Mbaka does not speak for the Catholic Church in Nigeria- CBCN | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 January 2015

Mbaka does not speak for the Catholic Church in Nigeria- CBCN

The Catholic Bishops Conference of Nigeria (CBCN) has distanced itself from the recent remarks made by the controversial Catholic Priest and Founder of Adoration Ministry, Enugu Catholic Archdiocese, Rev. Fr Ejike Mbaka who in his New Year message described President Jonathan's administration as one that has been plagued with bad luck and poor performance.

In an interview with ThisDay newspaper, the CBCN President, Archbishop Ignatius Kaigam, said that Fr Mbaka's remarks does not represent the position of the Catholic Church in Nigeria. He said that Fr Mbaka was just one out of the 30million catholic faithfuls in Nigeria and that the position of the Catholic church on any matter of National importance is communicated only through the CBCN.

"There are more than 30 million Catholics in Nigeria, Fr Mbaka is just one Catholic, if he makes a statement, it cannot be the voices of more than 30 million Nigerian Catholics speaking. So Nigerians should avoid hasty generalisation. Mbaka cannot speak for the church, only the CBCN can speak for the church. Those who are complaining, should go to Fr Mbaka and find out why he is saying what he is saying. I tell you,  even the Canon Law forbid a priest  to engage in partisan politics,” Kaigama said
In a related development, the Catholic Bishop of Abuja Metropolitan, Cardinal John Onaiyekan has said that given the rules of the Catholic church, Rev. Fr Ejike Mbaka ought to be sanctioned following his remarks about President Goodluck Jonathan's administration.
“Mbaka will take responsibilities for his own actions. I do not believe in my mind that the way things are in Nigeria, any Catholic priest has the mandate to decide which of the political contestants should be voted for. What most of us will do is to tell people to vote according to their conscience and then, we tell the authorities to allow people to vote freely and fairly. I wouldn’t be surprised if most people are not happy with the statement he made. From my reactions, you should see that I do not agree with him. I don’t believe a priest should be doing that. But, like I said, Mbaka is a priest of his own type. If he was in my archdioceses, I will have sanctioned him long ago for the kind of things and utterances that he makes. But, he is not under my diocese; he has a Bishop to handle that if there is any need. I hope that people are not thinking that we are sending Mbaka to talk rubbish, how can they think that? If you want to hear anything even not official but at least, authoritative, then, you listen to the bishops. Rather than him and I don’t see any bishop talking that way” the Cardinal said

144 comments:

Uche Emma said...

That's true for sure

He Spoke he's mind concerning the Nation, and his Opinions COUNT!!!

.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Phronesisfashionworld said...

yea he spoke for himself

Did mbaka ever mention he's speaking. On behalf of catholics..mscheew!

Well said....vialli4u@yahoo.com

We have heard

I heard that his recent comment was due to money dispute...u see why i don't trust some God?

Inspired by sex mp3 by Tb Joshua

CHERRY said...

Hmmm this case is turning into something else!

Hahaha, exactly my point,he should speak as an individual and not for the church

Neks said...

>>>> I saw this coming. <<<<

Linda correct urself
He is not a controversial priest abeg.

Miracle Onuoha said...

Ok wala gi Mbaka. Fake prophet.

That's the right step to take on him according to the law governing the catholic priests

He is just speaking for him self

True but the problem is this we are a gullible people and once a person of authority speaks we tend to believe them. Mbaka wields great power and chances are his utterance has swayed a lot of people. #not that I care!

And this saga will continue to go on and on hmmmmm I dont know ehat to say""""""!!!!!! JC

Religion & Politics... :/

Eve said...

A the drama continues.... Nollywood over to una I want to see a trilogy based on this unfolding script

All man to himself.

Mbaka voiced a bitter truth.

I agree with the bishop. The Pope must here it....#Proudcatholic.

Whether they accept it or not,he said d mind of millions d world all over.

Sometimes,we hv to separate religion from politics for a moment.

The bishop has spoken... All clergymen should be mindful of there utterances!!! #Proudcatholic.

It's a lie I don't believe this ur false false news linda. Bishop can't come out nd start saying fr mbaka, is saying rubbish, stop all this nonsense news u update 2 LIB 2 read

Every man to his own point of view. Whether u agree or not, there is an iota of truth in what he has said. We re tired of Gej's administration; WE WANT CHANGE!

Yes Mbaka speak for himself...why won't they distance themselves when they have already collected bribes from each and every politicians.....judgement they say will surely starts from church....
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Simon said...

I'm a born catholic and I'm igbo too but honestly I think mbaka has been a political chalatan, he is stupid to make such comments

Simon said...

