Portugal wins EURO 2016 after beating France 1-0 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 10 July 2016

Portugal wins EURO 2016 after beating France 1-0

This is what champions are made of! Portugal, from being best losers have fought to achieve European glory after an Eder goal ensured Portugal beat host Nation, France to win Euro 2016.
Portugal started the match with same 4-4-2 formation, with C. Ronaldo and Nani upfront but it wasn't long until Ronaldo was stretched off after sustaining a serious knee injury.

France in the first half were the better team and played more expansive football with Sissokho the main star in the first half but to Portugal's credit and Rui Patricio's heroics, ended the first half 0-0.

Portugal started the second half with Nani as captain and Quaresma replacing the already injured Ronaldo and grew in confidence but efforts from both sets of teams was not enough as both teams ended the second half still level 0-0.

Pulsating moments as Extra time started.

Ronaldo, showed so much exemplary leadership qualities and came to the touch line to spur and inspire his teammates to apply more pressure on the French defence.

By this time Portugal was beginning to feel that they had the game for the taking and scored through substitute Eder in the second half of extra time.

IT'S OVER! Portugal beat France 1-0 and are the champions of Europe! Such contrasting emotions from the two sides. Tears from both, but for many different reasons. Cristiano Ronaldo's sadness has turned to joy, while many of the France players look inconsolable as they sit dejected on the turf.
Ronaldo has now entered into Football immortality.

68 comments:

1. Congrats to dem. Linda take note!

2. Yahhhhhhh im so excited! Didn't want France to win at all. They have never lost to Portugal so it's a big deal!

3. Am happy for ronaldo is obvious dat he will b d best player of d year com december

4. Up up upppppppppppppppppppppppp ronaldoooooooooooooooo

5. CR7 has paid his tax in full for both club and country.#worldbest

6. Congrats to my friend Ronaldo,am so happy for him

7. Yass!!!

As in eh! This has got to be my Night
    Where Messi fans at?

8. And i was rooting for france. Mtchw. Abeg abj based libers add me up on 7BF1605 jare. I can't fit shout.

9. It is official. Christiano Ronaldo is better than Lionel Messi for two concrete reasons.
    1. Messi has played for Barca all his life, while Ronaldo has moved from club to club, and still makes himself the golden boy.
    2. Messi has never taken his country to victory at any international game. While Ronaldo led Portugal to their first international euro trophy.

But we know Barca fans will never ever agree. even when the facts are very obvious.

1. Abeg abeg..don't start those baseless comparisons. It's only irrational fans that agree that he's better than Messi. Even when I liked ronaldo, I still bet on Messi. Because messi has setbacks now doesn't suddenly mean all his past legacies are useless.

10. So so so happy for ronaldo..congrats to dem..is now certain dat ronaldo wil win d world footballer of d year

1. Yeah! Congrats to team portugal esp RONALDO nd Nani

2. Is this commentary from Linda herself. If so very nice. Can't wait to see the memes that will surface esp the third frm the last which Ronaldo seems to be crying. Congrats Portugal...

11. i'm gutted for France.... congrats Portugal (excluding Ronaldo).

1. Duh!!! Ronaldo, I mean the world's best, is basking in his victory right now nonstop, and you're hear hating.

12. Congrat to them.
    Kudos to Ronaldo and his team mates they did a great job i tell u THEY CAN NOW FUCK ANY THING THEY SEE.

13. Nice commentary aunty Linda

14. That Eder guy deserved a french kiss from me! Wow......its was fun to see CR7 play the role of assistant coach. From Champions League to Euros Champs!! #congratsPortugal #congratsCR7 #congratsEder

15. Nice one.. Congrats to all Selecção das Quinas team.

16. Congrats to them.

17. Up portugal, up c Ronaldo...love him like kilode#. All the glory must be to the Lord.

18. We have the last laugh! I'm so happy right now.. I'm so happy for Ronaldo.. Congratulations to all of them!

19. I know itvway a luck for portugal because france play well than but all the same congettuations

1. If sleep dey catch u while typing...u kukuma no type at all and sleep jejely...me I no understand wetin u write for here ooo...from construction to spelling...#MustYouComment

20. RONALDO:
    A course
    A leader
    A champion
    A hero
    A winner
    World best
    Tax payer
    Champions league winner
    European cup winner
    A true captain

1. Lol Debbie, @ Tax Payer!

2. Lol @ tax payer..

3. Rinaldo is the best footballer among humans, but Messi(ah) is out of this world, he is an alien. So there is no basis to compare

4. Also a natural coach...u forgot dah

21. Up Portugal

That is how life is. CR7 has seen it all in both home and abroad except World Cup.

22. congrats to Portugal and ronaldo, with this nothing can stop him from been crowned world Best player come January next year, although Messi has 5 world best players award.

sincerely she looks like all this goddess from the waters.

Portugal wins Euro 2016 by defeating France in Extra time 1-0|CREEBHILLS

23. Happy for portugal and the best player in the world ronaldo.#loveronlado

24. This game js inspired me tonight

25. congrats...CR7...world best Congratulations Portugal

26. My love for Ronaldo tho.. Most passionate person I've seen in my life.. Congrats Portugal

1. Where did u see him?? Oh in television.... Lols

...... Up Ronaldo.....

27. Wow... really from grass to grace.
    http://myschoolbase.com

28. Congratulations to them...
    The internet is paying and its not a joke, I thought it was a joke too until I saw it myself that its damn real and its paying. Small task that takes 30 seconds to complete is what u re required to do, and u earn 10$ per task, its not a drill. Follow this link, register and u will be surprised. http://Dollarnize.com/?share=14863

29. GOOD TO SEE

30. Up Portugal.... Up Ronaldo.... I believed Portugal from day and the rest is now history..... Nani did a good job... Pépé was fantastic.... Sorry to Evra and sagna... Lols

....... Liber maniac........

31. Yes oo,am so happy

32. Congratulations Portugal from best losers to best winners,never give up in life.

33. Indeed they have been destined for this trophy/glory from the 1st game.... #ifGodbeforyouwhocanbeagainstyou

34. Oh congrate too my Ronaldo I will continue too wish you the best until you retired from football..love you

35. Brilliant performance guys. I love me some cr7. Did u see the passion, agility, brilliance in his play. Let's give it up to the world best. God bless the womb and the day u were conceived.

36. They struggled through every stage of EURO 2016 championship , yet won. Some say it's football, I tell you it's God o......

37. CR7 my uncles cousin's nephew has done it