Photos: Chinua Achebe's body arrives Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 May 2013

Photos: Chinua Achebe's body arrives Nigeria

The body of late literary icon, Prof. Chinua Achebe arrived Nnamdi Azikiwe International airport Abuja, earlier today May 21, where it was received by government officials. His body was then flown to Enugu aboard a private plne en-route his hometown, Ogidi, Anambra state, where it was received by Achebe's elder brother, Chief Augustine Achebe, other family members and state govt officials.

He will be buried Thursday May 23. See more photos after the cut...

153 comments:

1. LINDA I NOTICED THAT YOU REFUSED TO POST ONE OF MY COMMENTS,
      MADE ME THINK OF THE 'Blacklist.' HOWEVER, FOR THE SAKE OF MY IDOL CHINUA ACHEBE, POST THIS. 'UMUOFIA KWENU!' MR CHINUA ACHEBE YOU WILL DEFINITELY BE MISSED AND THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE HUMOUR IN YOUR BOOKS AND THE INSPIRATION, YOU WILL BE IN MY HEART, MY MAMA's AND MILLIONS...

THANK YOU SO MUCH...

2. PAPA, YOU DESERVE THE HONOUR, TRUE ICON, TRUE POET,WRITER, ALL IN ALL!

UMUOFIA KWENU! UMUOFIA KWENU! UMUOFIA KWENU!? YAA!!!

YOU TRULY ARE THE BEST, PAPA!

THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!

2. R.I.P CHINUA.. WE WONT EVER FORGET YOU.

LINDA TELL LIB READERS TO MEET SINGLES AROUND THEM
    BBPINDATE.COM

1. Mtchww we hav enof singles around...dan to go online n meet sex predators n aristos n paedos n perverts

3. The grave is indeed full of indispensible men. Charles Degaulle, u sure knew what u were saying. RIP

4. Saying RIP to a rare gem to Nigeria and indeed Africa!

5. Wat a great honor to an icon R.I.P

6. Daddy rest in d bossom of d lord,till we meet Τ̲̅ȍ part no more.

7. Is this actually necessary? So without all this show it cant be said he was honoured even in death? Nigerians just love a whole lot of drama and showbiz, I can only imagine how much has gone into this preparation, yet the living are there yelling and screaming to be fed and provided for.

1. Aside having froggy eyes, do you have any other thing in your head? Especially the gray matter called brain? If you don't celebrate heroes and role models both in life and death, how do you encourage the younger generation to emulate them?

2. when your father who has suffered so much for you dies...put him in a casket and drop him lyk dat gul....it's called respect..maybe you don't even know him.....an icon of a country...jeez girl seems you dont have a brain!

3. She obviously doesn't av a brain. She goat! Wit dose dirty eyes of urs. Jst look at wot ur saying, after u say ur educated? SMH! Ur a bloody illiterate

8. rest in peace to an icon

share your US visa experience here
    http://usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg

9. Another one of intellectual repute bites the dust. Aitftc?

10. RIP, hmmmnnnn ground dey chop person

11. A great man indeed

12. Prof. Achebe is from Ogidi in Anambra state, not Enugu. May he continually r.i.p, amen.

13. here lies our prolific and iconic writer,the dictionary himself....ka mkpuru obi ya zuo ike na ndokwa

14. I Wish i had Met Him before he Died. God Will Grant Him Eternal Rest. I Love You Pa Chinualumogu Albert Achebe

15. May your soul RIP good man.God bless you.

16. may his soul rest in perfect peace

17. I Wish i Had Met Him Before He died. May God Grant him eternal Rest. I Love You Pa Chinualumogu Albert Achebe. Rest in Peace.

18. Nnooo! Chinualum ogu Achebe.
    chi ewelu ututu jie.
    Naa nke ome ugo ebelu na oji na Ogidi.

1. Oh shoot where's the 'Like' button!???? Pheeww

19. May his gentle soul rest in Peace.

20. Things has indeed fallen apart!!
    Our hero!!!the pot that held the clay(education)!
    Jeee nke oma..

21. Rest in peace.

22. RIP. My icon..just can't believe there won't be any other book from u. *sad face*

23. Chinua achebe a nigerian actor,may ur soul RIP.

24. May his soul rip

25. May his soul continue 2 rest in peace

26. May his gentle soul rest in peace.

27. Rest in peace,prof frm mr odika

1. mr odika, igbo man u think say dem wan share money? Rip sir.

2. OMG.... Things have fallen apart oooooo CHINUA ACHEBE AN HERO, A FATHER,A GREAT WRITER,THE SPECIAL ONE,we will miss u RIP.

28. So Sad,rest in peace ...

29. RIP 2 A true national legend. No oda tribe can ever produce such A legend

30. Another colossus has left.rip chinua

31. Great man.y all dis swag?c peter obi,d man evry burial his there spending. Our state money.Achebe was a simple man.he even refused an award cos he felt Nigeria needs help.Evry1 scout 4 his last book ,a true tale of our country called 'A country' in stores now.

