They do this in Lagos too? Lol. Dog gets grand burial in Ikeja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 3 December 2014

They do this in Lagos too? Lol. Dog gets grand burial in Ikeja

This report is hilarious. No offense to dog lovers. But according to a report by Sunnewsonline, a dog that died last week got Service of songs, condolence register, seven-gun salute for animals, and an Army Band that played at its funeral...lol. Find the report below...
Last Saturday, November 29, Oshifila Street, Computer Village, Ikeja, Lagos State, was agog, as a dead dog, a male Alsatian, popularly known as Dr. Papilo in its lifetime, was given a befitting burial by its owner. A day before the burial, a service of songs was held for the dog at Cannan Hotel, Ikeja.
At the burial, there was plenty to eat and drink, just as guests were thoroughly entertained by the Nigerian Army Band. A detachment of mobile policemen at the event also gave the deceased dog a seven-gun salute.
Many sympathisers and guests showered accolades on the dog, paying glowing tributes to the animal in the condolence register.
Dog-owners, military personnel, police officers, veterinary doctors and many others thronged the venue of the ceremony, which commenced at 11am that Saturday. Many passers-by abandoned their initial plans and made a detour to Oshifila Street to witness the unbelievable funeral.
The street and many parts of Ikeja, the capital of Lagos, came to a standstill for some hours. Many could not believe that it was a dog that was being buried. But the owner insisted that Papilo was more than a dog, describing the canine, as a special breed.
Immediately after its death, a condolence register was opened for the dog in front of Cannan Hotel, where Papilo has served, as a security guard for 10 years.
Some of the tributes in the condolence register read: Papilo, you were great, You will remain forever in our memory, We miss you Papilo, Sleep well, What a brave dog!
The owner of the dog, Prince Keneth Edet Ani, who serves with the Nigerian Army in Ikeja, told the reporter that his affection for his late dog was unconditional.
Papilo’s remains were interred in a four-feet grave and decorated with roses. The grave is beside the hotel where the dog served till its demise.
Ani described the dog, as his business partner, first child and a friend that travelled with him across the country. He said the dog was an intelligent soldier and a security expert that fought a good fight before its departure. He said he could not reward the dog enough for all it did for him in securing his business and protecting his family for years.
Source: The Sun

158 comments:

1. Oh lawd! Can't help it but laugh out loud @ the tribute #onelovefromSnow#

2. Linda... do you still use "its" for a dog? lol.. When "He" is being used these days

3. Rubbish

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

4. Th e first time I'm seeing something like this. .mark 12:17. BishopDammy#

5. Lmao! I'm weak!!

6. Orishirishi....#next pls....#OmoAlhaja

7. Our dog has a grave and was buried in a box.....wecried like we lost a human....dunno abt dis one oh. If u love dogs u can do more dan dis wen it dies.

8. Haba! Linda u need an animal in your life ooo... Everyone in my house cried when our cat died,theres dis special bond btw pets and their owners,its just an amazing feeling

9. Meaning the dog was really loved by its owner(s).

10. Papilo may your soul rest in peace.

11. >>>>> Aww such a touching story, I see nothing wrong with it and think the dog deserved the burial he got, 10 years of service is huge, lol, rest in peace Papilo <<<<<<

12. Lol v v funny..big time rubbish

13. Too much Money ...the problem is how to spend it

14. Lol v v funny..big time rubbish

15. People can be very funny. Calabar man and their mentality, giving dog a befitting burial. mtchewww

16. Oh how i luv dogs!.Remembered how empty i felt when our dog of 7yrs died.It was more like an important member of my family died.However this grand burial and wasting of money is hilariously creepy.

17. Lolzzz jus so funny

18. Foolishness
    Abnormality

19. Wow, I'm deeply moved. (got a tear in my eye)

20. I c dem no need d money , we'll itz for the love.

Long live LIB™

21. Juliette (slimisbold@yahoo.com)3 December 2014 at 17:33

Okies o! We av heard.

22. Was he in the army or something? Calabar people will be like: WTF

23. Ojai says" hehehehhehe should I laff or sob? Na wa ooo. That's a good one anyway. May his body rest in peace

24. I love dogs too but this is to d extreme

25. This must be a human being turned to dog for money ritual. It cannot be a real dog. Occult things.

26. Orishirishi wetin person no go hear 4 ds country....o ga oo. NJ

27. Blood flows through their body too

28. Awww....
    So nice and sweet.When u have a dog that protects you and loves u unconditionally.Then u will understand.

