10 killed and hundreds homeless as Fulani herdsmen attack Benue villages | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 8 February 2016

10 killed and hundreds homeless as Fulani herdsmen attack Benue villages

About 10 people were feared dead yesterday, in fresh attacks between Fulani herdsmen and farmers at Tom-Anyiin and Tom-Ataan communities, Mbaya, Tombu in Buruku Local Government Area of Benue State. The Council Chairman, Godwin Iorsue, the Divisional Police Officer at Buruku, the Area Commander and some security operatives in the area, on assessment tour of the communities, were ambushed and attacked by the herdsmen who had seized the area after they chased off the indigenes.
The renewed crisis has created a huge refugee situation in the area with over 300 people displaced from the affected communities and scores injured in the bloody attack.

A source from one of the affected communities said that the Fulani invaders stormed the communities late Saturday night, shooting sporadically and burning down houses, huts, food barn, farmland and economic trees.
The source said:
“As I speak with you, fighting is still raging in the affected communities. Although I cannot give you a precise figure of the dead, about 10 have been killed, many are missing and many others sustained injures.”
The Council Chairman, Mr. Godwin Iorsue said they were ambushed and attacked by the herdsmen as they went to assess the extent of damage that had been done by the Herdsmen.

He said: “It was only God that saved us. They were over 30 and well armed while we had only four armed police officers with us. Our cars were perforated with bullets.”

The Police Public Relations Officer, Assistant Superintendent Moses Yamu said:
“The people ran away from their communities in fear of a possible attack by Fulani herdsmen, but there were neither killing nor destruction of property in the area. “I can confirm that the DPO, the Area Commander, the Caretaker Council Chairman and selected stakeholders were attacked by suspected herdsmen when they visited to assess the situation in the area.”

Vanguard

82 comments:

1. The anarchy and insecurity in this country is shocking! How herdsmen, hoodlums can attack at anytime !

1. I keep saying it. If these Fulani herdsmen aren't brought under control they will be worse than Boko haram. These guys actually just ENJOY killing innocents.

2. Copied from lower down the page. Best and most accurate comment ever: shitte,boko haram,fulani,militant,kidnappers,armed robber for one country..there is no difference between Nigeria and Syria or Afghanistan.." The only thing the writer failed to mention is thieving leaders.

2. Chai! Ihe nke a

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
    #iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

3. shitte,boko haram,fulani,militant,kidnappers,armed robber for one country..there is no difference between Nigeria and Syria or Afghanistan..

4. BUHARI, BOKO HARAM IS TECHNICALLY DEFEATED I SEE...No wonder you asked for vacation, you have gone for RE-INFORCEMENT. After all, FAYOSE was NEVER wrong. .

5. And Buhari will act like he is unaware those so called fulani herds men has done enough to there illicit act.

6. My question is what are these blood sucking fulanis agitating for? There is definitely no security in this country.

7. Ehee! BuBu's men are @ it again. BuBu try n call ur boys to order nah, coz dis is getting outta hand.. Peace to d dead..

8. If not boko haram then it these herds men with guns nah wah oh

9. The northerners are the problem of this nation, and their not adding any values

1. Oooh so u actually know and ur ancestors keep following them like slaves . Why????

10. These herdsmen again! Call ur ppl to order Mr President

11. Pls government should do something very fast about this useless fulani herdsmen it's becoming too much of them. This is how Boko haram started like play like play.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

12. Buhari hold your pple

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

13. Phew! What is with these herdsmen, seems after boko haram they are going to be the next headache.

14. Forget it, this guys should stop parading themselves as fulani herds men, they are terrorist. Geskia!!!
    #mr liberty.

15. Na waooooo...dis fulani guyz,dey dnt lyk peace oooo....hw will som1 dat God created.....love to take anoda mans life?....lyk he could even produce a strand of hair?i judt dnt get in dis woel anymore

#spritual

16. Buhari. Enough is enough with the fulani herdsmen. Deal with it now!

17. This Fulani herdsmen are becoming terrible by the day, Buhari won't advise his brothers to stop killing innocent people. They should be warned never to try this nonsense in the south, else they will bath in their own blood. Wicked devils!

18. freshpresh says, dear lord please bring an end to book haram

19. Wat are we goin to do wit this buhari brothers..like FFK said they are like the devil dat has come to kill and destroy and also rape.

#LibBadBoy

20. freshpresh says, its obvious that its only God that can put an end to book haram

21. Hmmmmm, this fulani people again. Something really needs to be done about it.

22. Buhari people always looking for blood to drink...

23. Buhari people always looking for blood to drink...

24. These innocent blood u people are sharing ,there's God ooooo.

25. Dese Fulani herdsmen are a big problem in dis country. Linda take note!

26. buhari should bring his Fulani boys to book. they're terrorising Nigeria

27. I wonder what is wrong in the head of this buhari brothers...what is actually giving them the liver to ginger self

28. From Boko haram to now Fulani herdsmen.. All Northerners. Must everything evil be associated with this Islamic states?!

