Who is Naija's most famous entertainer? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 February 2010

Who is Naija's most famous entertainer?

I was talking to this friend of mine who lives in the US and hasn't been back to Nigeria in over seven years, yesterday, and while we were talking, there was a song playing in the background. He asked me what I was playing and I said it's Wande Coal's "You bad". Then my friend said "Who is Wande Coal?". That threw me off; how can anyone not know Wande Coal? So I started the questions. Do you know Dbanj? Yes, I have heard of him. Do you know Tuface? Of course, I even have his CD. DO you know P-Square? I have heard of them. Do you know 9ice? Nope, is he popular over there? Do you know Femi Kuti? What kind of a question is that? Do you know Genevieve, Rita, Omotola, RMD, Ramsey Noah? Of course, I've seen some of their movies. And so and so forth.

Let me say here that my friend is not an entertainment person at all. He's not even on FB, and mostly listens to old school music...so maybe his case is understandable. But despite his lack of interest in entertainment, he still knew some people...

So I ask, who do you think is the most famous Naija entertainer? That person most Nigerians (and other Africans), both young and old, and even the ones in the diaspora, know. I'm thinking it's between Tuface Idibia and Femi Kuti . What do you think?

P.S (I'm talking about the new school entertainers!)

29 comments:

Judging on popularity, i'd say before it was Tu-Face.

Now it's P-Square (who isn't even in ur list. Tsk tsk tsk).

My badness...just saw the twins.

wannabewriter said...

definitely Femi Kuti!!!!!! although for our generation Tuface is a close second...yeah?

Tuface is definitely the most popular, followed by Femi Kuti, D'banj and Genevieve Nnaji

abisola said...

i'll go for tuface he seems the most popular in and out of nigeria Femi kuti?i'm not sure if pple know him that much in some african countries.

lol@who is Wande coal. hehehehehe

NaijaScorpio said...

That's kind of a difficult question to answer. I haven't been to Nigeria close to 8yrs but i know every artiste u mentioned cos i am interested. 95% of music i listen to is Nigerian. I don't know if Tuface is more popular than Dbanj. I know Femi Kuti but i couldn't tell u one song he sang if my life depended on it.

folks who left naija before the entertainment industry blossomed dont really know these artsiste.My sister has no clue who all these artsiste her so i get where your friend is coming for.For people like us who are so interested i naija music we can fathom that other 9ja folks dont know psquare and co...another one that trips me is when i make reference to Bella Naija.com or your blog almost everyone i talk to dont even know what "a bella naija" is-lol...

Harry said...

femi Kuti

I would say tuface, altho Femi Kuti's numerous Kora nomination and awards should make him d mst famous, but his music isnt as catchy as tuface African Queen anthem, that put him on d map...

Myne said...

Is Femi-Kuti new school?

Admin said...

femi kuti cos he is a close friend to grammy award,then tuface and d banj cos of their achievement musically

OKADA RIDER! said...

i think tuface is the most popular entertainer

Its definately tuface.Femi is popular cos of d grammy nomination but there is no radio station or club in africa nd beyond dat does not play tuface music....nd d margin is so great dat pple like dbanj nd p2 re hardly recognised.FACTS AND CONFIRMED

Guess u underestimated d glory african queen brought to nija.tuface is a name any music lover all over d world will be familiar with.he is a legend of our time.

Pls tell about D banj n blessing of mnet FOA issue, wot she say to d banj! And for I think p sq r must Famous!

i definitely think its genevieve nnaji. i mean look at her the lady is freakishly amazing. she comes out in the best movies and for Gods sake her picture was on Oprah in terms of popularity. so Genevieve definitely

TKB's thoughts said...

FEmi Kuti, then maybe TUFACE

fevour said...

i am not a nigerian but sure many dont understand the glory African Queen brought on the nigerian intertainment industry.It was after this song that the world started paying attention to naija music.He made the entire continent really proud.And the whites who had the opportunity to listen to it where like OH MY GOD...4 me 2face deserves an award every year for packaging and presenting the african woman like never b4

KT said...

When I was in Kenya in 2005, I asked young friends if they knew a Nigerian musician called Fela Kuti. They didn't, they had never heard of him. But they knew Femi Kuti, and they knew "Bang Bang Bang" word for word. Tuface is quite popular nowadays, especially in West Africa.

If you want to compare global appeal, legacy, fame, musical ability and depth of music, it's Femi Kuti first, then MAYBE Tuface Idibia.

without a doubt, tuface idibia

without a shadow of a doubt, 2baba

EVERYONE, from far and wide, non-africans, young and old, even here in canada, know who tuface is

definately tuface idibia

young and old, far and wide, especially among caribbean people, all love him

he is known buy at least some people in just about every corner in the world

Femiluv said...

Femi Kuti, TuFace cos of African Queen and Genevieve (she was O, everyone watches O)

TUFACE IDIBIA IS THE MOST POPULAR.REALLY,HE DESERVES A LIFETIME AWARDS FOR BRINGING GREAT LUCK TO NIGERIA.

SOLA said...

It has to do with the years most of these people have been away... and what interest they have in catching up with folks at home... I had an interesting time during the last christmas updating my friend's nephew who came from jand on the who-is-who in the entertainment world in naija! And Banky W was my favourite topic!! wink. .

It is definitely TuFace (especially for his song "African Queen") I have heard it played in the US, in Germany and in the Bahamas (of which they only have 3 radio stations)

Tu-face of course!!! I love that guy so much .... forget the baby mama's issue - he is a talented singer/ artiste...

Linda I want to meet with you

without even thinkin about it, Its def Gene Nnaji and Femi Kuti

Lastly, if the ring is worn on the right hand with the crown
facing the heart references the person wearing the ring is not interested
in a relationship. What sort of stone would they
like set in the ring. The critical element is that the person created the promise to abstain from sex until
finally marriage.

Feel free to surf to my weblog :: webpage []