World first as mother's womb is transplanted to daughter so she can give birth | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 December 2014

World first as mother's womb is transplanted to daughter so she can give birth

Greatest gift a mum can give to her daughter. Two women have given birth using wombs donated by their own mothers. The pair become the first ever to have children using the very womb that brought them into the world a generation earlier.

The breakthrough brings hope to women who want children but were born without a womb or have had it removed.

The two mothers are among nine women to have been given womb transplants – seven of which have succeeded.

Allan Pacey of the British Fertility Society said: ‘That’s a very good success rate for a new surgical procedure. If it carries on like this, it may have a massive impact on things like surrogacy.
‘Women would much prefer to have their own baby and be pregnant than watch another woman be pregnant.’
The babies – both boys – were born a month ago in Sweden and are doing well with their mothers at home.

Henrik Hagberg, a professor in foetal medicine at King’s College London, who was at the first birth, praised the grandmothers who had hysterectomies to donate wombs to their daughters.
‘It is an absolutely extraordinary gift. It is probably the best thing you can do for your daughter,’ he said.
‘The mothers were still very much doubting whether things would really go well. You don’t take anything for granted when you have experienced all of the problems they have been through.’
The first child, who weighed 5lb 8oz, was born to a 29-year-old Swede who lacked a womb at birth.

The mother of the second boy, who weighed in at 5lb 15oz, is 34 and had her womb removed when she was treated for cancer in her 20s.

Both babies were delivered by Caesarean section around a month early. They join another history-making boy, named Vincent. Born in September as part of the Gothenburg University project, he was the first in the world to be born from a womb transplant.

Culled from UK Daily Mail

141 comments:

1. The breakthrough brings hope to women who want children but were born without a womb
    oops:see hackers leak popular socialite sheneka adams private photos online.. [18+]

2. That's how. Its suppose to be.....obi nne

1. If Una like make Una go yeye Una sef dey wait for Una grandmama womb, Oyo go be Una case....my candle opinion
      Gab2shoessaysso

2. The love of a mother, but isn't it crazy? The same womb that brought her into this world is the same that brought her own child. Wow!

3. Replies
    1. And it's amazing!!
      Wow..

*My R1.50c comment*

2. Amazing! Greatest gift from mother to daughter

4. Science is making what was once impossible, possible. However no everything we can do, we should do oh!

Christmas sales on baby and childrens clothes at Konga.com

5. Aww best gift ever, may God bless both of them

1. Amen! Am almost filled wit tears,chai,God u r indeed wonderful

6. Mmmmmmmm

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

7. Wow that's so nice...technology is taking us higher

#abbytohxoft

8. Wow this is wonderful.wife1987@gmail.com

9. This is a medical breakthrough

10. Wow
    Amuzieemmanuel@gmail.cm

11. linda ikeji's boo3 December 2014 at 21:07

wonders shall never end.thats hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

12. Wow! Good news to a lot of ladies out there Hehehehehehe #onelovefromSnow#

13. Mothers are great gift of nature.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

14. Amazing Great! I'm even short of words. Greatest gift indeed! Gal 6:10. BishopDammy#

15. God is really wonderful. Neva imagined such tin was relatively possible

16. Sweden and science. Impressive.

17. wow! this is great..its indeed the greatest gift!

18. Hmmm...d handiwork of science.

19. Wow.this is awesome but once they are done they should remove the womb cos its old.
    Faceoflib

20. Wow this is nice!!! It's the best gift I swear nufin more!!! It's risky tho

21. Awe nawa oh. Dtz cool doe.

Long live LIB™

22. The world is envolving by the day.

23. That's a miracle. But I prefer using my own womb. <>. REPORTING>>. LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>>

1. Didn't you read that it's for pple whose womb has been removed or born without one?
      Would u collect something you already have.
      Continue commenting like a retard.

2. I am sure the woman in the article would have preferred using her own womb. Doubt u even read the article.. SMH

24. It just keeps getting better with science.

25. just too great.. modern tech.. GOD is wonderful

26. Wow! Intresting. There's hope for women without womb.

27. Wow!
    Love,motherly love.
    Those mothers are role models.

Bryte Tablet from Konga.com

28. Linda, there's also a case of a 65yrs old friend who donated her womb to her 34/36yrs old friend. The transplant went successfully. Thot to let u know. Thanks.

29. Whaoooo that great, this is the type of good innovations I wanna hear. Will take decades before it gets to Nigeria!

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

30. Lovely aunty linda plspost my comments l

31. How possible..hmmm..science is just marvellous and amazing

32. Pls aunty linda post my coments biko

33. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    so there is hope at last for the hopeless.

34. Dats wonderful.......Nothing is impossible with God...... Science is awesome

35. Uhm! In today's world, nothing is impossible

36. Wow I'm stunned. There can never be an end to discoveries.

37. Wonderful
    Greatest gift of all

38. Wow! ... Dats all I can say

39. Linda, I have glued my device to my palm ,today an today I must eat the good of this land in Jesus name amen.Thank you in advance winks

40. God bless our mothers...they go through a lot 4 us!

41. Thank GOD for science and new discoveries!!!!

42. Wowwwww,that's lovely.what a gift indeed.

43. Wow! Everything is possible now in science except ofcourse,creating breathe. They try. Astonishing things human can do!

