Cricketer who delivered ball that killed Phil Hughes leaves hospital in tears | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 November 2014

Cricketer who delivered ball that killed Phil Hughes leaves hospital in tears

He must be devastated. The ball he threw killed another man. 22 year old Bowler Sean Abbott, whose bouncer hit Philip Hughes in a freak accident on November 25th pictured above being comforted as he left St Vincent's Hospital today after the 25 year old was confirmed dead.

Sean is said to be inconsolable, though he's getting a lot of support from family, friends and fans of late Philip Hughes. Nobody blames him for his death. See more photos after the cut...

Sean Abbott
Philips parents and other family members leaving the hospital today after hearing of his death.

How it happened...
This is the shot that caused Phil Hughes' fatal injury on Tuesday afternoon
Hughes, pictured after absorbing the shot, collapsed face first to the ground shortly after the bouncer hit the back of his head
Hughes collapsed onto the pitch seconds after this picture was taken
He collapsed shortly after being struck by the bouncer
He received mouth-to-mouth resuscitation on the pitch and was soon whisked by medical transport off the pitch to St Vincent's Hospital in Sydney where he died two days later...today!
RIP, Philip.

69 comments:

1. Nawa ooo May His Sou Rest In Peace.....Addup @ SingleLadies, 2bcdd5ed, Luv Is in D Air, According 2 IkejiLinda

2. Oh God!!! This is too painful.

3. I can imagine how he's feeling, i guess Phil was destined to die that way; may his soul rest in peace.

4. Eternal rest grant unto him

5. What a bizarre way to become implicated in a death. Poor guy won't be at peace forever.

1. Chai, this kind of thing can mk sm1 retire...but he shudnt every game he plays he shud always remember to say a tribute... Mhen life is full of ups and down...

6. I feel so sad for Sean. RiP Phillip

7. Gaddamn! How does anyone get over this. He should be thankful for civilisation tho, cos if na here?! Haaaa! *lipssealed*

8. So so so unfortunate.. I do know a few people gon' tag him a Murderer, and that sucks.

9. Eyah.. Wish tears could bring back the dead! It is. Rip again to the lost one. It is well. Joshua 1:8. BishopDammy#

10. OH God please save ur people....take heart my guy, God knows the best.
    $OTUNBA$ EZE INIGBO

11. RIP. richard.yinka190@gmail.com

12. Let's just say it was destined to happen that way. RIP dude

13. Who could have imagined? That tells us a lot, live everyday like its your last, and be prepared to face your creator

14. Chai...bro is not ur fault..i knw hw u feel..NDO

15. he should take it easy. Its not his fault.
    Faceoflib

16. R.I.P DEAR philip. **DION**

17. Ouch..RIP...mzsade23@gmail.com

18. Na wa ooo,RIP sha

19. Oooh. Rip Phillip. Sean take heart. Don't blame yourself for it. Is not your fault. That's how fate has destined it.

20. sad indeed.
    May his soul rest in peace.

21. Painful. I sympathise with his family.

22. Chai lindaway this one touch meoooooo ,I no fit hold my slf but cry , na so en dey be when devil want to do something like this, en go put hand somewhere. R.I.P.

23. R.....I.......P great Hero

24. Sorry it not your fault. I mistakely killed my dog yesterday when I was trying to clean him of tick. Rub sniper on him.

25. when i came across the story yesterday, the first thing that came to mind was how would Sean be filling, should anything happen to Phil. It is painful and so unfortunate, that the game you love ends up killing you. May God grant them the heart to bear the loss. RIP Phil Hughes

26. choii! very unfortunate! may his soul rest in peace..

#Godblessnigeria

27. What a sad end, while doing what he knows how to do best... RIP Phil Hughes.

28. Awww so sad, it wsnt the shot dt killed philip actually...

29. na wa o!
    na this taMbolo ball kill am?
    kia...no matter how fast one runs when death comes calling e no fit escape except tru BabA God mercy.

30. My guy jst have it n mind dat u r a murderer

31. RIP Bro...olubukola daniels aka blackmamba...

32. RIP

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

33. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    May his soul R.I.P.....

34. It's a pity. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

35. Can't imagine the grief the guy must be in! He should be placed on suicide watch.

36. R.I.P......take heart @ Sean

Cynthia Tasha

37. This is sad. May God console his family. IT IS WELL.

38. Awwww....u can imagine d guilt for killing someone

39. I HAVE KNOWN BEFORE NOW THAT CRICKET IS A VERY DANGEROUS SPORT. I KNEW ASPER MANY 9JA NO FIT TAKE RISK OF DIFFERENT KINDS OF OYINBO SPORTS. RIP MAN.

40. Sylviagbo@gmail.com

41. Wow, what a pity. Sean take heart, was just an accident. RIP Phil

42. They killed an unarmed black teen and said there was nothing wrong in his killing. They have murdered sleep. One by one, they will continue to kill their own. One by one and there will be nothing wrong with it. Like that unarmed black teen's family have been left to mourn him without finding justice, they will also mourn their own.

43. linda ikeji's boo27 November 2014 at 20:35

oh sorry.i realy feel for all of them.it was such a tragedy

44. RIP young man. God Bless your soul. Amen.

45. God knows best!!
    May his soul rest in peace..amen