will not vote in 2015" - Pastor Paul Adefarasin | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 March 2015

"I will not vote in 2015" - Pastor Paul Adefarasin

Senior pastor of House on the Rock church pastor Paul Adefarasin, who says he's non-partisan, told his congregation in church yesterday that he won't be voting in this year's general elections. He said he's decided not to vote because this year's election is like a do-or-die affair for some people. He said he's part of a US electoral security round table that think influential leaders like himself shouldn't take sides. But he encouraged his congregation to vote and called for a peaceful 2015 election

121 comments:

No vote na WhoYouHelp??? Sai Buhari

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

That's his own cup of zobo.

^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Noted!

His choice.lindaobserve

He is not serious at all.....

Good for him cos we are on the same page. I'd rather sit at home and watch telemundo with my mum.

Ok now..

Weda he votes or not....A president will be chosen....so who cares??

He vote or doesn't vote is insignificant and there is nothing violent abt d elections. God is in control and he has already pre destined d winners of d elections.

It is God dat mak leaders not man. So wit or witout his vote GEJ wil b re-elected.

Wait o... y are all this so called men of gosh always see d negative for 9ja? Asif they are saint themselves! Dear Nigerians don't mind him, go ahead $ Vote 4 change,God will take control.

I understand sir.. But please vote

Why should the rest of us care?

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

I am with him on this.

That's the man of God's personal decision. Decide what's best for you by the leading of the Holy spirit. It is well. Prov 3:5. @Bishop_Dammy

prettiyz said...

Yes I agree with him

BasicPulse said...

Basic Pulse

Is peace really possible?

maybe

Everybody to their own.

Same here...I can't risk my life for people who are not worth it..

Why should he vote when offerings and tithes are sure?

Everyone has a decision to make regarding d election and he has made his

k

A man of God should not have a difficulty in making a choice. Voting is about choice.

***ECHOMASS***

He shouldn't have said it to his congregation cos am sure after dis many people will follow suit. Linda take note!

OH DEAR!!! PASTOR PAUL, MOST OF US LOOK UP TO YOU!!! THIS IS GOING TO BE A NEGATIVE INFLUENCE ON MOST PEOPLE, AND THE "DO OR DIE" PEOPLE WILL END UP HAVING THEIR WAY.... URRRGHH!

So much for a church leader.Your choice Sir!

Hmmmm......man of God,if u don't want to vote u shud keep it to ursef. I'm not in support of pastors standing on d alter & talk about politics. Instead of that,why not pray for a peaceful election......Linda take note

Inveriablely u don't want u congregation to vote....ehmmm ...dnt complain wen u see wat u dnt like

Idoma Carnival said...

anam anu igba

#DavidKing

Me too.....am saving the energy to myself.....assumed if qualify candidates came out could've reconsidered......one is a tyrant and the other one is incompetent . So why waste my time.

:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

Me too.....am saving the energy to myself.....assumed if qualify candidates came out could've reconsidered......one is a tyrant and the other one is incompetent . So why waste my time.

:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::

Idoma Carnival said...

linda... e be like say you don broke ni?

no more monday give aways??

#DavidKing

9jahub.com said...

no na.....

CELEB said...

This election should come n go abeg.

elo tasha said...

Your choice sir

His one vote won't make many different infact nobody will notice that he didnt vote

I will vote for Goodluck

cant blame him

I love Pastor Paul but I disagree with his view. Yes the campaigns have been violent. Men in his position should continually use their influence to preach non violence during and after the polls and also speak to supporters of both parties to be ready to accept the result of a free and fair election. Not voting will not solve our problems. We only leave the system in the hands of political thurgs when we decide not to vote

Very irresponsible statement.

Better

Make sure you don't complain

I support him, jonah no wan leave and buhari no wan rest.

I support you dear pastor, the desperation from APC is to much. Every move gej makes is eye service nd an act of desperation to them but when their buhari does same, it is hailed as the right thing to do. Me too I won't near the polling stations. Mrs Abiola says so.

