Professor Chinua Achebe goes home | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 23 May 2013

Professor Chinua Achebe goes home

Prof. Chinua Achebe was buried this afternoon at his country home in Ogidi, Idemili North LGA of Anambra state. His burial was attended by president Goodluck Jonathan, Ghana’s President John Mahama, all governors of Eastern states (minus Sullivan Chime of Enugu state), governor Emmanuel Iduaghan of Delta state and members of the international community of writers.

See more photos after the cut...

The son and wife of late Prof Achebe

89 comments:

1. RIP Prof.Chinua....a legend is gone

1. Dear Achebe, Plz, If you see Ojukwu, tell him that his brothers and sisters are experiencing another Pogrom in Kano. Tell Awolowo that Nigeria is preparing for another war. Tell Zik that those things that made him cross the ocean 50 times seeking for peace is looming again. Tell Yar'Adua that the amnesty he granted is causing wahala. Tell Tafewa Balewa that his scions are carrying weapons against Nigeria. Obviously you may not see Abacha, but if you see any one that will see him, tell him that Almustapha is still in kirikiri prison and of course Alameyesieha has been released. Tell MKO Abiola that another June 12 is looming and tell him that Nigeria's officials have extended to be convicted criminals who are looting the nation dry. Don't be disappointed on Nigeria dear Achebe just that THINGS HAVE FALLEN APART, Nigeria is NO LONGER AT EASE and THE ARROW OF GOD IS NOW POINTING at NIGERIA. Because of out troubles, though we have had A MAN OF THE PEOPLE like U; all we can say is dat once; THERE WAS A COUNTRY.

2. @ Law A.C I realy luv ur write up.....good work...nice one.R.I.P.Achebe....

2. Replies
    1. Idiot. If you stopped sucking white Scottish dick you'd know, dumb prick

2. Am not suprise u asking,kids like u should be watching disney channel and not allowed 2 b on dis blog.rat!

3. What do you mean 'he was'?' It's becoming more and more evident how ignorant you can be. They say if you want to hide information from a fool, put it a book. It's clear you never opened a book in your jobless life. Ode! Can't believe this!!!

3. The king has rested..love u ma hero

4. Wow! May his soul rest in peace.

5. Rest in peace prof.

6. An Icon is gone! Go and rest with the lord sir! Amen!

7. Adieu prof.may his soul continue to rest in d bossom of thy Lord.amen

8. May his soul rest in peace!

9. rest in peace great hero

usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg

10. Fitting burial

11. Naa nke oma,nwa amuru gbaa egbe.

12. wow wat a befitting burial 4 our hero even d gr8 ijele(masquerede) was dere.

Awww! y did i miss it!

13. Linda dis is my first time of commenting on ur post. For the past 4years my boyfriend has introduced half of my school to reading ur blog. I wish you can just help him connect him coz u r his role model. He owns www.ghanacrunch.com. Www.edulinkghana.com. We school in koforidua eastern region in ghana. But he is a nigerian. His email is info@edulink.com

14. Wow! What a benifiting way to bury an iroko....Adieu sir. The sons head tho.

15. An Icon is gone! May his soul rest in peace . Amen

16. Achebe's life and after life tallies with the saying that "the renown that beauties and riches confer is fleeting and frail;mental excellence is a splendid and lasting possession". His intelligence has commanded nations to his feet.see how they gathered.he indeed left an undying legacy and he was truly a man of the people.RIP sir.

17. RIP SIR! Grtest of all.....

18. Ga nke oma!!!Dee Chinua!!!

19. RIP Proff. Chinua Achebe...May ur blossom soul rest in Peace.My prayer is dat all de achievment &legacy u left in our great country NIGERIA &de whole Universe will still remains.

ADIEU PROFF...........!!!

20. RIP Proff. Chinua Achebe...May ur blossom soul rest in Peace.My prayer is dat all de achievment &legacy u left in our great country NIGERIA &de whole Universe will still remains.

ADIEU PROFF.........!!!

21. RIP great one bt pls one last favour 4rm nigerians...Dear ACHEBE
    please if u see Ojukwu,tell him dat his
    brothers and sisters are expecting another
    pogrom in kano.Tell Awolowo dat nigeria is
    preparing for another war.Tell Zik dat
    those things dat made him cross d ocean 50
    times
    seeking 4 peace are coming again.Tell
    Yar'Adua dat d amnesty he granted is
    causing
    wahala.Tell Tafawa Bellewa dat his
    scions are carring guns against
    nigeria.Obvious ly u
    will
    not see Abacha, but if u see anyone dat sees
    him,tell him dat Almustapha is still in
    kirikiri
    prison,tell him dat Alemeyesieha has been
    realsed. Tell MKO Abiola dat another june
    12 is
    looming,and tell him dat nigerian officials
    has
    extended to convicted criminals who are
    looting d nation dry. Dont be disappointed in
    nigeria dear Achebe,its just dat THINGS
    HAS
    FALLEN APART, nigeria is NO LONGER
    AT EASE
    and d ARROW OF GOD is now pointing
    seriously at nigeria because of THE
    TROUBLE
    WITH NIGERIA, even though we've had MAN
    OF D
    PEOPLE like u,INDEED THERE WAS A
    COUNTRY......
    So Help Us God!!!

