The Fabiyi family responds to Dino Melaye’s statement on his divorce | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 December 2013

The Fabiyi family responds to Dino Melaye’s statement on his divorce

Tokunbo Melaye's family have responded to the statement Dino Melaye released a few days ago on his divorce, and explained why this case is important for gender rights in Nigeria. Statement below
On the 18th of December, Mr. Gbenga (Dino) Melaye released a statement through a certain Toyin Akande (Esq), addressing the divorce proceedings filed by Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi). Mr. Akande is purportedly a lawyer and a family friend. Tokunbo, who was Mr. Melaye’s wife for over a decade is not aware of any family friend or lawyer who bears this name.
The statement that was released on Mr. Melaye’s behalf was filled with malicious falsehoods aimed at deflecting attention from the very serious allegations of physical assault, psychological abuse and emotional trauma that Dino Melaye has inflicted on Tokunbo over the last decade. (A battered Tokunbo pictured above. Continue)

Our preference as a family has always been for this issue to have been maintained as a private matter because of the three wonderful children that Tokunbo and Dino had together. Since Mr. Melaye has chosen to publicly malign Tokunbo’s image, and to impugn her character, we are constrained to respond to his recent statement, so that our silence is not construed to be consent.

We are aware that Mr. Melaye is a master of manipulation, and is extremely adept at using the press to his own advantage. For far too long, his deceptions have been allowed to go unchallenged by the Nigerian press. For over a decade, Mr. Melaye has muzzled Tokunbo’s voice. But truth is a persistent flame that cannot be forever extinguished. Tokunbo is not one of the numerous women of easy virtue that are Mr. Melaye’s stock in trade. Neither is she one of the government officials that Mr. Melaye regularly harangues for his own gain.  Tokunbo is a loving mother of three lovely children, and she was until September 25th, 2013 a dutiful wife to Mr. Melaye. 

Mr. Melaye’s statement had four broad themes which we will address in turn:
1.       Mr. Melaye denied ever being violent to Tokunbo, and dared Tokunbo to show proof of any assault during their decade long marriage.
2.       Mr. Melaye denied owning any “ammunition” and conceded that a police search of his office and premises took place in Tokunbo’s presence on Nov 4th.
3.       Mr. Melaye insinuated that the three lovely and innocent children of their union, whom he (Dino) had prevented Tokunbo from seeing since September 25th, 2013, were with their mother, and that he only had “supervised access to them.”
4.       Mr. Melaye claimed that Tokunbo was being used by his “political enemies”, and that she had “stolen” a car and other sundries from him and given it to her “lovers”
Proof of Mr. Melaye’s History of Assault
1.       The Nigerian public is aware that Mr. Melaye has the unique distinction of being the first Legislator in our political history to turn the National Assembly into a boxing ring. It should not be too difficult to imagine what the private conduct will be, of a man who saw no issues with turning a hallowed legislative chamber into an arena of violence in full view of 160 million Nigerians. If the public Mr. Melaye is garrulous and prone to violence, the private Mr. Melaye, free from the prying eyes of outsiders, is an unfettered beast.
2.       Abusers do not believe that their victims are bold enough to document their abuse. What they forget however is that others who love and care for those victims can detail the abuse on their behalf. A number of the assaults inflicted on Tokunbo over the years have required hospitalization, and in one case, reconstructive surgery to Tokunbo’s nose after Dino battered her. Every hospital dutifully places a record of each visit in a patient’s medical files. We have obtained certified copies of the records in Tokunbo’s medical files from two attacks – in 2005 and 2010 and these have been attached to this letter.
3.       We are also glad to oblige Mr. Melaye’s challenge for proof with the attached pictorial evidence of his extensive history of abuse towards Tokunbo, from a vicious attack on her on Oct 1st, 2010. While Nigeria was celebrating its 50th independence anniversary, a man who is supposedly a conscience of the nation, was busy attacking his own wife with a wood plank.
4.       The only reason why there are pictures from the 2010 assault was because Tokunbo’s brothers were in Abuja on the day in question and had rushed down to meet her at the Wuse Zone 3 Police Station which is close to their home, where she had fled to escape Mr. Melaye’s assault. Tokunbo’s brothers were present when the police took her statement, and were present when Tokunbo was accompanied by a police constable to Wuse Hospital for the treatment of wounds to her arms, sustained as she attempted to protect her head from being hit by a wood plank Mr. Melaye was assaulting her with.
5.       Mr. Melaye’s shameful cowardice is also on record. After Tokunbo’s wounds were treated on Oct 1st, we (her brothers) went to Mr. Melaye’s residence to find out why he had assaulted our sister. On seeing us, the man who was a wood plank wielding warrior to a defenseless woman, took to his heels, asked his guards to lock his gates from the inside, and was reduced to peeping through a curtain.  Mr. Melaye then placed a call to the police to report that “armed robbers” were at his home. The police response team that came was comprised of some of the officers from Wuse Zone 3 police post that we had met when Tokunbo had gone to make her statement. They immediately recognized us when they arrived, and left in disgust and disbelief that the distress call came from Mr. Melaye. The police can verify all these facts from their records.

