Gunmen kill Newswatch Assistant Editor in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 3 February 2014

Gunmen kill Newswatch Assistant Editor in Lagos

Toyin Obadina, an Assistant Editor with Saturday Newswatch Newspaper was on shot in the stomach by unknown gunmen while on his way from work on Friday January 31. He died two days later on Sunday February 2nd after a surgery was done to extract the bullet that was lodged in his stomach.

Recounting what happened, his wife said Obadina was approaching the Parafa end of Imota Road in Ikorodu when 2 SUVs coming from the opposite lane intercepted his car. Obadina came down from his car and surrendered to the men, asking them to take all they want but not harm him.

She said the men slapped him and shot him in the stomach. When he attempted to run, he was shot in the stomach a second time before the robbers fled.

Obadina was rushed to Gbagada General Hospital and later to Lagos State Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, where he died on Sunday. He was 50 years old. He is survived by his wife, three children and an aged mother. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

57 comments:

1. Gunmen killing somebody again? May God protect us all ooo! Hope the culprits will soon be arrested

1. R gunmen supposed 2 hug sumbodi b4 Chikezie nawa 4 u oo! May his soul find rest n may God comfort his family amen.

2. Ewwwww jehova death death here and there... Kai OLUWA GUIDE US!! R.I.P BROV!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
    >>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

3. Ewwwww jehovah death death here and there... Kai OLUWA GUIDE US!! R.I.P BROV!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
    >>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

4. Hmmm. what a wicked world

5. May his soul rest in peace. Linda, pls give d gist on d police man demanding dollars. The news is everywhere but I need to see d policeman pix very well, cus I know him. His station is behind my house and where he was caught I see him there everyday on ma way back from work.

6. May his soul rest in peace

7. I sense this is an assasination. Elections is around the corner, all those politicians and business men wirh dirty secrets.....

8. Amen..... jesus christ shit why poor Editor what is happening nw why people re so wicked 2 kill person like u were is our nigeria police they re just there doing noting, killing here nd there hmmm

9. Insecurity in all shades yet them bloody lawmakers rather debate on trivial issues that pose no danger to human life.
    Peace to the dead.
    Comfort to the bereaved.

10. Rip... Linda,students fought at aocoed(Adeniran college of education) today,dier fees were apparently increased,dey blocked d road,tank god 4d police,I was sooo scared, cudnt take pictures cos of fear..

11. Na waoh. RIP bros.

12. All this killer should always remember that dere is a God. RIP sir

13. Those people needs to be apprehended very fast.... Like very very fast.....

14. May his soul rest in peace

15. Negative stories coming out from Naija on a daily basis...RIP Obadina.

16. Mehn, just like that person go just kill me..... god save ur children.....

17. Amen..... jesus christ shit why poor Editor what is happening nw why people re so wicked 2 kill person like u were is our nigeria police they re just there doing noting, police suppose 2 be in every junction nd some will also be patroling all over d city, so dat killing here nd there will stop.

18. Amen..... jesus christ shit why poor Editor what is happening nw why people re so wicked 2 kill person like u were is our nigeria police they re just there doing noting, police suppose 2 be in every junction nd some will also be patrolling all over d city, so dat killing here nd there will stop.

19. Amen..... jesus christ shit why poor Editor what is happening nw why people re so wicked 2 kill person like u were is our nigeria police they re just there doing noting, police suppose 2 be in every junction nd some will also be patroling all over d city, so dat killing here nd there will stop.

20. God help us for dis niger

21. I guess it's an assasination too. May his gentle soul rest in peace.

22. This gun men have no empathy gene.May nemesis catch up with them soon!

23. May his soul Rest in peace. Amen.

24. Na wa o. So painful. Just like that. Person go just become widow and pickin go loose im pap - just like that. Abeg this na new year o. We do not want harvests of deaths again. May his gentle soul rest in peace. Amen.

25. May his soul rest in peace

26. Na waooo.......wat's his offense oooooo

27. Wickedness in high places

28. Prolification of weapon everywhere, crime on th increase everyday nobody can cormfortably feel safe in his motherland anymore. God help us..RIP

29. Too bad. Why are journalists always targets?? No frredom of anything in this country.

30. When Baba wrote the letter we ignored him. Now its happening before our eyes!

31. may God help us in this country. may his soul rest in peace.

32. ђã†‎​'s their gain now?

33. So sad that as Nigerians, nobody can protect us and we cannot even protect ourselves, the NPF is nothing to write home about. I say guns should be made accessible to who qualifies to carry one for protection purposes, with proper records of whoever buys a gun kept. I mean, if this man had a gun he could have atleast put up a fight. We need a new kind of self protection mentality in Nigeria. Cos its not safe out there anymore..

34. The killers will face worst deaths. Why do this to a fellow man

35. May his soul rest in peace. so sad.

36. What a country!!! R.I.P

37. Why did it take TWO DAYS to get him on an operating table??? Nothing like emergency in Naija.

38. May GOD help us

39. May his s0ul R.I.P amen that's my problem with journalism w0rk. Sis liɲď๏ď๏ pls be careful o o o wit dis ur work e get pple e dey pain them!!!!

40. Another death that would remain unsolved. .

41. May his gentle soul find eternal rest in Christ's bosom...AMEN.

42. Rest in peace dear.

43. Na wa oooo,God help us

44. Too much violence in our country and society! Why na?

45. Nigeria is really turning to something else, God help us. May his soul rest in peace.

46. Awww.too bad.wht wld he av done? may God continue 2 guard,guide n protect us all.amen.RIP sir.may God also gives d family d 4titude 2 bear ds damage.amen.it's so painfullll