World first as mother's womb is transplanted to daughter so she can give birth | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 December 2014

World first as mother's womb is transplanted to daughter so she can give birth

Greatest gift a mum can give to her daughter. Two women have given birth using wombs donated by their own mothers. The pair become the first ever to have children using the very womb that brought them into the world a generation earlier.

The breakthrough brings hope to women who want children but were born without a womb or have had it removed.

The two mothers are among nine women to have been given womb transplants – seven of which have succeeded.

Allan Pacey of the British Fertility Society said: ‘That’s a very good success rate for a new surgical procedure. If it carries on like this, it may have a massive impact on things like surrogacy.
‘Women would much prefer to have their own baby and be pregnant than watch another woman be pregnant.’
The babies – both boys – were born a month ago in Sweden and are doing well with their mothers at home.

Henrik Hagberg, a professor in foetal medicine at King’s College London, who was at the first birth, praised the grandmothers who had hysterectomies to donate wombs to their daughters.
‘It is an absolutely extraordinary gift. It is probably the best thing you can do for your daughter,’ he said.
‘The mothers were still very much doubting whether things would really go well. You don’t take anything for granted when you have experienced all of the problems they have been through.’
The first child, who weighed 5lb 8oz, was born to a 29-year-old Swede who lacked a womb at birth.

The mother of the second boy, who weighed in at 5lb 15oz, is 34 and had her womb removed when she was treated for cancer in her 20s.

Both babies were delivered by Caesarean section around a month early. They join another history-making boy, named Vincent. Born in September as part of the Gothenburg University project, he was the first in the world to be born from a womb transplant.

Culled from UK Daily Mail

141 comments:

The breakthrough brings hope to women who want children but were born without a womb
oops:see hackers leak popular socialite sheneka adams private photos online.. [18+]

That's how. Its suppose to be.....obi nne

That's God at work

Science is making what was once impossible, possible. However no everything we can do, we should do oh!

Christmas sales on baby and childrens clothes at Konga.com

Naija Babe said...

Aww best gift ever, may God bless both of them

Mmmmmmmm

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Wow that's so nice...technology is taking us higher

#abbytohxoft

Mrs ceres said...

Wow this is wonderful.wife1987@gmail.com

Feyisetan said...

This is a medical breakthrough

Atobatele said...

Power of technology.

Wow
Amuzieemmanuel@gmail.cm

Wonders!

linda ikeji's boo said...

wonders shall never end.thats hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Wow! Good news to a lot of ladies out there Hehehehehehe #onelovefromSnow#

Mothers are great gift of nature.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

Amazing Great! I'm even short of words. Greatest gift indeed! Gal 6:10. BishopDammy#

KWIN MEENA said...

God is really wonderful. Neva imagined such tin was relatively possible

Sweden and science. Impressive.

wow! this is great..its indeed the greatest gift!

Hmmm...d handiwork of science.

Wow.this is awesome but once they are done they should remove the womb cos its old.
Faceoflib

elovi said...

Wow this is nice!!! It's the best gift I swear nufin more!!! It's risky tho

Awe nawa oh. Dtz cool doe.

Long live LIB™

The world is envolving by the day.

That's a miracle. But I prefer using my own womb. <>. REPORTING>>. LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>>

elovi said...

Extraordinary gift

OMG....WOW$$$$

buchi said...

Hmmm. Very cool

It just keeps getting better with science.

Wow...

just too great.. modern tech.. GOD is wonderful

Ted said...

Wow! Intresting. There's hope for women without womb.

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

Wow!
Love,motherly love.
Those mothers are role models.

Bryte Tablet from Konga.com

Linda, there's also a case of a 65yrs old friend who donated her womb to her 34/36yrs old friend. The transplant went successfully. Thot to let u know. Thanks.

Whaoooo that great, this is the type of good innovations I wanna hear. Will take decades before it gets to Nigeria!

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

elovi said...

Lovely aunty linda plspost my comments l

How possible..hmmm..science is just marvellous and amazing

elovi said...

Pls aunty linda post my coments biko

so there is hope at last for the hopeless.

Dats wonderful.......Nothing is impossible with God...... Science is awesome

Joy Adeniyi said...

Uhm! In today's world, nothing is impossible

Wow I'm stunned. There can never be an end to discoveries.

Wonderful
Greatest gift of all

DENNIS said...

Wow! ... Dats all I can say

Mrs ceres said...

Linda, I have glued my device to my palm ,today an today I must eat the good of this land in Jesus name amen.Thank you in advance winks

pixy said...

God bless our mothers...they go through a lot 4 us!

That is great!

Thank GOD for science and new discoveries!!!!

God is really worderful

Wowwwww,that's lovely.what a gift indeed.

Wow! Everything is possible now in science except ofcourse,creating breathe. They try. Astonishing things human can do!

dis is y i love science

Nonny said...

Wow dis is amazing

Awesome!

Neks said...

>>>> Thank God for science <<<<<

And it's amazing!!
Wow..

*My R1.50c comment*

What can I say? It is miraculously awesome. (•͡.̮ •͡ )

becckyd said...

Infact is the lords doing!

The whites breaking new grounds in science and technology, the blacks well we keep praying and committing crimes, indulging in negative vices. Just pray I won't come back as black in another life!! White people brought bible to Africa to enslave us and they moved on from it, yet we are stuck with it using the teachings of the bible to commit all sorts of vices. Rather than deceiving people with prayers for fruit of the bomb in churches around lagos to collect offerings and tithes, whites have solved the same problem with technology.