I'm a born catholic and I'm igbo too but honestly I think mbaka has been a political chalatan, he is stupid to make such comments

When churches start getting involved in political issues then we need to think twice. Mbaka is an individual and can't speak on behalf of other Catholics but speaking about it while spreading the gospel was wrong.

Cowards u can't backup your own, u guys are bunch of losers, u are afraid to admit to the truth bcos u want to be alive........ The gods thing is that fr Mbaka don't give a fcuk and there is nothing CBCN can do about it, they would even be afraid to caution him, bcos he is God's own.......CBCN pls stop ranting and face the truth or is it bcos u guys don't have kids to dance the ugly music with us.....all the same i don't support Fr Mbaka....GEJ all the way if he don't like it...let him come and contest

All of you are the same.allow him to be.everybody is entitled to his/her opinion.

Linda who told you that Fr Mbaka is a controversal priest, nne biko say only what u know and not what you hear. this is new year oo

Kasala don burst oo. God help Nigeria.

dodo said...

And that's just it

everyman for himself

Spiritual politics

chi_ special said...

Well said!

He spoke what according to him was from the holy spirit.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

issokay
------------LIB prince -----------
----------LIB Prince-------------
-----------LIB prince ------------

It's a lie I don't believe this ur false false news linda. Bishop can't come out nd start saying Rev. Fr. Mbaka, is saying rubbish, stop all this nonsense news u update 2 LIB 2 read

Blaq said...

Okay its his opinion not of the catholic church

destinysweet said...

Na una sabi,priests and politics

Auntylindagoddaughter

Yeah.. A man of God shud control his speech when it comes to political matters.

General said...

Indirect Beef

Ezigbo nsogbu di

I sense jealousy here.

Steady said...

God will strengthen you more and more for that statement...mbaka is now behaving like okotie

Princess G said...

Gbam, shekina.

Onaiyekun is there whining his mouth about mbaka not obeying d catholic church in so many areas. When the catholic bishops of nigeria are disobeying the pope in certain areas too. Nonsense!!! See pot calling kettle black. When onaiyekun is busy being a political bishop instead of performing his priestly duties, dat is why abuja now has an auxillary bishiop, whom onaiyekun is even muscling.

People will still nt understand ...trust me...only God will help us

Mbaka is saying what is in the mind of most Nigerians but are afraid of speaking out Father Mbaka must not be threatened and must not disappear for speaking his mind. God bless Nigeria

Dats a gud one cardinal..... Don't mind his stupid ranting

North and South Cardinal, its OK. Mk una nor vex again. I dey suspect say Mbaka don get political party wey him dey bk, dats y he sd dat. But coming from a man of God, dat talk nor pure at all.
P4dworld@gmail.com

Drama

I don't blame Fr Mbaka. He's used to speaking his mind whether u accept it or not. But na dem know sha.

Mbaka is just b lousy and trying to b relevant.

He lost my respect ever since when he conducted crusade yrs back in my Lagos base. D rain dealt wit us mercilessly in d name of mbaka crusade..

He couldn't stop mere rain, wht a shame.

He should cross check himsef.

#Royal Priesthood#

I think its time u church leaders say the truth and let the devil be ashamed!This country is in God's hand and ur hand....

Mbaka thinks he can say anytin just cos he is a priest, if he is not campaigning for Buhari who is he campaigning for

Then dey shuld suspend him nau..dat is where d sanction starts.

I am proud of the Catholic church for speaking openly against the ocultic utterances by Mbaka through the CBCN. It is a thing of joy that this is happening.It shows that the tenets of our christendom is still being upheld. False prophets/pastors/Priests spilling balderdash should desist from it to avoid further hitting up the polity. #GEJtill2019

MR EDDY said.
Is FR mbaka now a prophet?
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

If I was his superior I wil suspend him for dis...

To serve as lesson to other priests.

#Royal Priesthood#

MamaWhat??? said...

What's this one saying?..the problem with Nigerians is that they don't just wanna hear the truth, even Mbaka is a bad man but atleast he spoke the truth...the truth they're scared to hear bcus the way Nigeria is right now, is not the time to pretend or to hide the truth.

MamaWhat??? said...

What's this one saying?..the problem with Nigerians is that they don't just wanna hear the truth, even Mbaka is a bad man but atleast he spoke the truth...the truth they're scared to hear bcus the way Nigeria is right now, is not the time to pretend or to hide the truth.

Dis election shld just end already. I'm tired of all dis

Frankie said...

Just as anticipated..TRUE talk

Lukman said...

