2nd December was my girlfriend (of 20 months)’s birthday. We have been friends for 30 months though. Meanwhile I had planned to propose marriage to her on that day. Thing is, I am resident in Lagos while she is in Enugu. In 2013, a coordinated surprise visit to Enugu wowed her birthday and she never stopped talking about how that was the most pleasant surprise of her life, not until 2nd December, 2014 anyway.
So to douse her anticipation for any form of surprise, I got
really involved in planning her 2014 birthday. During one of my visits to
Enugu, we had dined at Octopus, an exquisite Chinese Restaurant that has got
lovers of good meals in ‘042’ wanting for more. I loved the ambience and the
meals were really amazing. We decided to host her birthday there. Hers was to
make all the inquiries, invite her friends, have fun and be happy. Mine was to
fund the dinner which I did with all pleasure. Of course there couldn’t be any
more surprises when she was already aware of the ‘whole’ package. Besides, my
work couldn’t allow me time-off on a Tuesday.
Then …..
I arrived Enugu at 4.15pm having been to work earlier on the
day and checked into my hotel room. I had the Manager of Octopus come meet me
and we concluded on the 3-level surprise.
Level 1.
After the starter has
been served, she was invited (with her friends) to see a video clip on screen
of the 60” television in the restaurant. Behold it was me (JIRO) wishing my
baby-girl a happy birthday and apologizing for missing her ‘big’ event. Towards
the end of the clip, my sister and cousins joined me to sing the traditional
‘happy birthday’ song. Twinkle was so wowed and crying by the end of the
rendition. “This JIRO will not kill me ooo” she muttered in her tears. Then……
Level
As the video clip ended, I walked into the restaurant! The
wow feeling turned into a positive frenzy. She was speechless as she ran to her
star. “Baby, why do you always do this to me” was all she could say as she
cried in my arms. Yes, am badt like that….hehe.
Level
After I settled in
and ordered some more champagne, the management of Octopus brought a bowl of
what they dubbed their traditional gift to all birthday celebrants in the
restaurant. Since I was there, it only made sense that they hand the package
over to me (as the boyfriend) to appoint any of the diners to open it or open
it myself. And my speech happened…. “… anyway, everybody may be worthy but I
don’t see any person that is more worthy than you (twinkle) today to open this
special package from Octopus….” By the time she opened the bowl, her friends
and other diners were already gathered by our side to take a sneak peek,
my one knee was down and I continued “…there are no better words than the three
words that make up ‘I Love You’. You have been a friend, you have been bla bla
bla bla bla bla and all dem beautiful things” And … “now I ask you, Chisom
Onyinyechi Ogbuji, to make me the happiest man in the world and be my wife,
please……
And she said YES!
And we changed into our tees that read “OMG Jiro asked!”
with all them smileys for her and “…and Twinkle said YES… of course!” for me.
Love is indeed a beautiful thing. Give love always and
appreciate love when you have it. May God make our dreams come true and our
earnest desires fulfilled, Amen!
Now we plan for our future, together. See the photos below...
243 comments:
1 – 200 of 243 Newer› Newest»Awwww congratulations to them. Wish them more romance and a long and happy marriage
Congratulations girl
Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com
That's so sweet
Amazing! Both of you are blessed! How romantic, I urge you to dwell in the presence of God as you abide under the shadow of the Almighty it is well with you both. Deut 18:18. 2tim 4:18. BishopDammy#
WAOOO THIS GOD IS MYSTERIOUS KUDOS TO HIM.
Congrats to u both
Too cute. She's a pretty girl with a great figure. Lucky too with a thoughtful man.
Got this from......
May God bless t ur union.
Wow!!!...I want to ask too o!
Linda you "got" not "God ", hmmmmmm what a romantic engagement, I can imagine how happy she would have felt on her birthday. esebeauty21@yahoo.com
Arrogant fool! Must u tell how the manager came to meet you n d rest... In fact, u r as useless as the P in psychology.
Linda pls correct your statement Got not God. Am happy for them.
Jiro Nwa
Damn!! The essay is too much nah. Congrat to them sha....REPORTING>LIVE FROM PORT NOVIA>
Awwwwwwww......sweet! May God bless your home.
It's a good thing and a wonderful feeling when a man finds a wife. Mc Baba Oloye says so.
Aww i luv pleasant surprise too.I wish them years of marriage as old as methuselah.They look more like friends than couple.
