Question of the day: What's the ideal No. of children couples should have? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 9 October 2013

Question of the day: What's the ideal No. of children couples should have?

Our parents and grand parents had as many as seven children, some even ten or more but things have kinda changed now. So in this day and age what's the ideal number of children couples should have, no matter how rich or poor they are - just the average?
A. 2
B. 3
C. 4
D. As many children as they can afford ?

270 comments:

1. It depends on the amount of cold nights they have

2. The ideal number whether you are rich or poor should be four, as for me, I don't want more than three.

3. i think 1-4 is a decent range

4. The ideal number whether you are rich or poor should be four, as for me, I don't want more than three.

5. Me I want 2 ohhhh..............#dancing skelewu

6. 4kids should be enough 4me.

7. i will go wit 4 children

8. Linda Na becos of d driver nd him 7 children Na him u come post dis question abi? Anyway I tink 3 is enough. Madam Linda I know I'm first 2 comment if u like post am last as usual.

9. I think 3 is just ok 4 a family. this is where family planning comes in.

10. The ideal number whether you are rich or poor should be four, as for me, I don't want more than three.

11. i will leave the question for my BABA to answer..oya 2face over to you!

12. D... As lng as dey can tk care of d children witout askin 4 financial help.

13. 2 if you want to push it 3. You can afford to feed 10 kids today doesn't mean you will afford them tomorrow

14. Na ''4'' nowadays population for naija go soon clock #300'000000. Lol!

#Chuks-Remap-King

15. As many as they can afford - that is also factoring future expenses and their current and expected investments.

However, 2 children sounds ideal to me.

16. Its depends...different style for different folks
    But as for me I will go with 4 ...preferably 2girls nd two boys

17. Maximum should be 4 while minimum 2

18. Not more than three kids..abeg 3 is enough

19. Just a question I was asking myself this minute. Not just for the financial means of taking care of them, labour was tough that it scares me of having more. I have just 1 tho.

20. 2 issokay for me..ve had 1 and am hoping for 1more and wish for better upbringing which i wasn't privileged in my days as a kid!

21. I think two is ideal. It creates the right balance between happiness(oh i have children) and stress(emotional/financial). Anything more than two would depend on how financially capable you are, how the kids turn out etc.

22. For me it's three, two girls one boy!

23. I will say three kids

24. 3 is vry ok,rich or poor.

25. D.. As many as u can "afford"in quote Afford"...but 9ja men if the wife hasnt givn them a boy yet they can continue till d 7th child *eyes rolling*

26. Three children is jx d best,I have two boys now if God bless me with one girl I will be d happiest person on earth!

27. As many as they can afford biko..adenuga can have 50 and they will neva lack..see indimi fam..i ave lost count of how many daughters dat old man get lool

28. Between 2 and 4

29. 4 children will be ohk..abi u wan born a whole community ni.four is ohk 4 me oo

30. 4 is really ideal. It's neither too much or too small.

31. 4 kids is cool....

32. The reason why lots of piple hav dozen of kids is their quest for a particular sex of child.a lot of men and women want a male child due to some reasons..women want a male child for next of kin while men want a male child who can possiblely make their names last when there are gon. For me, I and my hubby will hav 3kids which ever God bless us wit!

33. Yaaay! 1st 2 comment

34. Minimum of two... Maximum of 4 for me , jus incase twins are involved!....... Its not about how many u can afford o.... I'm hoping to have two kids ,prayin to God for a boy n a gal.... *smiles*

35. 4 kids is cool....

36. 4 children will be ohk..abi u wan born a whole community ni.four is ohk 4 me oo

37. A. 2! That's why vacations packages are quoted for families of 4...hahaha.

38. for me 3 kids 2 boys and a girl. linda post my comment ooooooooooo dont eat it dis time ehhhhhhhh! tolu

39. for me 3 kids 2 boys and a girl. linda post my comment ooooooooooo dont eat it dis time ehhhhhhhh! tolu

40. 3 kids do for me buh i just like sex tooooo much! am i sick?

41. Option A will be the ideal one for me

42. for me 3 kids 2 boys and a girl. linda post my comment ooooooooooo dont eat it dis time ehhhhhhhh! tolu

43. with the help of God i will go for B. (3)

44. Linda Linda, I assume your big day is drawing close! You want us to answer the question for you, abi? No wahala. Go for 3. Twins go come first, then top am up with the last one. Claim am in Jesus name!

