Ekiti State deputy governor, Funmilayo Olayinka, dies of cancer at 52 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 6 April 2013

Ekiti State deputy governor, Funmilayo Olayinka, dies of cancer at 52

The Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Mrs Funmilayo Olayinka, has died of cancer. The 52 year old banker turned politician lost her battle with cancer today in Lagos. She's survived by her husband and three kids. May her soul rest in peace...Amen.

162 comments:

1. This cancer of a thing should take a break! Beautiful lady! Rest In Peace!

1. Τ̅ђe rate @ which ppl die of cancer is alarming.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. I think what Prince Jobless wrote is not that bad, only the way of presentation is casual especially at this trying time for the family of the Dept gov of Ekiti state.

May her soul rest in peace!

4. D toils and turmour in dat state sha...1 sad news 2 d oda. RIP MA

5. Cancer is one of the worst things that's happened to mankind.
      Plz ladies(and guys too) its always advisable to check up atleast once a year. Ever bothered why even the rich with all their money die of cancer? Sometimes its late detection especially cervical cancer(2nd most common) in sexual active women, which does not give any symptom until it's gotten to late Stage 3 or 4.But if detected early can easily be treated and same applies to Breast cancer which is the No.1 killer. Please and please the screening is so cheap and in some places free. Let's not die of ignorance

6. Hello Debbie can you please help with places we ladies can do the cervical cancer test in lagos? And how much pls. Thanks God bless u

2. Cancer is a killer disease. Nigerians should be careful cause of their ignorant life-styles.

1. Why are you so insensitive?? Oh my God, you are so callous. I can't believe this... May you never weep over a family member. I just lost an aunt and you have the guts to say this? It shall never be well with you.

2. Prince of evil, Mr jobless..u are callous, ignorant, insensitive and demonic. Apologise for this statement cos if u have any fear of God in you, you would never make light of sickness or death. You are a disgrace to the womb that gave birth to you. And I pray you stop this rubbish before it gets too late for you.

3. This guy ȋ̝̊̅ƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇ soooo brainless

4. U guys should pls give him a break..he is clearly a child trying to pass down his opinion the way he knows best.
      He is probably trying to say a lot of people take medical checkups for granted and they never catch the cancer till its really bad.

5. @ anonymous 9:38 Please stop being soo religious..why do u have to bring God into this.. Yest u have the guts to be sooo insultive..why not have the fear of God in your first and take back your insults..its soo unnecessary because he hasn't said anything that is to much.

6. But really, we Nigerians have to take this cancer issue more seriously. We take it too likely!!

7. What he said is actually the truth. Do you want to see more people lose their lives to cancer??

8. Seriouly, what did this guy say that is wrong now??? Nawa ooooo. Be like sum people cum here just for trouble

9. @anonymous 11:03 its not what he said.. its how he said it. Why say Nigeria no with their ignorant lifestyles.. so was madam ignorant or all the other thousands of people that lost their lives to this disease ignorant.. and were they only Nigerians. Prince Jobless you are the ignorant fellow here. Hope you drown in your bile of hate, ure obviously a bitter and frustrated individual, who feels bad cos u feel like a nobody. Jesus loves you even though no one probably does.

10. Anon 9.27, 9.38, 11.58 and others, pls relax. All the dude was trying to say was that people should me more attentive to their health. Cancer doesn't come in a day. It starts as something small and years later, it kills. I feel Prince Jobless was trying to say that Nigerians generally are ignorant when it comes to health issues considering what we are exposed to on a daily basis. May her soul RIP. Amen

3. Oh no! Sad sad sad! May her soul Rest in Peace!

4. Ehyah!!may her gentle soul rest in peace amen.

5. May her soul rest in peace.Amen

6. May her soul RIP......Amen

7. Wat a loss; May her Soul RIP and May God give the family the fortitude to bear her loss. May God be with the remaining of us.

8. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

9. OMG!!! may her soul rest in peace. so sad!

10. rest in peace olayinka

11. a great woman goes home......sleep well

12. May her gentle soul RIP

13. Replies
    1. May her soul rest in peace.

14. So sad....May her soul & d souls of faiuthful departed, through d mercy of God,rest in peace.

15. Eyaaaaaaa! Am first yayyyyyy

1. How stupid can u be??somebody just died and u r "yaaying" over ur stupid God forsaken comment.oya collect biscuit na..ode!

2. Wats up wit †ђȋ̝̊ṣ̥ first τ̲̅ȍ comment of A̶̲̥̅̊ thing?

3. You are so sick!
      Someone died and all u are happy about is that ure first!
      Get ready cos where ure going is hot,very hot!

Insensitive cow

4. Madness doesn't start wen u run around d street, it starts wen u don't kw wat 2 say @ d rite time u insensitive idiot!

5. Gigantic putrid a-hole!!!

6. I dont blame all these pple that come here to type 'first to comment' at the wrong time and for the wrong reasons. It shows how childish their brains are. Come to think of it, this blogsite is now so full of kids with shallow minds. they refresh every second and comment rubbish all in the bid to be the first regardless of the news at hand.
      RIP madam, rest in the bosom of the Lord.

16. May she rest in peace...

17. Oh no...May her soul rest in peace, this is so shocking and sad.

18. May her soul rest in peace

19. may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace, amen.

20. RIP Mrs, such a sad way to die

21. may her soul resz in peace. it seems ds tb joshua prophecies for ds year is comin TRUE. HE IS A REAL MAN OF GOD

22. Woow, Linda you are so fast. This woman died a while ago. RIP

23. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace >Amen

24. Will miss u Aunty Funmi. May your gentle soul rest in peace.

25. May her soul RIP. Amin

26. I thought I was first! *tears*

1. Are u mad?

2. Dnt worry u are the 1st...among the idiots!

3. First ko, last ni. Lunatic.

4. (S)He is Surely a mad fool

27. May the soul of this wonderful woman rest in God's perfect peace .. you will be greatly missed

28. what a great los.may ur soul rest in perfect peace.

29. RIP ma'am... How sad. I pray that God grants her family the fortitude to bear the loss.

30. Whaoooooo may her soul rest in peace

31. Sapele Babe in Lagos6 April 2013 at 21:18

OMG! RIP

32. May her soul rest in perfect peace....no wonder her boss gov.fayemi hurriedly left d venue of d vanguard personality award event @ d eko hotel some minutes ago..........

33. chai. beautiful woman. soo sad.

34. May she rest in peace she was such a lovely woman.

35. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

36. We luv u but God loves u more,RIP Ma

37. Eh yah beautiful woman,rest in peace

38. RIP my DG #sad face#

39. *sighs*May God rest her soul and also free us of this killer disease

40. May her gentle soul rest in peace! Lord have mercy.

41. What is going on in this country... E bi like say baba God don vex....

check my blog www.multigist.com

42. Just seeing the breaking news on STV. Governor Fayemi was still at the Vanguard Man of the year award to honour Rotimi amechi. Immediately I saw the news flash, I just knew that was why Fayemi left the ceremony before it ended.

May Her soul rest in perfect peace

43. Adieu,may your soul rest with the lord,Amen

44. Nigeria should enlighten ppl on Cancer awareness. these things cld be identified on time. lost my aunt to cancer too. may her sole rest in peace

DPTV | New Music Videos, Premieres, Concerts and Original Shows

45. @anon 9:10pm, download brain, if it is expensive, cancer is not a laughing matter.Respect the dead for once.

46. Wat a loss...I remember her well during those days of My NYSC. In ekiti..which pdp rigged in favour of dat short guy. Was an electoral officer then. May soul Ripp.