Some one should pls inform gov. Amechi that this pastor have not collected his own tithe! Attention needed urgently

I don't support this
If he doesn't want to vote he should keep it to himself
Instead of discouraging others indirectly.
One vote won't make any of the contestants loose
He is a man of God lemme stop here

Bad thing to say As a man people look up to. By that singular word, many who esteem him will also not vote.

That means every member of his church should not vote2

Who won die? Nobody

Yes...do or die affair for APC

Vote for @Good luck

I dnt tink dis is d kinda sermon he should b given to his congregation, he is a leader, he has followers who will cause of his idiology won't want 2 vote again. I tink we should no d kind of tins we say on public.

Yep dts d best jare pastor b lyk mi no voting ooooo.

Hmmmmmmmmm😠

Well said. Same as me

A Lot Of People Have Said Same Thing na!!

All this confused pastors. Mscheew

BasicPulse said...

http://www.basicpulse.blogspot.com

Him not voting is solely his decision "http//:www.basicpulse.blogspot.com" nd I respect that .

Question is will our vote count. The do or die affair this year's election is a thing of concern. Many out of fear won't come out to vote coz of the recent killings and bombings.
may God help us

Question is will our vote count. The do or die affair this year's election is a thing of concern. Many out of fear won't come out to vote coz of the recent killings and bombings.
may God help us

La said...

You will not vote, it is your choice. But some of us don't have access to free money the way some Nigerian pastors do. We work hard and it is our right to vote out incompetent government. We must speak up. Nigerian is almost a failed state, let us call a spade a spade.

His democratic right to chose not to vote.

Abdussamad ARGUNGU Ahmad Ibrahim said...

thats ur own cross to carry.

Madam Linda,This is not all he said yesterday! If you want to report a story, report the complete version.

See me see offering money...who asked you? #mtcheeew

A.K.A LIB'ier

lami said...

He will definately discourage some pple from voting by his action. How do we get to where we want in this country by sitting and doing nothing.
#Your vote is your power.

Tooooo bad of u, n u call urself a leader! Ok, Itz ok you are not voting but u shld av kept it to urself b not telling ur congregation n d world....

That is rather irresponsible of you pastor.

Am a passerby, me no even get PVC

But what more can I say

GEJ till 2019 I stand Linda noted abi!!!

Eida u vote or not,GEJ All d way######

SIMPLYCOCK said...

If Adefarasin chooses not to vote, I respect his personal prerogative...
But I hardly can afford not to vote...
I will vote for President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, because Nigeria is safer with him...
Besides, the "devil" you know is better than the saint you don't know!
Jonathan is younger, sharper, healthier and does appear to have a better appreciation of the issues of Nigeria than Buhari...
He has the temperament of a true democrat unlike Buhari...
Buhari is pure hype, a myth created by desperate politicians in the APC for their selfish ends...
They have managed to confer Buhari with a saintly, omnipotent station, but the man unravels as mere mortal and one far more vulnerable at that giving his advanced years...
How they managed to drape Buhari in a messianic cloak is indeed a feat!
I invite Nigerians to do away with sentiments and their baseless protest against Jonathan (instigated by APC's campaign of calumny against him; denying him all his deserved credit), so as not to find themselves casting mere protest votes thinking they are voting for change...
Look carefully, and you would see that GEJ is right on track in resolving the problems of Nigeria...
Let's not abort this baby before its term!
NIGERIANS THINK!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Abeg pastor adefarasi abi an wetein u dey call urself take several seats behind all u no how to preach is prosperity moni moni u wont teach members to avoid fornication and adultery and corruptions if u vote e no concern us u no vote e no concern us. u belong to a U.S group for ur pocket how e take concern us. u better pass oyedepo kumyi and adeboye way dey encourage members to vote rubbish

He is not serious

Yes o. Me too. I aint voting for no one

Issah said...

In other words no one should vote and if we dont, how on earth will there be a peaceful election or any election.

Issah said...

In other words no one should vote and if we dont, how on earth will there be a peaceful election or any election.

Issah said...

4nkylization said...

