Gov. Shettima: Freedom of 82 Chbok girls confirms Buhari has been active at work | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 May 2017

Gov. Shettima: Freedom of 82 Chbok girls confirms Buhari has been active at work

Governor of Borno State, Kashim Shettima on Sunday spoke about the negotiated freedom of 82 abducted Chibok schoolgirls. Below is the full text of his speech:
First of all, I will like to thank Allah subhanahu wa ta'ala for securing the lives of our abducted daughters and schoolgirls‎ from Chibok. I also thank God for giving strength to their very resilient parents in the Chibok community and for guiding our President, Muhammadu Buhari and our military.
I want to place on record our very profound gratitude to Mr President for his sincerity in making the freedom of our daughters one of the topmost priorities of the APC administration. The President has since proved his overriding commitment after the first set of girls were freed. I am sure many Nigerians were surprised by this negotiated freedom of over 80 schoolgirls.
This cheering news came at a time many critics thought the President wasn't at work. If there is one thing Nigerians must learn from this joyful development, all Nigerians must believe that in whatever circumstance, President Buhari has this country at heart and he works round the clock to address critical national problems such as we have seen in the successful freedom of our daughters and also in the sustained fight against the insurgents. That the Buhari administration, alongside international and local humanitarian partners, was able to negotiate the release of these girls at a time the administration stepped up battle against the insurgents is an extraordinary record of achievement that very few leaders around the world could have achieved.
We must reaffirm our trust and confidence in the President and we must as Nigerians, thank God once again for giving us a leader that is sincere, a leader that is focused on his set goals and a leader that everyone believes he is very patriotic. Negotiations leading to the freedom of these girls could not have succeeded if Buhari lacked integrity. The reason is because international actors who helped in facilitating the negotiation, would certainly not have been involved if they had doubts about the integrity and sincerity of the President. It is also Buhari’s integrity that has made it possible for our gallant armed forces to be more equipped than ever and it is his integrity that has made countries in Africa, Europe and the United States to support Nigeria in the ongoing and so far, successful fight against the Boko Haram insurgents.
Of course, everyone recognize that it is the work of the military and multi-national joint task force and volunteers that have placed the Federal Government in position of strength to negotiate the freedom of our daughters and schoolgirls.
I want to salute our gallant military, members of the multi-national joint task force for their efforts in freeing these girls and in their progressive efforts to free Borno from insurgents. I want to pay special tribute to parents of these girls who suffered unimaginable trauma of going to bed and waking up without their daughters for over three solid years. As a father of two daughters, I imagine what it means to know that either or both of my biological daughters lived in the hands of insurgents for these years. As Governor of Borno State, I lived with the kind of pains that these parents lived with because I know they looked up to the me as their first leadership responder. I know the pains of being a Governor whose hundreds of young, adorable and promising female citizens were violently abducted while in a Government school and writing exams organized by Government.
I salute the resilience of these parents. More than the parents, I salute the courage of these girls who witnessed the naked jaws of death but yet persevered for three years until more than half of them secured freedom. I thank all men and women of good courses who have supported us, particularly those who have kept the Chibok schoolgirls matter in the front burner. ‎No matter what we think or make of the Bring Back Our Girls campaign group, the group has kept the need for rescue of these girls alive. I believe it was for this reason that the Federal Government invited them for a tour of the Fallen Sambisa Forest some months ago.
I will like to call on all Nigerians, particularly our friends in the media, to cooperate with federal experts that would have the task of counseling and rehabilitating these girls. The full rehabilitation of these girls should be our collective priority. We should put their rehabilitation first before our understandable search for news insights. The Borno State Government will always be committed in whatever way necessary to partner with the Federal Government in the full rehabilitation and the education of these girls. The freedom of these girls has renewed our hope and strengthened our faith in the commitment and capacity of the Buhari administration to continuously work towards the freedom of our remaining daughters that are still in captivity.
With very strong empathy, I urge parents whose daughters are not part of those freed so far, to keep their hopes alive and remain strong and prayerful. Like I have always said, no sane parent gives up on a missing child, we will never loose hope in getting back our remaining daughters alive. I thank ‎members of the local and international media for standing by the Chibok community and for standing Borno. It is my fervent prayers that all persons abducted by the insurgents will be freed, the fight against Boko Haram will be worn and Borno will witness enduring peace and prosperity.

24 comments:

1. OBVIOUSLY THIS IDIOT DOESNT KNOW WHAT ACTIVE AT WORK MEANS

2. Lawal Abubarka8 May 2017 at 06:10

You took them and brought them back.
    Congratulations to you

3. This is laughable,the same chibok girls American and Nigerian soldiers told us that they were nowhere to be found. This is to show that those who write the script are releasing them. Who.is fooling who. Shameless country. The presidency uses this because he wanted to divert people's attention from his travel back to London. Gov. Shettima will comfirm to Nigerians no body was aware that there is a negotiation going on before now.

