2 brothers strangled in their sleep by python that entered their room through a vent | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 August 2013

2 brothers strangled in their sleep by python that entered their room through a vent

Two brothers, age five and seven, (pictured above) have been tragically strangled to death in their sleep by a massive 16-foot python that escaped from a pet store below the apartment where the children were staying. 

Connor and Noah Barth were sleeping soundly when the 100-pound African Rock Python fell from the ceiling and attacked them. The boys were spending the night with Jean-Claude Savoie, who lives above the Reptile Ocean pet store that he owns in the tiny New Brunswick city of Campbellton in Canada. Continue...

Reptile Ocean is home to a veritable menagerie of exotic animals, including crocodiles, tarantulas, tortoises and numerous snakes. 

Mr Savoie described to the Global News how he walked into the living room and found the two boys dead about 6.30am on Monday. He found the snake coiled in a hole nearby. He said the creeping serpent slithered upstairs into his apartment through the ventilation ducts and creeped into the ceiling.
It then fell through the ceiling and dropped onto the small boys from above. Mr Savoie said he believes the snake coiled around both children and crushed them as they slept together on the floor.

The National Post reports that the snake was a 14 to 16-foot African rock python that even its owner said was 'vicious' and was rarely handled. 

This anaconda is believed to be one of the very large snakes Jean-Claude Savoie kept at his Reptile Ocean pet shop

Tim Thomas, a former Reptile Ocean employee, told the newspaper that when he learned of the tragedy, he immediately called Mr Savoie's best friend, Mandy Trecartin, who told him it was her boys who were killed.   

Mr Savoie operated Reptile Ocean as both a pet shop and as a zoo. He kept numerous snakes and lizards and small crocodiles to sell, but he hosted tour groups.

'He always had kids going in there to visit like school kids and groups,' a neighbour said
 The boys with their mum

The horrifying deaths of the two children shocked residents of the small city of 7,400 in northern New Brunswick.
 'It’s very nerve-wracking. If one got out, how many else got out,' Ms Fournier said.
Police said an autopsy on Tuesday will confirm the exact cause of death, though officials believe the boys were crushed to death by the snake. 

Mr Savoie said he captured the snake and turned it over to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, who are examining the creature.

An RCMP spokeswoman said the major crimes unit is investigating the case and will determine whether any criminal charges should be filed against the owner.

Culled from Daily Mail UK

120 comments:

1. Omg! Poor boys... May God rest their souls... Amen.

1. I was the first to comment!!! Yippie! *dancing azonto* :-)

2. Stupid fool! This. Isn't d time 4 1st 2 comment..get a life u retard!

3. Nonye you are a fool. See something this pathetic and you are shouting 1st to comment. Shez even igbo. You are a disgrace to the whole igboland.onuku

4. D story is so touching,2 kids @ a tyme it sad,may der soul rest in peace.me no knw y dem dey keep snake sha aaah na wa.it rare for dis kind of tin to happen in nigeria sha.

5. @ nonye u re inhumane! We re talking death and d first thing I see is : first to comment! Like seriously u need ur head checked. Some ppl on dz Blog sha. This is so sad such cute boys to die like that. But oyibos alwz do some crazy stuffs I wonder a times. How could u call that a pet shop and yet the animals are harmful? Thot pets weren't supposed to be harmful? If truly they were killed by d python may God accept their little souls.

6. Ode which one is dancing azonto.

7. Wat a pity.

8. @nonye...... U b. Mugu of d highest order..... retarded idiot... Aboki oshi! 1st to comment n wht reasonable tn did u say now. Foolish goat. May DT python cm n strangle u Now so i go rejoice n b 1st to comment too..... Odoyor. Ozuor. Numokon .....*mtshw
      *sad* cute kids..... May dia soul R.I.P.*cryn

9. Stupidified Nonye, u r a bastard child of a prostitute mother, raised by a criminal father. May ur family witchcraft swallow ur outcast n prostitute self to hell, let me come n be the first to comment. Finally may Satan purnish u 7times per every second of ur entire miserable numbered day on dis earth. Lucifer Deputy lik u. Idiotic idiota

10. @ Nonye you are big fool

11. Choi!haba! Dis insult too mch na

12. Blood of jesus all thiS for "NOnYE"now many people like am go cautioN them self BGAM

2. Sad story! See dem cuties

3. Jeez! May ur gentle souls RIP...

4. So sad!!! Some shld b done 2 avoid futher occurance. ETTA

1. Such lovely kids. God hav mercy

2. Quite bizarre,but Oyibo children sha.
      Trust typical Nigerian children to kill and cook the reptile before their mum returns.

