2014 World Cup:Messi wins Golden Ball, Neuer wins Golden Gloves | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 13 July 2014

2014 World Cup:Messi wins Golden Ball, Neuer wins Golden Gloves

Argentine captain Lionel Messi won the FIFA 2014 World Cup Golden Ball Award, which is the award given to the best individual player, while German goalkeeper, Manuel Neuer won the Golden Gloves which is the award given to the best goal keeper of the tournament and Colombia's James Rodriguez was named the tournament's top scorer with six goals. Do you think Messi was the best player of the 2014 World Cup?

132 comments:

1. neuer yes, but for messi is not him that has that its robben

okesimaa@gmail.com

1. D golden ball shud have gone to Muller and not Messi...That's a big ojoro, Messi scored 4 goals and 1 assist, all his 4goals came from d group stage and none at d knockout stages,Muller scored 5 goals and assisted 3, so why shud Messi come on top ahead of Muller,guess compensation from FIFA...Congrats to Neuer, he is a joy to watch!

2. Robben and even Muller have been mote phenomenal in dis tournament. Messi was just ordinary.

3. Linda, Messi won man of the match award 4 consecutive times at this world cup and also took his team to the finals single handed, which other player did that.....abeg he is the best

4. HW CAN MESSI WIN GOLDEN BALL... FIFA IS BN BIASED JOR.... MUST DEY APPEASE MESSI????? WHY NOT ROBBEN OR BETA STIL ONE OF D GERMANS

Moye B.

2. He doesnt even look happy at all.

1. He's not expected to be happy when his team lost

3. Congrats guys and yes! Messi was the best player of the tournament. ...

4. I never wanted argentina to win anyways and as for that messi,left for me ehn...even golden agbalumo he wee not get!!! #flipsHairAndWalksAway#

1. Chinonye Sarah. Lol.. I concur wit u 100 percent my dear

2. eeya i supported germany,buh later wished that argentina won.poor messi his not himself.

3. See beefıng lol.. IT İŞ WELL

5. Messi no deserve dis tin atall. Some oda guys were more outstanding dan e his. D like of Ajen Robben, Dimari andJames

6. Yesoo!!! Chairman na chairman! Though he still was nt happy.......soRry ma messi, evryday isn't xmas.

1. Gorilla of LIB....hehe! I don see u....oya carry. Ur chopper de go.

2. Bad english @mosez

7. Obviously he is not, FIFA is politicizing football too much! When there were more outstanding players like Mueller, Robben, Rodriguez, Uchida of Mexico, and so on..... Even yobo sef.... Mtcheeewww

1. Lol yobo.lmao u wont kill me

8. Not in any way! He wasnt deservin of it at all... It was obvious it was pure politics. Robben should be d man instead

9. : That Golden Ball award Messi received was based on sympathy not merit.....ehen lindodo suarez won Golden Teeth...looool

10. Messi is my best player...I respect the guy so much but I dont really think he deserved the golden ball. Players like roben who were play makers of every match played in this tournament werent even recognised...well sha! Plus na wa 4 Messi o!!!!! He rejected all rhe handshaked handed towards him becuz they lost. Chai!!!

11. Really no but just 2 encourage his efforts nice Messi
    Breezy_p 080MTN
    Danabiaziem@gmail.com

12. d guy deserves even d trophy messi is futball made easy

13. NO#CAPITAL LETTERS#likE CRIOUSLY?

14. Well deserved linda, messi 2 gud a player not 2 be compensated - fair play colombia, Young player- Pogba

15. He is far from it, since Maria was out, no goal for Argentina, James,Muller, Robben, what happened to them? Fifa is so sentimental abeg

16. Messi don't I really don't see the best of his football. Arjen robben will be okay.my opinion

17. Yea to me he is,bcos if dere re others,dey would ve helped their country in coming first or second in d tournament ,so Messi deserves it big time

18. congrats to dem all. ogunaomi@gmail.com

19. Capital NO messi isn't the best player my best is james Rodriguez.

20. i think robben should have won the golden ball not messi. congrats GERMANY.

21. At all oo.. he jus tried at d beginning of the tournament. . Robben is evn berra off. Evn muller nd kroos.. neva tot he will win it

1. No doby dnt check it like dat cus if nt 4 mess-, de wouldn't have gotten dis far! He was like a savior to dem.

22. FIRST OF all 'lol'..messi does not deserve that award, rodrigues was suppose to be given that award,yea...dis kind tin dey vex ma ass.make i go sheet jare.

23. undoubtedly he is, but football needs more than a outstanding player, its a team game, hence

24. FIFA SHOULD CHANGE THEIR VOTING SYSTEM.

25. was thinking of Robben but no doubt I love mercy more.....He deserves it

XDON D DON

26. He kinda deservd it bt lukd more of a compensatn award sinc he dnt lift d world cup

27. Even Messi knws dat he wasn't d best player of d tournament

1. Then who was?
      Without a shadow of doubt in my mind,MESSI deserved it well.

2. On point. Messi never merit it

28. Absolutely not. There was nothing spectacular about Messi this tournament. But with Sepp Blatter as FIFA president, Messi wins always. Robben, Neymar, Rodriguez and some others were much better.