Possession of a Gun vs. Possession of Ammunition & Claims of Arrest for Anti-Corruption Activities on Nov 4th
1.       Why did Tokunbo stay with Dino Melaye for over a decade? We are a Christian family. As people of faith, we believe in God’s ability to change men and circumstances. That is how we were brought up. We were also taught that you should fight for the ones you love.
2.       Tokunbo stayed and endured all that Dino did to her, because of her faith in God’s ability to change him and her belief that marriage is an institution that is sacrosanct. Above all, she stayed because of her children – all of whom she loves greatly. Mr. Melaye had made it clear to her over the years that if she ever left him, he would ensure that she never saw her children again.
3.       Tokunbo only filed for divorce when the assaults from Dino escalated to the level of having a gun pulled on her. A man who had broken a laptop on her head, attacked her with a wooden plank, broken her nose to the extent that it required surgery, beaten her to the point of miscarriage of one pregnancy, assaulted her to the point where her last child was almost born preterm and she required Cervical Cerclage (suturing of the cervix) to prevent the loss of that pregnancy, would certainly have no problems with something as simple as pulling a trigger. When Mr. Melaye threatened to kill her and declared that “You will die and nothing will come of it. I am untouchable,” Tokunbo knew that she would be killed if she returned to Mr. Melaye’s home.   
4.       We obviously do not expect that Mr. Melaye will admit to owning a gun. Interestingly his public statement did not deny that he owned a gun, but rather that he did not have “any ammunition” and that “no gun was found” when the police searched his home and offices on Nov 4th. The distinction between Mr. Melaye’s complete denial of owning ammunition (i.e., bullets) and his statement that “no gun was found” is important.  Certainly, Mr. Melaye knows the difference between the words “Gun” and “ammunition” 
5.       Mr. Melaye admitted that there was a search of his residence and office on Nov 4th 2013 in Tokunbo’s presence. Yet, he lied to the press and Nigerians, when he claimed that the police search on that date was in relation to his “anti-corruption activities”. We call on the press to stop allowing themselves to be unwittingly used as tools by people like Mr. Melaye who can, and will do anything to remain in the public eye.
Whereabouts of the Children
1.       Mr. Melaye insinuated in his statement that the three children of their union are with Tokunbo, and that he has only supervised access to them. According to him: “He (Dino Melaye) is content though PAINED to see his kids only at visits fully controlled by her (Tokunbo Fabiyi).” This statement has been interpreted by some as an indication that the children are in Tokunbo’s care and custody. We wish to categorically state that this is a patent falsehood.
2.       Mr. Melaye has prevented Tokunbo from seeing her children since September 25th, 2013. From September 25th to November 12th, Tokunbo’s only means of contacting the children was to go to their school – Tender Years Preparatory School - and spend a few precious moments with them after their classes. When Mr. Melaye found out Tokunbo was seeing her children in school, he requested that the school should prevent Tokunbo from seeing them. The School Principal worked out what she thought was a reasonable arrangement that allowed Tokunbo to see her children about three times a week for 10 minutes each (see attached letter).
3.       Even this arrangement, lopsided as it was against the mother of the children, was not satisfactory to Mr. Melaye. He stopped the children from going to school from Wednesday November 13th  to Tuesday November 19th. It took Tokunbo’s entreaties to some family friends to get Mr. Melaye to allow the children back to school. The kids started going to school again on Wednesday November 20th. Mr. Melaye went to the school with a group of thugs and threatened the Principal that he would “scatter” the school if Tokunbo was allowed to see the children again.  Since that date, the school has prevented Tokunbo from coming on the school premises. Tokunbo has therefore not seen her children since November 12th.
4.       As late as Dec 13th 2013, Dino Melaye’s lawyer was in a mediatory session organized by FIDA (Federacion Internacional De Abogados, or the International Federation of Women Lawyers) at their Abuja office. One of the major topics of discussion at that meeting was the custody of the children. All the participants at that meeting, including Mr. Melaye’s counsel and the FIDA mediation committee will be able to verify that Mr. Melaye has complete and total custody of the children, and has denied Tokunbo access to them since November 12th.
5.       We encourage the Press to follow up on these issues if they are truly interested in knowing the truth.
Associating with Dino’s “Political Enemies”, Giving of a car to a “young lover”
1.       Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi) is not a politician, and has no interest in politics. This case is simply about getting justice. It is ironic that a man who purports to be the “voice of the masses” and a defender of the rights of Nigerians denies basic human rights to his own wife. Dino Melaye’s constant physical and psychological battery of Tokunbo, and his use of their innocent children as pawns constitutes serious and egregious human rights abuse.
2.       We challenge Mr. Melaye to show evidence of any discussion, meeting, or association between Tokunbo and any of his so-called political enemies. We challenge Mr. Melaye to name names. A man who can openly and maliciously accuse his wife of infidelity should have no qualms naming the so-called enemies that his wife is supposed to have been cavorting with. Since Mr. Melaye claims Tokunbo has collected monies from his enemies, let him tell Nigerians who these political enemies are that Tokunbo has allegedly collected money from. We also give permission to any Bankers who have access to any of Tokunbo’s accounts to let the world know if Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi) has any Bank account that has any sums of money lodged beyond her salary as a Civil Servant. We assure them that we as a family have waived all rights to privacy that Tokunbo has to her Bank accounts. We wonder if Mr. Melaye would be bold enough to open himself up to the same scrutiny of his finances.
3.       Knowing how infidelity by women is frowned upon in our culture, Mr. Melaye in a calculated move to discredit Tokunbo, claimed that she “gave a brand new car” Mr. Melaye gave her to her “young lover.” Let him tell Nigerians the make and model of the car that Tokunbo supposedly gave to a “young lover,” and let him tell us what the identity of this “young lover” is.  Since he claims to have seen his possessions on Tokunbo’s  “lovers” it must mean he “knows” them. We challenge him to name these so called lovers.  We warn Mr. Melaye in advance, that should he attempt to muddle the waters with fictitious names and characters, or paid bearers of false witness, our family will deploy every resource at our disposal towards further exposing every single falsehood perpetrated by Mr. Melaye or his proxies.
4.       What does it say of a man’s character if he has no qualms, and no moral dilemma about making up deliberate falsehoods about a woman that he called his wife, and the mother of his children? One day, those children will be old enough to read their father’s calculated and wicked allegations against their mother. God, and they, will judge Mr. Melaye. We are confident that truth, even though crushed to the earth, shall always rise again.
5.       Mr. Melaye believes that by smearing Tokunbo with allegations of infidelity he can turn the tide of opinion against her in the court of public opinion – which is the only court that matters to Mr. Melaye. Because he has established a fairly lucrative career as a politician and “activist”, all that counts in his world, is what people think of him. For Tokunbo, however, all that matters is the truth. Does Mr. Melaye really expect Nigerians to believe that his wife did all these things that he alleges in his letter, and still remained in his house for over ten years? He must really take Nigerians for fools. It is not our family’s style to trade petty allegations and frivolities with people like Mr. Melaye. We will therefore not even bother to go into the litany of cases of Mr. Melaye’s infidelity. The odious public records of his serial indiscretions are there for all to see.  
6.       If there is anyone using this sad case for political gain, it is Mr. Melaye. He went out publicly on Nov 4th to claim that he had been arrested by the police because of the Stella Oduah case, while in fact, the police had gone to his office and residence in response to Tokunbo’s report to the police of his threat to her life.  Mr. Melaye publicly declared in all the newspaper and blog reports about the police visit of Nov 4th that “the two police officers just told me that they have a warrant of arrest on me with a charge of criminal intimidation and threat to life but they did not tell me who I intimidated and threatened.” The truth was that Tokunbo was right there with the police officers, and he admitted that she was present during the search of his premises in his own public statement. Yet Mr. Melaye was bold enough to come before Nigerians to tell them that he had no idea why the police had been in his office and at his home on Nov 4th. Most Nigerians put the news of that arrest down to Mr. Melaye’s “fight” with Stella Oduah, which was exactly what Mr. Melaye hoped would happen.
7.       Mr. Melaye’s puerile and childish attempt to try to defuse his well known cases of infidelity and indecency by besmirching Tokunbo’s reputation, has failed woefully. Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi) is a well brought up, Christian woman. She has borne this cross with dignity, she has been long suffering, and she has persevered. We are proud of her – for being a survivor. Tokunbo has displayed a strength and resilience that we did not know she had. Her body might have been bruised and battered by Mr. Melaye, but her spirit is strong and unbroken. She is a better person for all that she has endured. Although we could not understand it at first, we now see why she could not bear to leave her children in Mr. Melaye’s hands, and as a consequence chose to remain in an abusive relationship. No child should be left in the hands of a man with no character, no moral compass, no awareness of historical consequences, and no sense of common decency.
Why this case is important to Gender Rights in Nigeria
1.       Nigeria remains a patriarchal society with laws and cultural leanings that continue to be lopsided against females. A mother’s maternal instinct makes her likely to place the welfare and wellbeing of her children above her own. That wonderful instinct is also a woman’s greatest vulnerability. It also leaves her open to abuse in the hands of men willing to exploit a mother’s maternal instinct.
2.       There are certain pertinent questions that we must ask ourselves as a nation: Why can a man ask the proprietress of a school to prevent his wife from seeing her children, without a court order to that effect? Why should a man have more parental rights than a woman? Why should the burden of proof always be on the woman? Why are we quick to blame women for abuse – believing that they must have done something to deserve it? Why are we quick to judge them if they stay in abusive relationships, and why are we also ready to condemn them if they leave for not being patient? Why do we ignore the reality that spousal abuse is a real issue in this country? How many women like Tokunbo are out there, silently, quietly, bearing the burden of abuse alone? Fearful that they will lose their children if they speak out. Fearful that they will be judged for the failure of their marriages. Fearful that they will not find justice in our laws or in our courts.
3.       Tokunbo has been able to stand for herself now, only because of her faith and the support of her family. How many women are out there who do not have the type of family support that Tokunbo has? How many abused women can defend themselves in the press, or hire lawyers to take up their case? Must they continue to fight and to suffer alone? Must they continue to bear this crushing burden all by themselves?
4.       When this case began, Dino Melaye declared that Tokunbo would never see her children again, and that any case she thought she had would be destroyed after “he worked his magic on the press.” Certainly, Mr. Melaye who was once Chairman of the House Committee on Media and who had legislative oversight over the Nigerian media has many friends in the press. By failing to scrutinize Mr. Melaye, the Nigerian press has been an unwitting accomplice in perpetuating Mr. Melaye’s abuse and falsehoods. The Nigerian press has always been on the side of the oppressed. In this case, we do not expect any favors – we only ask that the press should dig deeper, follow leads, ask questions, talk to the doctors mentioned in the reports, talk to the police and come to their own conclusions about what is really going on.
5.       As this case moves out of the court of public opinion, to the court of law, our family has already started to work on ensuring that all abused women – not just Tokunbo - are given a voice. We want to ensure that their tears will no longer be shed in the dark, alone. Their voices will no longer be muffled. Their pain must become our collective pain.  No nation that tolerates the abuse of its mothers and daughters can progress.