Thank God u called him a baby. Hw can a baby govern a country dear? U see u think like jonathan himslf. Hw much were u paid?

Chisomy said...

Linda, please this is a little misleading. I was present in the service yesterday when he explained this and whoever told you this gave a wrong interpretation of what he said.

He actually said that he belonged to a US based organisation (I can't remember the name now) that believes that in order to promote peace in any polity that LEADERS AS INFLUENTIAL AS HIM (AS WELL AS OTHER MEMBERS OF THAT US BASED ORG) DO NOT TAKE SIDES. (It is because of the principles of that organisation that he won't vote and not necessarily because of the manner in which the elections are being run)

He however encouraged his members to peaceful vote in whoever they think is best for the country.

Cheers

4nkylization said...

This Pastor obviously didn't prepare for d days preaching, I guess he den had to pick a trending topic to dscuss about. Who cares if u vote or not.

Abeni said...

Smile

Change is all we want. If the Americans never embraced change, u wont find a black man in the white house

Linda pls who did u get this stroy from? It's been twisted. This is not exactly what he meant. I was there yesterday.

His reason for not voting is bc of d requirements of the organization he belongs to and not cos of d "do or die" affair.

He enjoined his congregation to vote dia preferred leaders and pursue the part of peace. He even began a social media campaign for peaceful elections. THIS STORY CAME OUT WRONG!!!!

Seriously, u see the reason why men of God should watch what they say, Pastor Paul just said he aint voting and people already are df sway. Nawao dont nigerians have a mind of their own anymore. Na so one tell him congregation to eat grass them begin chop am. Remember at the end its yall that would feel the pinch the most. These men of God are already made and them sabi how many pikin dem get. Its your future yall should vote for. No fence sitting

all my respect for this Man just died. sigh

If yall read carefully, he said he belongs to an association in US. US not Nigeria. If he doesn't vote n d economy gets bad cus of bad leadership, my guy go just carry him kaya waka. The question is for all u gullible people WHICH ASSOCIATION DO YALL BELONG. as for me I belong to the association of a better Nigeria for me and my unborn kids. My vote my power

Lol...r u still a baby?

Its his choice,lets respect it.#VoteNotFight....Y'all should check out this site,i got 20% discount on my first purchase www.townhousedeals.com i felt i should share :)

9ja Gist Online said...

Aha Pastor vote for at least one person it is your civic responsibility

All this our pastors self na wah for them, This guy forget soo soon that 4 yrs ago during experience the was a broadcast of GEJ asking Nigeria to vote for him when he had no shoes. Hmmmmmmmm just watching sha. There is God ohhhhh

Aboki,
Pls, learn to respect men of God. Why call them 'men of gosh'? They are entitled to their opinions. Respect pls!

God bless you.
This is how people bring curse upon themselves just for the sake of news. Linda, be careful!!!
I was in church yesterday, and this isn't what Pastor Paul said. The story has been twisted. Pastor is one pastor amongst others that always ensure to inform his members to get their PVCs. He never stopped begging the church to vote for whoever they believe would take the country forward.
And Linda comes on here to twist his words last Sunday. Be careful!

You are back with this your whoyouhelp. Welcome sha.

I can't abstain from voting. Not in 2015, not ever. If I dont, I have no real right to complain or exhaust Nigerian issues. So come March 26, im gonna buy ticket and go n vote. God willing. Speaking of God, he won't forgive me if I don't vote sef.

Bishop you sure una give am him share so?

Mr man,did u say men of gosh or men of God?

Absolutely

Lollllllllll

The future is not about the aid that this young philanthropist Linda ikeji aids the world with.Let it not corrupt ur feeble mind to write about anointed men of God with disdain. Consider this a valuable one time advice.
I dont knw ur age but watch it before u mortgage ur future on the altar of vain glory.

If he won't vote, then he should belt up

Jay said...

mummy's boy

You no get sense. Stupid idiot
#NWord

Mercy seat said...

Should have kept that to yourself sir! You are a leader be careful what you say.