29. Messi, the best player? That's his own credit. Great!!! O!German Machines..............CHERRS!!!!!

30. They ought to giv it to Mikel. Case dismiss (Corper Godstime)

31. Linda,which kind question bi dis now if no bi Lionel messi,who e for bi?Lionel did a good job but I wanted something better for him like world cup but it was not meant to be.I'm not happy at all.

1. You can go to nearby pharmacy to get ur self lagatin. so that u can sleep well since u are not happy. Yeye dey smell! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

32. Am a fan of messi, but I do not think he deserved d award.

33. Messi na ur boy frnd nah.. Datz Y u wanted Argentina to win cause of Messi. Linda u dey fail... U disappoint me alot. abeg

34. messi doesnt deserve it in anyway,is last 3 matches is natin to write ome abt
    oda guiz like #muller #james #dimaria n co did beta dan im
    mtchwwwwwwww
    #politicsinfootball

35. O weY ah! o wey AHhhhhh!!!
    It has been a 1daful worldcup gud9t and gudbye Rio. Even Christ the redeemer Statue lite up 4 Germany. Gud9t 2 u 2 LinDa

36. Messi didn't deserve that award! There were far better players at the tournament! James rodriguez, Muller would have being a better choice.

37. Messi? He deserved nothing of such... Blatter just spoil dis tournament sha

38. People just talk. Messi created the most chances and completed the most dribbles. Deserved it.

1. STFU,Ozil has the most number of chances created,even tho he was heavily criticised... Get ur fucking facts right!!!

39. If I were gay. Messi on my mind. Messi lives on . ENGR Emy

40. He doesn't deserve it at all, someone that came out of an easy group and was no where to be found throughout the knock out stages... He was just walking about d pitch most of the time...FIFA is full of craps..

41. Messi my foot. He should go nd hug transformer abeg. Midget like him. He dosnt deserve de award at all. Robben all de way I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

1. On point bro

2. Why curse him? Did he rob you off your sleep. Learn how to address your dislikes without abuse that way you will better your life

42. As you complain reach show us your papa picture. IDIOT!

43. Neuer deserve it, But for Messi NO! Even muller have more goalz n assists than Him. I think Robben deserve it

44. Neuer deserve it, But for Messi NO! Even muller have more goalz n assists than Him. I think Robben deserve it

45. Messi...Wots this thing with him self

46. A.Robben shud v cx he merited it. Hmm FIFA na only una waka cum?

47. Fifa bullshit messi is not suppose to be in the list of best players@all how can someone score 6 goals with so many assist and is not giving the best player "james Rodriguez of columbia deserved it not messi". Jopeyemi@gmail.com

48. Wooooooooooooooooooooo! Messi (sponsored by Adidas) wins the Golden Ball (sponsored by Adidas). FIFA IS A DISGRACE.. EVEN THE WHOLE STADIUM BOOED

49. Congrats. Pretex4luv@yahoo.com

50. Here, they go again. Messi himsef knows he doesn't deserve this award. What happens to the likes of Reuben, Uchida, Klose, Mueller, Neymar (whose absence brought out brazil's"nyans") and even Suarez (atleast for a good bite). So ploitics is everywhere. Congratulations to Manuel, an award well deserved.

51. hell no...nkemdirimeverista111@gmail.com

52. Nah..Messi doesn't rily deserve it alota players were better than him dis tym. Oyindamolaharvey@yahoo.com

53. If you Linda watch the tournament, you don't need to ask this stupid question. He is the best OK.

54. James, Robben muller are better contender. Not messy

55. congrats..patoswife@gmail.com

56. I felt Robben more in he tournament

57. Messi is not happy @ all...who cares?hehehehehe

58. Me know say that bladder guy abi wetin be I'm name go give messi,robben deserved that award yes messi lead he's team to second position bla bla bla but where was he during knock out stage? There's politics everywhere in this world even sex self nonsense thank God say e no lift that cup I for vex join benin witches fly reach rio go break the cup.

59. What of Suarez. He is suppose to win the GOLDEN TOOTH award.....lolz

60. he won t,coz he helpd his team to reach th final,roben did not.so cut th bullshit

61. That's how fifa was compensating this Guy all year long. He never deserved that award for no reason, but he's a gud player thou! Some deserved it more than him, I go for robben. He's one of the most talented player.

62. Pls If u don't like the award giving to messi u go and jump inside river niger mpissssss

63. Pure politics, fifa is a disgrace, they always find a way to compesate messi, Messi just shine in d group stages against very mediorce opponents including our own naija, but went it really mattered in the knockout stages, he waz no were to b found, infact since dimaria got injured, argentina didn't score a goal again.... Anyway he would always win awards since he is a GOOD BOY according to sepp blatter. #Amout

64. mercy more than deserved it....he is a game maker. and d game maker to me is d best player.he was unselfish n i feel bad Argentina didnt win d cup.

