Fatal accident along Lagos-Ibadan expressway, 6 confirmed dead | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 June 2014

Fatal accident along Lagos-Ibadan expressway, 6 confirmed dead

A fatal multiple vehicle accident occurred this morning June 27 along the Lagos-Ibadan expressway leaving at least six people dead and causing a traffic gridlock on the road. The accident happened around the Berger/Kara axis of the expressway and was caused by a truck trying to avoid another parked on the road since last month. Security agents are currently on ground to help manage the situation. See more photos after the cut...

73 comments:

1. MAY THEIR SOULS REST IN PEACE...

DIS ONES SNAPPING PICS, RE DEY GONNA USE IT AS SCREEN SAVER OR PROFILE PICS???

2. If dem no snap pics, d 1 wey u c. U fit c am?

2. RIP to d departed. see as dis ones dey snap wit fone like say na competition. mtcheww

3. Oh my goodness!!!! Accident every where.......RIP to d dead

4. Enough of this Blood shedding naa. It's too much...Olisa bi na igwe biko nyere anyi aka.

5. Wetin they wan use these pictures wey dem de snap do? Instead of helping accident victims, they r all taking pictures. Dumb people using smart phones!

6. Oh my God, dey shld try nd do somethg wit those trucks dt re always parked at d road side.

7. o lord save us

8. See dose idiots with fones trying to take pictures. Nigerians?? Pathetic individuals

9. Only God knows what led to this fatal accident. Anyway, motorists need to drive carefully and have their car checked before hitting the road to prevent future bad situation.

10. OMG, So sad. may their soul rest in peace. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

11. Na wa oo, y trailer go dey pack for road anihw..

C.E.O

12. A truck dat was parkd on a major road for a MONTH!!! Haba!!! R.I.P. MrsB

13. This is not the first time such is happening on that road. Wonder all these people taking shots whether they will use to make money. Rip to the dead...

14. Blood of Jesus!

15. it is well!!!

16. Lord have ur way in our country...so sad

17. And Nigerians are busy snapping pictures. Lord have mercy!

18. Lagos Traffic self! Na wah oooo! R.I.P 2 d Victims!!

19. So sad... May the souls of the departed RIP. It crazy how everyone has their phone ready to take pictures instead of rendering a hand.

20. Nigerians can snap for Africa

21. I didn't really know it was this bad cos there was serious traffic coming out of the estate. RIP to the dead.

22. So Sad and RIP to the dead. GEJ flagged off the reconstruction of that road since last year and up till date no visible impact by the contractor, Julius Berger. Was the contract not awarded or funds were not mobilized? These are avoidable deaths. Please those concerned should do something on that road it is indeed a death trap.

#God answers all prayers#
    Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
    Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
    Every moment - Thank God.

23. accident always occur along this particular route. Naijas see as dem dey snap pix.. RIP to the dead. #PICCANTO#

24. What a tragedy
    May the souls of the dead rest in peace

25. Camera phones shud be banned in Nigeria. WTF are people doing with the Cameras. See their excited faces

26. Welcome to nigeria...Where an accident happens n every eye witness Wats to b d first to hv d pic on der fone instead of finding a way out to save lifes...

Via BlackBerry z10

27. God pls, have mercy ooooooo

28. ALL I SEE IS NAIJA PEOPLE WITH CAMERA PHONE. TAKING PICTURES TO UPDATE THIER BBM/FACEBOOK/TWITTER/IG. SMH. END TIME!

29. May der soul rest in peace

30. But what is actually happening in Nigeria?

31. amaka sparkles27 June 2014 at 11:30

nigerians are becoming something else o. instead of helping d injured, thy are busy snapping...hmmm.odikwaegwu. RIP to dos that lost thier life

32. Chai nawaoooo lindaway .CHI.

33. So pathetic... May their soul RIP

34. Sad news every day.....

XDON D DON

35. everyone seems to be a taking pictures *sigh* think its time they stop all the heavy duty vehicle from parking by the road.

36. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This is really sad i swear..... May the souls of the dead R.I.P....

37. Chooiiiii and see people taking shots. Smh

38. They need to enforce traffic calming measures on the expressway. The road and the way people drive is sooo scary and sooo unsafe!! Goodluck Jonathan needs to do something about it ASAP Rocky!!

