Photo: Police recover, return N15m to Sokoto robbery victim | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 17 August 2014

Photo: Police recover, return N15m to Sokoto robbery victim

The Sokoto state Police command has recovered and returned N15million which was stolen from an unidentified man by a 5-man armed robbery gang at the Ilela border market in Ilela LGA of Sokoto state on June 1st.

Parading the suspects with the money recovered at the Sokoto state Police command headquaters,  DCP Douglas Agbonleni who spoke on behalf of the Sokoto State Commissioner of Police, Gambo Lawal, gave an insight on how the robbers were able to dislodge their victim of the money and how they were subsequently caught. Continue...
"The robbery operation was successful as they were able to dispossess their target of over N15 million cash at the Ilela border market, after firing into the air to scare people. We received the information at about 6pm on June 1 and instantly went on stop-and-search operation and our men at Rabbah local government found a black colour Volkswagen Golf car with registration number Jigawa AG 569 HJA along the forest route and apprehended three of the criminals while the other two escaped" he said.
 The three robbers arrested were identified as Joseph Ohakin, ThankGod Sunday, Emmanuel Ugo (aka Ifeanyi). Apart from the money, other items recovered from them were weapons including locally made and foreign assorted rifles neatly concealed in the seats of the vehicle.

The Police said after they arrested the armed robbers in the bush, the robbers offered to give them the stolen N15million on the condition that they let them go, but the police men declined the offer. The police then launched a search for the remaining two robbers who escaped. A mobile phone which they used in communicating was used to track down the other two criminals.
"When the first three were arrested, we searched the vehicle and recovered the money, we discovered a GSM telephone and upon diligent investigation, we traced that phone to Kano and our detectives proceeded to Kano where we were able to trace the owner of that phone who was a member of the robbery gang and had escaped from Illela. We discovered that the telephone belongs to one Habibu Abdullahi (Alias 02). He is popularly called 02 in Kano. We picked him up and we knew that they were about five members in that gang. So after arresting and interrogating Habibu Abdullahi, the fifth member of the gang, Garba Ismail was traced to a suburb of Kano and picked up also. So all the five members of the gang that came here to rob at the Illela town have been picked up,” he said.
The owner of the N15m stolen who was present at the press briefing confirmed he had received his money.

50 comments:

1. THANK GOD FOR D RETURN....
    .ZB

2. SO MUCH MONEY! Ndi eke well done. Ok off to church

3. Good work but are they sure its nt more than 15m? I need to hear frm d owner lol cus police hmmm...

4. I don't trust these policemen dem...lailai...no be naija?anyways kudos.

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L@REDIFFMAIL.COM^ »_»_• \0/

5. Police rejects bribe in Nigeria. This is supposed to come as breaking news. Well kudos to them and hope other police men will emulate them.!! As for these hoodlums, you alll are doomed .!!

1. Me I still dey reason that matter if police really reject d bribe oo.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This robbers never learn, they should go into politics where things like this are legal if they so enjoy stealing peoples money.....

7. Aliyu Wammako is working.
    Happy Sunday Libers

8. I commend the Nigerian police for being a bloodhound in this investigation.So policemen who are known for collecting N20 N10 from the poor masses can actually reject a bribe of N5mil.Hehe God be praised! Today is truly sunday...

9. Now thats is a good one from the Nigerian Police. welldone!

10. Wow! That is commendable! And unheard of especially of our NPF

11. Thumb~up Police. Criminals una own don RED.

12. let them rot in jail....thieves

13. Nice one by the police #bright bravo#

14. Chei nawa o, thumbs up to the police

15. Nice one there by the NPF,,but d rate of bribe dis police pple ask for dis days is shockin,,d new method dey use is even worse..May God help us all..

LIB Kritik.

16. My comment nor dey eva appear!! Mtchew

17. Kudos to the Police. This goodness shall be permanent in Jesus' Name.

18. This does not sound like the Nigeria police.. Linda, are you sure you are not mistaken?

* My R1.50c comment *

19. Dts gud. 1 f d best actions taken dt I v hrd by our police ds yr

20. Luk at the one dah is on braid later he wud go to the club and start forming millionaire, spending the money on useless gals and alcohol some1's hard earned money,thankGod he was caught, dey shud use bottle to barb dah hair.

21. Nice work by the Nigerian police.....who say una no dey try

XDON D DON

22. Thank God for that but if only Nigeria police could be this effective in other states.Please Linda, the roobbers who attack motorist at mile 2 Lagos have shifted their activities to Orile.The terror is still on, please help us alert the Nigeria police in Lagos to spread their tentacles to other parts of the town as they re doing a good job in Mile 2.Bless you.

23. Naija police returned 15m?? Am speechless

24. These police officers MUST receive national awards and get well compensated by the Nigerian government even though they only did what they are paid for. The Nigerian Police is a cesspit of arrogant, poorly trained and emotionally disturbed individuals with a few good men and women. When these few good men and women show their integrity in situations like this, they should be highly commended as a way to encourage others and enforce change.

25. Good job...the police are trying.

26. Thieves!!!!!! See their eyes like our calabar. An adage says everyday for d theif and one day for d owner. God Don catch them.

27. keep up the gud work,congratulations..Niima

28. Impressive! God work sokoto police!

29. GOod job by the police.Doris

30. For their mind they have done a great job. Likes of bankole and others that stole the country money where re they now. Hypocrites. Shaking my head for the leaders of this nation.

31. Nigerian Police return money???!!!…Hmmm...

32. Good job................................#KingOfKings

33. Bravo!naija needs more of you guys.great job.
    Face of lib

34. Kudos to the police for refusing bribe...

queenreigneth@gmail.com

35. And the name of the suspects arrested were :Joseph,Emmanuel and ThankGod Sunday !!
    REALLY ? ? ?
    I guess our Lord said enough is enough for pimping the good name used by God's faithful followers !

For the sleeping robbers,you better go with odeshi or mmiri nsi if you bear such beautiful name and ugly heart.God is now interested in your case !

36. Wow nice job I'm impressed, well done our police

37. Kudos to the Nigeria Police for the gallantry. It is not easy. Please continue the good work and this country will be a better place for us to live in.

38. Kudos to NPF...good job well done.

39. Nigeria police? Hmmmmmmmm, highly commendable.

40. After they do one nice job,dey ll spoil it after sme months!!

41. INCREDIBLE
    OUR POLICE???

BORN TO SHINE!!!!!

42. All these my igbo brothers. They are always the ones carrying out nefarious activities, even abroad. If anyone commits a crime abroad, be sure there is an igno man involved. God help us!

43. Kudos to NPF,who says Naija ll nt be gud again?Thank God they were apprehended,once again gud work to Naija police for refusing d bribe offer.

44. Police? This will put good money in your pocket. http://JobandPay.com/?id=150563

45. Illela has boder wit niger republic it was nt NF dt cut dem it was niger police force..... cus dats were I reside