Two Nigerians and an Isreali arrested for smuggling $9.3m into SA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 15 September 2014

Two Nigerians and an Isreali arrested for smuggling $9.3m into SA

South African police are currently investigating two Nigerians and an Israeli citizen who tried to smuggle $9.3 million in cash into the country on September 5th.

According to South Africa's City Press newspaper, the money which was in bundles of unused $100 bills packed in three suitcase were transported in a small business jet, a bombadier Challenger 600 with a Nigerian crew and piloted by Captain Tunde Ojongbede. Continue...

The jet departed from Abuja and when it arrived South Africa, the money was discovered and when asked, the men said it was for the purchase of arms for the Nigerian security services.

Spokesperson of the South African Revenue Service (SARS), Marika Muller in a statement said the money was seized at the Lanseria airport, northwest of Johannesburg
"The passengers' luggage was searched after Customs officials detected irregularities. The money was detained as it was undisclosed/undeclared and above the prescribed legal limit,"
South African airport security spokesman Solomon Makgale confirmed a police investigation was underway but declined to give details.

84 comments:

1. Ayeraye oooooi! Chineke! Aaaaah! There is God oooooooooh!

*** forst to comment ***

1. STUPIDITY IN HIGHEST ORDER. Y'ALL CAN MENTION THE PILOT'S NAME. WHILE THE CULPRIPTS NAME'S ARE WITHELD. FUCKED UP COUNTRY. CORRUPTED LEADERS! GIVE YOUR PEOPLE ORDINARY ELECTRICITY! UNA NO FIT. SHIOOOR!

2. STUPIDITY IN HIGHEST ORDER. Y'ALL CAN MENTION THE PILOT'S NAME. WHILE THE CULPRIPTS NAME'S ARE WITHELD. FUCKED UP COUNTRY. CORRUPTED LEADERS! GIVE YOUR PEOPLE ORDINARY ELECTRICITY! UNA NO FIT. SHIOOOR!

3. Woo anon whatever your name is. Carry your frustrations elsewhere. In still reeling from the pain after I did the conversion. I can't add the horror of reading your rubbish comment in uppercase to it. Biko relocate your comment under another person's. Lol

*** forst to comment ***

2. WE ARE alwaaaaaaaaaaaaays representin

1. That's what U call repping?? LoL

3. Please we would love to know their names.
    If they were average people,we would have seen their pictures.
    Plz we need to know who they are.

1. so that you will or we will do what, Bona? The ones you know already, what have you done about them?

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Oboy see money abeg..... luck ran out of them....

5. them no clear their way enough. mugu. Esay to catch. who owns the jet?

6. God you are faithful.Please investigate very well.That is how they have been diverting our money to their foreign account.Which arms are they purchasing? Who send them?

7. Boys no get joy at all
    Anyhow e be make be
    Guess their luck ran out
    And an Israeli too huh?
    I guess these whites re as corrupt as us then

....Sleekz

1. Israeli's d middle man dat hooked em up with d SA arms-dealer

8. Nawao ...our money.. Govt in making..

9. Hmmmm such amt of moni,who knows if they r telling d truth,dey shud be propeerly investigated 2 find out who owns dat moni whether govt or individual.

10. Lindikardashian, Dats money laundering. Maybe dey got exposed because dey didn't settle well.

11. That is a system that works! I hope the Nigerian government would do the needful and investigate who is really behind the purchase of the arms, Boko Haram or who??? This is serious!

1. Is this oby, my Lolo or just another nwa

12. They must dance to the music of the law

13. Boko haram people...God don catch dem

14. Hmmm! wonder shall not end, every day for the thief one day for the owner. i know they have been doing this for long but at last hand don touch them

15. Damn! All these politicians ehn smh!

16. 2much money. #####QUEENMAYA#####

17. okay seen..lemme continue my breaking bad............................#KingOfKings

18. omo see bad market! business ruined

19. Money made easy. AbUjA connection. ENGR Emy

20. Corrupt politicians! They don dey pack our money commot for Nigeria o! *anya_o2003@yahoo.com*

21. One nigerian politician at work....

22. That's good for you,go to and spent the your remaining life time in prison and learn your lesson.Stupid guy.

23. They should investigate the matter o. Chai

1. Hope the people involve will not bribe their way out ? Naija comedy country.

24. Waooo..won jase mowon lori..is bad..oooo.

25. Up Naija! So the entire Defense Ministry cannot buy arms without carrying the money in cash? Was the budget released also in Cash in Nigeria?

This also goes to show the complicity and lack of safety/professionalism of the Nigerian Airports as this cash passed through screening yet went undetected or was allowed through.

Shame of a nation.