Dr Malcolm Fabiyi
For Tokunbo & the Fabiyi family.

181 comments:

smh

Brutal is d word...and he calls himself a 'Human Rights Activist' SMH

Wowww dis dino fido meleleeee wateva d name is a beast.ugly beast.@opsy

tbouy said...

story yi ti long ju

This Dino needs to go away! Is he not the same person with a baby mama?
Yoruba men can beat their wives!

This is a job well done!!!!...

Na juju they work here

Shameless people..+ washing their disgusting linen in the public..one is definetly framing the other

Chich Blossom said...

Na wah ooooo.,tins are really happenin in 9ja oooo,jst hope it wud get better 4 d sake of deir kids

grace said...

Its so disheartening that women go through so much turmoil and torture from the men who once claimed to love and adore them.

Dee said...

Dino Melaye,why are u such a beast,my uncle did d same thing to my aunt and God visited him in ways that he became very humble and Sober(though they are not together again sha)...women-if a man raises his hand to even slap u,pls flee,run for ur life and take your children first abeg...this Dino will soon be disgraced

This story is too long. Everyone has their own skeleton in their own cupboard so y make it public. Am not happy with dis couple at all. I must say my mind

B.D said...

Gawd... This guy has no iota of shame at all... Tryna manipulate the public for his own gain and at the same time battering his wife .smh

Nana said...

"why are we quick to judge them if they stay in abusive relationships, and why are we also ready to condemn them if they leave for not being patient? Why do we ignore the reality that spousal abuse is a real issue in this country? How many women like Tokunbo are out there, silently, quietly, bearing the burden of abuse alone? Fearful that they will lose their children if they speak out. Fearful that they will be judged for the failure of their marriages. Fearful that they will not find justice in our laws or in our courts"

Nigerians,here we go.always quick to judge.this reminds me of Kate edoho and zakis wife.the men come out saying rubbish while their new partners spread tales under the guise of "anonymous"

Women go thru hell in Nigeria and we are dammed if we do and dammed if we don't.

Before we all start saying they should keep their affairs private,kindly remember that Mr Dino publicly called this woman a whore.doesn't she have the right to defend herself especially for the future where the kids will have access via cyber information to this accusations.

