Boxing champ Laila Ali calls North West a stupid name | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 August 2013

Boxing champ Laila Ali calls North West a stupid name

Kim and Kanye won't like this, but Mohammed Ali's daughter says she don't cur! Laila isn't a fan of the crazy baby name trend and calls out Kanye West for naming his daughter North...

Laila tells Hip Hollywood,
"I don't like crazy names. I think it doesn't make any sense. And you have to think about the child as they get older and what they have to deal with. A lot of people do things because it’s a fad and they want to get some attention but this is your child…if it’s crazy but cool and nice and it makes sense, that’s one thing, but North and South and Leaf and Water Drop? Come on now, I don’t care who you are that’s just stupid, period.
The see video after the cut...

205 comments:

1. Its none of her business though.....bt xpect a reply

1. Shez right jor.... Tho its not her business...
      MYRAYA

2. Yeaah! Exactly, none of our business..But it is still stupid though..

3. None of ur goddamn bizness! Paddle ur own canoe!

4. All of u saying it's none of her bizness, wen dis name first came out na all of u follow Yab am for Linda ikeji blog, but nw all of u blabbing it's none of ur bizness, well practice wat u preach idiots!!

2. Exactly nne high five

3. She's right...that's stupidity.

4. Its not d babys fault oh na celebrity life cos am!

5. Kanye and Kim can't react to this vid for fear of getting knocked out.......hehehehe see mind.....btw I hope the child doesn't commit suicide when she gets bullied or mock when she starts school........#dumbattentionseekingparent.

I rest my brain

6. its the fact, the name is plain stupid

Share your US visa experiences here
    usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.com

7. It's their child none of ur fuckin biz so shut ya big mouth

8. Kanye and Kim have never confirmed the baby's name as North West. The name is as fake as the fake baby pictures they sent out to sniff out their fake friends.

9. Shes sure in big trouble...Kanye no go leave de matter...Uld surely be served..buh true talk sha

10. You're very right Ali, many would say its 'End Time' but really not. Its just unnecessary attention from the overzealous couples.

11. w said! Its plain stupidity! God knows that my child will have a meaningful name!

1. She's sooo right...Sounds more like a weather forecast to tell us which way the wind is blowing. Yeah that storms coming down from the north west…Baa haa haa poor baby. Hopefully ‘Wild West’ for a sibling!

2. The child will grow to hate that name someday. It shows how crazy the parent is.

3. Hehehehe she doesn't 'cur', she can punch anybody's nose *straightface*

4. True talk, d gal will b bullied later wif dat absurd name combi. North West, South East,,SMH#poko

5. Laila what's the beef about?
      pls click here for hot naija gist

12. Hahahaha lmao! Ds babe harsh o North south leaf chai....very stupid name sha hw person go bear northwest???

13. Stupidity is an understatement,,,, the parents re so useless so what is expected.. re they d 1st 2 av a child?? NONSENSE!

14. Stupidity is an understatement,,,, the parents re so useless so what is expected.. re they d 1st 2 av a child?? NONSENSE!

15. There's nothing wrong with North West...especially since she will be going by Nori. It's a Name. She'll own it. Watch.

16. Amen ooo.cos dy ll really antagonize dt child cos of her name mayb pple will cal her d nickname sha.

17. Yes Laila, you are on point.

18. Very very unreasonable. North west.

19. Very, very, unreasonable. North West.

20. She has said it all...

21. True talk gbam! Stupid name

22. Calls out?? Hehehehe lol *bbm lips sealed*

23. Abi sheer stupidity

24. She is correct 100%, the names these stupid white celebrities give their children, you have to pity their future. What sort of name is Blanket? North West? All just to be in the lime light and your child suffers!!! Imagine like 30 years from now: please welcome the secretary of state of USA; North West!!!! Doesn't it sound stupid or funny?!!

25. All this,jst for publicity?they don't even care about the girls future @ all!cos I dnt know who wud take her serious with a name like North West!mtcheeeww!

26. Laila u are right.of all d beautiful names in d world,its North West they could call their baby.Definitely,she will be taunted by that name.Celebrities and the funny names they give to their children.