29. Nah waaaaaa ooooooo
    What is really going on.

30. From Boko haram to now Fulani herdsmen.. All Northerners. Must everything evil be associated with this Islamic states?!

31. What is wrong wirh this fulani herds mem

LINDA MY LINDA

32. If its not boko haram, it will be Fulani herdsmen.Dnt these people just get tired of killing???...

33. I am begging to hate this fulani herdsmen

34. I hate fulani people.. Yes I said it

35. Haba! Too bad nah, fulani herdsmen own don the 2much ooooo

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

36. Make Una De kill Una self.jumbo

37. owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin)8 February 2016 at 07:53

Why?

38. Can the govt just prevent these ppl from their disguised migration?

39. Buhari should get his brothers under control, this is getting out of hand

40. Mr vacation president come and put your house in order, criminal forming holy.

41. May the Almighty God deliver Nigeria and grant us peace IJN

42. Too bad. Nigerian Police can never say the truth- when gun shot was involved, police still claimed that thr was no destruction of lives and property. God help us.

43. Fulani should leave the native alone. Don't know why the love bloodshed.

44. Benue people am not even sorry for you people,instead of chasing these blod thirsty devils off your land you people re busy habouring them

45. Which way Nigeria. Armed Fulani herdsmen! Only in Nigeria will Alumanjiri armed with Ak47. Government need τ̲̅ǿ deal with the root cause of this mayhems which is education for this fearless people. May God help us.

46. Nothing wey person no go see for dis country in d hands of these Abokis. Y are Hausas so tasty of blood?

1. Biafrans tried to kill them all during the war . But the British was actually the ones we where fighting .

47. These Fulani lunatics have-been/are-still terrorizing the middle belt region and all these Retarded News outlets have been silent on this sad happening.
    Pathetic.

48. Dis Funlani Herdsmen wasting lives and d most unfortunate aspect of it is dat our govt is not bothered.

49. we are almost winning the fight against boko haram and this fulani herdsmen want to be the new topic on board??...killing all of them abeg.

#XENO-FABIAN

50. Hmmm, benue brothers. Its time to tell ur self the truth. Remember Okar, join the new black nation of Biafra or perish in the hands of the Hausa Fulani. Biafra is the future for Africans. The British made a mess . RIP to the dead smh. Sad indeed

51. Everything about this people is violence. God save us in this country.

-LIB PIKIN-

52. It is unfortunate that this is happening at this time, this is terrorism in the offing again, if not nipped on the board it may go haywire. Let the govt rise to its duty and let security personnel, especially the NPF that is residents in our communities be up to their duties, God bless Nigeria.

53. Ds fulani herdsmen ish needs to be addressed and dz fools need to be put in dia place.

54. Hausa Fulani people sef
    Why na

55. Living in de same country wit animals is very dangerous
    Dis people re cursed daz why dey re bloody tasty monsters
    God hv mercy
    Am temporary out of service
    Pls try again later
    Linda dont take note!

56. I Read a story earlier about a 19 year old that killed his mother and two neighbors. The sheriff said be called swat, FBI, CIA for backup, bcos he wasn't sure of what he was up against, pure wisdom. Here in naija, a whole community has been attacked by Fulani herdsmen, and you go with just four armed policemen to access the damaged caused, why wont they over power and ambush you. How can someone who thinks from his butt be a good police officer, and also protect lives and property, mtcheew.

1. The country ur in is a zoo. Animals they wear agbaba

57. Well I dnt blame dem. Their brother na eir president. They feel dy cn do as dey pls. Stupid ppl.. Rip to d dead.

58. Diz hausa ppl r goats
    All almajiri ppl r evil
    Stupid cattle rearers.....imagine!!!
    In som1 elz state..ur takn lives
    If i wer d govr for diz non hausa states i wud ban diz peepxfrom entern d state or dey face death

Miss Freeborn!!

59. Fulani and hausa people na d most violent people wey we get for naija. Illiteracy and ignorance don finish dem

AJ MAIN BOY...

60. What's wrong with this herdsmen?
    Their land is not enough for them

61. Insurgency sha, home or foreign supported; one is not better than the other o.

62. All this Muslim people are wicked all of them r d same.

63. fulani people are animals just like our mumu president

64. THESE HERDSMEN ARE TURNING DEADLIER DAY BY DAY

65. So much violence everywhere! Where is the president? Haba!

66. U people should keep on waiting the Government to protect until they finish u people. Fire for fire and tit for tat.

67. MORE REASONS WHY IGEDE,IDOMA AND IGALA NEED TO JEJELLY SUPPORT BIAFRA AND GET HER INDEPENDENT.IN BIAFRA WE STAND!!