45. Linda Linda, I assume your big day is drawing close! You want us to answer the question for you, abi? No wahala. Go for 3. Twins go come first, then top am up with the last one. Claim am in Jesus name!

46. I want 3, my hubby wants 4

47. 4 kids will be ideal for me. Probably 2 boys & 2 girls!
    #MissP#

1. Me tooo. I want 4.
      Roflmao@ d second pics...dat one na village.lol

2. Bt above all, have as much as u can provide for, no be to produce agbero full everywhere.

48. Replies
    1. My dad has 3children from 3 dif women am first and only son lol, my uncle has 9 from one woman i prefer dat thou.

49. Is dere anyfing like ideal number of kids?? Only couple can decide dat. You can av as many as U̶̲̥̅̊ so desire nd can CATER FOR. Buh don't pass beyond ur boundary! Don't brings kids you can't cater for into d world.

1. Sis jane,who ask 4 story na,chei...deres such an option as D.u shuld av just sed dat.

50. I think C is the best.

51. As for me Imma go for 4,so the boy will av a brother to play with and the girl a sister to play with.

52. 2 is ok..highest should be 33

53. As many children as they can afford ooo...abi now....if u re poor just manage 1 or 2..no do pass urself

54. Max 3,if they aren't financially alright 0,bringing those poor children to suffer,I hate those ppl then the kids end up selling Bread and sachet water or begging for money on the street.If u can't afford to take care of them ,DON'T HAVE THEM,ur husband can't bring home money for food but he can come and ask u for sex,USELESS MAN and stupid woman.

55. love this question, dis is d best question of the day, thumbs up linda, in the stage we are now, the economy system in our country is nothing 2 write home about, food, payment of schoolfees, shelter, and upbringin of kids is very expensive, in my own opinion i will consider hvin 3 kids. and gve dem d best of the best. dan bringin 7 2 10 kids to the world to suffer.

56. i want seven and i pray for quadruplets AMEN. mummy dan

57. Hmmm! I tink 2kids are jst ok 4 couples! Too many kids brings headache esp if dose kids are stubborn but if d family re jst 4, d parents nd jst 2kids...dey wil be very happy nd contented even if dey re not rich! I rest my case...AmyHottie

58. 2.Ŋ☹ mata aw things α̲̅яε̲ whether rich or poor.

1. I agree wit u . De less number of kids u av, de more de quality of trainin u 'll giv dem.

59. 2 kids ideally if you live abroad. More kids if you can afford to look after them.

60. At least three children is ok

61. Atleas 3 children are ok 4 either rich or poor

62. My parent had three not minding the sex and I think three is just the perfect number!

63. 3 is ok cos N̶̲̥̅̊☺ one knows 2moro buh we don't pray Fø̲̣̣я̅ bad thing o

64. Having 2kids is jst very ok! Cos wen tins get bad in d family..I mean financial crisis, u cud be able 2cater 4dose kids witout much stress but if dey plenty...hmmmm! Dats wen d man of d house gets heart attack or high bp nd den dies living d poor kids nd dia mum 2suffer! Bsides d economic condition of our country is very bad nw, so I tink couples shud tink wisely oo! Not one year one block dat I see in some mothers these days....AmyHottie says so....

65. 2 is okay depending on ur financial status

66. ℓ̊ want 2 children,a boy ​Ãήϑ girl.don't know Ђδω many children M̶̲̅γ̲̣̣̥ husband will like †☺ have.

67. Hmmm! I tink 2kids are jst ok 4 couples! Too many kids brings headache esp if dose kids are stubborn but if d family re jst 4, d parents nd jst 2kids...dey wil be very happy nd contented even if dey re not rich! I rest my case...AmyHottie

68. i want four, just as my parents had

69. D WORD IS TO MULPIPLY SO 3 IS OK TO REPLACE URSELF AND A SPARE.

70. 4,God willing.