Women,please stop keeping quiet.

Hmmmmmm
Lips sealed!
Fred!

I hav been thr too. Infact in my case a knife was on my throat, been thrown down d stairs and stripped naked just to recount a few. I bore it for 7yrs and pland my exit wit my dauta. One morning he travelled and I swept d house, picked up I and my dautas passport and dissapeared. We were seperated for a year before his head calmed down. Although were givg d marriage anoda try but he has wrritten statement in court and wit d police stating d total dissolution of marriage if he ever touches me again. He also looses all custody of our dauta. Both famiies hav thr copies.

otevee said...

OMG..give us ladies a God fearing n loving husband,and one who can also endure us(@ dos tyms)..Amen

This Dino man is just a dog...I HATE YOU DINO just pray I never have the opportunity to meet you stupid dog

very detailed exposition. Nigeria media should at least practice investigative journalism using this case as start point

Bootylycious diva said...

DINO MELAYE, mad man on the loose

What a wicked man this is, i thank the Almighty that we are not God else people like Dino Melaye wil have been exterminated from this earth. God will surely rise on your behalf Tokunbo.

Sick-in-the-head men assualt women all over the world but in this country Nigeria nothing is done about it. Many men beat their wives it has even extended to girlfriends. They don't even pretend not to they think its their right. It is the nature of most women to believe they can change a man which could be true in few cases but often never works. I don't understand violence I doubt there is any way of understanding it. Please ooo God should save me 4rm such wicked men who appreciate nothing atal. They give nothing but expect everything. Its too bad nothing is hidden under the sun n at the end God always saves the innocent. I fEel sorry 4 even Dino cos hell never truly understand how to love or have a kind heart. Etremely violent men cannot love they do not no how to. There are good men out there but this cruel 1ns really get on my nerves---C21

Chaun said...

This is just sad! Dino Melaye should have never in the first place made this situation public. I do not blame the wife's family for responding to protect their sister. I assume they have forgotten we are in the digital age and this will forever be on the internet for their kids and grand kids to see and read.

Everything about Dino Melaye smells fake. This is the same fellow who arranged a fake "assassination" attempt on his life. A criminal who ought to be in prison is parading himself as human rights activist and someone fighting against corruption. No thanks to a section of the Nigerian press that will glorify anyone that offers them brown envelopes.

biko Linda this is family matter. every nyash get centr patern. pls update us wit Alvan Ikoku s 56 yrs old son who wedded yesterday in PH for d third time. thank me oooh

Uloma said...

Damn! Dis story is long o, chai... Oya make I begin read amn now...

Adorable Jewel said...

Longest Story of d year

My goodness gracious that man is an absolute beast. May God punish him. Most Nigeria men have this kind of God complex to a certain degree. They blv they can do anything to their wives. Specially if they are rich! I would find it hard to leave my husband as well cos I know he would run off with my kids strictly out of spite!

Psychotic bitch said...

Stories!!! Can't be bothered to read their personal stories

Manymen said...

Linda, just saw your interview on teju baby face show. You are amazing. I love you. Anywhere I see you I will give you a hot kiss.
@ melaye he remains a celebrated fool.

nawa to some men, dis man is bad

Na wa oooo dino u pass monster bt d@s wat u getwen u dare a woman

nawa to some men, dis man is bad

OMG dis man is a big shame to manhood, may God forgive him. How can a man treats his wife like this? Is he human at all?

abeg what is all this tory for

any man you see accusing his wife of infidelity because he wants to divorce her is a bloody liar. they are all the same. this Dino of a man is even the worst of them all. see the people leading Nigeria, how on earth can the country be good? God will so punish you to the last extent of your miserable life, you dick will first shrink and all those other women you are pursuing up and down will deny you like a dying dog that you are, if you like don't go and accept Jesus as your Lord and saviour and stop this your madness. ode nla; Ashawo; oshi omo ale. make i see where you carry placard come de do anything again, sango go hamer you heade

I'm a single gal, buh I had tears afta reading dis statement... Nigeria has failed its citizens. And to think dis man was a law maker, smh...Tokunbo, karma is a bitch, it loses no address, it'l find Dino.

Next chapter please. Dino has family too. Talking as if u r sister is a Saint.... I begi

♏ɪ̣̝̇ss E̶̲̥̅̊ngineer said...

ɪ̣̝̇ don't always read long post,but ɪ̣̝̇ made sure ɪ̣̝̇ finished this one...honestly,ɪ̣̝̇ feel for that woman..ɪ̣̝̇ pray this beast of α̲̅ man ends up in jail...wicked man

Endy said...

Great family,I'm so proud of this family for standing by their own at this difficult time.God will fight 4 u

meandoc said...

Firstly, I thank God for u, that ur alive to tell ur story, most died without havin that opportunity, also that you have a good family comin to ur rescue, stigmatization has denied people having the boldness to tell their stories, lastly your children might hate you for awhile, but you have done every girl child out there some good by speakin up. The moral of the lesson for me, is look before you leap, though looks can be deceiving, but look with 3D, so your life maybe long

Yawnzzz* I fell asleep and woke agn..cant wait to c this selln on d street soon---mxm

Alexa

Esta said...

so after reading this very long project work....what Do u expect me to say???

My dear God- I am heaving sobs as I write this. All the painful memories crashing back -but my mother didn't have brothers to stand behind her like the Fabiyi clan is. This Dino clown should be reminded that power is fleeting and his children will grow up. Can the courts be trusted with this case? Good luck to you Tokunbo Melaye you are in my prayers.

This man should be ashamed of himself,what a ruthless human being

Dis is a serious gender issue.Dino melaye has always bin violent even wen he was in the legislative house.From this letter I think tokunbo has endured enough nd she must get justice.we ladies shud be careful of men lyk dino melaye cos they re out dere forming good guy waiting for u 2 bear deir name before they unleash deir animalistic behaviours.

fakeyorubagirl said...

Hnmmm oro.dino must rot in hell

syll said...

All these goes on because some women are not strong enough to stand up for themselves & or not smart enough to know their rights. God will punish the wicked men.

Adebimpe said...