We are waiting for the second part of the Drama! I have been expecting this, cos, I know the Presidency will not be happy!

Frankie said...

Just as anticipated..True talk.

This is really getting out ofhand

Very good. Don't know how a well respected man of God like Mbaka cud have made those kind of utterances.

He shd be sanctioned

Church and politics not good, still am yet to believe Mbaka said those things

kaycee blogspot said...

Rev. Mbaka's message is not from the office of CBCN,Your Lordship. His message was from the direction of the Holy spirit, he cannot hold back the truth about the state of this nation under the administration of GEJ. If others will open up and say it out clear s he did to all our leaders rather than giving them front pew in church and knighthoods after they loot our money, is time the church arise.

Make have said it all. Get administration sucks

Gbamest!!

Mbaka is right, Get administration sucks

Make have said it all. Get administration sucks

John Philemon said...

I do not believe in my mind that the way things are in Nigeria, any Catholic priest has the mandate to decide which of the political contestants should be voted for. What they should do is to tell people to vote according to their conscience and then tell the authorities to allow people to vote freely and fairly. Religious Leaders should desist frm comment that causes Acrimony n Division... This is one Nigeria for Gods Sake

true talk

Any sensible man can deduce he doesn't speak for CBCN. His utterances is just the bitter undiluted truth and as a man of God, people will heed to his words.

@Royal priesthood or whatever you call yourself, u r become too lousy and need to get your own self checked. Stop trying to make yourself relevant in LIB cos u r not. Since when did mbaka bkod that stops the rain

Mbaka has a right to his own opinion. How come this Bishop did not say Mbaka does not speak for catholic when Mbaka was in support of GEJ

Mz steph said...

U must be very stupid. He couldn't stop the rain??? Like are your for real? Does he look like a magician to u. Useless somebody

Gentletee said...

We know thats not the voice of the entire catholic fold.

Let d show begin. Linda take note!

angelite said...

#fact#....

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

4dia pocket. I won't involve myself. #onlyRead

Good one can't wait 4 elections to come and go....

She Said...

look at our church leaders doing royal rumble,father mbaka never said he was speaking for the entire catholic mission,so why the comments now towards him,i first knew of him during the days of nnamani in enugu state,and he fought the governor to a standstill,GOD will be the one to judge our so called religious leaders, bcos they have all lost their tongues due to their unnecessary friendliness with governments of the day,if only they are able to exert positive influence to leaders of today,nigeria won't find itself in the quagmire that she is today.

Kulikuli said...

I commend the Catholic Church for speaking up. Mbaka now has a pattern of nuisance behaviour, now dances naked in public. But even the insane has someone to pull him in. I don't agree with the Cardinal that his Bishop should discipline him, even when it obvious that his so called bishop is either in cahoots with him, or lacks the moral force. Next Q, who disciplines the Bishop? Or has the whole Church lost it? This to me smells like Boko Haram has struck, no longer a church building, but it's very Soul!!!

@ elvis what should the name of the movie be?

He is not a controversial Priest Aunty Linda... He is speaking about the nation from his mind and the present situation of the country...

BlessingOzoemena said...

Hear " thank me tomorrow

Kulikuli said...

I commend the Catholic Church for speaking up. Mbaka now has a pattern of nuisance behaviour, now dances naked in public. But even the insane has someone to pull him in. I don't agree with the Cardinal that his Bishop should discipline him, even when it obvious that his so called bishop is either in cahoots with him, or lacks the moral force. Next Q, who disciplines the Bishop? Or has the whole Church lost it? This to me smells like Boko Haram has struck, no longer a church building, but it's very Soul!!!

Why will they

Why will

Up mbaka forever.....

Yes he never claimed. He spoke on behalf of catholics, he only voiced what God ordered him to say, the truth that most of you are too cowardly to say to your congregation, for fear of falling out of GEJ favor. religion and politics are different indeed, yet most politicians are running to pastors for special prayers when election comes. As leaders of the church you have the right to guide ur members aright and tell them the truth, and stop hiding under silly excuses to sell dis nation to corrupt politicians. It takes a fearless and courageous man to stand out of the crowd and say the truth, am proud of Rev Mbaka

The Catholic Church did not have a problem when fr Mbaka was praying with mama Piss...now they they are attacking the man of God for speaking the TRUTH?! In Fr Mbaka's voice 'who is fooling who?'!!!!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Mbaka should count himself lucky that GEJ's regime indulged him and his sedition...
If it were under OBJ, he wouldn't have finished singing Nigeria jaga jaga, before he's hauled into confinement!