Thank you Jesus

Thank God!!!

Technology at its best God is good.

Technically, dey just gave birth to their siblings...lol. more importantly though is, what did the moms do right to keep their wombs in good condition that the kids aren't doing?

Wonders!!!

Very impressive..

Awww

destinysweet said...

Wow...many our youg girls way dey find kids, ask their mum to do same na

--------#Auntylindagoddaughter#

Mary Orbih said...

Science

Talk2Henry said...

Wow. So that can be done? Hmmmmm. Like dat

Very soon dem go transfer one brain to another. Good discovery tho

So luvly

That's really wonderful, am sure it's gonna be really expensive though. esebeauty21@yahoo.com

unconditional love

Ndi Ocha mma ihe.

wow. Gives hope to the hopeless.
Sooner or later, science will evolve more than what we see.

Wow

Technology,God thank u lord
Gracenot2001

So sweet.

It's in the bible. None shall be barren in the land,God knew people who can get pregnant will somehow get help...

Jeni_zee said...

Did u read d story?

Wow! That is called Mother's love. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

Man has gradually attained God status, this is quite amazing!

Awww, where the ladies at, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Science nd technoIogy. God is awesome

When will this type of news come from Africa. The best mothers can do here is take to their daughter from on prayer house to the other.

Golda Awosika said...

Hmm,greatest gift indeed

Great invention. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

Them try

Mamashinbele! Wonders shall never end. The best gift indeed. mjabdulk@gmail.com

josephine said...

Zuwo! Did u read d story at all? Always commenting for the sake of it. Mpam!

DADDYSWIFE said...

Amen! Am almost filled wit tears,chai,God u r indeed wonderful

so wonderful

Nneka

Racheal said...

Wow!such miracle...

Nice to hear is God dat made it to b successful

Linkus this na old story na...it happened in Sweden.

Whites though

Gracious God,Amazing!!!

andre kelvin said...

Omo na God

Awwww! I love this!

Baba God you too much! See Science.Weldone O our oyinbo people. Ednamaka3@gmail.com

charlesome said...

Wow! That's amazing!

Gud one, sincerely hope that some religious sect will welcome such move.

There is nothing the Lord cannot do!

Wtn oyinbos no go for do...jez wondering

This such an awesome one. But I dont rili understand how she doznt hav a womb but has eggs. The womb or uterus bears two ovaries one on each side. So if she doznt hav a womb how would she hv ovaries. The ova are produced by the ovaries.

E b like say u no dey undstd English? Will ur womb be in good and u still go in for a womb transplant? Which 1 is ' I prefer using my own womb'

Some ppl dey shaa o! Is it d womb dat determines siblings?

Wow dats great

If Una like make Una go yeye Una sef dey wait for Una grandmama womb, Oyo go be Una case....my candle opinion
Gab2shoessaysso

Science had 3 aims,D 1st was 2 mk man comfortable...wich dy av done wif all d gadgets,discovery of electricity,medicine etc...d 2nd was 2 better mans lyf...dy av done a great deal in ds 2,d 3rd however was 2 mk an elixir 2 mk man live forever_Immortality...dese pple seem 2 b getting closer daily...Ds z nice tho..(•_•)

Ode

Trust95 said...

Hmmmm. Mother's love 4 her child

chinny choo said...

The love of a mother, but isn't it crazy? The same womb that brought her into this world is the same that brought her own child. Wow!

Gness said...

Unconditional love

God's good.

Didn't you read that it's for pple whose womb has been removed or born without one?
Would u collect something you already have.
Continue commenting like a retard.

African foodstuff and Raw Materials said...

Wow...dis is wonderful, dis is God at work...most precious and greatest gift a mother can give to her daughter (a chance to experience motherhood)...

yemisi Z10 said...

God is so wonderful

Kai being smart is not easy oo. The Royces of the world are too many..smh. Hopefully there's good news 4 the future 'Brain transplant' will suffice ----C21

You are sick.
Whose DNA does the child have? Sibling ke. What about surrogacy, na who carry the belle get pickin?

Just realised that 80% of LIB readers are either daft or dumb.

wow, thats great (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

gusee said...

Amazing! Greatest gift from mother to daughter

C. A. Omerenna said...

hope at last God bless those doctors cheers lindaikeji

vanessa said...

chukwu aluka

So cool

There's no love like a mother love...

Wow!

I am sure the woman in the article would have preferred using her own womb. Doubt u even read the article.. SMH

You read some comments and you wonder how some people can be so dense. Is there a way people maintain wombs don't u know some women can't bear children due to different reasons? Pls if you don't have anything bright to say shut up.. "what did the mother do to maintain her womb"look how foolish u sound

Loool, make I just keep quiet. No wonder we dey behind oyibo people

it is a good and relieving news but it must cost a lot.

Wow OMG!!!!

Jessikezz said...

Wow that is God at work!
Although is very risky, but there's notin God cannot do #realgreatestgiftofall#

Cee Umanah said...

Tekinologee #TeethWideOpen

Jessikezz said...

I Pray to use my own womb ooo...
(1st time to comment i love your blog so much,, kind of addicted to it)!peace out

gusee said...

Wow! It's amazing indeed

But who is now the real mother ,the owner of the womb or the one that carried the baby.
The baby and the mother are sibling

Amazing Wonders! Can't hold back my tears of joy!

Adambano!

CELEB said...

Supported

Very unhealthy sense of humour u guys have. "Lol" means nothing to y'all? Wow.