Its good to have a supportive family... Tokunbo, thank God you found the strenght to leave an abusive relationship...

What a beast! I believe this story whole heartedly cos its been precisely written with evidence to back up claims n derz no "beating around the bush" here... This man is a shame to himself and others like him... I can understand how "ex" wife would have felt, her fears of leaving her children wit such beast is what has kept her in such abusive marriage all dis while... Woman! The Lord is ur strength

Chudi said...

This is really horrible if its true.monsters like this should face justice.

These are d kind of fools dat hold political offices in dis country... God save us

Why does to stay for so long. This is the mistake most Nigerian women do. While may God never let me see reason to touch my wife with an intention to hurt her. these are all hmm naija anyway

Meeee said...

Wow.....this is really deep and touching. The things a woman has to endure, all in the name of marraige, or for the sake of her children. It is indeed quite sad. I hope that this man doesn't prove to be above the law. I pray truth prevails.

Lady Stelusy said...

Abeg this story is too long jare, can't read all of it content. They should go and sort out their issues, it is really non of my business. Am thinking of how to get money to celebrate the Xmas not this cock and bull stories.

Hotgirl said...

Wickedness at its height! This Dino-dinosaur
Hell is waiting for some people.

Lol....dino meLIAR..activism for personal gain via blackmail

Slimy said...

Dino admit dat ur a Bitch

Chris said...

Mr Dino has indeed shut himself in the leg. Lets see how he handles this one. The thing is the public now knows who is telling the truth in this their public disgrace. They should spare their kids of this public bashing please!

STRAIGHT AND PRECISE TO THE POINT, DINO MELAYE U ARE A BEAST AND A TOTAL DISGRACE TO MAHOOD, A COWARD AND A FOOL OF THE HIGHEST ORDER ANY MAN THAT RAISE HAND AGAINST HIS WIFE IS WORST THAN AN INFIDEL .DISHONOURABLE DINO MELAYE YOU ARE FINISHED! AS FAR AS NIGERIA POLITICS IS CONCERNED EVEN IF U BRIBE UR WAY THROUGH YOU CAN NEVER BRIBE OUR CONSCIENCE.

We have always known that Dino is a nuisance.

Hmmmmm no comment,anuty linda u no try 4 me oooo but is all good

Barrister Skillz said...

Who are they?

Jumyk said...

‎​ℓ̊ Ђȍpع we still ha√ع some marriages dα† are still intact ȊΩ Nigeria

concerned citizen said...

Wat a sad story....imagine the kind of christmas this family is going to have....May God grant them peace esp for the innocent children's sake.

ReXX said...

This Man is a beast and will get what's coming to him*angry*

Prodigy1 said...

Ok this story is longer dan obasonjo letter

God has a way of dealing with people like this Dino joke of a person. She should just go on her knees and do the battle. I have seen God bring down fools like him that deem themselves untouchable. No need trading words, God is the greatest Avenger. He said "Vengeance is Mine, I will repay..."

God have mercy on women,we alwaz fall prey

ebere said...

This is very serious, itz a real issue not only in nigeria, african women do suffer in marriages.

how is your self esteem? Low or high?click here to find out

diamondblinqZ said...

Hmm... Speechless. Wish I kn wat I want 2 say self. Mtchew

Dino Melaye is a retard.

dat nkwerre gal said...

So una expect us to read this long statement? I be lawyer?? Next mbok

I am so move to tears. A lot of women are going through hell all because of what the society ll say about them.

Why some men raise up their hands to beat women is just beyond my ability to comprehend.
Some of these men have sisters and daughters and yet they go about beating other people' sisters and daughters.
If your woman misbehave, please just walk off. It is far better than you beating her to stupor.
olu@atlanta.

Highly-Favoured said...

Dino is an ass. Everyone knows that. No amount of lies will make people change their impression about him. He calls himself an activist, yet cannot put his house in order. What a shame!
His wife took a bold step by leaving him. I think the social welfare should ensure that he hand over the children to his wife. Before u know it, he will start abusing the children sexually. Ewu!!!

This is disheartening.....dis Dino guy should burn in hell....NA thunder go fire him head 4 there....onye apari

Beast in human form

I have always suspected this self acclaimed activist is just a fox to say the least.But never thought he could condescend so low as a wife beater.Thank God the fabiyis have opened up now Nigerians know the real person he is...an embarrassment to the men folk.

Very good.....Dino thinks he is smart!

kenny said...

I'm disappointed!!!!!

Why all this? You no marry again simple na him una 2 dey wash una pata 4 public! Na wa

This Man is brutal. Wot!

Dis man wicked

He's a beast, he needs to grow up biko.

Hmmm dis is rily a vry seruz one...God help dis family.

The Fabiyi's are not lying atall. Dino is a congenital blantant liar. I pray he will b dealt with.

Indeed a lawyer's statement,nice one unlike dat dino's dull lawyer,mehn ofcos let him show us evidence nd prove his case of infidelity,see d woman alredy tryin 2 prove hers wit doz documents up dere

Hmmmm, this is DEEP! Don't know what to say,Lindiway. I hope judgement is Served to this Animal called Melaye. Gosh,i hope Nigerians are reading this so they can know the kind of pple who rule them.

Man dey beat you with lappy,tv,stick and block since 2005 come reach now and you still live with him.foolish woman.

This is very serious. Who are we to believe now?. Dino or Tokunbo?

May dis.happen to ur sister, daughter ijn, useless words u jst wrote. ODe

Dino messed with the wrong woman. I've never seen a case of he said she said turn public opinion so roundly against one partner. Tokunbo, I hail thee.

BelLaBomba said...

A job well done indeed. This is sometin dat has truth in it,nd can't b questioned. Dino has a strong case on his table,I dnt wish him d best dou.

Phaeton Phoenix said...

She should write a letter. Thats the new trend now. Write a damn letter! If this is real, it is terribly sad. God help both of them

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

Some men re more deadly than the devil himself. see the wickedness of the underworld- even many that eyes ve not seen nor ears heard! But God shall expose every act and words, even thought!! (Ecclesiastes 12:14).

Smart move, the best way to calm such man is to leave him. Its will dawn on him immediately that he has lost.