27. Loool.....she subbed dem on a gold platter =))

28. Hahahahaha,I love this Laila. Yes,its a stupid name. And if the misbehave,you box them outta the ring....heheheeehe,southeast my ass.

29. You damn right its stupid...

30. You damn right its stupid...

31. Its a really stupid name!

32. True talk dear, Kim and kanye naming dia child NORTH-WEST is just like alisha keys naming her daughter a car, which wil b CAR-KEYS.....lolsss dat name makes no sence #period

33. Pls tell them! This Laila u fine small shaa. I for marry u but for dis ur boxing thingz. My sexy lips dey me more important. I dont want who will break it. #Spencer#

34. Think its a stupid name too buh no video

35. Totally agree wt her!Maka na nkem di iche bu ajo aha#

36. arrant nonsense!Ħöщ can Ў☺ΰ name Ʊя̩̥̊ child north.ℓ̊ still don't knw what name τ̲̅ȍ call kim Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ kanye,especially kim that went through aℓℓ τ̣̣̥н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇є̲̣̥ odds of pregnancy Α̲̅Ω̴̩̩̩̥d̶̲̥̅̊ labour aℓℓ for her τ̲̅ȍ name dat child north west.Ȋ̝̊̅§ absurd really

37. Honestly its true..very stupid..what was she thinkin..namin that child North West...

38. Go born ur own give A̶̲̥̅♏ meaningful name nah,why U̶̲̥̅̊ D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ dring panadol 4 another person headache.

39. Yea seriously said,its a no for me too.we need to give our children beautiful and meaningful names,wah d heck is north

40. Rubbish.......No b only north west nah South west 4 Nigeria....trash

*Dollysexy*

41. she does'nt need to say this to hip hollywood.. Everyone knws it's a stupid name.. Lol.. North west ko, south east ni....

42. Lili better tell dis Vanguard pple to be making reference to ur blog and not picking d comments of LIBers to do their stories and not make reference to ur blog otherwise we ll take them to court. Wot do u think? Anyway shaa,it shows dat ur posts sabi dey authentic.#Steve#

43. Just my thoughts when I first heard that name

44. Lmfaooo..itz tru tho..dt waterdrop name got me rollin... Northwest ko eastsouth ni..attention seekin midgets..

45. Laila is right, Very stupid

46. I agree wt her, al des parents, dey don't tink abt wen d child is older.

47. there's no need fussing about the name thing......you shouldn't expect a devil worshipper to do anything meaningful, it's just like expecting cold water to produce warmth. I'm not amazed about this.......i've long expected it!

48. there's no need fussing about the name thing......you shouldn't expect a devil worshipper to do anything meaningful, it's just like expecting cold water to produce warmth. I'm not amazed about this.......i've long expected it!

49. Yea rite,dat name doesn't make any sense @ all

50. Yip, dats true

51. Dnt like the name either but wash your mouth what you say goes a long way

52. Reality check !

53. Naming is peersonal so let dem be o Laila Ali at least go give birth to ur own

54. Naming is personal na dem born dere pikin so ðε̲̣̣̣̥Ÿ ve right to cal d child any name.chikenah

55. laila, u. said it all.

56. such a stupid nd meaninless name buh funni though...i cnt hlp buh laff at d mention of dat god4saken name

57. Somebody needs to be blunt to kanye and Kim. That name is not just it at all just so meaningless!

58. well said wen d child gets older dy will remeber you

59. Stupid parent wt stupid ideas

60. Leave those ppl. Rice,stone,zink,East all na name.

61. The girl was was blunt and I love that. Linda wen u travell agn just help me tell her dat because dis days u too travell.

62. What is ur own business in what dey use to name their daughter

63. Laila is spot on....apple bottoms, honey drop, seven, green, blue are all stupid names. What ever happened to good old George, Alexander, Susan, Jessica etc

64. True that.
    But wait a minute,Laila,wasn't your father's name Casius Clay before he got converted to Islam and renamed himself Mohammed Ali?who names their son Casius and Clay,eh?
    In the end,its Kanye's child he can name her whatever he likes,that's his prerogative.

65. if u want to name ur child meaningfull name weit make u born bikin space 2000 say so.

