Photos: The wedding dresses that look stunning online but are hideous in real life | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 January 2015

Photos: The wedding dresses that look stunning online but are hideous in real life

Some angry brides have shared their horror stories on social media of seeing really lovely wedding dresses online and in catalogues, only for them to see something totally different and hideous when they order the gowns and they arrive on their doorstep.

The brides usually order knockoffs from websites that offer copies of the original designer gowns because the real deals are expensive. But the knockoffs are so hideous, some brides had to postpone their weddings..lol. See photos of the original designer gowns and their knockoffs after the cut...

One bride wrote
'Ordered a wedding dress...the thing came in made of God knows what for the lining....weighed a tonne! Never have I put anything (except perhaps the dentist's teeth apron for teeth xrays perhaps) that weighed so much. Trying to get it returned seems to take an act of congress!' Lol

175 comments:

Na black market dem buy na, why quarrel. Linda take note!

SANDRA said...

Hehehehhehehehe funny

Na black market dem buy na, why quarrel. Linda take note

LWKMD....if its not panadol, it can never be panadol.

Hmmmm, Good For Them!!
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Nice one and lovely

Lol...beautiful bridal gown.

Lol..funny thu

some look so funny.. are you not meant to test your gown before buying, why will you buy a wedding !! dress online.

First of all... lwkmd...
I dnt wnt to blv dis, even berta bridals!!! Shoooooo :o

Our ladies/women understand this best
Nonetheless, my advice is : when you ladies are trying to go for wedding gowns and even other dresses go for what you know is good(generally good and acceptable. Col 3:14. @Bishop_Dammy

This is too funny!!!!!! Literally rolling with tears in my eyes bwahahaha

Really hilarious

Lmaooooo! This has happened to me before. Smh

I can't laff o dis is really funny, na oja okunkun

LMAO

Future said...

Hehehe....talk about deception. Some of the dresses don't bear any semblance with the originals. Pele oh.

*Minxy* said...

Lmao!

Looolz so funny.could imagine the frustration of those who placed such others from what they saw online.

Like I said, Everything good and bad happens in Niger.

Rotfl
I believe these are jokes...TF?
However d vry tiny spaghetti strap looks lik a gud copy considering is not on a human body

LMAO.....Aba guys must chop na....lol
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Lolzzzz

APPLELIPX said...

Lmfao
Yes!! Thats one of the main reasons I dislike online shopping

You see so many beautiful stuff well fotoshoped online and a complete opposite when its bought

LMAO.
TRULY HIDEOUS AND ANNOYING.

LINDA IKETA said...

LMAO! Heartbreak

I have seen that shit, countless times

Hahahahaha #faints...some crazy sh*t you have there.

I have seen that shit, countless times

Mr G said...

LOL! A bird in the hand is better that a cow in the bush. Oya call iya Tanimu to sew your wedding dress joor!

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Wot are they thinking wen they supplying the wrong ones?

if it isn't panadol it can't be the same thing as panadol. GBAM

heheheehehe!!! Made in China Things!!!!

Oh my! They will almost die!

Sell off these and other new and used items at our Lagos Garage Sale!

www.greatgaragesale.eventbrite.com

Lmaooo even wedding gowns can be very deceptive

If e no be panadol, e no fit be the same thing as panadol.

Amayo said...

Please they didn't order anything online jare. They just got their tailors to make a replica of the dresses in d catalogue n Viola! The result. If it's not Panadol, it can't be same as Panadol! Shikena

God... I can't deal.. This is really funny o..

Oh my!! They will almost die!

Sell off your new and used items at our Lagos Garage Sale this month (www.greatgaragesale.eventbrite.com)

lolzzzzzzz...crazy......

THE ACT OF SEX said...

"Trying to get it returned seems to take an act of congress!" I don die wake up

Lmao! The dresses are abhorrent.

Dat*Ibo*boy said...

Am sure kim.k could still kill d look no matter how bad....

So funny, Women no go kill person

Buahahahahahahahahaha, na real BLACK MARKET, ds is preposterous!!!!!!!

CHERRY said...

Hahaha lol see gown na chai!