I knew the guy was manipulating. Hz just like my ex husband. I call both of them morons :)))) the kids should be with their mother! NGO in charge of such shud help her plssss. Tokunbo, u will be fine from now on.....bn there,done that :)

100likes
#Dat angry sister!

May the truth come to bare. This was well written and sad to read. I have a friend whose husband beats her up. While reading this all I could think of was her. Tokumbo, God's Grace is sufficient, lean on him.

I appreciate how well-learned the reporter for d Fabiyi family is...I just hope they get justice.

May I never encounter such a man in my life as a husband in Jesus name........ Amen!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mr Melaye is just simply an 'animal' ojare, may d spirit of motherhood, sisterhood and wifehood punish him. amin.

New word...u are a dino = u are a beast!

You are a big fool! Eranko oponu! Even if shz not a saint wat gvs hm d ryt to assault her? U no get brain

So you're trying to tell us you also batter women? Idiot!

I dnt like reading lengthy letter. Bt all d same, women has d right to speak out. He dat come to equity, shud come wit aa clean hrt.
4rm Gnomic Pretex

Lol...to think ths is the man bisi ibidapo obe was sneaking around with thinking she has arrived? A man who cheats with you will treat worse than the wife he is cheating with you on. Bisi ba Efon labatA o yo obe ti. Omi lo ro wipe o mu you ni? Smh?

I will rather remain single sha...Kilode? Marriage is not by force ke

Lol...to think ths is the man bisi ibidapo obe was sneaking around with thinking she has arrived? A man who cheats with you will treat worse than the wife he is cheating with you on. Bisi ba Efon labatA o yo obe ti. Omi lo ro wipe o mu you ni? Smh?

I will rather remain single sha...Kilode? Marriage is not by force ke

Anon 3:10, I'll have to call you an idiot for cursing other females in his/her family. What makes you any better? I'm so sick of Nigerians victimizing females any way shape or form they can! If a man does something evil, they'll start cursing the females in his life as if females don't have enough injustice/oppression to deal with already. I'd a Mann does something, pleeeeeeease kindly direct your rain of curses his way because you don't know what the females in his life are already going through, stop adding to their misery while the man sits there chilling because he knows the females will bear the brunt, not him. Nigerians make me sick when they attack innocent females! The men don't care about them! They just use them as bulletproof shields. Disgusting! .......me some

Nkeiruka C. Ogbuokiri said...

Do u hear what this woman has endured...10 yrs of keeping her mouth shut. Do u want her to die before she speaks? Thank God her family took a stand...May God be with her forever. Amen.

joan said...

look who's talking about infidelity, doesn't he have a child with dat actress. hiss. pot calling kettle black. i pray dat justice is served to him so as to serve as a lesson to other violent men.

Nkeiruka C. Ogbuokiri said...

Amen...correct.

And he quote bible on sunday on Twitter

Once a wife batterer always a wife batterer. Dino is a leopard and changing his attitude will definitely not come into realization in his lie time.

Olodo oshi. Fyi he's from kogi state and he's not Yoruba.

This is well detailed and with proofs. I pray the woman and the kids find peace in this mess. Only God will continue to save women from abusive homes.
God help us.

Tokunbo kin sha wahala, Allah Ya taimake ki.

@Njideka Nkem, Shut ur pile hole, so u want to keep quiet so that Dino will his political powers to faustrate Tokunbo and family! Did read where he said "I'm untouchable"? If Clara didn't carry for help publicly would she have been freed? To it best to that the public will know and break dino's untouchable wings

U are stupid...rubbish. Keep quiet and don't say anything...since u want 2 be foolish.

lois sam said...

To all those commenting and complaining that d story is too long nd shit, u pple are very daft nd foolish! Did anybody hold a gun to ur head to force u to read it? Empty headed brainless cows, this story is enough to incite a normal human being to address the real issues behind wife battering,if u have nothing better to do, go and receive lectures...

U are stupid...rubbish. Keep quiet and don't say anything...since u want 2 be foolish.

Dino is a Mitch!!!

Hmmmmmm Dino. So he has been practising all those bad moves he dispalyed @da national assembly on a poor defenceless woman? The evil dat Dino do will catch up with him.

The family wants to keep things private but started this whole tirade - at this point, it would be safe that the ex-wifes family is all out for this man - how else do one explain these many responses - it would be better if it had been directly from the ex but all this just cements Dino's argument and only response to all these. I don't know these fools but if anyone can see through all d stories, the wife's family had done much more worse to destroy the life's of the kids involved - the abuser Dino does not even need to respond now - to this shameless people but he needs to apologize immediately and stop giving his enemies free reign ...... I wonder why the wife Neva yarn sef .... Pajaros.

harith said...

Dino won't seize to be in crisis

Shut up this has nothing to do with the tribe U fool look at your Enugu governor . He abused his wife so how would you explain that . This is to do with the individual's character

But it wasn't shameless when tge Enugu First Lady called for help from the public

Please am still asking. What's SMH. Plz

Plenty
1) the governor of Enugu
2) yemira the peadophile
3) all the other idiots that supported the child bride bill
4) the so called women in politics that didn't do anything to stop it
4) the people looting the country

This is exactly what they said in the write up , we criticize them for not leaving and criticize them for leaving . It's not that easy , women who r abused feel like they have no self worth . They r going through psychological torment

Trust me a serious Mitch . I hope he rots in jail and for all the other mitches out there like Dino your time us coming . Ewu !!!

When u see him,u donot need any one to tell u that he is a wife beater. Even inthe senate he throws blows and threatens member. He is very proud and aggressive,so stop condeming the lady

Yea this is what I call a detailed epistle from a sound mind not the trash from a no lawyer/ family friend. I am not been biased here just hope both can resolve their differences and turn to God.

Lyn Whyte @ 2:20pm serious people will read and have read the "novel".$
It was obviously not written for thick mugs like you. Lots like you are the reason serious issues remain unsolved in this country. You do not have to read any post if you find it too much to comprehend.

Yomi Ibironke said...

I would say nobody should point accusing finger on any of the 2 parties. The problem i have with them is why washing their dirty linen outside? They should settle their differences behind the scene. Bringing it to the public domain would do nothing but aggravate the issues.