66. AM sure the baby will nt take it easy with Kanye when she grows up.....

67. I love this girl. LWTMB

68. I don't like crazy names too. When I heard the name, I just pass it as one of those conspiracy names. Cos I don't see any reason why one would name a child after a cardinal point.

69. Well said, a name is a representation of a person, you owe your kid the honour of giving him/her a name worthy of good meaning, you can't just play around your kids name just for the fun of it like you are naming a dog or something.

70. I think it's a stupid name too. I hope North forgives her parents in d future.

71. Why una dey worry una self? Born ur own and name anything u want. It's a free world.

72. She's gt s point bt I insist its none of her or any1 4dat marra's business so get a life!!!

73. Yeah that name sounds like an empty bucket, how can u name a child without a meaning, this is totally madness.

74. So on point my dear. Some parent just do things without thinking.

75. She's 100% right, North west is a stupid name. Kim and Kanye didn't think bout the effects the name would have on their child as she gets older. Kim and kanye are just selfish people seeking more attention even if it means naming their child crap!

76. Tz so absurd! Y name a child dah kinda name?

77. Sounds like one geographical location! Sounds weird! Gosh! ȋ̝̊̅̄ trust she will rename herself wen she comes of age!

78. Whatz ur business if dem there bby north west? Name ur bby what u feel like abeg nd mind ur business too.

79. It's true, Kanye West has been behaving like an olorikori, naming his child north west oshiodanlepako!

80. North West....Kenye n Kim are sure smoking something higher than weed.... Why not just name her Kaduna Kano....

81. Its so sad,Kanye lost it afta he lost his mum and wit kim again whose not smart.its so damn wrong giving your child such a name.

82. This comment has been removed by the author.

83. Please wots her business with dat,if i like i name my dog MESSI...its simply no ones business.

84. It is a STUPID name!

«««~Purity~»»»

85. that is her candid opinion and I support that.Imagine and adult and some one ask you,what's your name and the response is North,what a name,celebrity madness.

86. Names always have an impact in the life of a child.parents should endeavour to give meaningful names to their children and avoid publicity stunts with their child's future.

87. Studid. Is an under statement

88. it's f**king true; zo foolish name's celeb call's dia child....just passing bye

89. Lmsao!! Very stupid name! North West! Such stupidity!

90. Thumbs up Laila.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

91. Yea she said wat many wish 2 say... Kanye can now snatch d mic 4rm her as he did Taylor Swift! #foolishdaddy

92. Y didn't she have the balls to say same to Jay n Bey. What is blue Ivy... She should find the nearest gutter water and sit in it...... did Kim n Kanye but the name up with like and dislike button for her opinion... hissssss

93. i av heard sm1 bearing 'signs & wonders' pls confirm pple - he attends benson idahosa uni n is dere CFI president....lwkmd

94. Mehn! Ah love dis lady already.......North west?? Maybe d next one's gon' be called East

95. True! Most people give their children names without considering the future influence of their peers on the children bcos of their names...

96. laila actually said the truth, how can u name ur baby NORTH WEST, not caring about the kind of treatment ur child would face while growing up, simply becouse u want cheap attention.Nawa for oyinbo people, i am sure that no reasonalable nigerian can name her baby such. Sha good luk to them.

97. Blacks..what's your business with someone's else child's name?...

98. Stupid name from Stupid parent ... North

99. Wat kind of a name is dat.Of all d names in d world it is North West.Gosh!

100. Well said laila. Don't mind em celebs givin a thumps to dat sick name jst to get in the limelight

101. Abi Õoooº°˚ ˚°º.. M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ dear

102. Not only is the name stupid but also meaningless,wat is north east abi south west? Stupid people!

103. Why u dey vex? Is it ur baby?
    @GbemiLiu

104. Why u dey vex? Is it ur baby?
    @GbemiLiu

105. I love wacthing dis lady fighting.kanye u sef no try

106. True talk my sister. Pls tell dem

107. True talk my sister. Pls tell dem

108. Hahahahaha, yeah right, laila what did u expect from a hollywood trick and a hip hop clown?

109. Bt seriously, wat kind of name is that sef!! Mchewww

110. Yea I do agree with Laila Ali, is a meaningless name to me. Anyway its no my business.

111. I totally agree with her, they didn't think of the girl's future while giving her that name.

112. Thank you!!that girl will be properly mocked and bullied

113. Shut the f up, laila! Name your own damn kids and let others name theirs. Condescending judgmental b....

114. Ofcourse its a stupid name

115. I wonder why a reasonable person will name his child stupid names like North, south , weed, fish Wtf!

116. she is right and thats why some children hate there children when they grow up.They will name dia 2nd born AMERICA..LOL