Lol, hilarious, you get what you pay for

mikkyjanec said...

they sow am for obioma not the one they saw online

Her Excellency said...

Orders u mean

Sista, u meant to say Naija or Niger, which one?

Her Excellency said...

Open ur eyes, no b Africa dem dey order frm ok?

Lol...this is so so funny

Chy 🌹 said...

Some of the wedding dresses are so hideous...picture 5 is the worst of them all..hahhahahaha,funny looking wedding dress.
I'd rather walk into a bridal shop and find wat suits me and my figure and pay for its hiring than paying an exhorbitant price online only to get disappointed.

Pls visit my blog

Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

Lol!! i no know sey chinko wedding gown sef dey ooOo!! can't laugh abeg.
advice to ladies: try on a wedding dress before you buy it biko. its your "wedding" dress for God sake!

LezRock via Old itel mobile

Chai

Lol!! i no know sey chinko wedding gown sef dey ooOo!! can't laugh abeg.
advice to ladies: try on a wedding dress before you buy it biko. its your "wedding" dress for God sake!

LezRock via Old itel mobile

Seriously? Did you go through the post at all? Smh.

OMG, those dresses are disastrous. No thinking of doing such, getting a wedding dress online. Better test it physically before buying.

Lol. At least, this na oyibi land not Naija.

Funny dresses

Errr anoda tin u see a skinny girl nd u order d dress wen u kw u r twice d size.hw e wan tak. Fit u

Lmao
Naija tailors be like I can sew it

They are buying of Ebay and the likes cos of budget that why. Cos if you go to the actual designer, it is as beautiful as it looks. The first dress in the pic is a Couture, and the real thing is very beautiful depending on your body type,but it's quite pricy

That's serious.....online sales are becoming sth else.....u see sth gorg online and when it is delivered u see sth completely different...its bad.

they bought fake ones why complain..they even look shapeless n hideous...............................#KingOfKings #6God

Lmao na made in aba be dat oooo

tsalz c.e.o said...

PLENTY WAHALA... LOLLLLL

Abi o

MR EDDY said.
Lmfao.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

OMO NO BE SMALL THING, PEOLPLE DON ENTER ONE CHANCE

THIS BLOG ON NAIJA ROMANTIC STORIES IS FOR SALE

That one sef dey already oyinbo dn dey do like whites

One word: alibaba.com #bewise #dontbealearner

These are some of the most hideous dresses I've ever seen. Lol

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Don't be stupid,must you comment more than once

bad whether said...

Hahahahahahahaha !

It actually happened to me too. I had to buy another gown just days to my wedding.

It best to walk into a bridal shop, try on a dress and buy it than order for something online. It was so disappointing

Etymology said...

Looool

Lmaooooo
It's really funny.this is up Nepa market nd ur eye nd brain will clear sharp sharp

Lmaooooo
It's really funny.this is up Nepa market nd ur eye nd brain will clear sharp sharp

Aliexpress wahala!!

This happens when you buy your wedding gown from a chinese website/company. They usually use the real designer pictures and then sow their own for the customer.

princess said...

Hahaha! When them go buy cheapey!

Vivian Gills said...

hahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahahaahhahahahahaha!!!!!!*falls down*

some of the knockoffs are not half bad!

LMAO!!!! No b small black market. that you see when study marketing strategy techniques....lolz

pretty woman said...

Hey u!!u kip writting "take note" like u'v said smfin reasonable...jst stp it cos it's annoying.dunno if dts ur best english...mtcheeeew.

Lol. Not same joor. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Mz Naija said...

lolzz.Ms Linda d@ number 1 pic is hilarious... honestly abamade sf beta pass these ones o

Bwehehehehehe

*** Blacknfly@gmail.com ***

Boladale emvicc2000@yahoo,com said...

When they will not patronise locally made goods, everything imported, if is local, you check with your designer.

Na their own wahala.

Breanna Blogs Life said...

LMAOOOOOOO!! This isn't funny but it's funny! Lol I won't make the same mistake

It is better you go to the shop and buy instead of ordering it online.

Thats why its not advisable to shop for wedding things on line

Dat is wat apns wen u order frm e-bay

Biggest joke of d century

Can you really believe that?

AZEEZ RIZQAH said...

