Photos: Nigerian referee beaten badly by irate football fans in Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 20 December 2014

Photos: Nigerian referee beaten badly by irate football fans in Abuja

According to Sunrise Sports Executive producer, Toyin Ibitoye, a center referee named Charles Ozigbo (pictured above) was assaulted by Nigerian football fans during a match between Rangers Bee of Kaduna and Kwara United of Ilorin in Abuja yesterday December 19th. The referee was reportedly attacked after he gave a penalty to one of the clubs. The supporters of the opposing club entered the football field and attacked the referee bringing the match to a abrupt halt. The match was subsequently cancelled.

108 comments:

1. Ojai says" Chaii sorry ooo. Nigerian mobs can be something else

1. Awww! Ehya no be small beating sha. Some fans tho, the spirit following football is so strong. Sowie o Mr referee you will be fine #onelovefromSnow#

2. Lwkmd!!! Never take away the joy of a hungry man!
      #NaijaFanatism

3. What did they gain in inflicting pain on this man now? Some people just can't control their anger

4. See as them mix d guy like dough for chinchin!

2. Replies
    1. MR EDDY said.
      Lmfao. Sorry bro. But u sef no dey try imitate satin western refs dem dey do.
      ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

2. Hahhhhaaaa na only naija u go hear say dis kind tin happen

3. Then, how will our football develop?

3. Choi!!!
    Die hard fans...
    This is how typical nigerians act
    For just an inter-state march oo
    Sori bro

4. Our Futball sty Hav A LongWay 2 Go, Tins Lik Ds Cnt Happen In Europe, Even in som Wel Organised Africa Countries

5. Am I d only one who find this hilarious, "they'll be like nor dey blow whistle anyhow again"

6. The referee must hav been partial in his judgement

1. So that justifies them entering into d field while the match was going on to beat up the man? Civilised people will complain after d match and if the man is found guilty of being partial, hel be penalised appropriately. The way we think sha, am sure u feel the people in the north too must have done something wrong to boko haram, abi why are they killing them? Smh!

7. Which country would you see this happening! Hasn't Nigeria football grown beyond this.. What a shame I must say. It is well. James 4:15-17. BishopDammy#

8. Pele o!na wetin u wan chop dey kill u. Tk heart.

9. Serves him ryt all ds refeers dy will b officiating rubbish dts y dy can't bring dem 2 officiate international matches.

1. You are as stupid as your name suggests... Bad officiating or not, the players or the fans don't have the right to lay hands on him.. he is a professional, let him do his job. #ignorantnigerian

10. They should be jailed for life

11. And I know say na aboki man go start dat fight.....na so dia Anger de trigger like mad dogs. Oga referee ndo oh. Heal soon

1. Linda you live fools on your blog,mad pig.

2. Must you comment shit if you are not in good mood? New yr is approaching. .change your ugly way abeg.. We love you but we dont love your mouth lol

3. D guy is saying somthn good joor ba aboki dey quick provoke like dat

12. Too bad. Maybe it was cos the penalty was for the away team!!

13. Hmmm fans always aggressive. Sorry sir, it comes wt d job.

14. Ehya sorry referee. Niaja toh badt

15. Referee, One of the must difficult job I have ever seen. Anything you do fans will complain. I just pity for him sha

16. Only in Nigeria would you see this sort of things!...

17. Na woah oooo! jacksoninem@yahoo.com

18. Assault by Nigerian fans towards referee is no new thing to this country and must be checked before it blows off.

19. Naija fans ehn nd dey no notin bout football...

20. lmao which kind meanness be dis lol boyz re not smiling at all

21. Wat rubbish. D pipo dat did diz should be arrested.

22. Rhythm unplugged linda. Kedi bread iji nata.
    #chynell#

23. Rhythm unplugged linda. Kedi bread iji nata.
    #chynell#

24. Rhythm unplugged linda. Kedi bread iji nata.
    #chynell#

25. He is wearing black and blue and that's the color of the beating! LOL!! Anyway on a more serious note, this and obviously corruption are the reasons local football will never pick up or reach the heights of those in other countries.

26. Whatever happened to stadium security and orderly conduct by fans.
    Savages!

27. Oh God.
    That is wickedness
    In soccer, there must be a winner n a looser. Why this ungodly attitude from some unscrupulous element?

28. Fans dey vex Lol, sorry my brother

29. Wow which kind person go do this thing to him nawa oooo

30. you don't do this...sorry bro, get a new job

31. Lol, sorry sir but honestly dis is funny. Cnt stop laughing with d way u keep ur face.lmao

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

32. Austine ihechukwu20 December 2014 at 13:43

Officiating a match in nigeria is suicidal, by the way linda, its ranchers bees not rangers jor

33. Hian nawa oo
    Many Nigerians behaving like savages..msheww
    Oga kpele oo

34. Omo dem no try ooo lol... this is someone's dad

35. Ha na waoo. Dis is nt fair @all why re they taking law into their hand...Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

36. Blame it on GEJ if GMB where to be our president that wouldn't have happened

37. Its just a game for heavens sake.
    The security officials should be questioned for such lapse. Where were they during the attack.

38. Terrible experience..... But as a referee u suppose to consider environmental fact that we absolutely lack security in Nigeria and u would hv therefore avoid some controversial penalty

39. Na wa for this football fans sef...they wan kill am ni?

#Omoh

40. Northerners and violence ! Tufiakwa!!

41. Omg!where are the securities for christ sake?
    FACE~OF~LIB.

42. In naija everything is possible. BB bold1

43. Choi dem enter field and beat Ah referee lol na wa oo shit Krazy

44. hahahahahahahaha.... Cnt stop lafin dis one na one blow seven akpu lol d man go don provoke niggas na em dem treat em fuck up straight up

45. The organisers did not provide enough security then!

46. Nigerians. me I don tire for this violence of a tin oh

47. eeyaa pele. talk of which NFF sef is battered.

48. Linda, its actually "Ranchers Bees" & not "Rangers". Shows you are only interested in European leagues. Time we start promoting our own.

49. That's terrible! What do we call this? Football hooliganism

50. Ouch! Sorry o bt honestly dis is bad

51. Omg it's funny sha, hw can a person be this wicked na wa ooo. things dey happen

52. More Photos here - http://naijastuffs.com/photos-referee-beaten-mercilessly-nigerian-league-match-abuja/

53. Shits happens.....too bad those guys designed his face.....

•••GUTS OVER FEAR•••

•••QUEENMAYA•••

54. D ref don blow rubbish n receive beat down... Na em fit m

1. U are sick...I hope dey beat ur father like dis one day. Idiot

55. The way some guys attach so much importance to football makes me wonder if there's something else involved. Nawah.

56. Why can't they beat our theiving politicians that way

57. Bros no vex...it won't happen again... Lolz... Pele ehn.... Mabinu

58. Ehya sowi o.......whr were d security ppl sef

59. Choi, one of the why of the job, kia the laid hands on him o. person husband.

60. The main reason why Nigerian league is not highly rated.

61. jingle justice, taking law in hands
    mjabdulk@gmail.com

62. Haba! That is very bad nah!

63. See person father wat if dey killed d man, d money for d football dey ll not see whr dey ll eat d money n dey r there fighting mumu fight, hope dey ll see dos animals to punish dem stupid pple.

64. that's what happens in kaduna matches

65. Nigerians sha, we can do n undo..

66. This is bad! When will all these barbarism end in our Football? It's really sad