44. dis is y i love science

45. >>>> Thank God for science <<<<<

46. What can I say? It is miraculously awesome. (•͡.̮ •͡ )

47. The whites breaking new grounds in science and technology, the blacks well we keep praying and committing crimes, indulging in negative vices. Just pray I won't come back as black in another life!! White people brought bible to Africa to enslave us and they moved on from it, yet we are stuck with it using the teachings of the bible to commit all sorts of vices. Rather than deceiving people with prayers for fruit of the bomb in churches around lagos to collect offerings and tithes, whites have solved the same problem with technology.

48. Thank you Jesus

49. Technology at its best God is good.

50. Technically, dey just gave birth to their siblings...lol. more importantly though is, what did the moms do right to keep their wombs in good condition that the kids aren't doing?

1. Zuwo! Did u read d story at all? Always commenting for the sake of it. Mpam!

2. Some ppl dey shaa o! Is it d womb dat determines siblings?

3. Kai being smart is not easy oo. The Royces of the world are too many..smh. Hopefully there's good news 4 the future 'Brain transplant' will suffice ----C21

4. You are sick.
      Whose DNA does the child have? Sibling ke. What about surrogacy, na who carry the belle get pickin?

Just realised that 80% of LIB readers are either daft or dumb.

5. You read some comments and you wonder how some people can be so dense. Is there a way people maintain wombs don't u know some women can't bear children due to different reasons? Pls if you don't have anything bright to say shut up.. "what did the mother do to maintain her womb"look how foolish u sound

6. Very unhealthy sense of humour u guys have. "Lol" means nothing to y'all? Wow.

51. Wow...many our youg girls way dey find kids, ask their mum to do same na

--------#Auntylindagoddaughter#

52. Wow. So that can be done? Hmmmmm. Like dat

53. Very soon dem go transfer one brain to another. Good discovery tho

54. That's really wonderful, am sure it's gonna be really expensive though. esebeauty21@yahoo.com

55. unconditional love

56. wow. Gives hope to the hopeless.
    Sooner or later, science will evolve more than what we see.

57. Technology,God thank u lord
    Gracenot2001

58. It's in the bible. None shall be barren in the land,God knew people who can get pregnant will somehow get help...

1. Loool, make I just keep quiet. No wonder we dey behind oyibo people

59. Wow! That is called Mother's love. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

60. Man has gradually attained God status, this is quite amazing!

61. Awww, where the ladies at, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

62. Science nd technoIogy. God is awesome

63. When will this type of news come from Africa. The best mothers can do here is take to their daughter from on prayer house to the other.

64. Great invention. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

65. Them try

66. Mamashinbele! Wonders shall never end. The best gift indeed. mjabdulk@gmail.com

67. Wow!such miracle...

68. Nice to hear is God dat made it to b successful

69. Linkus this na old story na...it happened in Sweden.

70. Gracious God,Amazing!!!

71. Baba God you too much! See Science.Weldone O our oyinbo people. Ednamaka3@gmail.com

72. Gud one, sincerely hope that some religious sect will welcome such move.

73. There is nothing the Lord cannot do!

74. Wtn oyinbos no go for do...jez wondering

75. This such an awesome one. But I dont rili understand how she doznt hav a womb but has eggs. The womb or uterus bears two ovaries one on each side. So if she doznt hav a womb how would she hv ovaries. The ova are produced by the ovaries.

76. E b like say u no dey undstd English? Will ur womb be in good and u still go in for a womb transplant? Which 1 is ' I prefer using my own womb'

77. Science had 3 aims,D 1st was 2 mk man comfortable...wich dy av done wif all d gadgets,discovery of electricity,medicine etc...d 2nd was 2 better mans lyf...dy av done a great deal in ds 2,d 3rd however was 2 mk an elixir 2 mk man live forever_Immortality...dese pple seem 2 b getting closer daily...Ds z nice tho..(•_•)

78. Hmmmm. Mother's love 4 her child

79. Wow...dis is wonderful, dis is God at work...most precious and greatest gift a mother can give to her daughter (a chance to experience motherhood)...

80. God is so wonderful

81. wow, thats great (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

82. hope at last God bless those doctors cheers lindaikeji

83. There's no love like a mother love...

84. it is a good and relieving news but it must cost a lot.

85. Wow that is God at work!
    Although is very risky, but there's notin God cannot do #realgreatestgiftofall#

86. I Pray to use my own womb ooo...
    (1st time to comment i love your blog so much,, kind of addicted to it)!peace out

87. Wow! It's amazing indeed

88. But who is now the real mother ,the owner of the womb or the one that carried the baby.
    The baby and the mother are sibling

89. Amazing Wonders! Can't hold back my tears of joy!

Adambano!