Nigerian independence day car bombs kill 10. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 1 October 2010

Nigerian independence day car bombs kill 10.

Militant group Mend (Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta) threatened to target the independence celebrations at the Eagles Square, Abuja and they carried out the threat. About 10 people have been confirmed dead and several others injured after three bomb-laden vehicles exploded outside the justice ministry, not far from the Eagle Square, where the Nigerianse had gathered for the official celebrations.

What a shame! A lot of foreign news agencies came to cover these celebrations, now they must think we really are a terrorist nation.

Images from the blast when you continue

A man injured from the blast
A body of a dead man being moved by security personnel

13 comments:

now do the families they've destroyed "mend" themselves after losing their loved ones?

i saw pictures of people wearing latex gloves and dusting the handles of the cars in the scene, please somebody tell me where the forensic lab is located in any part of nigeria? we don't even have decent labs to test blood to save lives, we get forensic lab to test bomb residues? chei, my Country! My Country! too much CSI episode is streaming through cable!

Prism of an Immigrant said...

This is very sad. The guns are apparently not enough for them.

http://lookingglassofanimmigrant.blogspot.com/

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon 9:45...this is not a laughing matter but lol at ur comment. as in, u don get am finish. Naija!...lol

Shadenonconform said...

Ah! Naija. Sigh. May the souls of those that have been lost RIP. It's so disheartening. I swear some times ehn naija's issue is very frustrating and depressing. I mean what did MEND claim to accomplish by harming/killing innocent civilians? For crying out loud, they are not the people destroying the country. scheew. I mean look at the picture of the man with the damaged leg. What the hell!! Just too too sad and unfortunate..

So they targeted innocent people? Why didnt they go and bomb the corrupt officials?

skankmypeaceofmind said...

WAKE UP CALL PEOPLE, we need a change. today isn't a celebration day but a day to wake up and smell the coffee. we need a change. WE NEED A CHANGE. MEND is gradually getting more confident by the day and if we as Nigerians don't want to end up like the people of Sierra Leone with half limbs then we have to demand for a change. Nigeria needs a CHANGE. NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

Myne said...

OMG! I am speechless.

The day the government started working toward granting these millitants amnesty, i knew it was a bigger disaster in the making. Who in their right mind negotiates with terrorists? Until they Niger Delta is forcefully invaded and rid of these terrorists, Afghan style...these lunatics will continue to grow more wings

LWKMD @anon 9:45pm, nt really funny bt dis MEND pple are stupid too oh! What did the innocent pple on d street do to u all dat u will do dis? are they d gvt or d pple dat refused to give u oil money? Why did they nt take it inside d arena where all dem devilish, greedy and so called politicians are? Nigerians need to start using their brain and also let us nt start bombing our pple now oh!RIP to d departed...

JUST BEING ME said...

lol @ Anonymous 9;45pm...may the souls of the departed rest in peace...Amen. As for MEND,they really went overboard!!!!!....it was because of them kidnapping became a thriving business, that children are not even spared, now this?... am really pissed off!.....

KINNS said...

So, so unfortunate dat d poor r becoming an endangered specie in Nigeria. They r now d target of major crimes rocking d country, frm kidnapping to boko haram,road robbery to home robbery and now militant blasts. The elites are not affected .its so unfortunate, d poor are d target of d poor's aggression.MEND is causing so much leakage in our national life n' we don't really know what they stand 4.@ 50,WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE?

and our dear presoident says its not MEND.
dat man is just a big fool.he is too desperate for power.