Nigerian Blessing Okagbare breaks African Women's 100m record | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 27 July 2013

Nigerian Blessing Okagbare breaks African Women's 100m record

Nigerian sprinter Blessing Okagbare today smashed the African 100m Women's record! She came from the back and stormed through to win in 10.86s, setting a new African record at the London Olympic Anniversary Games. Up Nigeria! Kudos to Blessing...so far Africa's fastest woman!

80 comments:

1. Yeaaa! That's what am talking about.

Go girl!

1. That's good.Once in a while we should be heard for good thing at least. Click on the link to understand your financial future and the financial future of the world. Knowledge is power. http://Cashnize.com/?refcode=30071

2. Thumbs up to blessing......yippee!

3. Now that's a blessing to our country

4. At least one good news coming from nija..... thumps up Blessing

5. Proud of Yah. (OFFICIAL SWAGG said xo. Chicken on a Chain

6. JC NIKAPETRELLI27 July 2013 at 15:55

INTERESTIN

7. Congrats to her,I hope she didn't pull a Tyson gay here.

1. Ode....dnt u pessimist see any good in anytin?

8. At last!!! Something positive in recent days!

9. Congrat to her, I hope she is keeping it clean.

10. She was last in d olympics nw ist in africa...african champion aka local champion lol...she try sha @least one good tin comin frm naija.

1. Who told u it was a local competition.this is the diamond league so pls gt ur facts rite b4 commenting or shut ! Fu*k up

2. She's also a long jumper and d 2nd best for that matter

3. Sharap jobless man abi woman. Blessing is good, I mean super good! She did well all through the olympics till the finals were she had a muscle pull during the race. Infact she passed the olympic gold medalist like 1 month before olympics. All you do is seat down and castigate people.like you have a work. Rolls eyes

11. Thumbs gurl, we proud of u!!!!!!!

12. I don't pay any attention to athletes. Somewhere down d line they test positive to banned substances. Congrats anyway,hopefully this will not be the case with Blessing. I am still recovering from d Lance Armstrong scandal.

1. My dear oooo,no b say u tlk. I'd rather hear they were 2nd place then l8r recalled n given 1st position like they jst did for d 2000 olympics nija representatives,than 2 hear we were 1st then bla bla bla,the position is shamefully taken frm us. But anyways congrats 2 her,I believe w won't get any negetive report :)

13. K. Congrats 2 her n Nigeria , but where she dey self during d real Olympics?

1. She dey for last position. She be local champion!

2. Why so much hate? U need to purge urself. U r hiding under an alias and u beef someone who has done something for her country.wat av u done for ur life lately,apart from hating.mofo

3. Idiot calling someone loxcal xchampion. Jobless fool. Bitter soul .atleast she scaled to olympics final. What can you do?waste of oxygen. If you don't like ha go and die

14. Congratulations Big B! U've done our country proud!

15. Good news.
    If only the government would support more aspiring athletes,I'm sure there are a million others just like her,perhaps even better.

16. Chai,y is she this flat??no breast?

17. N she's a Diamond!!! Nice 1 gurl!!!! Congrats!!!!

18. She just broke it again. 10.79

19. Well done sister keep d flag flying

20. Just heard she broke her own record 10.79secs. Way 2 go girl

21. Wow nice 1 blessing bravo ......follow a new blog somtookoene.blogspot.com

22. Nice one blessing bravo nija and blessing .....follow somtookoene.blogspot.com.....Comment oooo

23. Blessing is an exceptionally brilliant athlete. Keep it up. Olusola Oso. http://www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com/

24. She no wan make them laugh her twice lol...Good job gurl....

25. Whaaoo now better that in finals with 10.79 well done girl.

26. Another record in the finals with 10.79. beat that...

27. I guess there were no witches there.

28. judith hanrankis27 July 2013 at 19:00

wow,at last,all the best sha

29. Yea ....good thing for Nigeria.

30. This lady is really fast, i have seen her run several occasions am not surprised

31. @Month r u an ode? She an athlete 4 cryin out loud

32. At least it not about Hot body or bikini or runs girl or break up but for achieving something doing something positive. Other girls should learn from her Runs is not the only way forward

33. UPDATE !!!! She ran an even faster time in the finals of the 100m at the same event. She ran a time of 10.79 secs . She broke her the African record twice in one day. previous record held by Gloria Alozie

34. Congrats to me. So proud and about time to. Let's go to the worlds and win.

1. How many worlds do you have? Olodo!

35. Good tidings.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

36. Thts cool... Well Naija babes dey fast usually
    ~Ð great anonymous!

37. Blessing have made us proud, she deserve recognition by GEJ as encouragement to others.

38. Yaaah! Congrats Miss B, so happy 4u

39. Tnkx Girl, proud of ya. Anon 7:54Pm wat do u mean exactly??????

40. Yeah team okagbare oya na let's go iya mi gbayi

41. Hmmm Blessing Nice one!.bcos at the just concluded Olympic games na Last u carry $ u be Warri girl *Warri no the carry last*

1. Warri dey carry last for the world stage.

42. To dat bastard/imbecile who asked why she came last @ d olympics were u blind? Didn't u see she was injured? Going into dat final, she was d fastest in d semi's nd everyone thought she was gonna win and stella diz is the 3rd time she'll b breaking the record... Congrats blessing josephine okagbare, congrats Nigeria and congrats to the Delta state Govt cuz they've supported her.

43. Sounded a bit american though during her interview.

44. @Anonymous, July 27, 2013 at 11.30 PM- you fool! She went to school in the United States and is a graduate of the University of Texas!

45. madam linda...abeg get ur facts right...she ran 10.79s...not 10.86s u are reporting

46. Thumbs up girl, THNKS for making NAIJA proud. I just hope you came out clean.

47. Please can we also add that she beat Fraser Pryce from Jamaica the current world champion. That girl is going places, she only needs a good coach to help her with starting her races well!

48. Blessing used 2 b my neighbour in adidi road sapele,delta state oooo,I'm soo soo proud of her,she started in sapele township stadium nw she's breaking record in london...bt ur papa house still dey scattered for adidi road oooo,sorry 4 d man,even if he nor train u still sorry 4 am...(Nelly)linda post my comment

49. Kudos to u Aunty Blessing. I love dis news. Dis is what i wnt to b hearing abt Nigerians,am tired of hearing evil reports abt Nigerians. Nigerians should b known 4 something good instead of bad news all over d World

50. Kudos to u Aunty Blessing. I love dis news. Dis is what i wnt to b hearing abt Nigerians,am tired of hearing evil reports abt Nigerians. Nigerians should b known 4 something good instead of bad news all over d World

51. All u Pessimist y can't u appreciate 1 gud tin. Always seing bad tins frm naija. U guys are the 1z encouraging oda countries to look down on our dear country- Naija...

52. congrats to her, but 10.79 sec is slow for a 100 meter race. I was running that in high school hahaha.

53. @BLOGLORD, pls go and get a job. stupid house wife your husband and kids are there crying for food,u are suppose to be in the kitchen and not jumping from one blog to the other. aunty ode
    ((monic))

54. wow,dat?z an excellent performance

55. Nice one sister. congratulations

56. Welldone Blessing. We nigerians are proud of you. It's only a matter of time, you will soon become the world best!

57. Welldone Blessing. We nigerians are proud of you. It's only a matter of time, you will soon become the world best!

58. Welldone Blessing. We nigerians are proud of you. It's only a matter of time, you will soon become the world best!

59. Welldone Blessing. We nigerians are proud of u. It's only a matter of time. With consistent hardwork, i see u becoming the world best!