29. for dog lovers!!!....anything can happen!! lol......

30. I think the Dog and the owner had a se**** relationship.

31. IT is well with her nudes...make she contunu. linda stop this 18+ discretion jor, would those under 18 ignore that title?

1. See Wetin u dey comment on dog burial. Dog na maheeda? Mumu

32. Not bad..lol a man can love his dog and a dog can be a mans best friend. I love playing with puppies ----C21

33. linda ikeji's boo3 December 2014 at 17:41

heheheheheh.funny.but animals don't have souls.once they are dead.thats there everlasting end

34. Mchewwwwww. Money miss road...NEXT

35. Mchewwwwww. Money miss road...NEXT

36. That's a tribute to something u adore.

37. Oooooo so gud. He was given a final respect by a proud owner.
    Am so inspired.

38. D dog must hav meant a lot 2 dem, dat was y it was given a biffiting burial

39. But it doesn't make sense shaa

40. There is nothing I won't see in this country. #LOL#. . REPORTING>>. LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>>

41. hahahahahah... wetin person no go see.

marilyn oge.

42. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    linda yu just disrespect the owner of the dead dog by laughing. am guessing the dog means a great deal to him.

43. Chai.. Madness!!

44. I dey laff in ijebu and ijaw 2geda

45. Hahahaha Dog burial keeeee???????????????????

46. If you get close to a well trained dog, you will fall in love with it. Here in US dogs are taken to day care, salons for their manicure and pedicure. Dogs are amazing and friendly.

47. Trust nija. We learn fast. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

48. Hmmmmm. Naija 4 life! Rip doggy

49. U can't imagine what people can do! E de dere de lavish money on burial for dog (animal) while me de here de look unto God for d same money! Dere ris God oooooh

50. Lindodo u sure say this dog no be human being? Hmmmmm

51. Eyahhhh he actually served for 10yrs so who are they paying its gratuity to?

52. This is a new development in naija,hope this will be sustained,RIP PAPI.

53. I have one and I understand...sometimes its a relationship that transcends what you can have with human

54. I was at d ceremony. D dog was a strong breed...Rip Papilo

55. Dogs are not just ko koo mon mon.

56. Dem neva talk d person wey die wrongly wey dem dey take style dey bury, dem just use dog dey cover am. Diaris God o!

@jessyangels4love

57. Eyah!wat will then if his child dies?

58. What a fantastic things to say about a dog. Though RIP Dr. Papilo

59. I was at d ceremony. D dog was a strong breed...Rip Papilo

----#Auntylindagoddaughter#

60. As a dog lover, I can relate to this guy's pain. If you've never owned a dog for over 3yrs or more, you may not understand. Adios Papilo

61. Lolzzzzz.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

62. Absolutely Madness! What is wrong with some people inthis country?

63. Dem dey craze?? Which kind madness be this?? DOOOOGY!! .....E be like say Naija don dey get plenty psycho people now ooo, wetin concern dog with grand burial??? ....mtsschheeewww!!..... Nonsense.

64. Madness of the highest order....

Idoma boi said so

65. Heartfelt if you read the dog owners statement...

But hope it doesn't start a trend now amongst some attention seekers

66. Its possible, cos dogs re very lawyer, reminds me of a movie (can't remember d name though), d dog usually follow its owner to d train station every morning nd wen its closing hour, d dog wuld be dere waiting, even after d death of d man, d dog follows dat routine till he passed away, heard its a real life story...RIP dog...

