According to Daily Trust, Habiba said this while speaking before a joint committee session with officials of Katsina Emirate, Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) Katsina chapter, and security personnel yesterday October 13th.
“I took all decisions in my own volition. I chose on my own to become a Muslim and relocated to the emir’s palace for fear of what I might go through and the threat coming from my parents"she saidMeanwhile the Emir of Katsina who was represented at the meeting by the one of the king makers, Nuhu Abdulkadir, the ‘Kauran-Katsina’, denied claims of forcefully marrying Habiba off to Jamilu. According to Nuhu who spoke on behalf of the Emir, Habiba got married out of her own volition. He said Habiba's father, Tanko, had petitioned the police over claims that she was abducted by Jamilu a worker in the Emir's palace, converted to a Muslim and then got married too without his consent as her father.
Nuhu said the palace upon receiving the petition from the police, carried out its independent investigation which showed that Habiba was forced into marriage or converted to a Muslim as claimed by her father. He said in the course of the investigation, Habiba had shown interest in marrying Jamilu and a wedding was conducted by the Emirate who received a bride price of N50,000.
Nuhu added that the police also interrogated Habiba where she stated she was neither forced nor coerced and that she doesn't want to go home with her father. Nuhu claimed Habiba's father after the investigation, wrote a letter to the emirate, apologizing for his false claims.
Too bad
ReplyDeleteNa she sabi na
ReplyDeleteLib addict#just passing#
Why on earth would someone marry off a 14years girl, chaiii.
ReplyDeleteThe man should be probed oo. linda take note.
A 14 year old is still a child and cannot marry without the parents consent. In developed countries, the husband will be in jail for statutory rape and kidnapping.
ReplyDeleteOjiro uche ya ekwu
ReplyDeleteMay God punish these pple. They hav threaten her n besides if she did it at her own free will, why dint dey look for her parents to inform dem of her decisions. Mere lookin at d face, u will tell Shez nt hapi. Idiots
ReplyDeleteA 14yr old can now decide to get married without the consent of her parents? If the emir's 14yr old daughter absconds with a Christian lover, will he let her be? Please keep your daughters away from these people, once they wash their eyes inside that their bowl, they wash away their reason and veil their senses.
ReplyDeleteA 14yrs old girl cnt b making such decision by nw so dey shod hand her over to her parents. Stupid muslims
ReplyDeleteHmm story that touches, the girl must have been brainwashed,wickedness.
ReplyDeleteFor crying out loud..14yrs to the best of my knowledge is still a minor..they must have told her what she's saying..what does she know she's saying?they ve brain washed her..
ReplyDeleteShe's just a child, what does she know. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteNa she sabi
ReplyDeleteShameless Muslims
ReplyDeleteShe's still a teen so she wouldn't know if she was or not. They must have told her alot of lies
ReplyDeleteWell, she's less than 18, so these "decisions" are invalid!
ReplyDeleteThey manipulated her, how can a 14 year old child decide her future without thinking about schooling? The Emir of Katsina approved it marriage? I wonder if his daughter can be married off without his consent and the bribe price be paid to someone else?
ReplyDeleteNa she sabi
ReplyDelete...merited happiness
In Nigeria, I thought the law permit one to have full right over his or her self when he or she is 18 and above? Why should a child of about 14 be allow to defend her self..all this Islamic leaders in Nigeria are a major problem..u marry someone child for just 50k under the influence of charm and yet there are proving to be right.. the girl opinion don't count as long as she not yet 18.. how are we sure all this chibok..lost girls are not in the palaces of all this Islamic leaders? Leaders of Islam in Nigeria represent a bad degree of that religion..the other time is efe matter, now this.. this is one back drop that all Islamic leaders including our president should not be trusted
ReplyDeleteF*ck the media for this. How on earth do they report this as OK. 14 years and married without the consent of the father and it has this tone of "it's her choice". BS!
ReplyDeletePlease what does a 14 year old girl know about getting married? Last time I checked, a 14 year old girl was still considered a minor and her parents took decisions on her behalf. Unless there are different rules governing emirates
ReplyDeleteThe Emir must be off his rockers! What happened to asking for parental consent before marriage? So the voice and approval don't matter in the issues of marriage in the tenets of Islam abi? Not to mention that the girl is underage! Na wah!!
ReplyDeleteBig lie. The child is too young to take this decision and must have been induced to say what she said.
ReplyDeleteinu kwa. OMG
ReplyDeleteSTORY!
ReplyDeleteBEFORE NKO?
WHAT DO YOU EXPECT HER TO SAY?
DO YOU EXPECT HER TO SAY SHE WASN'T FORCED INTO EVIL ISLAM OR MARRIAGE?
I CURSE THE DAY ISLAM CAME TO EXISTENCE
That's how you steal children, your children will suffer the same fate if you think this can be justified, at 14 hmm.
ReplyDeleteAt 14 years old, she is a minor under the law and cannot of her own volition get married. As soon as she relocated to the emirs palace (even though of her own volition) it was incumbent on that emir if he was a responsible law abiding individual to ensure that she was returned to her parents. But this would never have happened since these people are deeply involved in a religion (Islam) that has the sacrilege, paedophilia as one of its entrenched tenets. This is confirmed by the receipt of the N50,000.00 as bride price on a girl of 14 years. This is a case in which there is little ambiguity as regards the perpetrators. The emir and his accomplices need to be charged with kidnapping and the relevant crime(s) under the child abuse laws. Demented, perverted people.