4. Very matured Governor..we thank God for this great news!-DEXTER

5. What am arrant nonsense talk be this!😠..i knew where this chibok gals news was heading so i wasn't deceived one bit.. Senseless fools,the pseudo release of chibok girls was a game plan to give him, the ailing president free passage to fly out.If he doesn't step down this time, he wont come back, it's now so obvious they are playing games with Nigerians. Rubbish!!!

6. Lol like that wasnt the plan.every may 29,release sum girls so we can brag small.the same thing last year.all of una waaka

7. This confirms that APC northern Hausa Fulani politicians have been holding the girls hostage so that anytime bad news on buhari's government gets too much they will release some of the girls. This is the third time they are doing not. Because people have been shouting that Buhari should resign and face his health they release some girls to change the news. This government is an evil government. The first government in nigeria to hold hostages for political advantage. Shame on apc and Buhari. May God never allow you get away with the evil you did to those girls.

1. But they have been telling us the war against boko haram is won .. how come they are still strong enough to get a prisoner exchange negotiation ?? Shettima pack ur shit face you retarded swine .. this has been ur plan all along.. This bastard shettima even promoted the female principal of the supposed school where these chibok girls were abducted from at the ministry when she should have been fired .. rot in hell

8. How come it is every time there is bad news on Buhari and his clueless government some girls are 'released'. No more fooling me. This government is evil.

9. Confirmed that buhari and APC have been holding these girls hostage and using them for political advantage. Because there have been calls for Buhari to resign some of the girls suddenly are released so the news cycle will change. Evil!!!

10. We have always said that the girls were kodnapped by a APC Hausa Fulani politicians and being kept for political purposes. It has now been confirmed.

11. APC you cannot fool us. Just covering Buhari's sick and non performing ass

12. Who are the negotiator, where was the meeting place, where are the bokoharam, where were the girls been kept since three yesrs ? The girl's that were given out in marriage is only one that is with a baby, APC and Buharia government, there is God ooooooooooo..

13. APC Nigerians are not deceived. Buhari has done no work apart from in and out of hospital in over 2 years. Now that he has gone you will see the VP working- if the cabal will allow him

14. Shettima you are a big fat liar. Which work has Buhari done? We know you arrange girls to come out from time to time as " Chibok girls" . Why is it no one is allowed to talk to them? They are not allowed to return to their families? They are teleguided. Every time Buhari is sick Chibok girls are released. Arrant nonsense. Nigerians our mums don do o.

15. We are not fools all this bombing of sambisa forest and military attack did not get to were dis girls are?not even one of dem got injured or killed,you people are just deceitful,chikbok girls my foot.

16. The same game/propaganda they used to remove Jona they are still playing for us Nigerians. We are not fools and we are not deceived. This time they brought in Red Cross to legalise their wayo just as CNN has been on their payroll. See Richard Quest paid a fortune to come and talk in Lagos for 4 days to say our economy is improving.. story for the gods. Buhari resign and go please let Nigeria make real progress

17. These Fulani people should stop holding this country to ransom. Anyway I blame the yorubas who handed them government on a platter of gold. God is not sleeping, neither is He deaf or His hand short. He will move them out of the way and allow Nigeria 🇳🇬 to shine again

18. How can negotiate with somebody you claim that you have injured?Abeg make una park well,apc is a fail party so using this chikbok story to cover your failure cannot do you ppl any good,old fool liers.

19. yeye man
    -D great anonymous now as Reginalds Vivian

20. SUDDENLY THE GIRLS ARE BEEN RELEASED SO ATTENTION WILL BE SHIFTED FROM THE PRESIDENTS ILL HEALTH AND TRIP BACK TO LONDON, THEY USED THIS CHIBOK GIRLS DRAMA TO DESTROY THE PAST GOVERNMENT NOW ITS SO OBVIOUS ITS ALL A BIG JOKE, AT THIS POINT ONE BEGINS TO WONDER WHAT THE WORLD IS TURNING INTO, ALL FOR THE CRAZE FOR POWER, I WISH YOU SPEEDY RECOVERY BUHARI BUT TELL YOUR PEOPLE AND GOVERNMENT WE ARE NOT FOOLED..........ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME

21. Chibok scam. No wonder Jonathan noted that Governor Shettima never informed him about this Chibok scam, its means they are up to something. The principal of the school didnt show up as at wen requested. And over 200 girls were to write physics exam in a village school in the north. There is no smoke without fire.

And the girls are looking so healthy in this recession, even more robust than those in the IDP camps. Nah wah ohh, you can tell that to the yorubas and hausa. Igbos cant be deceived.

22. ANYBODY THAT BELIEVE THIS CHIBOK TALE WILL BELIEVE A MAD MAN THAT SAYS HE'S NOT MAD.