Yes ooo

honest_opinion said...

sure he spoke for himself but he knows he has o authority to speak for himself when he is at the alter celebrating mass.if he wanted to speak for himself, then he has no business being a catholic priest.he can become a pastor or prophet with his own congregation,period.

Pick up your dictionary and check the definition of controversial...hian

honest_opinion said...

some say he never mentioned speaking for Catholics when he was preaching to Catholics abi na protestants/Pentecostals attend the end of year mass?

south ockendon said...

Everyone has the right to express themselves. Y making a yoyo out of what he said? He said the truth though and nothing but the truth

This is the problem with religious institutions. Is a "man of God" supposed to speak on behalf of an institution or is he supposed to speak on behalf of God. We have commercialised the things of God, it's no longer spiritual. Of course he didn't speak on behalf of Catholics and he never said he was speaking on anyone's behalf. He said he was giving his people a new year message from God. Whether he is believed or not, is left to the hearer.

Mbaka all the way

we don hear oh

Make dem leave am. He spoke for himself

Pple dat say Jona till 2019, may God run der lives d way Jona dey run naija IJN

na wa! pls how many souls has this utterance turned to christ eh?? People deviating from their calling....abeg make i chop my chin chin jare.

Very true,as a devoted catholic i am really surprised that a catholic priest would reduce himself to what Fr Mbaka did. A priest should not talk politics, castigate or judge. I am very sure he is full of regrets because he spoke like someone who was paid. Politics is not part of you Padre!!!

So what are you saying exactly?
coz Mbaka is a RF and not a pastor that can be self proclaimed. There is a body controling the RFs of which he is recognized as a RF. If he has to function he must observe their rules.

My point is that the Rev father would not have made such condeminations on the president in that manner. Its like urging your. Congregation and the viewers to vote for Buhari. A true man of God should not be involve in politics in this manner but to pray for God chosen president and in our country.

Exactly...wen he wz supportin gej...they didnt tell him nt to get involved ooo....hypocrites

The idiot (yes, he's an idiot) from Abuja needs several slaps. If he feels mandated by God to give a political opinion then who are U to talk abt sanctioning him. Thieving boy molester. See why I can't stand many so called men of God. Vested interests at play

If only our men of God can be this up and doing...may be our leaders would seat up to a conscientious leadership ...that would eventually better the state of things in this country of ours...God bless mbaka, the church,people of good will and God bless Nigeria....

And the girl linda strikes again. NOT POSTING ONES COMMENT. WELL NEVER MIND JUST THOUGHT you had changed. Sahara reporters will air ones views. From the UK. Goodbye!!!

AIhaji Ejike Mbaka is a fake man of God.A prophet of baal

Ode of Africa. You can't separate religion from politics, there is a reason the americans stuck to Christianity and left Islam. That's why a Muslim would never rule america, because of their irrationality

Buhari's girlfriend, don't worry, you'll soon know it's true. Ode of the universe

I really don't understand what you people mean by change oh, I hope you also know that when you jump from frying pan, into fire, it is also change.

Anon 3:05pm, so he is under control which invariably means he can only say what they want him to say, right? When it was said that he supported the continuation of president GEJ, there was no problem with that? He didn't say rubbish at that time, right? The rules didn't apply at that time? Keep fooling yourself and don't open your mind.

GreatBabe said...

A respected man of God like Mama should desist from politics. I hope APC has not given him money

the bible says not to talk against an anointed one of God I pray God doesnt strike you dead for this useless comment

some devil nko?work on your english before talking nonsense it will help you go far in life

FOOL

but you fool Obama was a Muslim and I stay in America they dont have myopic mind like you

I am a Catholic too this comment just shows how daft you are,you stand against everything Catholic because then you will know you dont utter such nonsense against any man of God

your dumb brain

show us where he danced naked.Must you be stupid and talk nonsense?

ada said...

U ar the fake man of God.... U imbecile

Anytime mbaka dabbles into politics, it never favours him and it clearly shows that God is never with him when he leaves his healing ministry to venture into other practices like politics. He predicted that Chimaroke nnamani will not win a second term in office and the man won. He also predicted that Sullivan chime will not get a second term in office, d man got a second term. He predicted that Ngige will not win the senatorial election he was contesting with Dora Akunyili but Ngige won the elections. Now he has turned on Jonathan, clearly he has left the canoe paddled by Jesus to venture into the murky water of politics like so many men of God these days who do not look back but abandon their flock to seek residence in Aso rock when the call foe vice president is made or offered to them. May God help us all and save us from our flesh.

Lol I tot u were all connected sha na una sabi*moving on*