Retired Army Captain and father of 8 commits suicide in Calabar | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 23 May 2016

Retired Army Captain and father of 8 commits suicide in Calabar

A retired Captain in the Nigerian Army identified as Friday William committed suicide in Calabar, Cross River State.
According to Cross River Watch, body of the Mr William was found dangling from a mango tree outside his compound at No 34, Edim Otop Street, Calabar, Cross River State. The deceased hails from Mkpat Enin Local Government in Akwa Ibom State but lived with his family in Calabar.
Neighbors and relatives shocked as he was said not to be desperate and was living in his own house, owned three cars while all his eight children are said to be doing well. One of his neighbours, Abasi Imoh said:
"We woke up in the morning to behold the body dangling on the mango tree outside the compound and we do not know what was responsible for his action. We gathered that Captain William had allegedly sent a text message to one of his sons who lives in Port Harcourt, at about 10pm, to condole with him over his own death and advised him to be strong to take care of his siblings. But the son did not see the message until he got a call the next morning that his father had committed suicide and I feel he had tied the rope ready for the act before he sent the text. He was not poor because he had three cars and had built a house in his village and was generally doing well; that is why we were surprised with his action,"

Source: Cross River Watch

34 comments:

1. Too bad! Linda take note!

2. SAD! i wish the kids all the best.

3. Chai!!!πŸ˜‚. Depression will not be far from it. It's very deadly.. Make u look normal on the outside but you're already dead inside. RipπŸ™

4. We all need genuine peace and happiness...when this is not there living is meaningless...#onMYway...

5. Whatever pushed him to this point tho....sad!

6. Evil manipulations Hmmmmmm it is de evil hand work of human or frnds dat doesn't want him to reap de fruit of his labor de world is a wicked place

7. Depression is real. You can be rich, successful, yet depressed. Please, always talk to someone about how you feel. Speak please. I have considered suicide on many occasions but what kept and still keeps me are these; 1. I try to express myself and my frustration to people I trust - their positive words are hope renewing. 2. I pray and praise God. 3. I get out and get busy occupying my mind. 4. I try to move my thoughts away from the harsh reality of my existence and think of the positive events in my life since birth. 5. I remind myself that death is inevitable, so, why speeden the timing. 6. I remind myself that I may not even be in a happier place - how can I tell I'll be happier away from this life? 7. I remain hopeful. 8. I recite from the holy bible, Job 14:7.

8. Depression is real. You can be rich, successful, yet depressed. Please, always talk to someone about how you feel. Speak please. I have considered suicide on many occasions but what kept and still keeps me are these; 1. I try to express myself and my frustration to people I trust - their positive words are hope renewing. 2. I pray and praise God. 3. I get out and get busy occupying my mind. 4. I try to move my thoughts away from the harsh reality of my existence and think of the positive events in my life since birth. 5. I remind myself that death is inevitable, so, why speeden the timing. 6. I remind myself that I may not even be in a happier place - how can I tell I'll be happier away from this life? 7. I remain hopeful. 8. I recite from the holy bible, Job 14:7.

9. Suicidal tendencies

10. The villagers finally killed him RIP captain

11. Pls desist from suicide for its pathway is hell.

12. Life is more Dan money n material possessions! May. His soul rest in peace

13. The demon depression eats deeper dan we tink in respective of who u dat why u need GOD and stay around positive pple....RIP to d dead....inspired by Linda

14. His actions where wrong, but we can't speak ill of the dead.

15. Terrible News. Nigerians believes someone is Rich by building their own house and owing cars, then the person is doing well. But they do not know what the person is going through.
    So sad! Whatever happens, No one should take his or her life. God is still on the throne. He alone can give you hope and a life if you seek him.
    Rip sir.

16. You might all the money in this world and still be depressed. RIP CAPTAIN!

17. Esther Dangana23 May 2016 at 08:43

He acted the script of the witches and the wizards of his village. With his profile, I don't think he would like to die this way. Back to sender!

18. Oh no. God keep his family. Depression is real folks. Jesus keep them. If you are feeling depressed, there's always a way out. Eternal damnation is not a joke. You were bought with a price, the blood of Jesus. Give it all back to GOD. He will see you through it.

19. No one knows where the shoes pinches... having all those things does not guarantee happiness

20. Who told him there's a better life where he ran to??? Shio

21. Village witches and wizard don manipulate am

22. It's murder and not a suicide! Let the police do an investigation

23. Mayb dey hv killd him and made it look lyk suicude

24. Investigations pls,this is unbelievable! RIP Man

25. Mayb dey hv killd him and made it look lyk suicide