Dear Lord biko when will my bf give me ring na??!! we go soon enter 2015 oh.. All these leaving one relationship dt is not working out n entering another.. Biko nu God touch this guy's heart to bring forth this ring IJN.. AMEN
Abeg park well joor.. Rubbish. Na you wan first fall in love? Make we hear word joor
Awww so sweet,I go love oh,love is realy sweet wen u're wit d ryt 1,baba God be a boo provider lols
The explanation was much tho, the main point was @ the end I wonder why the long write up. Anyways congratz to them #onelovefromSnow#
Awwwww, so beautiful #lovestruck
Heee...guy come pwopose oh....marriage dey hungry me
It's all good..congrats
Woow, that was really romantic of him, i wish my bf can give me a bit of a surprise as well, congrats 2 dem anyway
Awwwwn...this is so cool.
Kaiii,when will my own happen God???
Hia eeeeeeh!!!!!, Nke am tokwaram uto oooo
Wow! Lovely.....her friends look very hungry n starved, hope de were well fed....she's such a biuri! Congrats
Awwww so so sweet.congratulations.
Faceoflib
See me fantasizing to d whole package...choi! I love...
That's sweet
....... ROV
Isn't DAT bonario...looks like him
Congrats. Although am jealous
Luvlyn
Awwww nice , congratulations to them.
Congratulations to u dear u deserve more Dan dat
Wow! This is so sweet. I love it
Happy for u. Good luck
Luv Is Indeed A Beautiful Thing, Cnt Wait 2 Propose 2 D Right Woman, SingleLadies Ready 4 A Serious Date Addup 2bcdd5ed
VERY DRY
Very lovely, I pray your marriage is blissful than the engagement.
Congrat bro i wish yu all the best.....
Sweet super story
Congratulations to u dear u deserve more Dan dat
So sweet....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com
And I have the same plan o
Dry
Congratulations,mine too will come surprisingly and elegant than dis ijn
Some crazy ish, quite humorous n worthy of stealin a tip or 2. Bt dude's wears n posture is devoid of Machismo which speaks volumes. Prolly still hidin in the closet. Look b4 u leap.
Awwwwww so sweet, I wish that I can get this type of surprise engagement. Future husband hope u re listening? Lol
One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so
Awww.........So romantic. I luv fins lyk dis
Interesting n I v been planning on how do execute mine when the time comes. Even though I v not known who....Lol. (God bless Nigeria)™Sp. godblessnigeria.sp@gmail.com
Nice..
Congt to them! And hbd!
DIS IS GRACE B
Ur story would have been more romantic if u didnt add unnecessary details like champagne,hotel room bla bla..who are u tryning to impress ?? Anyway happy married life in advance
how do I comment with my name please I need your help
Am not a fan of this surprise engagement,but anything worth doing is what doing well.i wish them HML
ORACLE SAYS SO
badest guy..nice 1 dude
Cool!!
Awww! So lovely.
I just can't wait.
Oh oh oh... That's lovely.. Congratulation
Watch and pray for the evil days are here
Awwwwn that's so sweet.
Awwwwwww I just love love
Runs gal later get engaged....
Engagement is less important to marriage. Start planing for marriage sooner do not delay coz if u delay your engagement ring may be thrown back on ur face! mjabdulk@gmail.com
love is beautiful!!!
Dats sweet.
hmmmm.wish them the best.just that a surprise engagement may not be sincerely accepted.just to dispel the present environment situation,she may say yes.when God leads,its always the best
Bab boy....I love it
VERY ROMANTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Love is indeed a beautiful thing. Congratulations to them.
Mehn! Am gonna cry...so sweet
Wow how sweet. Congrats to both of you
Ohh wow! Marry me
Why is his trouser jumping
Wow!!!!! I share the same birthday with her. Congratulations to her and may you have a beautiful journey together. May GOD conclude HIS work with you two!
Linda Ikeji...this could be you..
ka i no na publish..i be gi a na me wedding..
no mind me..God is arranging ur special hubby..im sure he wont jus give you any kin hubby
congrats to the couple ...nm ur first child Candid *shines teeth*
Do u Propose marriage someone or you simple propose & its called a marriage proposal
Love is the sweetest, when money isn't scarce and its involved!
Congrat man!
Good for them.hml in adv
(Twitter/ig)
Congratulations but super story
This guy bragging bucket list full pass Rihanna own oh!!!! Haaa Ogbeni jeje soro nah, haba!!! The birthday luxuries isn't even upto an average unilag studnt birthdays.... Buh is all good, I appreciate a man dt can make it happen even if he has little..... Just tone it down with the bragging and feeling lyk wht u did was "out of this galaxy"..#cheEzyjayne
Lovely!!!