47. May her Soul Rest In Peace

48. Omg lord have mercy,no more death nau such a beautiful lady,she was an epitome of beauty,so so sad,RIP ma may God grant ur soul enternal rest,and may God also give your family,the entire ekity state the fortitude to bear ur loss,so sad

49. May the good Lord grant her soul repose!

50. Ahn ahn...I thought it was just recently diagnosed, only just read about it a few days ago! Death!! May her soul RIP!

www.virtuosity19.blogspot.com

51. May God grant her eternal rest. Amen.

52. Wow beautiful woman in and out. Hardworking till a few weeks ago. May your gentle soul rest well.

53. Someone just died and u are happy to be the first to post a comment. You must be mad. RIP pretty woman. Life!

54. RIP mam,may God Almighy grant ur family the fortitude to bear this irreplaceable loss

55. Omg rest in peace, this cancer is a deadly disease. My bf lost his twin brother to this, my grandma died of this,more research and monetary funds should be chanelled into the research of this killer disease, a little break should be taking off hiv. They shuld also look into genotype situations and oda issues abba.

56. May her soul rest in the bossom of the lord. May the lord grant the family fortitude to bear this shockimg loss

57. May her soul rest in peace

58. What a loss...R.I.P

59. Rip ma'am. May Ʊя̲̅ soul find peace with God, Amen

60. Rest in peace ma.Oh pls Linda,spread d word.chronic diseases are on the prowl.lifestyle changes must be made before we are all ravaged.do away wt junk food,mineral,too much carbohydrates ,eat more proteins,fruits and veggies,avoid open flame barbecue like suya,roadside chicken n plantain,bole,alchohol,cigarette most of all,pls be active.HYPERTENSION,DIABETES,CANCER....incurable,silent diseases dat lead to strokes,kidney failure,death.a word is enough for the wise. Dr olaspecial

61. Rip ma.,she was †ђξ mom of my ex-classmate lolade olayinka..God pls give her †ђξ grace to bear thee loss..Anen!

62. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm may Her soul rest in perfect peace oooooooooo....

63. What? Died of cancer? I'm shocked! She was a very close family friend! Can't bring myself to inform my mum, she wud be devastated!

64. When we've finally had a solution for gender mainstreaming, cancer came knocking. RIP madam

65. RIP maam,am afraid of ds killer disease,i lost my elder broda's wife 2 ds disease last yr November and her mother 2009

66. Haaaaaaaaaa!!! Dis is a very sad news indeed yyyyyyyyyyyyyy dis hooooo lord, lord u understand dis lord u no de best may her soul R.IP and God will be wit de husband and de kids......

67. Abeg try 2 ignore dis pj of a guy.he will surely get tired.he enjoys it so pls let's not add 2 d fun he is gettin 4rm dis.RIP MA

68. God pls, help us with a cure for this deadly thing called cancer. What a waste. May her beautiful soul rest in peace.

69. Toobad it wasn't detected early..may her soul RIP, if cancer is detected early,chances of survival is high, women shud undergo mammogram regularly.

70. Haaaaaaaaaa!!! Dis is a very sad news indeed yyyyyyyyyyyyyy dis hooooo lord, lord u understand dis lord u no de best may her soul R.IP and God will be wit de husband and de kids......

71. Eyaah..... A star jst drop from d sky nau,RIP,a beautiful woman wit a beautiful heart .we love bt God Love u most.sleep in d Lord til we meet 2 part no more.o ka milara o

72. At least she was given the grace to ask for the forgiveness of her sins and accept Jesus which not all wld have So Don't jst write RIP, give your life to Christ.

73. A great Woman has gone to rest,Lord Have Mercy,May her Soul RIPP

74. So Sad,R.I.P!!!!

75. ...my next locker neighbour, rest in peace...

baba sege...

76. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace ....We've lost an epitome of beauty ...

77. Shebi the first lady go rest now???
    The competition was too much, all the and co dressing and all. It was like Feyemi had two wives.
    May her soul rest in peace...
    If na person do this one, your end will be far worse!!!

78. May her soul RIP.so sad

79. oh dear! I usually do not pity politicians but I sure do feel so sad for her loss. my heart goes out to her kids. rip maam

80. May her soul Rest In Peace, So sad

81. may her soul rest in prefect peace

82. What a gr8 loss RIP gud mum.

83. Two bad may her soul rest in peace

84. I think Everybody shud be careful on how you live ur life cos dnt knw 2moro

85. May her soul rest in peace

86. Very deadly disease, lost my mum 10days ago to cancer, she just clocked 60yrs old, she went thru so much pain towards her last few days that she had to b jammed with numerous pain killers. RIP madam deputy.

