Nigeria has the 10th sexiest English accent in the world | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 September 2014

Nigeria has the 10th sexiest English accent in the world

There are over 7,000 languages in the world and according to a new poll, the Nigerian accent is the 10th sexiest English accent in the world. CNN did a recent poll on Facebook and above is how people voted. I love the way French people speak English sha...

145 comments:

1. Oh really!so nigeria can get recognition from this people despite their hate on us.

1. Who compiled dis rubbish

2. I love the Irish accent tho... And Sophia vegaras ascent

3. Anon11:36pm.......your great grandfather......mumu............................................N.O.K

4. Anon 11:36, U're the only rubbish I see here!!!

5. Anon 11:36, U're the only rubbish I see here!!!

6. Accent? What the fuck, we need light, water, road and hospitals. What's with this bullshit accent. Shame on this country. People are so so easy to fool. Please don't go feeling good about yourself outside nigeria with this rubbish. Amazing how naija no get shame. Best english accent? English na yours native language. You people are so dumb. It's like saying Americans have the sexiest igbo accent. Or Yoruba. You can only find such from the countries that English is first language, you bush men and women from Africa. Yeye people. Make Una go bush find banana chop jor

7. oh really? They like the way the Yorubas call 'Hope', 'Ope' or the Anambras call 'Million' ''Mirrion'' or d Hausas call 'Fire' ''Pire'' or Efiks call 'Jack' ''Yack'' or Ijaws call 'Jack' ''Zack''.. Wia do i start wia do i stop.. Whoever polled this was high on something really cheap

8. please be amaechi to allow our children resume school. Why is he making things difficult for us?

9. Anon stop hating this isn't the first time, it has always been like that since inception that Nigeria has the sexiest accent in Africa... Evn last year CNN rate it that NG has the sexiest accent in Africa.

10. I sell clothes and make up in sophia's voice... #princessa

11. Now I wonder why our brothers and sisters abroad even those right here in naija will be stressing themselves to speak through their nose.....mtchewwww....accent or no accent we need a change in Nigeria... MOMENT WITH ZOE

2. Replies
    1. In my opinion, the sexiest is Italian. Their English alone can turn a lady on...

*My R1.50c comment*

2. Indian accent? Iyak. Very annoying nt sexy at all

3. Oooooh! So that's why these white boys won't leave me alone!

1. Aristo oshi.

2. Ahaha funny :)

3. Hahahahahahahaha!

4. U r so funny potofmoney 4 ur mind ba?

5. @potofmoney No! They won't leave u alone bcos of ur big nyash n fat pussy

6. Local olonsho! Keep fooling ursef

7. You guys ve finished potofmoney,lol well good to know we are recognised or shud I call it dat

4. Wow! We try o! First to comment?

5. Naija nor dey carry last

6. Enhenh Trinidadian

1. Hmmmmmm.........am shocked! Even wit d way yoruba pple blow theirs? Sure De r not included, if nt, na number 6,900 9ja Go be.

7. Kudo!!! But dt doesn't include those igbotic and yorubaish english ooo

Breezy_p down here repping MTN

1. Sharrap, na those igbotic and yorubatic dey sexy pass.

2. Yes like yours,Mr kudo

3. Actually it is, considering that they used nollywood movies to determine

8. I wouldn't dispute this claim. I noticed that my accent is far better than most people's here in the Uk. Thanks to some of the good schools we have in Nigeria. Even though i feel we can do better and improve our educational structure. But is this something to be proud of? really? How long are we going to live and act according to the white man's standards? What about our indigenous languages???

~BADOO OF COVENTRY

1. Get a life! Stop seeking recognition for all this unwarranted waste of space!
      Linda, U must be damn stupid for posting this, since U've refused to take subtle advice from ur readers to stop posting such comments that strain our eyes!!!

