Photos: Dog becomes first pooch to 'pilot' a plane following weeks of coaching | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 1 April 2016

Photos: Dog becomes first pooch to 'pilot' a plane following weeks of coaching

Shadow the dog used his paws to steer a jet around a figure-of-eight circuit at 3,000ft following weeks of training. The dog, a Staffordshire Bull Terrier-Collie, was one of three dogs to go through flight school as part of Sky 1 TV series Dogs Might Fly and is now officially the first pooch to pilot a plane.

The aircraft's controls were modified so Shadow could hit buttons in response to certain sounds.

His human co-pilot ensured Shadow was airborne before the pooch pilot took the controls..
More photos after the cut.

Animal expert Charlotte Wilde said: “We set out to show that dogs have extraordinary abilities, and flight was the ultimate test.

"Each year 5,000 dogs just like Shadow are put down, but through this show we wanted to demonstrate just what remarkable and intelligent animals they are."

34 comments:

1. Mk calabar ppl catch una..shadow no try go China or Nigeria oo

2. I remember my padi obaro and sunny wey chop shadow the dog during nysc. Lmao. Make those niggaz no catch this shadow o, dem go chop ham. Rotfl

2. Lol this people play way too much.

3. These people are trying to push people out of work! First, it was robots. Now, animals. I don't think I would like to board that airline though. I wish the dog pilot safe flights

#GodBlessLinda

4. Suicide attempt is all i can see here...!

5. This is risky na..animal wl always be animal no matter wat....lol@ d sitbelt

6. That's why they say dogs are friends to man

PEPSI ADDICT

7. This is funny. If dogs can fly a plane so?

8. Oyibo people eh. Them too much

#LibBadBoy

9. Hehehehhe dat's awesome,I love dogs,very intelligent animal. #bestpetever

10. They should have just left it alone in that plane or sit behind it and just watch it pilot them. I know Dogs and some other animals can be extremely wise but we humans must not exaggerate on certain things.

11. And if anything go rong, who will dey blame, d dog?

12. UNA DE MAD TO GET LIVER SIDON INSIDE PLANE WEY DOG DE PILOT.

13. Lol

14. Like seriously! Linda take note!

15. Oyibo n their wahala anyways it's intresting

16. Dem white are all Mad, sitting in a plane a dog is piloting, crazy shit

17. THERE IS NOTHING UNUSUAL TO THIS. DOGS DEY FUCK BABES OVERSEAS ON DAILY BASES AND WITH RECKLESS ABANDON.

18. Ndi ocha.... They no kill person one day o

19. This is definitely an April fool Story....@Linda...provide link and proof to the original story

20. Okay, one day we have a dog as a pilot and somehow, it stumbles on an island shape scooby snack. What do we do?

21. Terrorist tries to takeover a plane then opens the cockpit and finds out the pilot is Mastiff and Pitbull. Salam

22. Lmao.. This is extremely funny

23. Lovely.
    Will still eat a peppersouped Pooch though.

24. nawa ooo....too risky