This is total disaster.. Better to walk into a bridal shop dan shop online.
Davido's GF

Lmao... Online ko onland ni... NANDRA

I was a victim o,ordered wedding gown and another to change into from one yeye babe in Lagos who claims to have done the trade for a while.dresses came after some weeks and were disastrous,my tailor saved the wedding gown but the other one has turned to tori tori n vendor no gree give me back my money

Those are not even naija tailors... they sew rubbish abroad too. our fashion designers here r good! Can't you see that most of the people wearing the dresses are white?

What is nice about those bizarre dresses priesthood??

Hmmmm!! Wole Soyinka weldone!! At least we know what he means. Pfft!!

Lolzzz... I've been a victim. It's really frustrating. Not just wedding gown alone, most clothes n footwears ordered online. Makes me atimes to rule out buying anything online.

Kerenhappuch said...

Nawa o. Can't imagine this, na to walk enter bridal shop buy, seeing is believing.

# l know who I am #

This juliet girl na mumu aswear

ify said...

Juliet I can see smtin is wrong wit u upstairs...find smtin to do wit ur time than repeat more dan once...

Lool wahala

Www.udokajane.blogspot.com

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2909093/Angry-brides-share-bridal-gown-horror-stories.html. Thus article appeared on daily mail today. No mention of where you culled it from.

So this was copied from mail online just as it was posted. So,where are the credits or are these your original research and findings?

I don sormasort here tier say I dey laf. It's 100% funny

Ohumotu said...

If e no be panadol... e no fit be like panadol.. LOL

Shoping online for wedding is not adviciable

lolysh said...

Tnx jare, instead of them to know their size and what fits their stature

Not even eBay, Mart of China! LWKM!!!!!!

Linda can u pls tell ds julliet to stop writting take note,really it's annoying.sexy wife

SWAAG said...

OGA GAN O.... WELL, I THINK SOME TIMES IT DEPENDS ON WHO WEARS THEM.... I HAVE SEEN SAME SHIRTS I HAVE THAT LOOK GOOD ON ME....THEY DONT ALWAYS LOOK GOOD ON THE OTHER GUY

This is the exact result you get when you shop from aliexpress.

Ify said...

Linda, you need to see mine!!!!! I will send you photos. OMG! Same thing happened to me. I ordered online from China, by the time it arrived a day to my wedding, na something else I see oo!Thanks to Balogun Market, I rushed down to buy something else on the eve of my wedding. Ladies, you would not believe it, but there are hundreds of nice wedding gowns at the Lagos Island Markets joo.

Forget story,see d dresses,the designs r totally off wat d original looks like,its not the bodi size dat counts here

She is stupid cos she keeps writing "Linda take note" datz why she sendz in multiple msges so dat she can be noted and notices. SMH

Noticed

Them wicked

Gbam....I concur

@prettywoman,hw e kum take affect u nw,waka pass

DaBabe said...

Rotfl...bad business.

if you have to buy a wedding dress on line, ensure you send in your measurement with their specification. try using a good tailor that understands the pattern of what YOU want. Size 10 doesn't mean same, we have different body shape..

MADEMOISELLE said...

Hahahaha u go fear na,, na wa o lol

Mon said...

You should really come up with original stories for once.

Black market.....lol

AMIJEZ said...

That's what you get when you buy from aliexpress. fake fake products.

AMIJEZ said...

That's what you get when you buy from aliexpress. fake fake products.

OYO

CEO92 said...

lmao! !! This is too funny

I knew it. Royal priesthood wld always comment without reading a post. All in d name of linda's giveaway!

Thanks to my hubby that safe me this embarrassment, would have order for my wedding gown from DH gate cos it's cheap but he insisted I buy from a bridal shop then, if not OYO would have be my case

Lmao!!! dis kain tin de pain oh

Linda it happens here too.I ordered some wears on Konga and Jumia, wen dey brought them, some were totally different from wat i saw online. I got so angry that I ve to reject almost all. dey show case beautiful tins bt supply nonsense. since then I stopped buying wears online.

hahaahahahahhah why did they go to black market???n hihihihihih

Pls i will advise people not to buy clothes online. Shops like Aliexpress etc, in Nigeria last week I got an other I made on Konga; my order number is F321632603001, when I opened the pack I almost cryed, the clothes was RUBBISH.in gave my gate man all the clothes.