You guys don't get it, in 2011 Pastor Adefarasi supported Jonathan; why is he not supporting him in 2015, perhaps because Jonathan failed nigerians.

The socalled group he belongs to, don't they vote in America, even TD Jakes his spiritual Father openly supported Obama during election.

(so what he his saying indirectly is I won't vote Jonathan)

Shekeleke said...

Let respect Men of God.. The word god should scare comment I have being reading -Pst.Chekeleke

I totally understand that he needs to project neutrality but i think he shouldn't have voiced it as his words have influence. The thing is for those who follow suit, you have simply surrendered the next four years without batting an eyelid. Bad things happen when good people fold their arms and do nothing. History proves that.

Na every blog u dey comment,u no get work.na wa!

Abi?

#smh - Mama War has just kicked GEJ out of office and if he doesn't Divorce her now she may send him to jail in the next couple of months.

7 more Governors to defect from PDP to APC. It's over and it has been since 17 was regarded more than 19 as per Mama War's request; amongst so many other atrocities.

SAI BUHARI

@ Anonymous 8:57, bang on. Pastor Paul I am deeply disappointed in you and the so-called men of God of Nigeria. As a member of HOTR I heard you tell your flock in 2011 that as a Christian body we should all vote for GEJ to make up for the marginalization of the people of the Niger Delta. At the Experience 2010 GEJ was present and you virtually endorsed him to the whole world. Your pastors went on Facebook commanding all HOTR worshipers to vote GEJ in obedience to spiritual authority. In a certain service who is even on YouTube you stated that President Jonathan is "the best president Nigeria has ever had". Now you are claiming to be non-partisan. On my own I have since learnt that God the true Sovereign God is not a member of PFN, CAN or HOTR. He is the Sovereign God and He does not call black white and hide behind "pray for those in authority over you" ....blah-blah. These people are ritualists and you are praying for those in "authority over you". I pray that God will raise up true men of God in Nigeria...men like Elijah and Elishs who speak the truth to earthly leaders and who could not bear to be in the presence of ungodly leaders. What is the difference between weak Ahab and Jezebel and our current predicament as a nation. Ritualists are running the country and our men of God are "praying for those in authority"!!! Once upon a time, the power of the Holy Spirit was so heavy on pastors that any ritualist that goes to church is walking in dangerous waters but today...no power in our churches. May God help us all

none of my business tho

Who cares...

He's busy talking rubbish when I know a pastor of his church that is gay....., inviting young school boys to a hotel in lagos to fuck his ass. I respect. You but this pastor of urs, u shud do something about it.

To b honest, if he boldly endorsed Jonathan in 2011, and he can't confidently do same in 2015, doesn't that tell us something.....our problem, ....We don't read between d lines....finish.

Why don't you name and shame instead of writing baseless nonsense? Doesn't the pastor have a name? Pastor Paul openly condemns such bestial acts and you cannot hold him accountable for people's individual choices because life is all about choices. In the end, whether your own secret life is sleeping with other women's husband's or telling big or small lies, you are no different from the one who is a homosexual. If you don't repent, you and him will face the same judgement of condemnation!

Your membership of HOTR Is very questionable- you are obviously a spy from he'll disguising as a member, watching the person in charge like a hawk and waiting for the slightest mistake to swoop in for the kill as if you yourself are above board! If you are truly a member of the church, you would understand what pastor Paul stands for, his principles and his values. Above all, he is a human being and not infallible! No human being is, so check yourself first and stop being judge and jury! There is a God above all else and He alone knows the secret things- they belong to Him!!!!

And how does that affect the price of fish in the market, please? Go out there and lead, let's see your own perfection instead of sitting there and saying things you don't understand.

Exactly! What people do not get is the fact that Linda needs to write her stories in such a way that it's sensational and attracts traffic regardless of whose ox is gored! She is an interesting young woman who has decided that twisting things a little to gain blog hits is the best choice to make! Unfortunately, such choices backfire eventually. I pray that we don't amass wealth at the expense of rubbishing other people's reputations only to live with regrets in old age!!!! God no dey sleep!!!!