Gay Kenyan author and Chimamanda Adichie's longtime friend, Binyavanga Wainana reveals he is HIV Positive on Twitter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 2 December 2016

Gay Kenyan author and Chimamanda Adichie's longtime friend, Binyavanga Wainana reveals he is HIV Positive on Twitter

Gay Kenyan writer Binyavanga Wainaina took to Twitter to reveal that he is "HIV Positive ...and happy". The brilliant author, who is a long time friend of Nigerian writer Chimamanda Adichie revealed his status on Worlds Aids Day, marked yesterday, December 1.

In 2014, the 45-year-old shocked the world when he revealed his sexuality in a blog published on africasacountry.com.

Wainaina won the prestigious Caine Prize for Africa Writing and in 2014 named by Time 100 as one of the "Most Influential People in the World"

25 comments:

1. Kikikiki...i laugh in Swahili!

1. He doesn't have much of a choice. Linda take note!

2. Why r u laughing. You dnt get hiv by being gay alone hope u know.

Long Live LIB

2. Kikikiki...i laugh in Swahili! #Kontinu

3. Enjoy ur status since u're hapi

4. Is dat suppose to be a gud tin. Wot message r u passing to d young ones-to be happy no matter d situation? It's well wit dis generation

1. HIV is not gotten through sex alone young lady n yes his intention is 4 everyone to be happy no matter the situation, it's people like u that don't know how to be positive

5. ***************************hix problems are plenty*********hix gay. .hex HIV positive **********but whr iim major problem lie ix in his being happy************it simply tells hex mentally unstable too........ And dax problem compounded...........************I piri u Oga************

6. HIV/AIDS is supposed 2 be a disease xclusively for Faggots bt the idiots trickily experimented with Bisexualism and dump this mess on the Str8 folks too.
    Death 2 all Queers b4 they destroy the World.

7. HIV/AIDS is supposed 2 be a disease xclusively for Faggots bt the idiots trickily experimented with Bisexualism and dump this mess on the Str8 folks.
    Death 2 all Queers b4 they destroy the World.

8. TOO BAD

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

9. Indnt knw mayb it s justvme.y is it dt gay guys nowadyas contact hiv.is it dt dey contact it tru d anus or wat.cos me I dnt get

10. He use to date and sleep with Chimamanda, so chimamanda should actually go check herself.

11. Have not seen a gay who is hiv free, is there any?

12. Ignorance is a deadly disease, not just HIV. I just hope you know that though.

13. Remain happy and spread the happiness but don't spread the HIV and may God deliver you from the demon of homosexuality.

14. PENIS FOR YANSH.

15. All gays will die oh HIV. All of una. Say na me talk so

16. ok. stop the stigmatization