Nigerian man stripped of British citizenship, suspected of plotting Paris-style terror attack | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 27 May 2016

Nigerian man stripped of British citizenship, suspected of plotting Paris-style terror attack

A Nigerian man linked to a group of British Islamists has been stripped of his UK citizenship amid fears he would return to London to execute a Paris-style terror attack, a court heard on Tuesday, May 24.

The man, known as L2 for legal reasons,(who is currently in Nigeria with his family) was deemed such a security risk that Home Secretary Theresa May (pictured) personally signed an order removing his British nationality in 2013.

L2, who is said to have lived and worked in Tower Hamlets, East London, during his time in Britain, is now challenging the Home Office decision at a hearing at the Special Immigration Appeals Commission (Siac) in London.

According to the Bureau of Investigative Journalism, which is covering the case, an unnamed secret services agent referred to as ‘EZ’ told the hearing L2 had been “engaged in terror activity.”

L2 was directly associated with close friends of Michael Adebolajo, killer of soldier Lee Rigby, and Islamic State (IS, formerly ISIS/ISIL) executioner Mohammed Emwazi, also known as “Jihadi John,” the court heard.

The agent said L2 had been in Turkey in 2007 taking part in terror-related activity with Ali Adorus, a close associate of Jihadi John. After returning to the UK, L2 spent time in a British prison between 2007 and 2011 for possessing a handgun, the agent said.

Following his release, L2 is understood to have attended meetings and been a member of the now banned group of  radicals al Muhajiroun.

The court was also told L2 had fought for Al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM) against French forces in Mali, and it was largely because of this the British state sought to ban him from returning.

"We were trying to prevent L2 bringing back the expertise he would have learnt with AQIM and so a deprivation order was the best course to take,"  the agent told Sia
c.
The agent says recent events such as last year’s Paris attacks suggest extremists are returning to conduct their jihad in Europe, including “instances where individuals from the UK have travelled overseas and returned to conduct attacks."

The agent also said L2 worked at Master Printers in Tower Hamlets - a printing shop raided by police in 2011 over suspicions of links to al Muhajiroun.

L2 worked alongside Ibrahim Hassan(left) and Shah Jalal Hussein (right) who was tried in 2014 for disseminating terrorist propaganda and jailed for three years.

The court heard the pair knew each other “not just through their employment” but because they were both founding members of the proscribed terrorist organization Minbar Ansar Deen.

In cross examination, Hugh Southey QC, barrister for L2, said his client denied being a member of either al Muhajiroun or Minbar Ansar Deen, merely that he was acquainted with members.

Southey said Minbar Ansar Deen was “essentially just a website,” which L2 denies ever visiting. The case continues. See main story here

Source: RT/Bureau of Investigative Journalism

35 comments:

1. Na wa o....

1. Nigerian government should look for him and lock him up immediately, no trial needed.

2. If he won an award or Olympic trophy UK would have claimed him, now he's a terrorist they have dumped him for us, he is now a Nigerian.

2. Shuuuu!!!
    Speechless

Linda don't take note!

3. GOOD. ALL MUSLIMS MUST BE BANNED FROM ANY EUROPEAN OR AMERICAN COUNTRY! They have caused us so much already

4. Why are all terrorist muslim??..bcos part of the book they believe in contains some real evil teaching...

5. This is a serious allegation,na waoh! #BadRepu

6. Are you tired of betting?? Lose No more because for your fixed
    matches message me on WhatsApp on 08142809528 for your quality fixed games or call...note-for high stakers only

7. This people won't stop tarnishing our image

8. Who again wil he be apart hausa\fulani
    Buhari and his fake corruption fighters shld beta fish him out and do de needful

Linda don't take note!

9. Hmmm hope our security agents back home are keeping tabs on him.

10. Hmmm

11. Some people will never stop giving us bad reputation.

Visit my blog at www.thejanesroom.com

12. Replies
    1. Just keep your eyes open. If you ever see him, tie him down and call police eeee!

13. Haaa,this one na real terrorist. Pls mention his name make we dey careful

14. Is devil a Nigerian?.. Anything bad always always has lineage in Nigeria. Can't we always have good report? For example, a Nigerian in Britain has built the world best aircraft.. Tufiaaaa!!!

15. Pissful religion

16. Buhari, you see how this shit works? Don't let him come back. Strip him of his nigerian citizenship as well. Let him return to the ISIS or Alqaeda state where he can die in a hail of bombs and go to meet the second phase of hell fire

17. I hope the Nigeria security agencies know who L2 is before he does damages in Nigeria.

18. I don't blame dem at all! Linda take note!

19. Nigeria is now a dumping ground for British trained Islamic terrorists. We may never know Mr. L2 until the next bomb 💣 explosion that brings down a commercial jet.

20. How many Asians that are linked to terrorist have been stripped off their citizenship?

21. Abeg the guy terrorists' activities too much. He should stay in his country. Lesson learnt: Be careful who you associate with. "Tell me who your friends are and i will tell you who you are"

22. What the heck is L2??? Tell us the mofos name and show us his picture abeg---Abi na here good to bomb? Abi which kain thing be dis???

23. This one will just go and join boko haram and use his skills to recruit more people. God help us

24. No wonder Nigeria is included in the list of countries where visa processing time takes longer time in Europe, cos Ghana is not even on that list. We Nigeria with the likes of Yemen, Iran and Iraq. Imagine!!! some of my friend applying for residency renewal in Germany are now mandated to take security test as Nigeria is on the list of countries that can be classified as terrorist.