1. Not "a country" buh "there was a country".

32. Chinua Acehebe will be turning in his coffin right now because he would never have wanted a state burial by the federal republic of Nigeria. it should be noted that chinua Achebe never considered himself a Nigerian and kicked against the sustained amalgamation of the old British protectorates. He connotes these thought quite clearly in his final work and was also very vocal on the secessionist side of the Nigerian debate till death.

33. Adieu the great novelist

34. Icon! May his soul rest in perfect peace.

35. An icon indeed......RIP

36. He still remains one of the best writers in african history!Farewell Pa Chinua Achebe!May God console ur family!

37. Rosie Said.......Cheiiii",A man of the People" and,Things fall Apart". You will be greatly missed,you were truly a great Nigerian and a literary giant.May your gentle soul rest in peace,Sir.

38. RIP prof Achebe,, lemme me carry on 4rm wer u stopped.

39. Rosie Said.......Cheiiii",A man of the People" and,Things fall Apart". You will be greatly missed,you were truly a great Nigerian and a literary giant.May your gentle soul rest in peace,Sir.

40. A great icon of our great nation, he will always be remembered,R.I.P Ebubedike...

41. Wat a great man indeed, may ur gentle soul rest in d bösom of d lord

42. May ur gentle soul RIP sir

43. A life well lived, an honour well deserved. RIP great Icon.
    OBY

44. A life well lived, an honour well deserved. RIP great Icon.
    OBY

45. He will be greatly missed! An icon.

46. Rest in Peace

47. Rip Our Great Son.......

48. may his gentle soul rest in peace

49. May his soul rest in perfect peace Amen.

50. RIP great Igbo literary icon.

51. Things fall apart..my first ever africsn literature book..love u mr achebe..my hero

52. RIP pride of African Literature!!Ur a rare geM.*thingz have fallen apart* 4rm Davido

53. The centre cannit hold

54. Welcome home the great iroko

55. The late Icon is from Ogidi in Anambra state not Enugu state.

56. This is what happens when you die great!!!
    R.I.P Prof!!!

57. Adieu, Chinua Achebe, illustrious son of Africa! You came, you saw, and you conquered! Sleep on ... Beloved.

58. The Father of African Literature, Rest In Peace. Enjoy eternity in the hereafter, while you also live on through your works on earth. RIP our icon.

59. †ђξ African Renaisance has yet lost anoda iconic legend who has so impacted it. May †ђξ soul of dis great African literary elixir and true Patroit find Repose in †ђξ here after as he sojourns bk to his creator. U wil always live on in our consiousness cuz Ʋ left impecable legacies dat wil stand for all times

60. He shoulda been wrapped in Biafra's colors. Lol.

61. †ђξ African Renesaince has yet lost one of its.iconic legend who has so impacted it. May †ђξ soul of this literary african elixir find repose in †ђξ here ater.prof u wil always live on in our consiousnes cuz Ʋ were truly c∕̴Ɩ patriot and left impecable legacies dat wil lastd for all times.Adieu

62. Rest in peace Achebe. U created sometin wif ur life. U enriched us all. I love ur book "things fall apart"best of all ur works. I really appreciate ur last book, it is a classic history. Thanks for holding on to life to see dis work to completion.

63. Bia Linda pa chinua's hometown isn't Enugu
    Welcome Pa Chinua as u commence ur final jony 2 mother earth

64. some wer born great,some achieved greatness...in all,its good to b great...Rest ur soul d great one of literature.

65. May his soul continue to rest in peace. he was a great writer and a great man!

66. RIP Chinualumogu Achebe... Laa nke oma!

67. Achebe indeed! an Icon of our time...am happy I lived in same generation as u.glad I came close 2 u via ur books wich inspired & changed my ideologies.proud 2 be a literary student. Rest on SIR!

68. Live on!!! The great Iroko tree.....

69. Rest in peace Chinua Achebe..May your soul rest in peace....

70. Naijadeltapikin... RIP pa chinua acehebe

71. A literary icon is gone,things av finally fallen apart,d center cannot hold........tanks 4 givin us chiamaranda.

72. A true icon...RIP

73. Rip Chinua Achebe,ur work wil 4eva liv in our hearts nd to generations 2 cum!

74. He is irreplaceable. we will certainly miss him. RIP Achebe. The Lord is with your soul. Farewell.

75. Rip sir.u r a true legend

76. ...the greatest and the best African writer of his time and all times..May his soul rest in peace.

77. RIP sir....u will greatl be missed.

78. La nu'do sir.....

79. Continu 2 rest well in d bossom of our Lord sir.:::::::

80. I think it will be unfair to Nigerians, whose skin color and image Achebe's recognition and brand represents are officially kept off from the burial activities.

