Activists said on Monday that they will continue to press for the festival to be banned as well as press for legislation to outlaw the killing of dogs and cats and the consumption of their meat.
Accordingto research,about 10-20 million dogs are killed each year in China. The dog meat festival will take place on June 20 in the city of Yulin.
Yu Hongmei, director of the VShine Animal Protection Association, said China needs to follow the example of developed nations that have banned eating dog and cat.
He said:
"China needs to progress with the times,". "Preventing cruelty to animals is the sign of a mature, civilized society."Restaurant owners defended themselves by saying eating dog meat is traditional during the summer, but animal activists say the festival that began in 2010 has no cultural value and was merely invented to drum up business.
In 2014, the local government disassociated itself from the event and forbade its employees from attending and limiting its size by shutting down some dog markets and slaughter houses.
As much as the activists try, over 10,000 dogs, many of them stolen, still wearing their collars, are slaughtered for the festival held deep inside the poor, mainly rural Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region.
Source: AP

Hian...
ReplyDeleteDisgusting
ReplyDeleteMeenah_wakil on instagram
Disgusting
ReplyDeleteMeenah_wakil on instagram
China is one country I will never visit . U can eat human meat crazy people
ReplyDeleteOh boy.... 404 ND fresh palmwine...hmmmmmmmmm... I miss it ooooooo... I cnt wait to leave Dubai for my home oooooo.... I swear dia are calabar people posing as Chinese
ReplyDeleteWhich one is Dog festival again...eating meat in any chinese restaurant is a big risk..
ReplyDeleteMy Akwaibomite and Cross Riverian friends has gotten nothing on this Chinese people oh!
ReplyDeleteActivists? Mtchew. Soon we will have mosquitos activists
ReplyDeleteChina nawa!
ReplyDeleteWhat THA F^&K. Look at all those dead dogs. They must have a dog farm in China.
ReplyDeleteDo You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
*laughing in chinese* all these activists should come to Nigeria
ReplyDeleteNa for here u go everly see Edet.
ReplyDeleteNkita China.it seems u want them to finish all the Lizard n rat in de bush
ReplyDeleteHahahahaha,abeg I don't eat dogs so nothing concern me.
ReplyDeleteLIB ADDICT#just passing#
Choi! 404 things! Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteLoL
ReplyDelete-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds
Ah, so Chinese eat dog like Calabar people ???
ReplyDeleteMehn see better meat
ReplyDeleteIF U R NOT A VEGETARIAN DONT CONDENM!!!MEAT NA MEAT,CAT,DOG,MONKEY,COW,HORSE,LIZARD,BAT,GOAT,HUMAN...D SWEETEST,SO PLS IN AS MUCH AS U EAT MEAT,MEAT NA MEAT,ANOTHER MANS MEAT COULD BR UR POISON..ME I EAT ALL MEAT,NS HUMAN MEAT SWEET PASS,I AM FROM ABIA STATE,THE BEST PART IS D THIGH
ReplyDeleteAre you serious?
DeleteBloody liar. Ur nt from abia state.
DeleteYou are such a big fool!
DeleteMay God have mercy on you.
DeleteEwu who will now eat ur own meat,guess is vulture.
DeleteU na never still change abi ugwa my sister dey una chop years back go kill all una un born generation.
DeleteUr sister?I swear I wasn't part of that one oh or u fit describe her,she get tattoo for ikebe,she fair?cuz fair people meat taste like pork and dark people taste like tiko but bleached people...godforbid..it taste like soured neat,but d best na dirty people
DeleteMake I catch u na your dick I go cut feed those dogs
DeleteLol!!! He's neeeded in calabar! Yimu! Dog meat is awesome
ReplyDeleteNot a fan of dog eaters
ReplyDeleteLol... awful
ReplyDeleteAnimal, fool from Abia
ReplyDeleteHmm so they eat dog meat too thought it's only in niger
ReplyDeleteTheir headache
ReplyDeletePepper soup tinza. Enroute China....
ReplyDeleteEeeewwwww! Disgusting
ReplyDeleteLIKE IT
ReplyDeleteCalabar people need to be there....lol
ReplyDeleteHehehee...hope say no be calabar boys de incharge ooo
ReplyDeleteWhen all these Yeye activist mumu finish, make una come naija my beloved country from eating dog meat or any kind of meat sef!
ReplyDeleteSee the level of hypocrisy these stupid activist practice... so it's ok to slaughter cows nd fowls but not dog?? make una carry una petty self enter my country if the law makers themselves no go banish una!
Una for kuku turn the whole world to vegetable eatin planet na! Abegi linda next gist jare
Why should they stop it?, no one says shit when cows, goats, chickens and pigs are killed.....it's their culture we shouldn't impose on theirs as they don't with ours
ReplyDeleteLol
ReplyDeleteYou people should be careful not to judge other people.
ReplyDeleteChinese eating dogs is nobody's business what we should be careful about is how Westerners use "Rights" orgainzations to impose their culture and way of life on others. If nobody is calling you disgusting for eating goats and cows then nobody should insult the chinese. because animals are animals. And if these "instruments of satan" cared about animals then they should stop Germans and other Europeans for eating pigs and other animals. Africans wake the fcuk up.