Photo: Nigerian man arrested in India for duping 90 people through online lottery fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 27 May 2016

Photo: Nigerian man arrested in India for duping 90 people through online lottery fraud

The cyber crime cell of Pune police, India has arrested a 43-year-old Nigerian national from Delhi, who had a staggering 14 accounts in reputed banks and has till now duped more than 90 people across India through lottery scams to the tune of around Rs three crore.
The accused, identified as Igwe Festus Abraham was arrested in Delhi on Tuesday, May 24 and brought to Pune on Wednesday. He has been remanded in police custody till May 31, the police said.

The investigation was initiated by the cyber cell of Pune Police after a woman registered a complaint of losing Rs 16.18 lakh to cheaters in January this year, deputy commissioner of police (cyber and economic offence wing) Deepak Sakore said.

"The woman received a mail in September 2015, informing her that she has won a lottery worth Rs 4.92 crore. She provided her bank and other details as asked in the mail," the DCP said.

"The accused then called up the woman and asked her to deposit money from time to time under the pretext of various taxes and fees," Sakore added.

The accused met her at a hotel in Pune and gave a bag, telling her that it contained US dollars and even took out four notes from the bundle. He applied some chemical on the notes to show its genuineness.

"He told her that since the chemical was over, he will have to procure it from the UK, so that remaining notes can be analysed. He then left by handing over the suitcase to the woman,"  Sakore said.

The woman took the notes to the foreign exchange, where she came to know that the suitcase contained plain papers, the officer said, adding,

"After realising that she has been duped, the woman lodged a police complaint. We successfully tracked the accused and arrested him in New Delhi," said Sunil Pawar, an Inspector with Cyber cell.

During investigation, police came to know that the accused has duped around 100 people across the country and got Rs 3 crore deposited to his various bank accounts.

Source: The Indian Express

34 comments:

1. Gbege
    Em cup don full be dat

Linda don't take note!

1. Greedy people still falling mugu for dis archaic game. Linda take note!

2. He must be biafran!Tufiakwa!!

3. He must be biafran!Tufiakwa!!

4. Shot up and cry for your country. Linda, expose Nigerian leaders and there frauds then count how many Educated young Nigerians so frustrated with the Govt? Because there idears are wasting away, dont you know? while Linda is busy with her gossip sturff and Truith not being preached. Get out you all.

5. Watch it guys the once languishing in jail for minor ofensis need prayers. Take not Linda, this guy knew just the woman and not 90 people so, visit India to get facts and not relying on fake gossip. it was a setup. Indians are good at that if you don't play by there rules many student are dying there for lies told on them. Linda take note pls.

2. This guys...not again! #Evil

3. I hate Indians. Any news about them disgust me that's why I always bully them

4. Igwe betwhy????

5. Hustler ehhhh... 9ja which way... Quick money, no patience. 90% of 9ja youth are now in yahoo game just to meet up... #Alinko

6. Ma guy ma guy...see wat u have landed yasef into now
    Signed
    #LibBadBoy

7. Nigeria ehhh loi.
    This guy are lions indeed.
    They no dey fear upon all there ba names they are still coming more evil yoruba boys i lift my yash for u guys.
    They should continue na here i dey.

8. Mugu fall man chop. But Wait O how can someone call you and tell you that you've won a lottery that you know you didn't play and ask you to bring money you accept. What does that make you?

9. Is dis one too an aboki again?

10. Another Nigerian 'doing us bad abroad'... I don't how comfortable you can get to dupe somehow and still feel cool about it. Pretty Bad it is.

Have you logged on to awoofnaija.com today? Log on to win freebies, deals and promos.

11. Hmmm

12. These igbo people sef. Haba.

1. Igbos, you are endangering people's lives. You did this in South Africa, you saw the end result. You're destroying Nigeria's reputation that's already a cause of ridicule.
      If you form your own country, you will not last if this is all you will be known for.

13. Everyday one new sad story.. Can anything good ever come out of Nigeria?

14. Why are all this guys distroying the good ones for God sake 😣😣😣😣😣

15. It's high time we start identifying them by their ethnic , Igbo man , Yoruba man , Edo man or Hausa man . Not Nigeria I beg , since they have decided to bring shame to themselves not Nigerians .

16. Kaiiiiii....naija will not kill me

17. Lol...wash wash

18. JOYOUS BABE,Linda Ikeji first Cousin27 May 2016 at 13:24

nawa o, people get mind sha.

19. Now pay for your sins... Yahoo man!

20. QL: Happy Children's Day to all the rainbows of innumerable colours out there!
    Get Jerseys, Polo T shirts and Jeans wears for your kids.
    BBM: 2754B912, Call: 08130373753
    Whatsapp: 08034334692.