71. 2, I WANT 2 GIRLS

72. 4 is d ideal numba,bt 4 me 2 is okay!SHIKENA

73. 3 kids is okay,maybe twice then 4

74. M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ love children very much. 4 is ok

75. There is no ideal number. That is between the couple, they should just be sure that they can take care of all of them and give them the best.

76. lindyway my said he wants 4, but at the last gap the wife port triplet. for me ohhh 2 is kin of better

77. Linda me I have 4 kids but if I had my way would have had just 1. Most times its the guys that says how many kids they want. Cos for me it was a serious issue before we married. We later settled for 3,but baba God come give us twins

78. 2 is okay,dat d best no of kids to av

79. Have as many as u can cater 4,De joy begins when dey are all glown nd doing well..Dey shall surround ur table

80. 3 is okay and give them the best.

81. hmmmm, i would say an ideal number should be 2 kids. My husband wants 2(1 girl and 1 boy) but i want 4 kids (2 boys and 2 girls) i think i`m ready to settle for 3 and maybe adopt 1 making 4.....smilezzzz

82. 3 is just ideal

83. oh pls why don't we over populate the world...... btw 1 and 3 should be good for any couple any more is just an unhealthy! It is important children are raised and taken care of fully having 7 or more and I don't care if u are a billionaire is just obscene. Taking care of children doesn't just mean money but being there for them emotionally and in all ways possible........we live in a society where the feeling is well as long as u can send them t sch and cater (money wise) for kids its ok.... well its not!

84. Linda 5 is ok for me, 3boys 2girls

85. 3 is okay for me

86. afford ke! children na for sell

87. I KNOW A MAN WHO HAS 12 KIDS WITH ONE WIFE. EVERY YEAR HIS WIFE GET PREGNANT, ANOTHER BABY IS DUE THIS DECEMBER,....THAT IS NUMBER 13. OOOOH, HE ALSO HAS 2 OTHER KIDS BEFORE HE GOT MARRIED TO HIS CURRENT WIFE.....SO IN TOTAL, HE HAS 14 KIDS AND ONE ON THE WAY.
    I THINK AN IDEAL AMOUNT SHOULD BE 2 OR 3

88. 4 kids, 2boys n 2girls :)

89. Linda, as for me, only 2 children oo....a boy n a girl.weda rich or poor(but God forbid poverty)....but as I'm growin older n all my children av left home prolly to university or boarders in secondary skul, I'll consider avin one more

90. 2 IS OK FOR ME....NO MATTER CONDITION

91. I Think 4 is very much ideal for me

92. My sister always says that an ideal family in the modern age should be able to fit a regular 5 sitter car....therefore 2 or 3 kids should be fine

93. As many as they can, as far as I'm concerned no no. Is too mch, jst ask 4 god to bless them..we r 14 frm ma mum.. Nd all blessed..

94. I wil lov τ̅☺ hv 4, two boys α̲̅ŋϑ two gals.by Gods grace

95. 3

96. Two or three abeg!!

97. 200 children from you and i linda

98. as many God wantz me to hav ..itz nt ma will or dat of ma wife to b

99. I wana have 5kids but my girl insist we have 2. Its the biggest debate we both are into. I pray God help us decide

100. 4 or 5. As de case may be

101. I only want one but my boyfriend wants 4 there is no way on this planet I will get pregnant 4 times. One kid is enough for me lol

102. 3 at most,whether rich or poor.atleast its a gud enof number that makes up a family of our time

103. 3 linda..I want 3

104. I want 5 bur ma hubby wnts 2 or 3..I love a large family thingy..very fun..grew up in such.

105. 5kids. 2Boys 2 Girls now, then when the last child is like 23years old with his MSC and working we add the last one(Baby of the house). Hope it works for me.

106. Linda dis is my 1st time of commenting..bera post ma comment

107. My parents just had two of us nd I found it so boring nd wish we were like 4 or 5 but I told myself I was goin to hve a large family nd now I hve two nd still Counting.lol

108. Ehhh...3 don do now four na almost oversabi sef(ma opinion oo)

109. as many they can afford

110. For me I Think 3 is Ok, A Boy nd two Gals,

111. 3........2grls and 1boy

112. 3kids for me o.if its 4den it will b a mistake lolz

113. 2 is ok either boy or girl.

114. 2 kids minimum.....4kids max....... Evryone has deir different number tho... My brother said 6 minimum......chai......lol....