117. Waten do names like oluwa tamilore,oluwatimilehin,anuoluwapo and so on.....hahahaha

118. my sister pls tell them,stupidity of d highest order.really luv ur guts...attention seekers

119. I guess if they give birth to another child,they'll name him or her NORTH-EAST. next please.

120. wether east, west, north or south. It is their rite as parents to name their child what pleases them. though our presido GEJ has made us understand how a good name can affect someone's life. But Laila please don't hate.

121. Ouch! #datsgattahurt#

122. Word!!! That's a stupid name *ThatFunctionGuy*

123. Oh! Shatap! One man's meat is anothers' poison! Its nobody business when it comes to naming a child. Leave kim n kanye alone! There are other names like that in hollywood e.g rainbow, zuma, suri etc. If pple can bear january, may, april, sunday ,monday, etc... Why can't pple bear north! I personally don't gbadun the name, but its their choice. It is isn't a stupid name. Most of the names pple bear have silly meanings and they don't know it. Isn't the name "kanye" weird too? (from an african origin). "Obama" sounds weird too! But each parent names their kids with love. So this north "nori" west name matter don do! #endoff!

124. Laila is a beautiful lady!

125. Though it's a stupid name but then we all have to mind our business including Laila Ali.

126. Well said laila,y wld U̶̲̥̅̊ wanna name ur baby North,Smh 4 dem jare.

127. Of cos it's stupid, bt what's my business

128. Me I tire for d name too ooo...North West;South East nko?lolZ

129. You are Nigerian...Nigerian Names are meant to be meaningful...I don't think North is a stupid name for an american girl that has a father called kanye

130. Mitchw!very stupid

131. dat name slf na wa o!!

132. North west is even the name of a university... Hahahaaa. Linda post it oooo

133. Men! Kanye and kim have personal issues to deal wit!..... Dey'v gone crazy

134. Finally, someone spoke my mind. Its damn stupid. Tanks Laila.

135. @anon 2:03 your child u said. People pls mind your business for christ sake,its their child,let them be

136. What's the meaning of laila? Is it not that leave we use to apply on our nails when we're young to colour our nails. Bitch mind your business or I ll bite off your ear o!

137. North West...why didn't they name him South East? Mtschewwwww.

138. Everyone has the right to be stupid.
    Its just that some people exercise that right more than others

139. Well said oh...... Very correct and onpoint...... Rubbish naames just to gt attention *mtshw

140. d fact is dat both parent agreed to giv thier daughter dat name nd dey probaley av a reason for dat.make Moh'd Ali's daughter go born her own nd leave my kim alone oh,KIM U ROCK ND I LUV U

141. my child s name wil always be a name dat will glorify God,my saviour

142. my child s name wil always be a name dat will glorify God,my saviour

143. North?! Hmnnn..........His action reminds me of dat EMIINEM's song! "MY DAD HAS GONE CRAZY" Dats d song dat girl will sing wen she grows up & ppl laf @ her............well na dem business sha o!

144. North?! Hmnnn..........His action reminds me of dat EMIINEM's song! "MY DAD HAS GONE CRAZY" Dats d song dat girl will sing wen she grows up & ppl laf @ her............well na dem business sha o!

145. New generation kids have a whole lots of sense and I bet u as she grows up ,if she doesn't lyk d name,she'll definitely change it without even asking 4 her parents permission...

146. New generation kids have a whole lots of sense and I bet u as she grows up ,if she doesn't lyk d name,she'll definitely change it without even asking 4 her parents permission...

