Photos: SA goal keeper shot dead at girlfriend's house laid to rest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 November 2014

Photos: SA goal keeper shot dead at girlfriend's house laid to rest

27 year old South Africa national team captain and goal keeper Senzo Meyiwa, who was shot dead at his girlfriend's home by unknown gunmen last Sunday October 25th, was laid to rest today November 1st at the Heroes Acre Chesterfield cemetery - an honor that is usually reserved for outstanding figures from the struggle against apartheid.

About 30,000 South Africans gathered at the Moses Mabhida Stadium to bid the goalkeeper farewell. The funeral comes a day after it was announced that a suspect has been arrested and charged for his murder. He is survived by three children. May his soul rest in peace. Amen. See photos after the cut...

Meyiwa had captained South Africa in their first four African Nations Cup qualifiers over the last two months without conceding a goal.

53 comments:

1. May his soul rest in peace.

2. MAY HIS GENTLE SOUL REST IN PEACE
    FROM NWA NKWERRE

3. May his soul rest in peace.
    I strongly believe that SA will never close this case, they must go down to the root of it not Nigeria.

15 Scriptural Passages on Peace

3 Things That Makes People Cry

A Productive Servant

Evil On Earth

4. so sad! may his soul rest in peace..

5. Ojai says" may his soul rip. Its so painful where he died, if he was legally married.

6. May his soul continue to restin peace.....Amen

7. May his soul rest in peace.

8. May his soul rest in peace.

9. Replies
    1. How would u call a dead man handsome Save that for us that are alive. Guess am just jealous.

10. without conceding a goal?is this the best word to use? I thought u studied English Language?

1. Teacher please leave Linda alone so long you understood wat she wrote..eish!

11. May his gentle soul rest in peace.
    Amen

12. Rip man
    Twit @successralu

13. I just feel that if he was with his wife he might still be alive. I am not judging but .....
    Sha its really sad.

14. What a Country!! Will Nigeria ever go at this length to honour their fallen football heroes like this?

1. Fallen hero? Na wetin fall lam? Toto fall lam. Have no sympathy for adulterous men

2. Console d family and not condemn Nigeria learn how to appreciate ur country this is not time for condemnation. Plssssss

3. @chika, dats too harsh na...don't speak ill of d dead beside u don't know if he was on top of toto before he was killed. May his soul rest in peace..

15. RIP meyiwa...olubukola daniels aka blackmamba...

16. RIP 2 him..so sad...hmconcept2000@gmail.com

17. @Charming_rascal1 November 2014 at 23:31

Eeya may his soul rest in peace

#The Theist

18. Ehya so sad may his soul rest in peace Amen #onelovefromSnow#

19. What a great loss, god will give the family d fortitude to bear the loss

20. Please who knows Linda's email add.?...Thanks

21. What a loss to South African Football

www.naijazine.com

22. Chee poor boy!!! Who could have done that?

23. Kai.! Such a hero. The perpetrators of this act must be found and punished accordingly. This south africans, what's their problems that's how they gunned down luck dube.

24. Rip bro....naija don get little more advantage oo...make enyeama no die oo

25. Ceremonial burial for a Sports man while our own Soldiers in Nigeria are buried like thugs.God help Naija. Olori Toluwabori A

26. R.I.P Brov, Mehn This Burial!! Real Burial..

*OLD MAN IN A YOUNG BODY*

27. Rest in peace bro.

There is this very high crime rate in Joburg and yet it is least mentioned internally. People are killed like foul. Remember Lucky Dube??
    If this was Nigeria, the whole world would have been on us

28. 27 years old ke! May his soul rest in Peace

Rope

29. Wat a country. See how dey honoured him. Nigeria should learn and wake up. RIP.

30. Ehya......... May his soul rest in peace oooo. Chai! Chai! Chai!

31. Dts my age mate oooooooo..Thank God for keeping me alive and for his mercies. ..may his soul rip...amen

32. So a two-timing goalkeeper gets a state funeral almost on the level of Mandela's?

Kimmy*****

33. Nigerians with condemnation attitude they said he survived with 3kids, over sabi people I didn't see wife there oooo!!! That means he has no wife how are u sure that this girlfriend is not the mother of those kids or 1 of them. @chika am sure u sleep and wake with TOTO in ur mout fool like ur type.... Sandy

34. REST IN PEACE BROTHER