2 missing as boat capsizes in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 7 February 2016

2 missing as boat capsizes in Lagos

Just one week after a boat mishap in Badore claimed the lives of seven people, another boat has capsized in the Badagry area with two feared dead.
According to reports, the fibre boat which had 10 passengers crashed into a log of wood after it took off on Saturday from Ebute Iworo Jetty, en route Badagry.
Out of the ten passengers on board, only four of them were reported to have used life jackets.

Confirming the incident, the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), NEMA South-west Spokesperson, Mr. Ibrahim Farinloye said:
“Unlike the previous incident which was caused by sand dredgers, this incident was happened because the boat hit a log and capsized, upturning its passengers into the water.“The boat is called a fibre boat because it has engine. It happened in Badagry. It so happened that the open canoe hit a log while sailing, lost balance, and capsized with 10 passengers.
“Emergency responders like the Marine police, LASWA, NIWA and local divers have rescued eight people alive while the search for a woman and the driver of the canoe continues. The correct figure of those rescued alive is eight. Also, out of the eight, only four wore life jackets while others did not.

35 comments:

1. U shall b found in Jesus name,amen!
      #nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

2. Chai....Lord pls help dem

#spritual y

2. Not again
    Alhamdulilah for those saved and I hope the remaining two people are found safely too. Aameen

#Hajia Mufliat

3. Enter your comment...OGA o.
    Lord help us in Jesus name
    Amen!
    LINDA I'M HERE o

4. Dis is getting 2 much
    Scary really
    Am temporary out of service
    Pls try again later
    Linda dont take note!

5. Woow, hope dey find dem

6. If only LASG would buy good boats and operate them!

7. Wats really causin dis..
    Is it dat d driver is inexperienced or d boat is faulty ni

8. Again,,xup with all this capsieze this days

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

9. Thank God for their lives. Happy Sunday to u all. Aunty Linda pls accept my request

Future Cadet says So

10. I hope no one lost their life

11. Enter boat for nigeria,neva in my life.person enemy go don die b4 rescue team go come dats if we even have dat

12. Not again! God please take control. Linda take note!

13. God is in control....... @iam MR_Successful and i believe in destiny

14. God cum nd take control
    #nwanne linda

15. Nawao

16. Isn't it somewhat funny that the driver is missing? Does it mean he can't swim? I pray they are found.