115. 2 please! in other to give them the best,if you can afford more,then adopt or help train less priviledged kids

116. 2 is gud a boy and a girl.

117. Minimum of 2, Maximum of 3 is okay for a couple this era.

118. I Have 3 adorable handful kids but i think anything more than 4 is migraine

119. 2 jor, highest 3! the 3rd one gan must battle to make it, as in after every means of keeping it back must failed ni.

120. 4 maximum minimum 2

121. Have the Numer of children you can cater for... It's dat simple. My tailor had 3 kids. 2 girls and a boy then decided she wants another boy which happened to be twins. A boy and a girl.... She cld hardly send d previous 3 to school and now there are 5 of them. None of them attends school anymore and she's always looking for some1 to pay their fees or buy them food stuff. I have a child and I plan on having 1 more. I could afford to tk care of more bt there's a level of luxury and achievements I plan on having for my kids and I ( holidays, education etc) and having more than
    2 kids wnt achieve that. In summary, cut your coat according to your size.

122. Two kids should do

123. Two would do for me but all depends on the couple. Different strokes for different folks.

124. 7-10 kids is very ok!!!!

125. For me, 3 kids makes. A lot of sense. But I want 4 and hubby doesn't mind! But a lot of people are okay with 2 these days. Makes sense too.

126. I want 6!! Twins,triplets,and one single!! My dad has over 20 kids!! *ONYX GODWIN*

127. Just 4,two boys two girls

128. Between 2- 4 children. Anything above this number is never ♍y wish.

129. Anything beyond 4 is too much no matter your financial capacity. The world is too populated already. Couples need to be principled enough not to have more than 4 kids. Some Igbo couples tend to keep giving birth all cause they are looking for a male child. My bestie comes from a family of 8, they are all girls except the last child who is a boy. P.S: I'm Igbo

130. 2 feels ideal sha buh I want 4.

131. as much as you can train lol,2 or 3 is okay.

132. As many children as dey can afford & cater for.

133. 2 kids very ok...

134. o well my parents had 7 and they r taking proper care of us. We go to the best skuls, proper clothing feedin and we aint wayward, we r unbelievebly happy. Its so fun to have a large family

135. 3 kids is the best

136. I want 45 if only 1 woman can give me 45 kids. but since she can't i will stick to 3....

137. 3 kids is the best

138. I want 2 cus me and my babe has agreed.

139. i will go 4 for d rich an 2 for the poor. cause d more kids d poor has d more problem 4 naija.

140. It depends on what d couples want.they can have as many as they want as long as they can take care of dem but me want 4....includin twins.

141. I want 2 children but 3 children is not bad at all.... Vikenx Virus.

142. Well, as many as the Good Lord provides. But, from the 'economy' view point, 2 'd be just fine.

143. AS 4 me,na 3 girls 1 boy...lyk d Kardashians

144. I want 2 dozen!

145. 3 is just so ideal for me.

146. I think 4 is cool! 2boys 2gurls..

147. Two is ideal. Its easy to gv dem de best educationally etc. Wntd two, but de turnd out all girls. My hubby is a typical ibo man who wants a boy, so am on de third pregnancy. I wish one of de two ws a boy, but God knws best.

148. Ntn like ideal in this issue. Give birth to those you can bring up properly, nt financial wise alone here

149. The ideal no depends on the couple,for me 3 is a perfect number.

150. DON'T BRING A NUMBER YOU CAN'T TAKE CARE OFF, ONE OF MY RELATIVES HAS 19, NOW HE IS WORRYING ME TO HELP HIM RAISE THEM.

151. 2. There should be a law that states that if a family does not meet an income threshold, they shouldd only be allowed 2 children. Atimes, it breaks my heart when I see small children suffering on the road. I often ask myself why people bring children into the world to suffer, which I find utterly unfair.

152. used to lyk u until I found out...9 October 2013 at 16:41

Huh? Like r u serious, Linda? What's this? Mtcheew

153. Well I want 3, but my hubby wants 4. So d average that I've heard people say is 4.

154. 2 then you can really afford give your kids the best and also have a life!

Pumpkin

155. D idea number is 4 two girls and two boys so no ones cheats each other between d couple