26. Nigeria must represent for one bad news or the other everyday

27. Nigeria will never change...mtchwwwwwwwwww

28. Too much money
    We do have a lot of money in Nigeria, I know we do

29. Another Nigerian Politician looting the nation again!!!

30. Wow dats a who lot of money#busted#
    Face of lib

31. STUPIDITY IN HIGHEST ORDER. Y'ALL CAN MENTION THE PILOT'S NAME. WHILE THE CULPRIPTS NAME'S ARE WITHELD. FUCKED UP COUNTRY. CORRUPTED LEADERS! GIVE YOUR PEOPLE ORDINARY ELECTRICITY! UNA NO FIT. SHIOOOR!

32. God help our beloved country, see as they stealing money without fear. I am single, living in d U.S, any single lady in U.S interested in a relationship? (My email thankulord2014@gmail.com.)

33. But money da Nigeria sha, 9.3m USD for Arms, arms when them wan take fight for 2015 abi? Amadioha for finger all of una.

34. Why did you mention the Captain's name and not the passengers that own the money? This aint right!

35. linda please we need their names

36. Some Governor isn't happy right now.

37. Who is this femzi anthony's ?

38. Mint, direct from cbn, who else can control that. Arms my foot. Awon ode.

39. what is Nigeria turning into saw it on naijacnn.com this morning

40. Do people actually think when they commit cash smuggling crimes?

41. Someone should please tell Bishop Dammy to please get a job.

42. Heheheheh, i hope they don't return the money and reveal the identities of the Nigerians. Arms dealing that way is illegal.

43. Naija nawa #bright bravo#

44. Why mention the name of the pilot and leave out the names of the two Nigerian passengers and the name of the Israeli?
    Typical, fry the small fish and let the big fish continue swimming.
    Captain Tunde is a pilot that was/is with ****airline. If he is still in **** airline it would mean that Its either the Chairman and the MD of ****airline or one of their friends in Government. Money laundering things.
    If he is no longer with ****airline then it should be one of the big boys in Government and a certain banker/money cleaner that own one of these private jets.
    just guessing

45. Omo naija! Forever in the wrong!

46. boko haram sponsors .publish their names pls

47. God will EXPOSE ya all one by one

48. Stealin has becom d best work in naija....our politicians do it, evryone does it so dey shuld hav remained at home n join d boat.

49. Abuja prostitute jailed for stealing how much? Meanwhile this retarded bastard dey steal in foreign currency, we d masses dey live on less than a dollar a day, na sango, ayelala go fire all of o na Wer dey loot d country because he b like say God judgment dey take too long on this heartless beast, after today we nor go hear anything about who get d money, where e come from again useless greedy leaders...

50. Na today?e Don tay.I need to drone that country so that we start afresh again.

51. All of u commenting now, the power to change Nigeria is in ur hands. This is definitely government things. Vote for change come 2015 if u want a future for Nigeria.

52. Hmmmm interesting, please their names nd pictures

53. Hmmmm interesting, please their names nd pictures

54. Our Name painted BLACK in SA again.

55. Omo if na niaja police, wen dey dash dem lyke 3 bundles der eye go close. Dey shuldnt av mentn d pilot name wen dey wntd to kip it al secret

MZ G says so

56. Jesus christ..heart attack

57. Corruption is the order of the day in naija, very soon, they'll release them but God will expose them. Useless set of people

58. CAN President is d owner of d private jet in question. Linda why hidding it?

59. Too much money...
    They should investigate and publish their names. Justice must be served if found guilty.

60. They should hold them will this is the opportunity for nigeria government to know who is behind bokoharam, who send them to go and buy arm, are they buying for nigerian army or bokoharam. Pls linda we need their names

61. Pls Govermend need to interfere dis matter,maybe dis money is for admonition for bokoharam,I believe so

62. Sympathizer of boko haram victims17 September 2014 at 12:48

Nigeria belongs to all of us, we should remove sentiments and face the realities of this country. The west have captured our leaders both religious and polical just for money. Your people are dying every day but you keep turning your faces away from it. the govt. refuse to probe Sheriff and inhejirika so lets see if Oritse jafor will be probe in this. The Almighty God never sleeps keep praying for God to uncover the faces book haram and their sponsors.

63. Sympathizer of boko haram victims17 September 2014 at 12:48

Nigeria belongs to all of us, we should remove sentiments and face the realities of this country. The west have captured our leaders both religious and polical just for money. Your people are dying every day but you keep turning your faces away from it. the govt. refuse to probe Sheriff and inhejirika so lets see if Oritse jafor will be probe in this. The Almighty God never sleeps keep praying for God to uncover the faces book haram and their sponsors.

64. Sympathizer of boko haram victims17 September 2014 at 12:48

65. my dear Nigerians this is real international thief thief the one FELA talk pls make na help our unemployment
    and given us light o we don tayer but
    GOD dey ooooooooo