Delta State House of Assembly reduces punishment for kidnapping from death penalty to life in prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 1 July 2016

Delta State House of Assembly reduces punishment for kidnapping from death penalty to life in prison

The Delta State House of Assembly in Asaba on Wednesday, reduced the punishment for kidnapping from death penalty to life imprisonment in the state.
The state Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa in a letter to the House appealed for reconsideration of Section 4, Sub-Section 1 of the Delta State Anti-Kidnapping Law, 2016 which was passed by the House, which made provision for death penalty for anybody convicted of kidnapping.
Mr. Okowa in his letter said:
“The Right Honourable Speaker and Honourable Members of the House are aware that death penalty is globally no longer fashionable as it breaches human right to life and torture, both of which are protected under the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, adopted by the United Nations in 1948. Besides, there is heightened campaign and overwhelming support for the abolition of death penalty globally,” said Mr. Okowa.
“Since the world is a global village, Delta State cannot be an exception, hence the passionate call to the House to reconsider the Section under reference and change the death sentence prescribed therein to life imprisonment.
The amended law states:
“Any person who contravenes section (3) of this law commits an offence and shall on conviction be sentenced to life imprisonment without fine."

31 comments:

1. Uhmmmm let them live and suffer ba. I concur,only if prison breaks and presidential pardon don't exist

2. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin1 July 2016 at 07:38

Good for them.

3. If dey think it would be better dat way den issokay. Linda take note!

4. hmmmmm... some may be granted amnesty later

5. Good for them.

Says, Genevieve.

6. Nice one,capital punishment is just.......

7. That's lenient enough, but hope they repent. Kidnapping is #Evil

8. Goodman... Not that they didn't merit death sentence.. They merit and even more if daris something worster than death..... But let's jst be Christians and stop staining our hands with blood.... Jesus didn't preach that..... Adams oshomole is the only governor on this morden day that signed the excursion of for criminals in Edinburgh state.. Which was carried out last two years... . So hrtless.... And u can also see things like that in North..... Muslims won't hesitate in carrying out such punishment

.......... Liber maniac......

1. Sweetheart, how I wish I could do this privately, please cross check things like "worster"(worst) and "excursion"(execution) before publishing,..as trolls might turn your opinion to a joke.God bless you as you do that

9. They one that they will be serving and later escape.

10. Bad news
    WHY WON'T THEY REDUCE IT WHEN SOME OF THE SPONSORS OF KIDNAPPERS ARE IN HIS CABINET and hOUSE OF ASSEMBLY,WHO IS FOOLING WHO IN APC GOVERNMENT OF IMBECILIC'S AND LIARS?
    MR GOVERNO'S WE ARE COMFORTABLE WITH THE FORMAL DEATH PENALTY THAN THIS RUBBISH OF DEATH SENTENCE EVEN THOU THEY ARE THE SAME VERY SOON NOW UNA GO BRING IT DOWN TO 5 YEARS IN PROPONENT SHAME TO U ALL.

11. Bad news
    WHY WON'T THEY REDUCE IT WHEN SOME OF THE SPONSORS OF KIDNAPPERS ARE IN HIS CABINET and hOUSE OF ASSEMBLY,WHO IS FOOLING WHO IN APC GOVERNMENT OF IMBECILIC'S AND LIARS?
    MR GOVERNO'S WE ARE COMFORTABLE WITH THE FORMAL DEATH PENALTY THAN THIS RUBBISH OF DEATH SENTENCE EVEN THOU THEY ARE THE SAME VERY SOON NOW UNA GO BRING IT DOWN TO 5 YEARS IN PROPONENT SHAME TO U ALL.

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Pls they should consider sticking to death penalty to avoid any room for piy pls.... Those touts are not worth living abeg...

13. VERY WELL' I THINK DIS LL MAKE THEM STOP ALL DIS RUBBISH

nice one'

14. The best news have read this week

15. VERY WELL' I THINK DIS LL MAKE THEM STOP ALL DIS RUBBISH

nice one'

16. reduces really?

17. Why ar dey reducing it? It has to be death

18. Nice one.

19. Oya kidnappers start running to Delta state

20. What's the problem with this state house of Assembly. ...why change it from death penalty, nobody was was going to be killed. It was enacted to instil fear in would be kidnappers. Thumbs down for Delta HoS👎👎👎👎👎

21. Why change it, are you encouraging them?

22. they are right because the world is trying to abolish death sentence (corporal punishment) believing every wrong doers has the right to life and second chance to change and turn a new leaf.

23. Its a shame that a man that have been in politics for more than 16 years and have serve in various capacities in delta state will constitute so low to reduce the penalty of kidnappers from death to life in imprisonment, what is the difference between a murderer and a kidnapper?, security level of the state have move from green to amber,presently moving toward red,we should stop celebrating crime and treat every crime with just and equity......God bless the federal republic of Nigeria