Shaking my head*

Smh-shaking my head ...Mr woman

May God deal with dino melaye.shameless beast.cld recall d house of rep drama.And for those claiming dirty linen been washed in public by the fabiyi's, wait till u re in the shoes and for ur info melaye is a dirty public fighter so only a counteract can deal with him.and for his acclaimed family friend and lawyer may God not spare you in his wrath provided you have a mother, daughter and sister.

Dental news said...

Oya Bisi IBidapo pack into Dino's house with daughter and continue from where Tokunbo stoped .lol. Sorry o I had to laugh.To u nollywoood actresses pls stop chasing married men for money,as u can see Bisi's life outside as well as my friend Funke Akindele.

Shaking My Head -SMH

I feel this woman's pain. I've been physically abused by my husband and accused of infidelity too. Everyday I dream of leaving but I don't dare because of my three kids. Wife beaters are cowards and very weak men.

If the Malcolm for the fabiyi's family is the same malcomx of unilag sug in the past, from chemical engineering. Dino is finished because he is dealing with an intellectual

Wat kind of animal is him?mtcheeew.

E clear well na. It is very clear that Dino is an animal, even from his everyday TV character. But o, is it true that he broke her nose, she went for surgery, and he's trying to make a case for himself? I hope he did not lie about her infidelity because if he did he will still confess the truth later in life.

May pple say same thing u wrote here in ur ordeal

I can't read all these... Am feeling sleepy pls.

It is just so sad, some people act like there is no God they do things like human life means nothing to them.

the man na animal...

PEOPLE SAYING ITS TOO LONG TO READ,NO ONE IS FORCING YOU TO READ IT, CARRY YOUR DUMB COMMENTS ELSEWHERE AND THE REST SAYING DONT WASH YOUR DIRTY LINENS IN PUBLIC PLS STFU, THE THUG DINO STARTED IT, WHAT WAS HER FAMILY MEANT TO DO? SEND HIM A TEXT,DM OR EMAIL? HE MADE IT PUBLIC AND RUBBISHED THW WOMANS NAME.PLS PLS, SOME COMMENTS ARE SOO DAFT! ANONYMOUS 5;16 IT IS OBVIOUS YOU ARE DINO, COMING HERE TO WRITE RUBBISH AND DEFEND YOUR COWARDLY ACTS..

@ anonymous 5.16...Are you sane???? mtschew. And to the rest of you talking about washing dirty linen in public,the wife's family should keep quiet abi? after he started d whole nonsense and gave her a bad name? Pray tell,what would you do if it were you?Keep quiet abi? abegi!! mak una park well.

In the last couple of months we have seen women under abusive conditions speak out and set themselves free. I see a movement and an encouraging one that gives the woman some respect and chance for a life when their marriage is not working. Please women speak out if you find yourself under such duress, only then can the society better. Love you all. :-)

So you know Malcolm X? I do know him also SU Presido. Yes, Dino's his life is truly finished with Malcolm X

Wumsky said...

The things women go through to keep their marriages...... she (Tokunbo) even had to make a statement during the Dino/ Bisi Ibidapo Obe's saga, "forcefully" but falsely defending this beast of a man. Ladies, take a lesson from this. All that glitters is not gold, so shine your senses. And to think that Dino Melaye portrays himself as a human right activist has always been a big insult to our society.

Bisi should go back and continue.

When a man is fed up. you better run for your life this woman!!

This DINOsaur of a guy is just a wicked wizard. There's something about d guy that makes me so uncomfortable, and na him sabi Bible pass. There are so many of them out there and it's hi time they are brought to books.

I know Tokunbo Fabiyi. She is a very nice and friendly person. She was my Sunday School Teacher in church and her parents are my mentors including Malcom. I feel bad for her everytime I see Dino misbehave on TV. No one needs to know Dino is a beast. I pray God hels and restores her.

hmmmmm oga case of abuse is not what u treat behind the scene... anyman who raises his hand in abuse against his wife shud be publicly exposed so dat other women who gets abuse will learn. i hav just one sis and i cnt imagine her being in an abusive marriage. God knows i will chase dat man to the end od the earth and kill him. waiting to court in naija for justice na long thing...

Animal in human skin...people lyk dis should be given life imprisonment with hard labor...

This is what 95 percent of women r seeing in their marriage. If u try and discuss it wt an outsider even ur so called friends, u ll be the new topic on their gossip chat as if they r not passing thru same thing in the hands of their husbands. Majority of women are still in their marriage becos of their children. Its God that ll help us

@1:08, knife to the throat, thrown down the stairs, stripped naked, and u returned to this man with stipulation that you'll leave next time. Have you considered the possibility that you might not live to raise your daughter as outlined in the contract if another incident occurs?

I swear down i wasnt going to comment,even though i feel alot of pain for Tokunbo.
REading your comment Micheal,truely brought tears to my eyes,am at work and am fighting tears for what Tokunbo has gone through.
Micheal,I appreciate your love and concern for your sister.May God help fight for the Fabiyi family in this battle.
Tokunbo continue to be strong,May God keep you.
All the evil antics of Dini would be frustrated by God.
Am praying for you Sister.

I hope Jonathan and his cronies see the excuse of humanities in power.NA SO E GO DEY BE? This imbecile retard should at the least serve as an example after he's been dealt with now.from the deep recesses of my heart God punish you Dino Melaye.

I swear down i wasnt going to comment,even though i feel alot of pain for Tokunbo.
REading your comment Micheal,truely brought tears to my eyes,am at work and am fighting tears for what Tokunbo has gone through.
Micheal,I appreciate your love and concern for your sister.May God help fight for the Fabiyi family in this battle.
Tokunbo continue to be strong,May God keep you.
All the evil antics of Dini would be frustrated by God.
Am praying for you Sister.

omo eko said...

