End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 5 December 2013

End of an era! Nelson Mandela dies at 95

South African Government has announced the death of Nelson Mandela. South African president Jacob Zuma announced that the former president and anti-apartheid revolutionary passed away peacefully in the company of his family in his home in Johannesburg around 8:50 this evening Dec. 5th. He was 95 years old.

His death marks the final chapter in a life that changed South Africa forever. What a man! May his soul rest in peace, amen.

President Jacob Zuma said flags will be flown at half-mast across South Africa immediately with a state burial to follow. The UK government have also announced that flags will be flown at half-mast in the UK. Rest in peace, Madiba!

494 comments:

1. at last..rip madiba.

2. ...... Rip a great man.

3. Rest in peace Madiba.
    You will be missed,
    YOU CAME SAW AND CONQUERED!

4. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

5. Awwwww Rest in Peace Nelson Mandela. Great man

6. Rip Mandiba. Sleep well.

7. Sad news and he was indeed a leader any nation would desire

8. My God, R.I.P Madiba

9. rest in peace great man

10. Goodnight madiba

11. This is a sad news. He was indeed a leader any nation would desire

12. WHAT!!!!!!!!! Earlier t'was Walker, now Mandela!? *crying in spanish* Don't click here

13. RIP Mandiba, we surely miss a Hero... Tafia from NY

14. WTF....d great iroko has fallen...*shut of words............God knows d best.

15. A legend! celebration of life! Sleep well Mandela

16. This is a sad news. He was indeed a leader any nation would desire

17. May his gentle soul RIP

18. Gud nyt. Madiba!! RIP!!! Legacy lives on...

19. RIP Madiba. Africa's greatest leader

20. At last, he bows out of this world. May your soul rest in peace. Madiba, Africa and the entire world will never forget you.

21. Woooowwww***dats a great life spent indeed

22. Ohhhh, may his sou Rest in peace

23. Go we'll Madiba!!! A legend has gone.......indeed it is the end of an era

24. A legend. ..rest in peace papa

25. A hero has gone, may he rest in peace

26. Linda. U are fast, they just announced this. He was a great man, we should celebrate his death. Adieu great man, sonia.

27. RIP to a legend!!!

28. Waoh...africa's no 1 citizen...long live rolihalha....a great MAN

29. A hero has gone, may he rest in peace

30. R.I.P Mandela.U were a rare gem,truly a life well spnt.The whole world will always remember and celebrate u#Legend

31. RIP mandela,we sure luv u(sigh)

32. kingsley aka platinium5 December 2013 at 22:57

Ahhh Finally! He's done it all may his soul rest in d lord Amen

33. What a great loss..RIP!!!!...I still remember kwilikwili Mandela

34. The hero has gone! Adieu!!! Nelson mandela

35. May his soul rest in perfect peace... Amen!

36. Erin wo!!may your soul rest in peace.linda hope you post this one sha.

37. Rest in peace Madiba....you live on

38. D fall of a hero.....rip u wld forever remain in my heart. I luv u

39. May his soul rest in perfect peace Amen

40. RIP Mandela, Your forever young for your tale would be told for a long time, Thank God for people like you! RIP

41. Departure of a great ıcon!..
    RIP sır:(

42. O a great man is gone. May his gentle soul rest in peace. He will always be remembered from generation to generation.

43. RIP don Mandela

44. May his soul rest in perfect peace... Amen

45. May his gentle soul rest in peace... South Africa will surely miss him......*crying my eyes out*

Sexychubby says soooo

46. May His Soul Rest In Perfect Peace!!! His Legacy will forever live on.

47. RIP sir. Great man he was

48. Rest in peace our hero

49. RIP MANDELA!!!!! YOUR LIFE WAS WELL SPENT!!!!!

50. RIP mandela greatest BLACK man ever. E remain mama chale. D woman no wnt gree die

51. Wow!!! Rip mandela....you left a legacy...

52. RIP, great man!

53. May his soul rest in peace.......Amen!

54. Awww....Nelson Mandela....may he rest in peace. amen,

55. A rare gem.may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace

56. Rip...so shocked...I know he was old nd all bt...

57. RIP NELSON MANDELA!!!! THE GREATEST HERO OF OUR TIME..............

58. So so Sad. A true legend!!!!!! RIP Mandela! Africa weeps!

59. O a great man is gone. May his gentle soul rest in peace. He will always be remembered from generation to generation.

60. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

61. Lindodo,why are you always editing your post? RIP sir,a great leader of our time,God bless your soul!

62. RIP Nelson, U̶̲̥̅̊ whr one of a kind.

63. Such a great men, R.I.P

64. Rip madella, u really tried!!!

65. A titan has passed away.The sting of death is surely sharp nd painful.
    Comfort to the bereaved!!

66. RIP Sir.God rest your soul....

67. He was a great man...May his soul rest in peace

68. Papa, u will remain ever green in our hearts. The whole world mourn u. Adieu!

69. May his soul RIP. A great warrior has crossed 2 d world asunder

Mide

70. RIP Madiba! U will b missed!

71. Hmmm. R.I.P great Man.

72. RIP Nelson Mandela..Great Man indeed

73. May his soul rest in perfect peace... Amen

74. Rip Mandela ur legacy will forever remain in d lives of south Africans

75. RIP nelson mandela...u were indeed a good man

76. We've loSt a real Gem!Mandiba Lives on, even After Death.

77. Ooh dear *crying*

78. RIP Madiba! You came, u saw and u conquered!

79. Mandiva.. Fare thee well!..

80. He is a true hero of the people, he'll never be forgotten. Wish Nigeria can have someone like him.

81. Linda, you are super fast! RIP Mandiba! Your legacy will always live on, and I hope leaders in my dear country, Nigeria, learn a thing or two from his fights.

1. Learn what?! Nigerian leaders never learn so don't bother....they are so short sighted that their vision can't see beyond their pockets.

82. A hero has gone ,may he rest in peace

83. End of an era indeed,rip Mandela...true definition of leadership.

84. Ahhhhaa! Madiba.. Rest well Nelson Rolihlhla Mandela..

85. Wow!! A real legend...RIP namesake(Nelson) #legend

86. RIP nelson mandela.....u r a rare gem. Hydee

87. mission completed on planet earth. May his Soul Rest in Peace, Amen

88. the great legend of south africa and the w
    hole of africa is gone.RIP

89. We love u Mandela. U live on!

90. RIP Great one and may the souls of the faithful depatred rest in perfect peace. Amen

91. Rip madiba. I hope he makes heaven

92. A strong hero..RIP

93. Oooooooohh WHY!!!!!!!!! Africa has lost a great man!!!!

94. R.I.P nelson....

95. A true African Hero has gone, may we leave to see more heroism in our generation. RIP Mandiba

96. Rest in Peace African Hero

97. May his soul RIP. Amen.

98. May his soul rest in peace, Amen
    ~Iso

99. He didn't just change South Africa, he changed the whole of Africa and the whole world. RIP Mr.Mandela, you lived a long fulfilled life.

100. An icon of freedom. Rest in peace great one.

101. Wat a hero. Rip sir

102. Linda, great work!. You're the first blog to publish this news as it's been broadcasted by President Zuma. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

103. Eeeyyaahhhh..... RIP to a great leader... Sleep well Madiba!

104. RIP Mandela. Great Man!!!

105. Badoo of life! You will be missed. God bless you for what you did for humanity.
    Rest in Peace

106. RIP mandela, our hero *sobs*

107. RIP madiba...may ur soul rest in peace

108. Rest in Peace sir, you will be remembered.

109. Rest in peace Nelson Mandela

110. Wat a loss! May his soul rest in peace

111. MONDOLA STAINLESS5 December 2013 at 23:06

HE INDEED WAS A LEGEND.RIP MADIBA.ADIEU GREAT MANDELA.

112. Oh..A really big tree has fallen!..
    Rest on Mandiba..
    *Nita Briggz*

113. Linda, great work!. You're the first blog to publish this news as it's been broadcasted by President Zuma. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

114. One of the greatest heroes of our time. Can still remember when he was released from prison . Rest in The Lord now. #Nevertobeforgotten

115. RIP Mandela man of history. Y̶̲̥̅̊o̶̲̥̅̊и̣̣̣̣̥ will always be remembered

116. R.I.P..gr8 hero u were and u'll forever be rememberd#Rosiee#

117. Rip nelson mandela

118. r.i.p mandela.u reali changed lives.may God accept ur soul.at least u died a happy man.

