GEJ seeks 6 months extension of emergency rule in Borno, Yobe, Adamawa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 May 2014

GEJ seeks 6 months extension of emergency rule in Borno, Yobe, Adamawa

President Jonathan today May 13th sent a request to the National Assembly seeking an extention of the State of Emergency rule in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states by six months.

In a media chat on May 4th, the president had hinted that there would be an extension of emergency rule in these states since peace has not been restored there.

Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states have witnessed high rates of attacks by Boko Haram and have been placed on emergency rule since May 1st 2013. The new proposed extention if implemented would elapse in November 2014, three months before the general election.

There has been some criticisms in some quarters against the extension. Some people believe the emergency rule earlier implemented had not reduced or stopped the killings in the states and so this new extension would still have no effect.

The National Assembly however has to debate on it before the President can enforce an extension.

38 comments:

1. Hmmm! I share their view. The lady from CNN who went to Chibok confirmed today that military presence was sparse in the rural areas. What difference does it make?

2. Ofcourse am also of the school of thought that emergency rule has not helped reduce the activities of this insurgents.
    People kept asking what ha Governor of Borno state being doing to help the security situation in his state,forgetting he's just playing a nominal role,coz of the state of emergency.
    But putting into consideration the level of the activities of this insurgents of recent,the emergency rule is still the best option. But this time they'll have to be up and doing,to avoid the purported situation where the security agents will fail to act even after getting getting information of an impending attack. They should be accountable this time.

3. Emergency that we have not seen the effect, the states in question have become even worse security wise

4. Extension is unnecessary! What impact has it made so far?

5. I really don't know why I love my President. God bless you, God bless Nigeria. Pray God. ENGR Emy

6. This is just punishment, unless GEJ has other plans, I personally don't see any need for it.

7. The 3 incompetent governors should resign honorably along side that plane crash survivor- gov of Taraba state.they ve failed the people and are the troublers of their own states......Jona God will see you through,besides why are you still retaining these service chiefs? The army chief in particular,he came with so much vigor but along the line he realized Boko haram could spin him lot of cash,and joined the politicians.....I know cos am in the system.

8. To be frank this emergency rule is not effective at all and i dont think it should continue rather they should make up something else other than this....

9. Na only God knw the millions wey dem dey pump inside this emergency nansance....

10. To an extent I agree with those criticizing the extension of the emergency rule in the affected states.Instead of lessening thje attacks in Borno & Yobe,I think it has rather escalated it.How do you explain the bombings,kidnappings and killings at night where everone is not suppose to be seen outside?where they spirits?I can only agree with Adamawa where the sporadic killings by gun men especially in Yola metropolis have been curtailed due to the emeregency ruleI have a feeling that if this emergency rule extends to November,the chances of these 3states participating in the 2015 election is 1/10.Politricks again!

11. If you like ehn extend it to twelve years. For the one year the emergency rule had come into place has there been any better? fake ass policies. Fake ass Nigeria. You people just restricted movements, spoilt businesses, caused deaths, reduced socialising, made my stay in yola a prayer point. Thank God I don graduate. I just pray for the people in these states that no matter what befalls their neighbours nothing evil will come near them. Nigeria is in shambles.

12. Goodluck Endurance Jonathan G.E.J..Our clueless President................#King

13. All these state of emergencies have not made any positive impact.
    He simply needs to examine his inner caucus.. ; his enemies are within.

*My R1.50c comment *

14. Wat does emergency rule mean plZ?? ***

15. NA hav to aprove d extension if not northern leaders will win. As for me let it be extended with a military head appointed!

16. Αℓℓ Nigerians want are results, nothing else.

17. Emergency rule or not...it's prayers we need!

18. Kk ur biz,don't bring wahala to the south sha

19. Hehehe! @gleehd foundatn ma foot and ass, dayo israel Worth's nuffin and he deserves to be ridiculed, you live a fake life and u know it, posting pics of you sleeping on d plane, instagram no go hear word, fank ur stars dat pple r avin issues in commenting due to bad ntwrk, im sure of millions of pple r out dere wating to blast you! i comment ma reserve!

20. GEJ this is ur plan,Mr president u don't want election to hold in 2015 right....
    Continue playing pranks on Nigerians

21. it neva had effect. it wont hav effect now toooo

22. another extention!!! Lobatan. this town (yola) is dead!!! no light, no good road, no fun plus restrictions, kukuma let dem bomb us so dt we knw we r dead, abi ewo loshi gan.

23. Another extention!!! Lobatan. this town (yola) is dead!!! no light, no good road, no fun plus restrictions, kukuma let dem bomb us so dt we knw we r dead, abi ewo loshi gan.

24. Another extention!!! Lobatan. this town (yola) is dead!!! no light, no good road, no fun plus restrictions, kukuma let dem bomb us so dt we knw we r dead, abi ewo loshi gan.

25. Please dear President just sack those governors!

26. Emergency rule with a governor, clown...

27. please make it one year and absolute

28. Pointless state of emergency that has achieved nothing. Dull President.

29. How dat one go take chase comot Boko Haram... Abegi

30. Ride on Mr.President.............Those who are for u are stronger in substance and numerics.
    Am pleased to be part of ur transformation agenda.

31. Official figures has it that 336 people were murdered in Gamboru Ngala, Nigeria n the entire village burnt down. That's 60 people more that the 276 girls that were kidnapped! These people include GIRLS, Women, men n boys. Between the day of the Kidnapping n this moment, over 500 people ve died! Killed by the same people that abducted our GIRLS!!! So I ask of what use is it if they ‪#‎bringbackourgirls‬ if they can easily come back 2 slaughter them @ night while sleep?! We want our girls back n we our our country back!!! If they can not develop it, at least they should not ruin it! #bringbackourgirls ‪#‎bringbackourpeace‬ ‪#‎bringbackourunity‬ ‪#‎BRINGBACKOURCOUNTRY‬!!!

32. Bia, Reno, u no dey taya?

33. Dis is politrick jeg dieris God o cause jeg no want those state to vote cause he know he can't get a vote from dose state dats why he is playing dis

34. Extension of what? Goodluck can you please get those civilian governors out of there and replace them with military men. Declare complete state of emergency with military heads and not these useless half baked emergency rule that is very ineffective.