Republican-led Congress wants to repeal Obama's $200K pension because of his lucrative speaking fees and book deal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 7 May 2017

Republican-led Congress wants to repeal Obama's $200K pension because of his lucrative speaking fees and book deal

Since leaving the White House, Obama has racked up a load of cash in lucrative deals, which include speaking fees and a $65million book deal. The Republican-led Congress is not happy and are making plans to deprive him of his $200K a year pension. He's not the only one in the line of fire, as all future presidents will be affected if the bill scales through.
It's not the first time the issue has been raised, Obama vetoed the bill last year when he was president. Republican Rep. Jason Chaffetz said:
'The Obama hypocrisy on this issue is revealing. His veto was very self-serving.'
President Donald Trump has said he will not accept a salary during his time in office and he hasn't. He hasn't been paid any money since he became president.
It's unclear whether he could collect a pension after his tenure comes to an end.

Obama is charging as much as $400K per speech, which was his annual salary as president.

Source: Daily Mail

22 comments:

1. These Republicans and their hate and racism for Obama is laughable. They forget these things will affect them in the future. They think they can just change the law all they want. How do you justify depriving a man of his pension after he served his country? So what if he's making money. Would they be doing this if he decides to start a business and make more money? SMH

1. All this stupid pple DAT doesn't read, Obama supported d bill last year, stupid pple read b4 commenting

2. Understand before commenting..he vetoed (disapproved) the bill wen he was in seat

3. A president's veto of a bill means that he officially didn't support it and didn't sign it into law even if it passes at Congress/Senate level.

4. @MEETD that means you don't even know the meaning of vetoed and you are correcting someone on top that you insulted the person that understood it more than you. So who is now stupid? ITK.

2. Lol, jealousy is real. He is sad because no one will ask hi for a speech ever in this life time. Obama is smart it's God's given talent

1. Not true. Trump's makes a million per speech especially in a certain school, he's been making that since 05. Research dat

3. Lol, jealousy is real. He is sad because no one will ask hi for a speech ever in this life time. Obama is smart it's God's given talent

4. Republicans are doing too much.

5. Is a mean ,officially bigoted african-- style america emerging? Then welcome to the third world

6. Only $200k as pension?? Well, well Nigerian presidents both past and present take so much more. Considering American presidents do so much more work and actually believe in democracy unlike this jungle we call Nigeria

7. Trump Na Big foolish white Gorilla..
    He should get to work b4 everything crumble ..
    He's so Jealous & sick

8. Just like APC led government and Jonathan

9. Come to think of it, what's you guy's p? Did u guys read the text well enough at all....?

10. Shame on those envious and jealous Repulsivecans. They attacked Obama throughout his two term tenure in office. Now that he is out of office, they still continue to attack him. Their repeal of Obama care is for their hatred of Obama and not for the interests of the American people.

11. Why are you so dumb? It s like you cant read. Is it Trump that wants to take his pension? I suggest you read again or tell someone to explain to you

12. Haters everywhere

13. Haters everywhere

14. Linda this report is misleading, why do you always try to portray president trump's/republican government as a bad/evil government at any point in time. This your obama hypocrisy sef. Your caption is a fatal lie and some biased bigots/educated illiterates(oxymoron)won't read the whole report before making some dumbass, bigoted, senseless and hypocritical statements. 1- This bill has been in existence even when obama was president. President trump wasn't even a politician then and besides republicans had nobody in mind before drafting the bill because they couldn't have predicted the future presidents(replublicans or democrats). Instead of highlighting the president's good point, you are dishing out fake news. All I can see in this report is a great man that has mad passion for his country. He is serving his country for free for christ's sake and he has great plans. So haters like oghenetega and co, it's either bigotry or you guys have a with comprehending obvious facts. oghenetega, the "Big foolish white Gorilla" has achieved what nobody in your family can achieve in this lifetime and another one to come. Trump is a billionaire and can't be jealous of obama. Go kill yourself.

15. Hmmmm,jealousy has no medcine