119. RIP Nelson the great man

120. Yeah one of d gr8 men of history is gone,may he find eternal rest n peace,amen. My condolences to his family and the whole of RSA as a whole.
    *ajokeade*

121. chaii!!! ,came here 2 confirm d jist as soon as I heard .......it is well,tym 2 sleep,ur work is done here,ur footprints shall never b erased,r
    i.p sir,u did fought a good fight, $ our hearts wud go on......

122. God forgive me oooo. Y don't Nigerian politicians like obj die ? God y

123. RIP Madiba, a rare gem

124. RIP Nelson Mandela

125. Rip sir! U wunt b forgotten in a hurry

126. Rip madiba!!!! Ah! Dis man iz history itselffff!!!

127. RIP Great man...

128. RIP mandela. True greatness. Just saw a friend post Rip Madiba. N I rushed down here. It was true. Eyah I weep. Noe

129. RIP nelson mandela

130. Chei! The last of Africa's hero. Rest in peace sir.

131. RIP Mandela..... Linda u're rlly fast! that's good...

132. young conscience5 December 2013 at 23:09

R.I.P Madiba!! This is really the end of an era. Nelson Mandela has gone to join his comrades Walter Sissulu and Oliver Thambo. Nigeria only have so called leaders who are more concerned with milking their country dry and legislating laws to stop us from talking about it. Here is a man that dedicated his whole life to freeing his country from the claws of oppression, putting everyone before himself . Adieu Lion of Africa

133. D world has indeed lost a hero rest well mandella

134. May ur soul rest in perfect peace. Wat a rare gem u r. "Cryin"

135. Chaiiii, d mighty has fallen.... gaa nke oma Papa Nelson... we love u.

136. He was indeed a legend. RIP Nelson Mandela. You would be greatly missed :(

137. RIP Nelson Mandela!! Africa has lost a great icon!

138. A long walk 2 freedom.R.I.P madiba nd linda kudos 2 u.kip up wit d good work

139. If u are or were a Nigerian leader this death should serve as a remindal. ask yourself 'if i were in Nelson's shoes would people celebrate my death?' Your answer should judge you, thats if you can grant yourself The decency of being honest.

140. Rip mandiba south africa has really lost a rear gem, a man wit a gud hrt

141. He was a great man. May his soul rest in peace.

142. RIP Nelson Mandela.
    Ur Legacy will forever live on

Mz Beckhy

143. The Disciplinarian5 December 2013 at 23:11

Na wa ooo! It was exactly ds time last year Dec 24th to be precised dat pple were broadcasting it truout bbm dat he died only to find out later dat it wasnt true!

Nw the man don finally waka in Dec!

RIP Mandiba!

144. guy u stole my name

145. Awwwww an Iroko has fallen! Sleep on Mandiba, ur legacy lives on.

146. Rest in peace great man. Ur legacy lives on.

147. RIP Mandela, a true legend! Roselle

148. Linda u post my comment. Why? Hmmm if I vex

149. I pray u get a Hug from God as ur judgement RIP sir in ur footsteps will I follow and greater#linda dat was fast I'm impressed

150. RIP sir!you av fought a good fight.

151. So sad..... It really is d end of an era. Rest in peace madibah. D. World has lost a great man indeed.

152. Ahhhh! RIP u deserve an hour slient! Always remembered...

153. Nelson mandela,u were a legend. Ur footprint re still printed on d sand,u were indeed a man in ur prime. R.I.P

154. RIP father of African's

155. Such a great man. Sleep on hero....... Rest in peace......

156. End of an Era marked by the biggest African Legend

157. WOW!A GREAT MAN INDEED.REST IN PEACE.

158. Thank God for nelson mandela's life.he left his footprints in the sands of time.May Almighty God bless his soul.

159. Wow wat a great man who fought for Blacks,A man wit Vision till date the whole world celebrate you.. OH earth u hv swallowed great men,Great Destinies nd Vision ..R I P u re my Hero

160. It has indeed been a long walk to freedom for my hero Nelson Mendela. Sleep on Sir, you will be missed

161. Rolihlahla! Rolihlahla!! Rolihlahla!!!

162. RIP Mandela..... Linda u're rlly fast! that's good...

163. Madiba u r too wonderful $ a man ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ ur word! May ur gentle soul rest in d bossom ☺f̶̲̥̅̊ d lord.Amen

164. Sad! A great man is gone. RIP MANDELA

165. A true legend is gone, rest in peace madela

166. Rest in peace madiba! We will forever miss u!

167. Rest in peace Mandiba

168. Rest well great man of Africa. U were a true leader