22. Things has final fall apart...RIP

23. Things has final fall apart........RIP

24. Chinua Achebe, jee nke oma

obyazike.blogspot.co.uk

25. Gnyt prof...R.I.P

26. My inspiration,and legend..La NkE oma!!

27. just wondering how they got there because the roads are quite bad

1. Private jet tins

2. Wen was d last time u went dere...dear d roads r quite good.

28. RIP our hero.

29. Prof. Achebe, we are proud you left Africa better than you met it. You were a trailblazer; you gave Africa and Africans a voice and 'brought us to the world'. Because of you, the world got to know we can also conjugate words that make profound meaning. Your good and great words and works will continue to speak for you long after this day. RIP, my hero! RIP.

30. u lived a life of purpose.hope 2 meet u sumday bt nt yet.RIP

31. RIP my literary legend..tanks for telling our stories to d world.you will b forever remembered..Ann#

32. Yea hope dats ijele the great masquerade. RIP prof. Chinua Achebe.

33. Gaa ije gi nke oma Chinua.... U're indeed a rare gem!

34. THE FLUTE IS SILENT

(For Chinua Achebe)

The eagle has flown away
    From the Iroko
    Away from poisoned arrows
    Of blind hunters
    That shoot at every sound.

The great Iroko tree
    That sheltered birds of all sizes
    Has collapsed
    Uprooted from the roots
    By a whirlwind from the past

The diviner is gone
    That one that divined for the deaf
    In the land of evil dancers
    Where to remain still
    Is seen as madness

The Great Sea
    That washed away layers
    Of white smokescreen
    To unmask the beauty
    Of our gleaming blackness

Ijele has taken the last dance
    And left the stage
    The arena is clear
    For small masquerades
    With shrill voices

A great tragedy has come upon us
    The flutist is no more
    The flute is silent
    But the sound of the flute
    Is still floating in the wind.

(culled from SHE TOUCHED MY FACE - A Collection of Poems)

35. Great man gone,am next!

36. If Achebe were watching his casket covered with green-white-green, how would he handle it?

1. Learn English den i ll ask him

37. RIP great one.
    If you never read any of his works and you are busy writing RIP and commenting, bow your head in shame this minute

38. Goodnight to a true Nigerian. Indeed one of d leaders Nigeria never had

39. make we rest with chinua achebe shit nau, na him go first die???

40. Rest in peace Prof. Achebe. You were a great icon.

41. Dike Anaaaaa RIP Nwokeoma. But seriously something is wrong with whoever GEJ Fashion designer is, all the time they will always wear him over size things. did u see his red cap?? or did Ayim (SGF) borrow him his own cap?

42. An Hero is gone.RIP Prof

43. He truly deserve this honour..
    Honestly, I felt his impact in the literary circle than the much acclaimed prof. Wole soyinka
    Achebe deserved the nobel prize clinched by soyinka... I really have not seen any notable work or achievement by soyinka to endear him a Nobel laureate..he merely make comments to get publicity to himself...

Make tons of cash on the internet...
    www.grabthisinformation.blogspot.com

1. Dnt let sentiments cloud ur judgment,bid him farewell nd rest your case.

44. RIP d great one!

45. there was a country,then d arrow of God struck,nw things hv fallen apart n the country is no longer at ease....Rip ma hero

46. Not a politician, never a Governor....A HERO he is..U live on papa Prof. Achebe.

47. RIP sir, greet ♍Ɣ sweet mum

48. The only true respects these leaders can pay Achebe is to address and attempt resolving the issues he raised for rejecting Nigeria's highest national honours twice. They should all stop being hypocrites.

"That's all!"- copyright acknowledgement to Mr '...my Oga @ the top'.

Nice weekend people

49. Rest in peace, sir. A true literary legend!!

nenisnaija.blogspot.com/2013/05/mango-camwood-glowing-skin.html

50. An icon and legend has died;will b greatly missed! RIP SIR

51. farewell baby !!!! God be with you

52. I salute you my Great Prof, Chinualumogu Albert Achebe ! Nnam ukwu, you lived well, you fulfilled Destiny ! I am extremely proud of you, my Hero ! Daddy, naa n'udo. Your Legacy lives forever !

53. Juliet Igboekwe, the air head, the main Onitsha to Enugu road had one side patched up just before Christmas. Probably for the season. The other side was undergoing rehabilitation and the old road is still fairly passable and may have been repaired for the burial. That would be the least the state could have done for the great Professor.
    Kena,
    Lake Forest.

54. Ezi nna ka ora nma, u hav left dis wicked world bt u'l b greatly missed. U re a rare gem and ur impact wil be felt among generations to come. Sleep well.

55. THE EXIT OF A LEGEND RIP SIR

56. Rip sir * crying* u lived a good life. We miss u.

57. RIP my hero,we luv U̶̲̥̅̊ but God luvs U̶̲̥̅̊ most.ADIEU Nnukwu Nwoke,ADIEU PAPA,ADIEU d great iroko.

58. Umana The Oracle24 May 2013 at 21:50

@Victor Osakwe. Was it too hard for you to just pay tribute to Pa Achebe and leave Wole Soyinka out of it?

59. Rest in peace Pa Achebe.

60. Mr Victor Osakwe. Life is not a competition. Chinua Achebe was a great story teller, Wole Soyinka is a great poet. There is really no need to feel bad if he won the noble prize and Achebe did not. It does not in any way diminish Achebe's achievement as a writer.

''Some of us poets are not exactly poets. We live sometimes beyond that''.
    -Wole Soyinka.

61. Nna anyi gaa nke oma, You will be greatly missed by all. Adieu Sir, Chinua Achebe

62. Nice weblog right here! Additionally your website so much
    up very fast! What host are you using? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink for your host?
    I desire my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

Feel free to surf to my webpage: New LeBron Shoes