That is what you get when you are looking for awuff.

Mia said...

China!!!!!!

Lol.............(falls down)

Mia say sooooo

LINDA, God bless you BIG for sharing this pictures. I was on the verge of ordering my wedding dress online. Thank you so much.

Preciousgirl said...

Lmaoo i know those sites...damn those dresses are hideous

Atlstyle said...

Hahaha and it looks like women in UK or europe and Nigeria that order most..I see the British heater behind some photo..we in the US don't hv to worry bout this crap, there are too many places to get a nice dress from but I guess people trying to be cheap so that's what you get for your $100.

@her exellency must u comment, miss know it all. EWU!!

ROTFL.......LWKMD!!!!!!!! ntooo....make u na patronise naija Una go dey do ITK. if u no get money to go abroad. I beg stay naija. At least attend wedding festival they make good clothing

ElsieNene said...

LOOOL

African Icon said...

Did they consider shape? it is part of the fitting measures. If the model has ample bust and booty and your is as flat as pancake how would you expect to get same fitting?
I can only understand if you ordered a thing and you got a different thing. or when the delivery is of wrong specification.
..Her Majesty

African Icon said...

Did they consider shape? it is part of the fitting measures. If the model has ample bust and booty and yours is as flat as pancake how would you expect to get same fitting?
I can only understand if you ordered a thing and you got a different thing. Or when the delivery is of wrong specification.
..Her Majesty

You got this from Daily Mail. Have you learnt nothing?????

i buy clothes from konga and jumia but i usually dont go for the cheap ones so i dont enter one chance. Remember if its cheap, it cant be good, and if its good it cant be cheap too. A word is okay for the wise.

Now this made my night can't stop laughing buhaahahahahahahahahahahahaha

If I was given such hideous repulsive and ludicrous prices of clothing I would glue there bums to the toilet seat!It is also the brides fault, to greedy for cheap dresses just save up fools to regular dresses. Non of those stupid brides sew the company! No simplify for greediness, people cannot help themselves

Lmao, Lol, hahahahaha. The more u look the less yu see.. Abi na nigerians get the site

Laff wan kill me oooo. What the hell! Hahahahaha

Hahaha. Laff wan kill me ooo. Wonder d kind of shock that would have bn on these people's faces when they received their "wedding gowns". Hahahaha. So funny

Ope. K said...

LMAOO HILARIOUS

hahahahahaha....very funny but that is wicked of them

See breast tube. See lemon colour. See belle. The bride nor come fit stand with confidence.

Shine your eyes. Lol

My tailor made my wedding dress in Lagos Nigeria and it came out very beautiful 'cos it was made to my body spec. Shine your eyes when buying online and take your time to check out the description of the product you are buying

I actaully read the comments to laugh and the comments on here make the post even funnier, I'm rolling with laughter!

www.fashion-s-o-s.com

This is so Ali Express

moral of the lesson - what looks good on another must not necessarily look good on u.

lynxx said...

Bur why is it so?

It is very possible dat her fone is bad and keep resending messages...........pls get a new fone and stop irritating odas. if u want us to notice u, congrats we already did.

Tunechi said...

Oh my goodness,i cant stop laughing.dis is just so hilarious.hehehehe,Linda,hope uve taken note oh?bkos dats wot juliet has been pleading for.

Tunechi said...

Oh Lord hav mercy..u people have finished me with laughter..like for real? Dis is nice?

I'll like to recommend the lady who made my wedding gown to brides to be.
she is really young and very good.
Her number is 09027116592.
Her prices are reasonable too.
I made my gown for 70k and she gave me what's wanted. She has a pleasant personality also,lol...the bottom line is she is really good.trust me.

Classic bridal gowns (Ball gowns, mermaid gowns, A-line bridal gowns) @Office Address: Juli Collections, Block 3, shop 11 n 12, Odua Model Mart, Wema Bank Premises, By New Garage Bus stop, Ojota. Lagos State. 08060206053, 08028356103, www.julicollections.com