You're quite creative; i must confess. I look forward to tapping from your idea soonest.
Wow!!!!! Congratulations!!!!! I share the same birth date with your sweet heart. That's very romantic and she's over the moon it's obvious. May you two have a beautiful life journey together.
Awww, so sweet. I love LOVE. Wishing you all the best as you take this journey togetehr.
Awwwww!That was so sweet of u. Big congrats to u guys
Love is a beautiful thing, no doubt.
Love indeed is a beautiful thing....congratz guyz & plz no tey b4 d wedding proper oooo
Not real. Sounds scripted and acted to me.
I was there n witnessed it ooooo. Jezzzz some guys just knw hw to b romantic seriously. We had no idea atall that he'l come anyways so we were just doin our thing o. Trust d plenty pictures lool. I guess d manager n d octopus crew wud hv probably been laughing saying these gurls dont even knw wat awaits them, Then came d video while we were still awwww'n n drooling then came Jiro. Omg!!! Dear bf biko if u dont know how to be romantic abeg ask or even read up. We were jst saying d engagement wud b another drooling moment little did we know it was set 2 happen #BigGrin.Ha!!! As I saw d engagement ring na so I turn 2 photographer. So happyyyy 4 them. Ashoebi mood activated
1st time commenting on this blog since 1950.
*Ugoeze 1*
awww am feeling all emotional.. very happy for you guys and I pray God also do it for me.
#miz'avatar
miz.avatar@gmail.com
OMG, so lovely, I wish u guys all de best, perfect match
Nice one dude!!! Thumbs up....
I like dizz
Congrats to them. (•͡.̮ •͡ )
Luvly n cute
wow! congrats to both of you...
So cute I just wish it Meeeeeeee
Awwh!!! Sweet & HBD gal!
Love is really a beautiful thing.........how I wish....congrat again
Lovely...
Hmmmm linda all dis love flyin around sha...linda I wnt somtin like dis to hapen to u oh
Nice T-Shirts . . . what if she had said No?
wow! wow! Am so happy for her. Father Lord please I want mine as soon as possible. Linda pray for me biko
Awwwwww. So sweet. Congrats to the latest LIB couple.
How romantic!!! Awwwww
So lovely...wishing you both the best
Wow am so happy for them, love is sweet wen u meet the right person. Really missing ma ex cos I tot we gonna end up as husband and wife buh der was a big mistake from the laboratory we checked for our genotype 5years ago. God knows the best. Ryt now is hard for me to love any gal. Well still hoping for the best............diamonddanielz
Awwwww dats so sweet
Wowwww, pls God u know wat I want
Ebidosia ona ato
ebidosia ona ada
darling darling
onye mazikwanu mgbe oga esu?
It's always d best bday gift given to a spouse
Distance relationship? These b****** aint loyal
ongratulation, that's a very nice STEP that you're taking, I Wish you people the best and happy xmast Season.
Awww.
Chisom my class mate.
Congrats babe.
Awww
Wishing you a happy married life
Wow! Me likey...God let my own joy come soon..
Dis is sooo lovely!!!
Hmmmm Baba God please answer my prayers oh Amen.
This is the cutest thing I've read in months. I'm so happy for you Dear. Happy married life. I just hope my boyfriend can do more than this.*blushing * prettyprecious0018@yahoo.com a.k.a preCious.
Awww! Beautiful
Oh my...this is so sos nice.loving all the three steps. Jiro killed it really
nice one
Lovely, she is lucky
Awwwww sigh so romantic
wow***such an exquisite proposal..plan on doing sumtin as dis for my future wife...still a teen tho..lol
So romantic, love is a gud tin
Happy for them.......congrats to u both..
how romantic, I tried putting an engagement ring in a bowl of Banga soup for the first girl i wanted to marry, guess what? she ate everything, dropped just a few bones from the okporoko fish n Goat meat, ring i nor see, what am I suppose to do? I kept quiet, we broken up tho #lvmXmasMarket
Mtchewww...good for you guys but we didn't need all that long detailed story like some novel with all d 20months n 30months ish! Short n simple gives a better effect abeg!
Chai! na dis kind love I dey like, God dey oo.
Awesome, xo romantic#spanner#
Awwww...My Ex, why didn't you do your proposal this way and I would have said yes. It's your loss o
That's so romantic of him, I wish them well..