Dino dino, so u sef de comment for blogs?! Hope u have read d story of ur life finish? Dr. Engr Malcolm say you be beast, yes or nay? Lololol

Aiii!! *in David marks voice: the Aiis have it* Gbam....LOL

Njideka you are a compound fool for saying they are washing their dirty linen in public....it is because of hypocritical talk like this that make people suffer oppression in silence.....she has come out to say who the man really is and she is now free.....any woman who want to go and marry Dino should go ahead at least they have been forewarned.....issues like this should not be swept under any carpet.....women have suffered abuse too long and it's time we stop that crap.....it is also this stupid mindset that makes women who suffer rape keep quite....so pls park somewhere and let them wash the linen well

This is a well written and heartfelt piece by a brother (Dr Fabiyi), who witnessed and felt the anguish of domestic abuse on a loved one. I really commiserate with Tokunbo and the Fabiyi family for their patience and restraint in the face of extreme provocation.

Nigerians and women in particular need to break the culture of silence and report ALL instances of domestic abuse starting from the casual verbal abuse and up to this horrific type of physical abuse meted out by DINO (spits on the dog) MELAYE.

People like Dino are first class manipulators who control their victims through threats, blackmail, slander and lies.

The truth however is that there appears to be a common thread of wife beaters among the political elite which shows the amount of Psycopaths we have in the corridors of power in our country.

No wonder these people have no compassion for the ordinary Nigerians who bear the brunt of their extreme violence, corruption and massive looting! Shame on all of them!

People like DINO do not deserve to be called men….Being a man requires a lot of discipline, integrity, self control and honour which the likes of this brute clearly lack!

Dinosaur loll. But any time I see this woman's face in the first pic I laugh. Is it Dino's abuse that made her face look this haggard and old or is she like this naturally,? Pls o am not on dino's side...in fact he's a bastard. but women should learn to keep themselves pretty no matter what. If u marry a man who unfortunately is a gross womaniser know that u are up for physical appearance challenges. Yes those who'll cheat will do so even if u look like princess Diana...but u can try to look good biko. Pele oo. I pray justice is served u.

Since I have been reading stuffs like this one...yet to come across a very explicit documentation as this. And I have never on any forum read comments where every single person is against the accused person. Need I say that Dino...u are in a deep shit. I don't know how you'll escape this. The world us against u...and it sure means that God Himself has turned His back on u. My question is, in the history of Nigeria, has anyone been jailed for this sort of abuse? I hope Dino doesn't go free

As sad as this story is I will like to point out a few things.
I have known the Fabiyi families for all my life and I find it hard to believe that the found themselves in this mess. We have thrown away the very important background check which we call "iwadi" in Yoruba. if a background check was done on dino all this would not have befallen them.
From reliable sources I hear Tokunbo was drawn to dino because of his rising image and the little change he had. Where has that now gotten her to now? it's a lot better for a couple to build their lives together than for u to marry a made man.

I know for certain that this Dino of a human being is an animal. I am a staff at the school where his kids are and we were all disgusted when he came to ask that the school stop his wife from seeing the children. He was just full of lies and kept contradicting himself when giving his stupid reasons. Unfortunately his request was granted since right from the onset it was his name alone that was stated on the children's school registration form. He was asked to reconsider as it is the children who are suffering. The kids academics has been greatly affected. It was his daughter's birthday during last term and the gift the mum bought for her is still in the school premises as this animal of a man returned it. The gift has not been returned to the wife because the last time she visited the school was the day she was told he had stopped her from seeing the children. The poor woman broke down and it was a very sad sight.

It's so sad to see Tokunbo go through so much physical and psychological pain. Worst of all,is the pain of being ostracised from her kids. The beastly Dino does not care how this would affect the growth and development of these children. This is really sad.
However,i would like to add that Tokunbo brought all these whores on herself. I remember vividly when Dino came 'toasting' her,Tokunbo was so swept off her feet that she REFUSED to see Dino for who he truly is. The signs were there but she ignored them. She liked what she saw,who would not? Tokunbo was warned by her own brother not to marry Dino but she didn't listen. She never bothered to seek people's objective opinion about a man she wanted to spend the rest of her life with. He was tall,dark and handsome and that was all that mattered to her. Before you could say DINOsaur,Tokunbo walked down the aisle with a beast. Tokunbo sentenced herself to a life of imprisonment with hard labor.
My point is this,let us learn to take life altering decisions with our head and not with our heart. Let us be discerning and sincerely trust God with our affairs and He will direct our paths.
Tokunbo dear,be strong and of good courage. The Lord whom your parents serve is with you. Don't let this experience be put to waste. I see you becoming a voice for the oppressed.
Your best days are still ahead!!!

Parents and would be parents,lets instil discipline and the fear of the Lord in our children. We can not afford to have more Dinos in future.
We can not afford to raise children who would bring shame and disgrace to their parents.
I can confidently say that Dino's parents,especially his mum did a bad job of raising him. A man who has respect for his parents will have respect for his parents inlaw and will not treat their daughter so badly.
i hope Dino is made to pay for his sins. Dino,a man whose brain is situated in his scrotum and whose life long goal is to continuously be a nuisance to himself,his family and this country.
Dino should be buried in a vagina shaped coffin when he dies

Widow's mite said...

Thanks for the opportunity to comment and my heartfelt sympathies to the victims of such a detailed case of blatant spousal abuse. This is a criminal offence in it's totality and should be treated as one in the court of law with juries of their peers.
I personally know Dino's antecedents as a cheap, shameless and impudent hypocritical opportunist. I couldn't have expected more from a man that lacks integrity and honour. A man so selfish that will do anything, literally anything, to advance his course, including lying and cheating . Nigerians seem to deliberately and easily suffer from historic amnesia, otherwise we all know that this is the trend in Nigeria and shouldn't come as a surprise to any Nigerian.

The question remains: is this the way we want to continue living as a nation in such an age where fundamental human rights, liberty and civilization are the mantra of our existence?
As professed religious people and slaves of deities, are these the teachings of our deities? To treat other as trash and worthless flesh? Is it not Jesus that said the greatest commandment is to serve The Lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind, and your neighbour as yourselves? Do unto others as you wish upon yourself?

What a shame, Dino! Please apologize and show some maturity, respect and honour to your wife and children. It is only in systems like ours that men and people of power never apologize for their wrong doing, or even admit to it. They see it as weakness- that is so, so backward!
We are humans and not gods; we should learn to apologize and be sorry for our wrong doings, and ask for genuine forgiveness. That is always the honourable thing to do.