3. Shut up u are dry

4. As in...dis bonario can like 2 yan dust sha, fool hear say na 12 foot long snake him dey tuk catch chop, sha is nt his fault. Its wat dey do in his village

Mr aNonYmous

5. I can't just imaging that. Linda, may their souls RIP.

For ma ladies: how to grow ur natural hair
    Check out www.marcussunnyc.blogspot.com

6. This is horrible. I just don't understand the rationale behind keeping wild animals in residential areas. It is simply dangerous.

1. Omg!y not strangle d mr savoie instead!oooooooooo!dis is very painful!poor woman!how is she going to endure dis? Rip to d boys. I hate dat creature called snake with every ounce of me! Tufia!

2. @kenny abi o,I jst tire 4 dese white peeps! #sigh#

7. Sad..dangerous snakes belong in the wild or zoo, not around innocent kids..what a tragedy..

8. I just don't understand the rationale behind keeping dangerous animals at home or where people live. It is simply dangerous. The sight of snake is creepy and there are just too many accidents these days. May their souls rest in peace

9. That's very sad news. May their souls rest in peace. Beautiful boys.

10. caucasians and dangerous animals...c hw de jus wasted dese 2 boys nw...am sure de owner wil nt b sued...its a pity..may de R.I.P.

11. Tragic.
    Why would anyone have a semi-zoo just above a residential apartment?
    Pet shops house dogs,cats and other non-violent domestic animals not crocs,pythons and such deadly reptiles.
    Yet,bloody PETA wants us to be kind to all animals...dangerous or not.
    I trust my fellas back home,that python would have been killed and eaten.

12. Woow.. May they rest in peace. First to comment :d

13. Rather unfortunate! Lovely boys

14. Heard it on BBC Radio 5 this morning and it's so creepy and sad. Poor kids. They have now launched a criminal investigation into it.

1. Na only u get radio abi.Pulease stop d awareness campaign cos its totally uncalled for and outta point.just comment and leave.

15. Lawd have mercy. This is horrifying! Its really disturbing

16. OMG, wishing this didn't happen to him

17. The story seems very suspicious..i suggest the police investigate the man whose house they were sleeping in..tufia

18. Oh! Poor kids..S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ Sad!

19. Gosh! This is horrendous!! Why can't these Americans stop keeping such dangerous animals as pets? This isn't the first time such a related case has hit the news. Now look at the result, a worthless animal terminating the promising lives of two beautiful little boys, how sad! May God grant the family the fortitude to bear this huge loss.

1. I think you need 5D eye glasses. Read well before you comment. Don't just peruse and then rush for comment. The sad news is coming from Canada not America. READ AGAIN!!!

2. Keep quiet joor. First, it's a pet store. Read again. It also happened in Canada, not America. And of course you'll know they were two beautiful little boys, see your profile picture. *sigh* R.I.P boys!

**Twizzy**

3. @Anonymous 4:25: It's better to let people think you are an Idiot than to open your mouth and prove it with the type of drivel you just posted.

Open your dictionary and check for the word "American", one of its meaning would be "A native or inhabitant of any country of North, Central or South America, isn't Canada in North America? Or you think its only people from the US that are called Americans?

I have enlightened you today from your ignorance, Thank me later, you are welcome!

4. P.C,ignorance is bliss. Not everyone who has Internet access is educated in the true sense of the word. Cheers for telling it as it is.

5. PC , mbok take it easy....those are pets! Every pet frm snakes to dogs,cats even humans are dangerous. So sharrap! Adress d issue as related to who its affecting.