65. he deserved it..he is a game maker. Messi is definitely d best player in the tournament.Outstanding in his pace and creativity for his team,dribbling,shooting,passing were spectacular and efficient. he isnt called d best for nothing.

66. Amed Musa should have won it. He did what no stricker could do to tha Argentine Goal keeper.

67. he deserves it cuz he single handedly brought his team thro d group stages n den assisting Di maria to lead them to quarter finals etc. he deserved it jare

68. You know nothing about football......The Netherland Squad is far better to Argentine.So,what do you expect from Arjen ...Unlike Messi whose team is not at their top form.You expect him to dribble the team from the start to end show the world,he is all in all.After good goals,good passes and nice playmaking.Don't let me say much.....it is well.

69. The truth is that If messi were to be in Germany or Netherland Squad,he would have perform better and score more goals.Wasted chances also gave room for all saying against man that God has really blessed and favoured among his peers.He gave his all......Nothing more than this can he do......Still the best and will forever be.

70. Anonymous 12:11am. Wow. Listen to yourself. So because Messi created most chances and completed most dribbles he deserves the best player award? Wow. Since when did dribbling or creating chances become criteria for choosing a best player? How many of the so called chances led to goals? Who are you? What do you do? Are you a child or an adult? How can you spill such tosh and have the nerve to say "People just talk"? My goodness.

71. This is what i call arrangeeee. Messi doesn't deserve it.

72. No way,robben is better than messi in this tournament,even di maria perform more than messi,even tho i dont like neyma becos he always feel arrogant he is far better than messi in this world cup.......i dont like that blatter he always play politics

73. Okay he was the most outstanding individual in dat world cup no argument there. Rueben had sneidner andvan persie to play with, who did messi have? Yet if u ar nt baize you'd agree he deserved it.

74. Mr. Ibu, he deserves the golden ball more dan anybody.

75. People can hype Messi sha! He blivs he can never loose dats his problem. Over-confidence! Mtcheww abeg make we hear word

76. Robin deserved it.
    #PICCANTO#
    lausmithuj@gmail.com

77. I love messi so much.... cos he kinda look like my hubby. #Doro Classy#

78. Messi is d best if u like go nd hug transformer okey

79. One man takes a country/team to a final and you say he doesn't deserve it? That's what I call taking the bull by the horns.

80. whether you like it/ not
    he's chosen
    King Messi

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

81. Arjen Robben should have won it.

1. The reality of the show is that messi is a one man show but Arjen is lucky to have a better squad.If not,your story will be different.No dispute!

82. Congratulations to him.
    Cooldavoe@yahoo.com

83. whether you like it/ not
    he's chosen
    King Messi
    small but mighty

BORN TO SHINE!!

84. whether you like it/ not
    he's chosen
    King Messi
    small but mighty

BORN TO SHINE!!

85. Messi was consoled in place of robben. Fifa deserves knocks. On the overrall lessons have been learnt and the history makers are never in doubt. @Fortunedexcel

86. messi doesn't deserve it,even the commentator said'a prize he'll have to hide'

87. Haters keep hating while Messi remains a champion! Congratz to him jor

88. felt so bad for messi, lost alot of chances to net a goal,beta luck next tym. d best player award was jst a consolation. congrats Germany

89. if it was possible FIFA would give d world cup to Messi..........stupid Blatter. he didn't deserved it that's why he wasn't happy, period

90. Messi was the best player. All anti messi should shut up cos they don't know football

91. Messi is my love. I felt the pain of them loosing to Germany cos I wanted Messi's dream to come true. He is indeed a good player just that he didn't have foreward men who could assist him score goals. He made good passes but his team messed it all up

92. Passes:
    Messi 42/game
    Robben 29/game
    Mueller 34/game
    Key Passes:

Messi 3.5/game
    Robben 2.5/game
    Mueller 2.5/game

Dribbles:
    Messi 6.5/game
    Robben 4.8/game
    Mueller 1.5/game

Shots:
    Messi 3.2/game
    Robben 3/game
    Mueller 2.7/game

Tackles:
    Messi 1.7/game
    Robben 0.3/game
    Mueller 1.0/game

Interceptions:
    Messi 0.3/game
    Robben 0/game
    Mueller 0/game

Solo runs:
    Messi 34
    Mueller 9
    Robben 38

Deliveries into the Penalty area
    Messi 26
    Mueller 12
    Robben 19
    Goals:
    Messi 4
    Mueller 5
    Robben 3
    Messi deserved it alldaway

93. All haters of Messi should stfu... Messi is the greatest footballer alive and did more than deserve the golden ball. If u don't like it pls pass the mic...

94. All u Madrid fans just sharrap!

95. Robbed is d man....finito

96. They all deserved the awards they won

In my humble opinion

97. It was quite obvious Messi was not the most outstanding player in the 2014 world cup. He was above average but not the most outstanding Robben or Holland should have won the golden ball award. FIFA don dey play Nigerian politics oooh.