1. Hachiko, it's a true life story, happened in Japan.

67. Mcheeeeew!!! Too much money.

68. hmmmm na wa oooh agnesodey10@gmail.com

69. Mtcheewww waste of money time and energy

70. Buhahahahahahhaahha,ds pure madnx. Dog wey u go jst gv calabar pple to wak

71. This one na serious issue, wonders shall never cease. DOG KWA?

72. All dis soldiers wen bullet don touch their head....

73. Nothing wey eye no go see!!!!

74. Too mch moni,y e no go do burial for dog

75. This is interesting though. Linda work on your android app, it's not uploading the link for comment anymore.

76. A crazy world..

77. Laugh wan tear my ass o!!!!hey!forever in their(not mine) memory?lmao!

78. Hahahahaha I can't stop laughing, very hilarious, every day we get to hear and see new things, if this man is an Europian I can understand! Hmmm

79. nawaooo! eko oo

80. Lmao!! I'm weak!

81. Eyahhhhhh,dogs can be so attached to humans. RIP dog

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

82. I hate dogs soooooooooooo much so I say all of them r sick in d head..

83. We also did something similar when our dog died. I cried like a baby. RIP danky. We'll always miss ur sweet smell nd touch. Linda dis isn't d first time its happening in nigeria na. I even attended my cousin's dog funeral last year,nd we did aso ebi.

1. Greg, clean dt ya mouth. Ehn Dats beta. U too dey lie

2. Like seriously??? Aso ebi.... U guys must be crazy.

84. This seems like animal right too! mjabdulk@gmail.com

85. Nah whaooo many thing happen in dis world

86. Hmmm na everything we dey copy

87. Rosie Said........HHmmmmmmmmm!!!! I dont know want to make out of this story.......Still scratching my head!!!

88. Omg...i feel sad. The dog looks cute.

89. My naija peeps don turn white,can you imagine?

90. WOW....thats all I can say no wonder there is a saying that a DOG is man's best friend

91. Nothing somebody no go hear for this city called Lagos.

Christmas sales on baby and childrens clothes at Konga.com

92. Ritual tinz... Lol

93. the man should be arrested and tried in the court of law
    now before he brings the wrath of GOD upon innocent people

1. Your way of thinking sha...

2. Senseless Anonymous 9:00 pm

3. Am not a fan of doggys.......... but d story is so touching.. sleep on Papi

94. They don't know what to use TIME for...... Jobless nerds. (•͡.̮ •͡ )

95. Ehyaaaa...I love dogs. Them no dey break heart at all. Na only bones them sabi break. Rest well papillo

96. I WILL EQUALLY DO THAT 2 MY DOG, WHEN IT GIVES UP. ITS MORE THAN A DOG 2 ME. GERMAN SHEPHERD BREED. I NAMED IT MORGAN.

1. Thank you jare! They can't understand! When it's rats they have in their houses as pets!

97. adaonah82@yahoo.com3 December 2014 at 21:06

Nothin we won't hear. Na wa

98. adaonah82@yahoo.com3 December 2014 at 21:08

Rip doggy.

99. adaonah82@yahoo.com3 December 2014 at 21:08

Nothin we won't hear. Na wa

100. Wow....this is very hilarious..am also a lover of pets ,especially dogs

#abbytohxoft

101. Hmmmm... Rest in peace Papilo..

102. Rip papilo.i just can't stop crying .if I hv d money I will do same to my dog.

103. It's was beside my former house.....it wasn't funny at all , I witnessed it with my two eyes

104. No be small nothing we no go hear

105. U guys shouldn't laugh abeg. As a dog owner, one time breeder and a dog lover, I can relate to this. I'd definitely be heartbroken.
    11 Most Attractive Things Men Do Without Realizing- click my name to read more

106. Burial for Dog? Why not channel the excess money to other places.

107. Money miss road, au can one hold a burial for a dog, smh

108. This is madness, na too much money dey worry d man. Sweedydiagold@gmail.com

109. It's actually a soul, buh haven't seen such ceremony before oooo.
    To me it's waste of money

110. Replies
    1. AII sorts reaIIy. Makes no sense to me. I don't Iike dogs nd never wiII

111. I'm surprised many people are talking like this!!! We are talking about something that has a SOUL, the dog was 15 years old before his death, he lived with the owner for 10 good years! Imagine a boys of 10 years old who lived with you all his life, he's already part of you, it is what I CAN DO also! U can't understand until U are on the shoes!

@gr8akin

112. Eeya he said d dog was a soldier protecting his business nd his family, it was a nice dog den, RIP papilo

113. Very true and correct......... I witness it

114. i like...in dis life,its all abt who was there 4 u nt who was ur fam..d dog obviously made his mark in both d owners' heart and those dat were privileged 2 have met him...rip dog..

115. Finally i found a like mind who is a lover of dog, at least this is different from those who believe dogs can only be eaten...