6. PC, u r wrong, when u use americans or american people, they are citizens, or natives, of the United States of America. So don't gimme that shit about north americans, south americans being referred to as americans blah blah, just open the link and close ur mumu dictionary

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Americans

#Zamani#

20. May their souls and the souls of all the faithfuls departed through the mercy of God rest in peace.

21. Oh God! May their soul rest in peace. All is well.

22. Sad sad sad. Oh God, see innocent kids. Rest in peace guys,

23. Y kip such reptile in ur Vicinity,wat for? So horrible. Rip kids

24. I feel so bad!seein d boy's picture wants 2 mke me cry.hnm America stop all dis nonsense plsss.gush wat a huge lost!

1. Hmmmm...wat school do you go to

25. I am so sad 4 dis boys...see how cute they look..pls a law shuld b placed no one shuld be given license 2 sell, keep dangerous animals in areas where people live.

26. Oh dear! I have got two boys age six and four, can't imagine this happening to my kids, the fear and struggle to survive while they were being strangled, this is horrific. May their beautiful soul rest in peace.kisses and hugs to you both.

27. What kinda death is this? So sad.

28. What kinda death is this? So sad.

29. may day rest peace

30. Blood of Jesus! This cute kids??? Oh my God

*teary eye*

May their souls rest in peace and their families consoled

31. Americans will never stop amazing the world,how can u hv such animals with u wen u r nt an animal.trust Africans nah.

1. Can you read? It said Canada!

2. Remi Canada is in North America isn't it?

32. what a sad news,may d souls of those children rest in peace

33. Pesin future husband na em die so,datz y we ve single ladies.RIP swt kidz,peace 2 dia mum

1. Asin ehn! Pple dont even know the right time to joke!!what's the meaning of this nonsense u typed? Foolish agbaya

2. Asin ehn! Pple dont even know the right time to joke!!what's the meaning of this nonsense u typed? Foolish agbaya

34. So sad. May their souls rest in peace.

http://jurablog.blogspot.com

35. Damn, this is saddening, these boiz didn't live long enough to live their dreams. 5 and 7, now tell me their mom won't go crazy...

36. what a sad news,May d souls of d innocent children rest in peace

37. fine kids. RIP

38. Snake pet kwa? Una no do well o,fyn bois mtchewwww

39. OMG this is terrible,see this cute little kids,*crying*

40. This is just tragic! Am sure this is not the first time the kids are visiting! Its really sad.
    why would one even live in the same house with such a dangerous animal eh?
    Rest in Peace boys..

41. This is so horrifying, I hate snakes!!!...may their beautiful young souls rest in perfect peace..what d heck is a reptile pet store doin in a residential area anyways...

42. Oh God !! Why these lovely kids;these oyinbo's nd there pets sha na by force!! The man's apartment suppose get correct fittings wey dis pets nor go fit penetrate!!

43. So...so...so...sad,may dere gentle soul rest in peace...very painful..

44. Omg this story gives me a goose balls....rip little once.

P.s it's happens in Canana not America. jeez!!

45. Every body dey write rest in peace abi? But if na 4 naija dis kind tin happen, una nogo talk say na jst sell d owner or dose animal wan sell am ooo una go talk say na rit**l tins abi?. But on a more serious note,dis story is really bad nd alarming.RIP kids.

46. Oh Lawd!! That anconda is huge...Oyinbo and adventure.why d hell wld I keep a snake as a pet,of all animals in d world.

47. Chineke!!!!! Tufiakwa!!!! As in SERIOUSLY??? Why keep such dangerous reptiles in a residential environment? RIP kids.

48. If na Naija,dey wl say its spiritual.May dia soul RIPP

49. Diweri Benibile6 August 2013 at 16:24

OH God,wat kind of thing is dis?look at d lovely boys.they should stop having dangerous animals as pet,at least only Dog is okay.Rip boys

50. Dis is diverstating o, pls God comfort d ia. Mum o its not eazy.God of SFI continue 2 eat ma sacrifice.

1. Aww!! Its "devastating" dear

51. What an awful death! May their soul rest in perfect peace

52. OMG! May their beautiful souls RIP. BTW prince charming, this ur dp is something else o ! If u don't look properly, it seem something else which I don't wanna say. It's looks as if someone is......... Don't want to sound raw.