2. Thank u for wasting so much pages of linda's blog exercise book just because u want to prove a point...mtchewww

3. That poll is not about fake accent and shit, it's about how English rolls of one's native tongue. Like the french *smh* those folks are something else

4. Please lecture all the dumb ass.

9. Mourhino's accent nko? Bcos I lerveee his accent!

10. There's no such thing as a Nigerian accent. English spoken by a Yoruba man sounds very different to that of an Igbo, Hausa, Calabar etc

And with all the fake English/American/Nigerian accents most people use, there's no universal Nigerian accent, and whatever it is ain't sexy.

Kimmy*****

1. Where is the Love button for this comment?
      #LOVE!!!

2. U get to knw true Nigeria accent when he travelled out of Nigeria. Allow Nigeria man go Ghana by d time he returns, d accent Na A1 as if say him don go Uk come bck.

3. 100000000 likes for you

11. Why won't we be 10th, when some ppl speak all d other nine rolled in one. Those that travel to d UK come back with all d other nine. A sentence from their mouth will contain a billion accents all for forming! Naija I hail.

12. GHANIAN ENGLISH NKO?..LOL

13. Yaay...we were 7th some years ago

14. i guess it doesnt matter that 90% of the respondents are Nigerians

15. oui, le francaise anglais accent est tres bon.

have u heard spanish accent? equally nice.

so nigerians, u can now reduce the level u try to fake accents!! thank u

16. Who decides these things?! Nobody asked me what I liked!

17. Hahahaha! All this shows is that a lot of Nigerians voted.

18. Lol

Something to console us sha.......
    And where d fuck is ghana the highest phonetics speaking africans

1. Ipho, na rubbish be Ghana accent, immitation, that is why they can not be rated because they are fake. We Nigerians speak our English with our native tongue

2. Dey re not talking abt phonetic, but accent, Naija got accent, we sabi form accent die.

19. yAY!, i hope my fellow Naijarians will stop faking American and British accents, ours is sexy!

20. Hey! How manage?

Including Hausa accent? Peonouncing 'p' as 'f' and vice-versa. Not to talk of the 'H-factor' among we yorubas.

The only two english words the Igbos can pronounce well are 'Money' and 'Container'

1. Who told u dat, Igbos pronounce R as L, e.g Brother as Blother, Bring as Bling. While Calabar J as Y, Jacob as Yacob. Yorubas, CH sound as S. Church as Sosi. Most Nigeria have lapses pronunciation a particular alphabet, but when polished the accent cover up for dem

2. Fool! that's what the poll is about, those who speaking English naturally, according to the mother tongue

21. So finally we can b rated high 4sumtin..well b mi love d British accent wish I can tlk lik dem

1. You see! that's why Nigeria is placed 10th

22. Owk, but is it Calabar,Igbo,Tiv,Hausa or Yoruba version?

23. Hmmm na wa o...at least all our celeb phonetics earn us something.*stroll away*

24. Cool but how does the sexy accent make shekau understand to stop killing our people? Lolz

25. I hope Nigerian celebrities nd radio presenters (toke makinwa etc) can be real now..

26. And warri pidgin is d sexiest language in the world

27. jesus wept,what is sexy in Nigerian English accent?

28. FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU) We have heard....

29. Lol like seriously.......hope they haven't been listening to radio stations across the country.

30. Nice 1. Our spoken English is sexy. I actually realised that when I listen to south Africans. SA English is terrible with varied accents. Nigerians we rock. Who would have thunk it.

31. But did dey say wich tribe in Nigeria? Cus our tribes speaks english differently

1. They can not differentiate, it is only among us we know the diff

32. Really??? Not quite sure

33. I would av luv if dat 10th is given to Ghana#justsaying!

34. up up Nigeria. .. we know dey carry last.. though we were almost outta the show.. thumps up anyway. . oONE LOVE

35. I love love the Australian accent!

36. And some stupid nigerians would want to be forming fune.

37. that rating is nt nrmal. 9ja is numba 1. Badguy.com

38. Na wizzy music they want to dance too...

1. mumu weytin concer dat wan wit weytin we dey talk for ere

39. Dr frabz Don cure my brain eee yeeee

40. its true.. just got bank from america two days ago.. everywhere i go, american will say, i love your accent.. and i was always shocked.. i was like really, thanks..