ReplyDeleteSame rubbish we hear all the time. Is she up to 18yr to make such decision??. U will never c any Christian caught up in this kind of shit, why...? Simply bcos we are above this and our religion doesn't encourage it
ReplyDeleteHow does a 14 year old girl get married of her own volition? Is there no provision in our laws for a minor to obtain consent from the parents before getting married? Why would it be the Emirate that received the bride price? The war against Christians is very subtle but very real. Christians need to be on their toes all the time.
ReplyDeleteThis is ridiculous,and embarrassing as well... This girl in question is 14yrs old, according to Constitution she is not yet an adult indicating that she has no power or right whatsoever to decide which religion she which to practice talk-less of which man she want to marry? I am not against Islam but am begging you people to spare Christian families from all these Unchristian practices... Please for the sake of peace because should any Christian do this to a Muslim not only will he be killed but the Church as well as the Pastor will be set on fire... There are beautiful girls everywhere please leave our girls alone especially those who are not up to 18years... Its high time Nigerian Government do something about this before many Christians will start taking law into their hands... We are peaceful but we sure are not stupid.
ReplyDeleteeven if she 18 years and above, what law or rules permits another person outside the family of a lady to give her out in marriage without the consent of the parents or her biological relations? how can an emir married off a girl that ran for succour in your palace; even if your staff is interested in the girl, the best honorable thing to do was to invite the parents seek amicable solution before the wedding.
ReplyDeleteMay God help us in the strange country
ReplyDeleteIt is sad a 14 year old with her future ahead of her is married off. It also makes it worse that she was kidnapped and the marraige performed without the consent of her parents.
ReplyDeleteI am not an advocate of violence, but I would like to see what will happen if one of the so called high ranking community officials daughetr of same age is kidnapped and married off and also converts to Christianity. This is called lateral thinking and curious to see their reaction then.
May God help us all
ReplyDeleteNortherners should stop this rubbish? What is their own with grabbing young Christian girls,making them convert to Islam & then marry them? It is wrong! Maybe Christian southerners should start hunting your girls too.Afterglow,they have the money to make them forget their homes forever.
ReplyDeleteThey manipulated her, how can a 14 year old child decide her future without thinking about schooling? The Emir of Katsina approved it marriage? I wonder if his daughter can be married off without his consent and the bribe price be paid to someone else?
ReplyDeletePls who collected the dowry?
ReplyDeleteIn Nigeria constitution, what is the age of consent?
If a Christian man or teenager did same to a muslim 14 years old Muslim girl, are they going to say there's nothing wrong with that?
Abeg this case is nonsense.which right does a 14years year old teenager has to marry herself off or change her religion.i don't know about the western world but in nigeria without the concert of the girls parent or family she can't be married off.abeg this case no get say other than to stop this people from doing this barbaric rubbish...Am sure they forced her to say all she said
ReplyDeleteand folks here be talkin without info...I pray God forgive ya'll
ReplyDeleteI still wonder why this always happen with Northern Muslims. We have Muslims in the South but we are yet to hear of things like this. The worst is that these Northern Muslims are ready to kill even their 30 year old sons & daughters for converting to Christianity. All the people perpetrating this evil and all that are supporting them will have it happen to their daughters in Jesus Name-Amen. People should better be careful
ReplyDeleteMay almight God help us all
ReplyDeleteThis Muslims will not seize to amaze me. They collected 50k as bride price, without the parents consent . They should just pack all this useless Muslims and this useless Emirs to sambisa forest to live there. How can a 14yrs old girl just decide to marry and change her religion cause of what? This rubbish gat to stop.........
ReplyDeleteThat is what they always ask them to say
ReplyDeleteEva Da Diva...
This is what gender equality bill is also about. All those opposing it think igs women wanting to be equal with a man. Hello does any one here about boys been converted to islam. We need laws that protects tge riggts of the girl child. This isnt an Islamic problem but the problem of illiterate men that see women as not less than cattle. They have no boundaries. I blame the Nigerian government for letting all this crap to keep continuing. They have to be decisive. Firstly for the Emir to house a 14 year old is kidnapping. He should havr returned her to her parents immediately, if after 4years she feels she wants to convert to islam she is welcome to come back. Hello are we living under a rock?
ReplyDeleteEeeeeehhhhh so Emir of Katsina your custom is to marry someones child and chop the bride price without the fathers approval. This Emir must be the poorest traditional ruler to act without his brains. I dunno the kind of culture they have over there but its a wicked culture period. They have brainwashed and threatened d girl. God will punish your kingdom for this evil.
ReplyDeleteAssholes.
ReplyDeleteFuck the Emirate.
At 14, this girl is still a minor who is not a position to take decisions on issues like this. Why are most Muslims pedophiles? Why are under-age girls the only people kidnapped and converted to Islam? The practice is clear case of girl-child sexual exploitation which is not only barbaric but also inhuman. It is most unfortunate the traditional rulers like the Emir of Katsina and other Northern Emirs are encouraging and participating in those ungodly acts. Let them all repent NOW!
ReplyDeleteThey have used juju on this girl... some serious brainwashing