Indian parents embrace their son’s sexuality and throw him a big gay Hindu wedding (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 3 June 2016

Indian parents embrace their son’s sexuality and throw him a big gay Hindu wedding (photos)

It is still illegal to be gay in India and homosexuality is still a huge taboo over there, but not for Mr Vijay and Mrs Sushma Agarwal, who despite giving their son, Rishi Agarwal  a traditional Hindu upbringing, went ahead to organize a lavish wedding for him and his gay partner when they got to know of his sexuality.

As a young gay man, Rishi feared he would never be able to have that dream wedding and he struggled to come to terms with his identity.
According to him, a gay Sikh student he knew at high school had committed suicide after his parents refused to accept his homosexuality.

When he finally came out to his parents Vijay and Sushma Agarwal in 2004, the news came as a huge shock. ‘We both were stunned,’ recalls Vijay, 68. Rishi’s mum Sushma, 61, was initially devastated by the news.

But they accepted him and changed their perception of LGBT couples after going for seminars and talk shows on LGBT people in Toronto, Canada.

And when Rishi met his partner Daniel Langdon in 2011 and decided to get married, his parents threw him a lavish Hindu wedding of his dreams.

More photos...

39 comments:

1. Heavenly parents.
    They really tried by taking that kind of risk and God will be nodding his head for them.
    I am calling all Africans parents to emulate this gays are born gay like it or not.

1. Please, nobody is born gay,we are just born as human innocent babies. Besides we are fearfully and wonderfully made by an almighty who is the judge of us all. Above all things love one another.

2. No one is born gay.. its start little by little. It's an evil spirit that possesses someone, if you accommodate it, it start growing until you get adapted so much to it and u find it very difficult to stop it. Just like being a lesbian. Once u allow it n start reasoning n behaving like one, u get used to it. May God hv mercy on them

3. Freeborn u r foolish, see me fr explanation

4. Ogbasaram! Linda take note!

2. Inukwaa!!ihe nka sef!Odiegwu!

3. Can someone just tell me when is world will end cos am so confused that i can hardly think straight. Lord have mercy on us.

Edobabe#replinda#

4. oh my God!this is a taboo sign of end of time, linda did u see the new video of an American lady who God visited and gave a message to d world? that he's coming any minits, any seconds from now, his not happy with d level of sins going on in the world and u have to use your platform to spread his message thats if u really want to live long enough to enjoy your wealth cos if he comes 2day u will nolonger have that previlage.

1. Wtf are you talking about? So if she does not use her platform, she won't live long? Smh- Newyorker ( Linda let's get married)

2. U r stupid for what u just said,ow can u even say she won't live long.Pls think before u type next time#mschewwwwwwww

5. Confused people...smh #Evil

6. Am very sorry for thr souls...

7. four empty heads that are worst than one silly head

8. Homosexuality is a mental illness.

9. signs of end time, God will help us

10. God will help us o....

11. Gay is an evil spirit. Nobody is born Gay, they are only victims of the evil spirit.

12. Gay is an evil spirit taking hold of people in our time, pls nobody is born Gay, they are only victims of the evil spirit. God help us all.

13. yeye

14. Ori rata marayo#omo yoruba lemi o

15. too many stupid people on the comment section of this blog

16. Wrong! Who ever engages in homosexuality Hell fire is in view.
    God is against it. Period!

1. All sin are same b4 God,no 1 is greater ok.we will all b judge someday so plss u guys shuld allow dis pple enjoy dei stay on earth biko..

2. Sins are sins but sins may have various consequences. There were many nation sinning but God chose to destroy Sodom and Gomarah for this kind of things. The men of Sodom wanted to sleep with people they knew not that they were angels. Sodomy is a huge sin b4 God. Surely these things signify the end time. Jesus said if Sodom wasnt justified b4 God, this generation shall not be spared. This is because Sodom should be an example to this generation, yet some people chose to follow the path of Sodomy.

17. End time marriage n parents

18. They'll soon be assasinated!

19. They'll soon be killed!

20. They'll soon be killed!

21. Dis just to much.nahhhhhh for me

22. Lord have mercy on us all.

23. Please don't brandish ignorance by saying nobody is born gay. I was born gay. I grew up in the same household as my brothers, but was different from them. I liked wearing girls' dresses, playing with dolls, ladies' make up, hated sports, said my big brother's handsome friend was my husband, took interest in sewing and cooking... All the cliches were there. I later faced the truth about myself. I've studied sexuality in mammals and human history, and know we were there from the dawn of time. Oppressing homosexuals is stupid and ignorant and robs a nation of many capable, intelligent people. These Hindu parents are doing the right thing. Good luck to the couple.