53. May their soul rest n peace amen.its painful sha such cute kids

54. Itz quite shocking and unfortunate those boyz had to be sacrificed for the stupidity and negligence of the man incharge of da place *SMH*

55. Dese is unacceptable ah! Ah! why reside where such wild animals are kept *kmt* the stupid man should be held responsible and dealt with gravely.

56. HOw tragic,oyibo people and their wahala.♈ would I allow my child to go spend holidays where animals like snakes are kept,he is not suppose to make dat place his resident,now c d out come.my heart bleeds for those kids.#mamaj#

57. ''It's owner''??? so there's a owner that can't handle these rubbish from hurting people? they need to charge the owner to court!!!

58. Me no go gree o.after 12yrs 7yrs and 5yrs.God forbid,but I have neva seen were a python strangle sum1 without eating d person,I can't accept this story.

59. Vry sad newsss... May their souls rest in peace. Amen

60. Is so so sad. I pray this oyibo people will learn their lessons. This Innocent Children have paid the prize.

61. dis is nonsense hw can sum1 kip such danger within his vicinity?nt even 1,bt 2 at d same time hw can d moda cope wit life!4rm chavinci15

62. This is TOO MUCH for me. Sad, sad, sad.

63. May their gentle soul rest in peace,,but i wonder how they will allow rearing of wild animals in a residential area,,even these white people are not too wise afterall.

64. Hmm, O Canada, poor boys.. Even as a resident of Canada, knowing where I come from I fear toy snake not to talk of real ones with poison or no poison. Its quite unfortunate, they find these things attractive...

65. Omg dis is horrible*feel'n sad*R.I.P

66. May God grant their souls eternal peace in his glory and comfort their parents as they go thru this extremely difficult time.

67. God rest their soul but this story no add up so i no blame the criminal charges.
    How can a snake crash in from the ceiling without making noise?
    the crash didnt wake the boys or the owner? was the 'crash' that quiet? and why didnt the boys shout?
    If a snake wraps itself around a prey, it brakes its bones slowly so that it can easily 'eat' the prey. and lets not forget that they are cold to the skin.
    How snake go wrap around you and you no go feel am?
    how can it wrap around the two boys AT THE SAME TIME?
    how can the snake after wrapping itself around the boy then go and hide in a corner?

Nooo, story no add up, except they were already dead.

68. This is a very sad and an unfortunate incident. How could the shop owner not guard the reptile shop so strongly?
    If he really did his homework properly the deaths could have been avoided.

69. I felt so sad when i saw the news may their souls rest in peace

70. I thinks its one thing 2 say d snake came 4rm no where but 2 think dangerous creatures as such are kept in residential area. Its a NO 4 me.

71. omg,they r so cute,may their soul rest in peace,

72. OMG!!!!!
    This is so sad. Poor little children. Mheeen! I bet their parents will be in emotional coma now. May their souls rest in peace!
    Meanwhile, anonymous 8:25pm, park well abeg. What are you feeling like? You are not a detective and you certainly suck at trying to be one. Did you consider that these were very young boys and anacondas are known to strangle large animals like deers and crocs. And its possible that the children's innocence may have drawn them to the snake in the first place or one of them trying to save the other and getting killed too in the process. The fact that they were eaten by the snake even after being killed is something to be pondered upon.

Nevertheless, I feel traumatised as a human being that two little cute innocent boys could dieIin this horrible manner! Lord have mercy!

73. I smell a big fish somewhere. The man probably killed the kids. He may have been molesting them and was scared that they would talk. The facts just don't add up.

74. So unfortunate.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

75. Such a painfull disaster. May their inocent souls rest in peace.

76. Is a pity,may their soul rest in peace.I hate this creature called snake.

77. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    God have mercy oo
    RIP to them oo

Honey Child

78. may dear soul rest in peace

79. Nonye... u r a foooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool. Go nf comme n t in canda at the pet shop.. ode

80. Jesus Christ!!!May their innocent soul rest in peace..

81. I take for oyibo ooooo so this little sweet boys just sacrificed their lives for notin mitcheww RIP dears