41. I disagri wit Irish Position. I tink de shud com in 1st 3 or 2 nd as for Nigeria it simply mins we r taken note of in dat aspct.

42. British accent always rocks for me. We (Naija) tried. A poll held some yrs back we still made 10.👍

43. We were number Four, Patience became First Lady, we dropped Six Points. Evict GEJ Today. LOL

44. It should be among the top 3 self....ma take will be British as 1st, French as 2nd , Nigeria as 3rd nd then d others. ...

45. Good schools in Nigeria gave you a better accent?
    I suppose you mean better grammar, there is no such thing as a bad accent just bad grammar
    So what school did you go to then?

46. If I hear #tah# sexy what? Another of enslaving us into leaving n forgetting our own local dialect. They are deceiving us into thinking our English accent is sexy. #indeed# why didn't they pick any of our 3 local dialect of sounding sexy.

47. no wonder ladies always trip for my accent...I tot it was a joke o...ok now

48. They are talking about sexiness, not good accent. You cant have a better accent than the owners of the language. This is why many of you fail exams.

49. I live in Forsyth, GA. Anytime I speak, they'll say I love your accent and my will say she's Nigerian. Anytime I say something, somebody will like say, I like the way you pronounce the word. Really nice to know our English accent is rated tops, maybe that's what attracted my husband to me.

50. 9ja know day carry last especially for all forming

51. This is so true, in the UK people keep telling me they love my naija accent, but naija people with their complex can't value what they have

52. American accent no enter levels. LMAO

53. We no dey carry last.am not surprised DAT Nigeria is in da 10th position cos I know we r good we it has to do with english

54. Pls Ghana should be the 3rd ok!!!!I love their accents

55. Look at these peasants! They are not proud to speak their indigenous language, but they are proud to speak the language of their enslavers and colonizers. Ha, I cry for Africa!

56. There is nothing like a Nigerian accent. With the hundreds of languages we have here..each intonation translates differently. An hausa man speaking english and a yoruba man speaking english sound vastly different so they should explain well jor

57. There is nothing like a Nigerian accent. With the hundreds of languages we have here..each intonation translates differently. An hausa man speaking english and a yoruba man speaking english sound vastly different so they should explain well jor

58. But the same Nigerians are not proud of their native English accent. They would rather speak in some very funny sounding tongues in the name of speaking like whites. Imagine pronouncing God as Gord, or one worn...

59. Daz nize o... :D

60. U knw I can't believe some people saying we don't deserve to be on this list...why don't you guys hv any love for your country.say and think something positive about it for once!!! Way to go Naija

61. I love british accent eh.Naija dey try sha tho I love ghana English more than ours.#justsaying#Goodmorning Pipo.

62. MICKY: indeed,nija get plenty accent oo

63. Congratulation to Nigeria.

64. hello...like seriously,i agree cos na we form fornetics pass...we were british colonized what do u expect.

65. i love the british accent

66. i laff in pigin engrish...

67. how can they put the Irish accent before us, I would even preferred the scottish accent

68. Hmm,

i think we are more like the 4th or 5th..

there are some very very sexy voices here o

Ojoro people!

69. Irish accent shuda bin numba 1#26247c63

70. If na poll on facebook, naija go always come top, cos we plenty on facebook pass every ohter country, and wey always online.. Our English sexy sha.

71. i so believe this, on my first trip to the US i was pleasantly surprised when a shop attendant asked me what country i came from, when i said Nigeria( with a little sense of foreboding and getting ready to be defensive) she smiled and said, 'oh i love your accent' i was sooo proud.lool. Though i wonder if she was using my head in foresight because, i bought alot more than i intended in the shop. but oh well, i had a proud Nigerian moment!

72. Great! Honestly we need social and basic amenities not all these rubbish o. ~Slim8~ oreketoria@yahoo.com

73. I so agree! My bestie is Trinidadian and her accent is soooooo sexy ....