Photo: Is this the first person to appear on TV in Africa? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 23 November 2014

Photo: Is this the first person to appear on TV in Africa?

A twitter user @Idrisdee tweeted this pic above and wrote "Anike Agbaje-Williams, first person, male/female to appear on TV in the whole of Africa, WNTV-WNBS,Ibadan on Oct 31,1959". Is this a fact? I love history!

65 comments:

1. Nice.

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

1. We love in a Yoruba world. No lele

2. No be today Yorubas start to dey bleach...."Teacher who stole bleach oh?"

2. Wow! This is history. I love history also.

3. Congrats on this achievement.

4. Ofcourse this is so true. I know this cos I av been I so media programs where she was there to speak

5. So i heard right from my childhood. I think its a fact

6. Announcement!!!
    Announcement!!!
    I want to use dis opportunity to report chioma(venessa), she goes by d name "outfitbynessa" on instagram. She is a thief, for d past 3months she has been owing me money and has refused to pay back. This all started wen i decided to get a waist cincher and albolene cream from chioma( mind u, she didn't tell me her name or anything abt her). I decided to do mobile transfer of which i sent #16500 to her(15k for d products and 1500 for transport) on the 24th of September. She told me it will take sometime atmost a week to get to me.After some days i noticed dat her bbm was off and days bcame weeks wat saved me was dat i asked for her number in order to do the transfer( d number is not a nigerian number), i den had to search for d country which i did and also got her name as chioma( i am a kind of good at searching for things) i called her nd wen she found out who i was told me dat my goods were on d way, anoda time she told me she hadn't sent it, anoda time again it was with her banker sister in nigeria nd d delivery people didnt come to pick it up, after a while she stopped picking my calls, i had to reasearch again and found out her new bbm pin(79774ab7) and wen i added her she knew who i was and apologised for evrything nd said she would send d goods as soon as possible but as soon as d excuses continued i told her to return d money and wen she finally agreed to return it since den it's bin " u will receive d money tomorrow ", "someone will pay in d money to ur account". After sometime she claimed her money dat was owed by some people av bin returned nd yet she have refused to pay me my money she even took my number to call me nd i tot i was speaking to a reasonable person.I am tired, all i want is my money.
    PS: i av all d evidence of our chat and if she comes out to say rubbish i will release all d chats.

1. Okay sweet. How may we help you?

2. Okay sweet, but how may we help you?

3. Carry ur story give stelladimokokorkus! Na she go handle dis story well for u. Go to her blog or send her a mail with pics of the munched chats

4. You are just a mugun hommie,sori to say, buh u no soji atall

7. Yes! You didn't know this? Dumb! You must have been asleep when social studies lessons were on. LOL!!

8. she looks fine..

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

9. Hmmm, see life. History never die.

10. Oh really.....and she's a Nigerian,that's cool...plus she wAs pretty.

ILcity's Finest.

11. Don't know wasn't born den, my mother wasn't even born den.

12. Now because d person is not Igbo u wantu comfam shiii...

13. First hia* wink*

14. I don't think its true. Someone is saying other wise.

15. Linda,haven't u heard,Kim K is insulting Nigerian girls,including u?

16. Oya o! Let the comments roll in, I love history too

17. It is actually a fact. Read it somewhere before.

18. He don tay way Yoruba ppl don open eyes no be today

19. IDK if is true...

20. She's pretty. **DION**

21. Linda,haven't u heard,Kim K is insulting Nigerian girls,including u?

22. Me I don't know but she fine .CHI.

23. It makes no difference we're all on tv today. Lol. Passingby. Hapi Sunday n waiting for bba drama tonight.

24. Yes Mrs, Anike Agbaje She's D first woman to appear on TV. History of Media Mass Communication students knows that. @rasheeddfirst say so

25. Don't know history, but i very much doubt it, 1959 is not a long time, so?

26. How? Africa? Do you know when TV started in Egypt? LOL

27. Light skinned girls have been winning since 59!

28. Don't mind yorubas, their claim to be first in everything no be here. Just because others are nonchalant about their false claims does not make it correct. Chi

29. 1959??? and she was this beautiful?
    She must be a queen.
    These days ladies wear all sorts of facial paints, yet they can't beat this.

30. Yes. She attends my church in Ibadan and I know her personally. It is true and it is easy to research that.

31. Deal dey is messing up big time.its well over a month I ordered for some items and am yet to receive them.

32. Really? That's history

33. That's why ladies have been bleaching since Festac 77

34. Linda obviously not!!. The first person african to appear on tv 1959?! LOL quite playing go on youtube and look for videos from the l1920's from the colonial Nigeria movies and the likes. Maybe she was the first female tv presenter in Nigeria. The western region in nigeria already had their own TV network thanks to AWOLOWO aka "AWO" by the late 1940's.. Please research first before you post.

35. This is very correct. Western Nigeria television is the first in Africa and Anike Agbaje-Williams made the first broadcast on television in Africa in 1959.

36. its very true Linda! she lives in Ibadan and is still supper BEAUTIFUL even in old age.
    Very stylish woman who always wears red lipstick :)

37. Heard the Agbaje family was highly influential then! Are they related to the hollywood Agbaje (Mr. Eko on lost)though? Should be

38. Yup....she was the first woman on TV in Africa and she's my lovely Aunty Banji's mother as well....both beautiful women!!

39. yes oooooooo Anike Agbaje Williams.
    Ace broadcaster

40. Ask Google, Google is the only ifa priest we have in this very modern age

41. its a fact as she was hosted by rockcity fm radio, asero, abeokuta of ogun state last month on an award.

42. But her dressing was so modern to be that old. Even the hair style looks like something of the 20th century not that long time ago. Well good to know.

43. Yes she is. Her name is Anike Agbaje Williams and she was Late Pastor Bimbo Odukoya's mum