See the Indian tribe where opium smoking is the chief past time | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 3 December 2015

See the Indian tribe where opium smoking is the chief past time

Sitting on the dangerous Myanmar border is an Indian village of head-hunters with an opium addiction so pervasive a third of the population smoke the drug with many having to sell their possessions to fund the habit and 90% have used the substance.

The situation is so bad in Longwa, children are left without the attention of their fathers because the men spend long hours smoking opium, they don't have their mothers around either because the women, who have avoided the habit, have to tend to the rice and vegetable farms.

What are the authorities doing about it you ask? Well, the village chief Tonye Phawang and his caretakers spend all day smoking opium.

Australian photographer traveled to the village after hearing tales of headhunting which was practiced there until the 1960s but instead he met a village battling longterm opium addiction, the habit has corroded sociopolitical life in the village.

While the Indian government is taking steps to eradicate the problem, opium is readily available through Myanmar - the second largest opium producer in the world.

Opium is a highly addictive narcotic drug acquired in the dried latex form from the opium poppy (Papaver somniferum) seed pod. ... Heroin (diacetylmorphine) is derived from the morphine alkaloid found in opium and is roughly 2-3 times more potent. A highly addictive drug..

37 comments:

1. They no look like Indians. Na dis kind place d men r useless. Drying their brains with smokes while d women labor for their families.

2. Lol see king dat aside, I need new friends in my life, funny and easy going both males n females add me up 566717E3

3. Na wa o!

4. But to be frank Indian people resemble Yoruba people in Nigeria, their religion and cultures are similar to the Yorubas, no insult intended, just stating the fact. Kinda scary thou.

Linda's last son

5. But to be frank Indian people resemble Yoruba people in Nigeria, their religion and cultures are similar to the Yorubas, no insult intended, just stating the fact. Kinda scary thou.

Linda's last son

6. DISGUSTING. Any thing Indian disgusts me. I HATE them.

7. Hmm! These don't look like Indians...They look like they are from Nepal or something.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    God really create shah..... Who God look create this once nw....... #NowPlaying>> be ur man: yemi rush....

9. look at their faces, no wonder rare genetic disorders are prominent there.

10. Lolzzzzzz. No wonder they look lik dis!

11. Lol...selling their possessions to buy opium

12. Whatever that is.. Their business. Nobody is interested to know what's happening in India except Buhari, he seem to have a close tie with them.. Next plzzzz!!!

13. Opium addiction?! That is just weird and they look like they eat human meat!

14. Nna na wa o! Nka adikwa egwu! Linda take note!

15. Nna na wa o! Nka adikwa egwu! Linda take note!

16. Hmmmmmmm
    No comment
    Just short of words

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

17. Can't this pipo see tht opium is gradually taking ur lives?

18. Damn!!! i guess their "baked" days are over...

19. Omo u go high tire.......this people fit dey see fella and bob Marley spiritually

20. Hummmmmm....stories we read daily.

21. Home of Highness! Ganja Town.

22. Oh my goodness! Women have suffered o. So they do all farmworks while men waste their lives smoking opium. Nawah

23. Oh my goodness! Women have suffered o. So they do all farmworks while men waste their lives smoking opium. Nawah

24. Oh my goodness! Women have suffered o. So they do all farmworks while men waste their lives smoking opium. Nawah

25. They look scary....good for them though.

26. Hmm.
    They don enter one chance.

27. They look more vietnamese than Indian.