It is simply a celebration of a live well spent or well lived. Nothing more. And i as a Nigerian participate in this burial through the legitimate Government of my country today as i am not close by to visit Ogidi.
    We should also recognize that in our culture, hundreds and thousands of uninvited Guests come to mourn any person dying in their communities especially if the person made even a little impact to their lives.Achebe is therefore a brand of Nigeria that Government which represents the commoner must find a fitting and responsible way of celebrating on our behalf. Ifeanyichukwu

81. RIP sir, u shall be missed.

82. A rare gem has gone. May his soul and d souls of all d faithful departed rest in peace, Amen!

83. A rare gem has gone. May his soul and d souls of all d faithful departed rest in peace, Amen!

84. Rip prof ACHEBE. Ur a legend indeed. U will forever be rememberd n respected in dis generation n d generations to come.RIP d grtest writer ever lived in our continent. "Tear rollin down my eyes"

85. Rip prof ACHEBE. Ur a legend indeed. U will forever be rememberd n respected in dis generation n d generations to come.RIP d grtest writer ever lived in our continent. "Tear rollin down my eyes"

86. its a great honour to a great man.ur indeed a legend hero.Rest in peace pa Chinualumogu Achebe

87. Kai, i dnt know wat to say, i pray dat God almighty will see him through our eyes and accept his soul Amen, que son ame repose toujour en paix, Amen.

88. Rest In Peace great one...

89. Papa naa n'udo.... Ur memories will continue to dwell in us from generation to generation.

Jim Douglass

90. This comment has been removed by the author.

91. Rip papa d greatest and best writer in africa u were in did an icon may ur soul rest in perfect peace amen. Negerians do not celebrates dere icons is only wen dey are dead too bad

92. Oh my heavenly father, accept him in your bossom. Adieu Pa chinualumogu Achebe

93. E no easy.it good to be an icon and make achievement,Achebe will always be remember RIP

94. @Anon 6:08 PM. You are a fool. Sincerely.

95. THE FATHER OF AFRICAN LITERATURE...RIPP, SIR.

96. R.I.P Chinua Achebe,our prolific writer.u were a rare gem and you gave our country a good image overseas.you showed to the world dat smth good could still cm out of dis country.u knew ur onions.Continue to rest in God's bossom Sir,ur Memory lingers on

97. adebayor-eedris21 May 2013 at 22:07

R.I.P to Y̶̲̥̅̊o̶̲̥̅̊и̣̣ .....dat a picture dat inspires me 2 move further...I want 2 better dan him.....R.I.P may ur so be in peace

98. Anonymous 6:08 PM.What is the problem with you? Must you bring tribalism into this? Was it too hard for you to just pay tribute and fade out? God Almighty, created all tribes. He is the God of all not just Igbos. There are great men-Icons, from every tribe and nation.

99. A literary icon, a tribal jingoist, rip

Knucklehead

100. Maureen I see you oh. Looking nice. Rest in Peace prof!

101. Nigeria miss a great man may his soul rest in peace

102. Achebe will not be happy seeing his remain being covered with nigeria flag, Respect his principle.

103. Eeyah, wellcome home Sir, R.i.p, is true dat u have gone but u will never be 4geted

104. You shall 4ever be remembered .R.I.P

105. I Wish they can do a scientific brain transplant thereby removing patient Jonathan's brain and replace it with his.

106. May His soul rest in perfect Peace. Amen

107. Sweetheart, go back and read what Linda wrote and afterwards google the word "En-route". Then u can comment again.

108. Rest in Peace Ide Ogidi. Ada Ide n'ekene. You will be greatly missed

109. There was a great man! THE GREMLIN HAS SPOKEN!

110. Rest in peace sir.

111. I am proud of Chinua Achebe. I am proud to be Igbo. Papa je nke oma. Till we meet to part no more. God bless you.

112. rest in peace sir, you'll be sourly missed

113. Rest in peace sir. You deserve a state burial. People like you are born once in a lifetime. I also like the way the Ibos are repping here. He was OUR hero 'smiles'. A true statesman.

114. R.I.P Chinua Achebe, your work has inspired and would continue to inspire many in ours and future generations.

115. A peaceful journey to you my hero!!..naba na ndokwa!!!!!!!

116. A true hero!!!!!!!!!!!

117. GREAT IGBO MAN

118. THE LOSS OF GOLD IS GREAT, THE LOSS OF CHINUA IS GREATER. THERE WAS A COUNTRY, AND U ARE THE ENBODIEMENT OF WHAT THE COUNTRY STANDS FOR. I LOVE YOU FOR MAKING ME HAVE AN IDENTITY, BUT GOD LOVES YOU MOST. RIP PAPA, WE ARE COMING TO BE WITH YOU THERE.

119. The coffin should have been covered in Biafran flag. He was a true ambassador of 'that country'! No pun intended. He was indeed a great story teller.

120. @TWITS. African literature was already in existence before he was born. May his soul rest in peace. Amen.

121. things has completely fallen apart... RIP

122. Exit of a rare germ. Write us more book 4rm d underword we would patronize

123. RIP Nnukwu Oga!