Lol Jiro n Twinkle 9ce 1 I jst hp bae comes up wit sumthn wonderful 4 proposal if nt ehn bt still waitn 4 my Linda #smiles....... NJ
Very dry *sighs* yall are one of those hype peeps. Mtscheeew
Beautiful....
===Pearl===
Wow!!! So romantic.
So romantic :) :)
Good for them.
Put as much effort in the marriage as you did in engaging her.
Aww! I don't like suprises but I love this kinda suprise
congrat Twinkle and Jiro my own day will come too and its soon Amen!
Loveli,werz ma own husby naao...b fast ooo n commaan propose
Very nice.....romantic all d way.
You are a good man that cares about your woman and making memories count, now why won't your woman go the extra mile to please u. Unlike that useless excuse of a baby daddy, does nothing worth the while but wants a party thrown cos he carries out his responsibilities or not lately. Stupid thing. Anyway everybody can't have it all. Besides i guess i burned my bridges trying to prove a point to somebody who wasn't even worth it. You are a very lucky girl.
Cute. Congrats!
OoOooooooooyyeah!
May ur love wine neva run out of its taste!
Put Christ 1st and hope Jiro lovs Christ more than he love u twinkle.
Enjoy! I love romantic guys!
Oh boy, u get swag oh, wt a lovely way 2 propose 2 ur gf, i'm alredy feeling jealous & wishing it wz me. Congrat, wish d both of u a happy ending
Wow! Wow! Too cute to a story!!! Wish u guys d best
I wish u guyz everlastin hapiness.
Awwwww...love is a beautiful thing
Congratz guys wising u guys so much love together.
U seem extremely frustrated....
Awwww you are so lonely and depressed.
Dont worry Bonario will soon propose...
Ask Bonario...
Is dat chinny I see..lol her friends dou dem too igbotic abeg..
Love is a beautiful thing, congrats. Ubanagum
What a romantic and unforgetable way to propose..and some ll say our naija guys aren't romantic..I wish my self better one
happy for you make sure you bring God into your life
Seriously frustrated! From the entire lovely story see wot u picked out of it! U sound extremely bitter, that kinda attitude gets u nowhere, it's poison! I wish the couple well & may God deliver the pessimist from bitterness.
Congrats My classmate..
Long live UNSSEC '08
Oluwa mo fi iru ife yi Toro oo! Congrats guys!
Abeg u get work? Must u comment on every damn post?! Seems ur life revolves around this blog.
Congrats girl
Nice to hear girl may the gud Lord b ur union
Hater, go and hug that transformer in ur street. U are the P in psychology. @Anonymous 8:22, expunge "seem" frm ur sentence. He is extremely frustrated. Isi ewu ndi umuokereke.
Wow! What a sweet experience. Congrats to you both!
congrats, man. wish you guys all the best!
Yeah!! Hope he doesn't cheat on her anytime soon cos men can be pigs!!!
Happy her
Sweet....i pray my man propose to me in a romantic way
-----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#
Not extremely... .. Seriously frustrated... . Lmao. In France where I live, people are not frustrated like this. Lmao
Omg...so sweet...not those yeye men that pride themselves on having multiple GFs
Lmfao, yes very very frustrated
So lovely. Congrats to you both.
this is exactly what i am planing next year
Greatest Battles!!! Part 1
The Narrow Way That Leads To Heaven - Matthew 7:13,14
Congrats to dem
Aww so so romantic..she's beautiful without words..buh those her friends like free things. Den no even send the dramas.. na d chaws dem send..happy for u guys. She's gonna make. Good wife
Lolll my tots exactly e could not summarize!
Hahahahaahahahahahhhahahahhahaha *faints
Super sweet! I wish my cuties the best as they become ONE
It reminds me of my proposal tooo*awwwwwwaw romantic.
May God bless the union
Bolateethole.blogspot.com
Tell him you love surprises and that when he wanna propose he should surprise you.thats what I did,and it worked*shinesteeth*
Haters!who don engage you?
Eye witness Toh badt
Nice proposal
-----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#
So beautiful,I cried just reading it
**lululiscious**
(Yawns) Boring
Anon 8:22 I agree wit u.frustration smells all ova d fool.......oloshi buruku bad belle.must u even comment?enemy of good thing
Congrats to them so lovely
Lindo i see your blog turning to magistrate court very soon, and people hosting their court (or blog) wedding here. E go happen!
Beautiful! !
That's no badt guy,that's a very local guy that seen a lot of home movies...WTH is that pant he's Putin on,Chukwu ekwene ihe ojor meh.Nwana buy clothes after that single champagne