147. Tell them Laila! North ko Middle belt ni. Stupid parents. Waaka

148. She's so right. Meaningless name.
    Holly Madison named her daughter RAINBOW. Seriously????? Thunder and lightning nko? Linda post my comment or else. ......... :p

149. Buhahahahahhahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahhahahahahaha!

150. I tell u,if only fox magazine can grant me an interview just 4 once!!! I'm gonna tell kanye&kim ow stupid dey are,,selfish parents,dey don't even care abt wat d child wld feel wen she begins to grow,her pairs wil laugh her south-west loool..y not eastern-Asia??? Ode couple*eyez rolling non stop*lindodo ow u dey kisses to u jare oremi*

151. She's right........and am cool with that fact that she doesn't bloody care whether kanye and kim liked it or not.......she's said her mind, *poko*

152. She said it all....wat kind of name is dat? NorthWest indeed!

153. e concern u..#attention seeker

154. Well said; dnt mind dose weird fools, tryin to pls satan at any chance cos he puts money in dr pockets.

155. Lmao @ water drop

156. 100% correct. Couldn't agree more.
    North Donda West. Kai! DONDA!

157. Right on champ, tell it to them.

158. Right on champ, tell it to them.

159. Hmmm... Wot in jesus name was dis guy finkin? Huh? So excess money cud actually affect some pple's upstairs o ...hehehehe u 4 even name am CAlABAR SOUTH lols Linda post ma Comment o.

160. Senseless n idiotic parents they ar!

161. i agree wt her. Was watchin a film, 'trinity goodheart' n was shockd to c 'northwest' as a name of a skul in d movie. I no fit laf oo. I pity dat northwest gal sha. Very stupid n senseless name. Evn kim's mum dissed d name in one of her interviews

162. I don't see how this your business Laila Ali, is their child and not yours. You just want them to notice you.

Busy Philips named her daughter Cricket, I don't see you complaining. If you have beef with Kimye confront them and leave their baby out of it.

163. ITS REALLY A STUPID NAME BUH LAILA IS IN NO PLACE TO TELL DEM WAT TO NAME DIA BABY. SHE SHUD JUST MIND HER BUSINESS. TRUST ME PEOPLE WUD KAL HER NORI INSTEAD OF NORTH CUZ SHE WUD PREFER NORI TO NORTH...NORI WEST SOUNDS GOOD THO.

164. Naming the baby North is like Alicia Keys naming her child Car. Car Keys. Welcome to Hollywood.
    olakunleologunro.blogspot.com

165. "water drop" lol

166. WHERE U FIXING YOUR EYES ON KENYA WEST. WHAT'S YOUR OWN WITH THEIR BABY NAME, IT'S THEIR CHOICE, THEY DID NOT ASK FOR YOUR OPINION, IT MIGHT BE STUPID TO YOU, BUT TO THEM IT MEANS ALOT.

167. To Kim, she didn't like the name but she just accepted cos she loved Kanye. What a stupid name tho!. Loving her courage to say that, the least Kanye will do is to insult her and by so doing, more comments concerning the name will follow. Why didn't Mama named him South West? Cele my foot!

168. i dont like d name either but really it's not of my business

169. its no big deal
    a unique name(whether lame or sensible) singles a child out among his peers
    thats how greatness starts
    am sure people chastised Gen Aguiyi ironsi parents wen they gave him d name "aguiyi" which means crocodile
    and then 'ODUMEGWU' ojukwu
    i think she shud STFU!

170. North east, Nigeria~boko

171. its not her child not her concern.... now she'll wonder y she is still single

172. y not south-south??dunno wot diz celebs are up to.....Jst like Alicia Keys son whose name is Egypt.

173. y not south-south??dunno wot diz celebs are up to.....Jst like Alicia Keys son whose name is Egypt.

174. Out of respect, she should have kept her personal feelings private. NW will never have to work regular job. Who cares! Laila, very wise to keep things ordinary because your offsprings - straight up 9 to 5. Lmbo! #recklessmouth#

175. NORTH WEST UNIVERSITY na for kano state.hmmm may be kanye name em pikin afta the skool.but wait who Get the Pikin?laila ali sounds like laile wey HAUSa pple dey use decorate tails n toes .......just concentrate on your own tin ooo.