87. May her soul Rest in Peace

88. My Aunty , my heart is so heavy!! Still saw you not long ago

89. It's really Sad, may the Lord grant her family the fortitude to bear this great loss, rest in Peace ma.

90. Politicians ought not to die because they steal public fund to do all sort of charms and carry multiple convoy to live long?death is inevitable.RIpieces

1. So rude of u... Think abt life death is inevitable be you a politician or not.Speak no evil of d dead. She's a great woman. Ask ppl dat av met her while alive.

91. RIP Ma life is short went to school with her daughter

92. Make this cancer rest abeg. Clara Oshimhole, Mariam Babangida, my Aunt now This beautiful woman. May her soul rest in peace

93. Oh dear. This is scary. Lost my dad and one of my favorite secondary school teachers to cancer last year. You think of Steve Jobs, Hugo Chavez, it gets scarier. You think of those who detected it early enough , e.g Tito and Abidal of Barca and pray it does not prove stubborn. RIP Madam.

94. Sometimes you wonder how easy it is to detect some cancers early, e.g pancreatic, bile duct, ovarian, colon, even throat cancers. Long list when you think of all the parts of the body. According to the Enugu State governor, he was told it was nothing at first.

95. Very beautiful woman. Death be not proud. Death where is thy victory?. May the good Lord grant you eternal rest. Death has lost because henceforth it has no power over you. RIP

96. Too sad,may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

97. may her soul rest in perfect peace

98. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace, to all those people who made negative comments should be watchful of what they say or saying something they do not know anything about. Anyone can have cancer even YOU and even people with cleanest lifestyle

99. RIP in perfect peace ma'am. May the good lord give your family the fortitude to bear this loss. Please let us all be more proactive in doing our annual physicals and preventative care.

100. She died in a London Hospital not Lagos.

101. @omotayo, the woman died yesterday morning

102. @omotayo, the woman died yesterday morning

103. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. It's really sad she died this way. May God almighty grant her family members the fortitude to bear this terrible loss. She was a good woman.

104. MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE. IS SUCH A GREAT LOSS.

105. May her soul rest in perfect peace.

106. Ekiti has definitely lost one of its finest. Our dear Deputy Gov, you will be very much missed. We love you but the Good Lord loves you most.

We thank God for the gift of you and of how you served our people with such diligence and grace. May He rest your soul.

Our thoughts and prayers are with your family and loved ones that you left behind.. Not forgetting our dear Governor. RIP Sis. It is well with your soul...xx

107. so sad, aunty funmi u were more dan an angel, so painful, still felt d pain when i visited uncle lanre, may your soul rest in peace, dis cancer is just takin precious people away, hve lost 8 people 2 cancer now

108. Such a beautiful lady ! May God grant her eternal rest and comfort her immediate and extended family. May her family never lack IJN.

109. Aunty Funmi.. ur death is too sudden for us to comprehend. You lived a an enviable beautiful life. The expression on Grandpa's face today made it more realistic that a hole has been bore in the family that no one can fill. The no dulling moment grandpa and ma are all torn and really dont knw if i can have them to be whom they used to be anymore.
    Go take a rest aunty.. and may u meet with your God. Adieu.

110. May her soul rest in perfect peace

111. Pleaѕe lеt me know if you're lоοking fοr a writeг for yοur
    weblog. Yοu have some гeally gоοd
    posts anԁ I think І would be a
    goοd assеt. If yоu evеr ωant to
    take somе of the loаd οff, I'd reallу like to ωritе sοme content for уour blοg іn exchange for а link
    back to mіnе. Pleаse send me an e-mail if intereѕteԁ.
    Thanks!

Feеl fre to ѕurf tto my homepage :: memory foam mattress topper

112. This is a tοpic that is closе tο my heart...
    Besst ωishes! Exactly whеre аre yοur contct details though?

Rеvieω my blog ... splendyr instant wrinkle reducer cream