~K~

39. sad...may d souls of d dead rest in peace,amen.

40. Jeeez! Gush! Dat was indeed fatal. May God console thr families

41. May there soul rest in peace.

42. there goes the mobile phones again.....are these people jobless?

43. People just die like chicken every day. God plz protect us oooo

44. I wonder what those guys are snapping there there,instead of putting their hands to useful hands. Every time they will be carrying cameras around like what i dn't know...

45. @THE LAST PHOTO ....
    SEE ALL THEM FOOLISH FACES WITH THEIR NATI FINGER WAITING TO UPDATE PICTURES WITH THE PHOTO THEM DEY TAKE....ANUMANUS... HOW DOES THAT HELP THE SITUATION...?

46. Death Death Death!!! Dat is all we hear. May their souls rest in the bossom of the Lord. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

47. How come Linda is just reporting about this news now wen the accident happened around 7:00am. try to up ur game.

48. Wow, everywhere you look there is carnage! What tha hell is going on in Nigeria this caused nation! Chai!!!!

49. Jeez,i knew it would be a fatal one, was obstructed by the traffic cause by this in the morning on my way to work cos magodo axis is affected while trying to join the express...the queue was so long....May God continue to protect us oo..Amen.Very sad.i hate to hear such news...

50. today i saw dead bodies again...oh my God may the soul of d departed rest in peace..Dan Boiz Segun

51. today i saw dead bodies again...oh my God may the soul of d departed rest in peace..Dan Boiz Segun

52. See nigerian tking pictures to send to linda...

53. Who do they want to show all the pictures they are snapping @last picture

54. do u knw what is wrong wit the photos?....99.9% of dem r jst amebos and r not dere to help.

55. Every day, new tragedy. May God come to our aid, may He hear and answer us from His holy heavens, Amen. Motherhen

56. But why? something that could ve bn avoided. why leave a truck on the road for upto a month.why r the Nigerian agencies this wicked.chaiii.both the owner of the said truck and Govt r responsible for this.

57. Everyday people die in numbers and want want Nigeria to progress especially as the deaths are avoidable if funds are appropriately expended. The soil is the land is full of innocent unripe blood. We all need to be contrite as a nation and ask God for mercy and to intervene. This is ridiculous

58. The only thing I see - "Idiots thinking they are paparrazzis with their stupid phones"

59. nigerians and pix snapping eh. may d souls of d departed rip. God have mercy on us in ds country, everyday bad bad news. blood of Jesus pls shield me and mine from evils.

60. This is soo sad, coming after the bomb blasts we have been having. #GodHelpNigeria

61. It was worse than you see it here. I saw it on my way to work, too fatal it could have been anyone. I give God the glory and mourn with those that lost their loved ones. Those taking shots are mostly some Jobless area boys around. I also took note of them.

62. THAT TRUCK HAS BEEN THERE PARKED/ABANDONED/FAULTY FOR A WHOLE MONTH AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO REMOVE IT.SEE WHAT IT HAS COST IN TERMS OF HUMAN LIVES,PROPERTIES,TIME LOSS AND LOTS MORE.PLEASE LET THE RELEVANT ROAD AGENCIES (FEDERAL/STATES) CLEAR VEHICLES OBSTRUCTING FREE FLOW OF TRAFFICS ON OUR ROADS TO SAVE US THIS UNFORTUNATE BUT AVOIDABLE LOSS.May God keep us safe on our roads.

63. Rad safety of now aday sha
    they will hide somewhere collecting money from. Motorists..they are wost than police now.
    one yaya with. Igala tribal mark can collect bribe from masquerade

64. Senseless accident, where are the road safety guys? How could they have allowed a broken down truck remain there since last month? R.I.P to the dead.

65. UNBELIEBEABLE,ALL THOSE GUYS ARE FREE,NOT WORKING TO BE PRESENT AT THE TIME,WHAT A COUNTRY,THIS IS A SIN ON HUMANITY,SOMETHING NEED BE DONE,IS NEVER SEEN ELSEWHERE D TRUTH

66. bad
    sad event

67. bad
    sad event